DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 17 recite a term “hardware components” in the last line. Examiner suggests amending the term to recite “the hardware components” to restore antecedent clarity.
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 17 recite a term “metal detecting operations” in the last but one paragraph. Examiner suggests amending the term to recite “the metal detecting operations” to restore antecedent clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Winter et al. (US 20130057249; hereinafter Winter).
Regarding claim 1, Winter discloses in figure(s) 1-8 a method of customizing and installing a configuration for a metal detector, comprising:
customizing a first configuration (configuration 850.1; figs. 2,7) for a metal detector (metal detector 100; fig. 1) to include a first set of features (parameters P1,S1,W1) selected from a set of available features associated with the metal detector, the set of available features constructed from a set of capabilities associated with hardware components (para. 126 - P1 . . . Pn for transmitter unit 110 and/or receiver unit 130, such as advantageously, e.g., pulse repetition frequency, energizing period, maximum current amplitude, sampling rate, amplification, or measuring time … a sequence and/or configuration of coils S1 . . . Sn… parameters W1 . . . Wn for analysis characteristics for control and evaluation unit 160; fig. 4A) of the metal detector, wherein the first configuration is configured to support a first classification (class K1 by Classification unit 180) of metal detecting operations of the metal detector;
installing the first configuration into the metal detector, wherein the installing enables the metal detector to operate according to the first configuration (para. 40 - a particularly suitable coil configuration, may be selected, i.e., preferably the one which is assigned to the classified class; para. 46 - An evaluation unit may particularly preferably be designed to determine, i.e., to select a coil configuration as a function of the pre-response signal, to which at least one transmitting coil of the number of transmitting coils a current is applied to emit a further transmitting signal);
customizing a second configuration (configuration 850.2; figs. 2,8) for the metal detector (100) to include a second set of features (parameters P2,S2,W2) selected from the set of available features different from the first set of features (parameters P1,S1,W1) of the first configuration, wherein the second configuration is configured to support a second classification (class K2) of metal detecting operations of the metal detector different from the first classification (K1) of metal detecting operations; and
installing the second configuration into the metal detector by replacing the first configuration (para. 49 - A first exciter signal form may be achieved, for example, using a first certain coil configuration and a different second exciter signal form may be achieved using a second certain coil configuration), wherein the installing of the second configuration reconfigures the metal detector to operate according to the second configuration without replacing hardware components (para. 159; figs. 4A.4B; clm. 19 - a control unit is designed for the automatic control of at least the response signal as the controlled variable and is connected for control to the classification unit and the control and evaluation unit to form a control loop) of the metal detector (para. 125 - a coil configuration is assigned to second class K2, which is particularly well suited for the detection of objects and/or surroundings characteristics according to key A.sub.1B.sub.1C.sub.1D.sub.xE.sub.x.).
Regarding claim 2, Winter discloses in figure(s) 1-8 the method of claim 1, wherein customizing the first configuration for the metal detector includes one or more of:
selecting features from the set of available features to include in the first set of features (para. 40 - a particularly suitable coil configuration, may be selected, i.e., preferably the one which is assigned to the classified class);
selecting a configuration for features selected for inclusion in the first set of features that are that are configurable to different performance levels (para. 18 - a detection device are then adapted in a particularly preferred way to the object and/or surroundings characteristics, which improves the detection overall), the configuration defining a selected performance level;
selecting features from the set of available features to exclude from the first set of features; and
selecting features from the first set of features to enable or to disable.
Regarding claim 3, Winter discloses in figure(s) 1-8 the method of claim 1, wherein customizing the first configuration for the metal detector includes selecting a product profile (product features as in table 1 in para. 112) that includes the first set of features, wherein the product profile is configured to support the first classification of metal detecting operations of the metal detector.
Regarding claim 4, Winter discloses in figure(s) 1-8 the method of claim 1, wherein customizing the second configuration for the metal detector further includes selecting a product profile that includes the second set of features, wherein the product profile is configured to support the second classification of metal detecting operations of the metal detector (para. 69 - for detecting a comparatively large object, the classification unit selects a transmitting coil which has a comparatively large diameter, and for detecting a comparatively small object, it selects a transmitting coil having a comparatively small diameter).
Regarding claim 5, Winter discloses in figure(s) 1-8 the method of claim 1, wherein the second configuration includes upgraded versions of one or more features from the first set of features of the first configuration, wherein the upgraded versions provide enhanced performance levels compared to those in the first configuration (para. 80 - a controller of the detection device is designed to determine an SNR value of the pre-response signal and to perform the selection of the at least one transmitting coil and/or the determination of the measuring method and/or the establishment of the sampling rate, the amplification, the energizing period, the measuring time, and/or the maximum current in such a way that the SNR value of the main response signal is greater than the SNR value of the pre-response signal. The measuring environment of the detection device is thus adapted in an improved way to the instantaneous object and/or environmental characteristic).
Regarding claim 7, Winter discloses in figure(s) 1-8 the method of claim 1, wherein the first classification of metal detecting operations is based on a performance level of the metal detector, and wherein the second classification of metal detecting operations represents a different performance level achieved by the second configuration for the metal detector, the different performance level providing one of higher detection capabilities (para. 80 - a controller of the detection device is designed to determine an SNR value of the pre-response signal and to perform the selection of the at least one transmitting coil and/or the determination of the measuring method and/or the establishment of the sampling rate, the amplification, the energizing period, the measuring time, and/or the maximum current in such a way that the SNR value of the main response signal is greater than the SNR value of the pre-response signal. The measuring environment of the detection device is thus adapted in an improved way to the instantaneous object and/or environmental characteristic) or lower detection capabilities compared to the first classification.
Regarding claim 8, Winter discloses in figure(s) 1-8 the method of claim 1, wherein the first classification of metal detecting operations is configured to enable a first metal detecting application, and wherein the second classification of metal detecting operations is configured to enable a second metal detecting application different from the first metal detecting application, the second metal detecting application requiring a distinct set of features for optimization (para. 119 - Control unit 170 is thus designed, e.g., with operation of optimum sequence and/or configuration S of coils, to cause emission of further transmitting signal 120, which is adapted with the aid of selected configuration S; fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Winter discloses in figure(s) 1-8 a system configured for customizing and installing a configuration for a metal detector, comprising:
at least one processor (para. 135 - Control unit 170 preferably has digital processing means; para. 120 - control and evaluation unit 160); and
a memory operably coupled to the at least one processor and storing processor-readable code that, when executed by the at least one processor (para. 120 - receives the instructions via control signal 140 – implies storage for instructions), is configured to perform operations including:
customizing a first configuration (configuration 850.1; figs. 2,7) for a metal detector (metal detector 100; fig. 1) to include a first set of features (parameters P1,S1,W1) selected from a set of available features associated with the metal detector, the set of available features constructed from a set of capabilities associated with hardware components (para. 126 - P1 . . . Pn for transmitter unit 110 and/or receiver unit 130, such as advantageously, e.g., pulse repetition frequency, energizing period, maximum current amplitude, sampling rate, amplification, or measuring time … a sequence and/or configuration of coils S1 . . . Sn… parameters W1 . . . Wn for analysis characteristics for control and evaluation unit 160; fig. 4A) of the metal detector, wherein the first configuration is configured to support a first classification (class K1 by Classification unit 180) of metal detecting operations of the metal detector;
installing the first configuration into the metal detector, wherein the installing enables the metal detector to operate according to the first configuration (para. 40 - a particularly suitable coil configuration, may be selected, i.e., preferably the one which is assigned to the classified class; para. 46 - An evaluation unit may particularly preferably be designed to determine, i.e., to select a coil configuration as a function of the pre-response signal, to which at least one transmitting coil of the number of transmitting coils a current is applied to emit a further transmitting signal);
customizing a second configuration (configuration 850.2; figs. 2,8) for the metal detector (100) to include a second set of features (parameters P2,S2,W2) selected from the set of available features different from the first set of features (parameters P1,S1,W1) of the first configuration, wherein the second configuration is configured to support a second classification (class K2) of metal detecting operations of the metal detector different from the first classification (K1) of metal detecting operations; and
installing the second configuration into the metal detector by replacing the first configuration (para. 49 - A first exciter signal form may be achieved, for example, using a first certain coil configuration and a different second exciter signal form may be achieved using a second certain coil configuration), wherein the installing of the second configuration reconfigures the metal detector to operate according to the second configuration without replacing hardware components (para. 159; figs. 4A.4B; clm. 19 - a control unit is designed for the automatic control of at least the response signal as the controlled variable and is connected for control to the classification unit and the control and evaluation unit to form a control loop) of the metal detector (para. 125 - a coil configuration is assigned to second class K2, which is particularly well suited for the detection of objects and/or surroundings characteristics according to key A.sub.1B.sub.1C.sub.1D.sub.xE.sub.x.).
Regarding claim 10, Winter discloses in figure(s) 1-8 the system of claim 9, wherein customizing the first configuration for the metal detector includes one or more of: selecting features from the set of available features to include in the first set of features (para. 40 - a particularly suitable coil configuration, may be selected, i.e., preferably the one which is assigned to the classified class); selecting a configuration for features selected for inclusion in the first set of features that are that are configurable to different performance levels (para. 18 - a detection device are then adapted in a particularly preferred way to the object and/or surroundings characteristics, which improves the detection overall), the configuration defining a selected performance level; selecting features from the set of available features to exclude from the first set of features; and selecting features from the first set of features to enable or to disable.
Regarding claim 11, Winter discloses in figure(s) 1-8 the system of claim 9, wherein customizing the first configuration for the metal detector includes selecting a product profile (product features as in table 1 in para. 112) that includes the first set of features, wherein the product profile is configured to support the first classification of metal detecting operations of the metal detector.
Regarding claim 12, Winter discloses in figure(s) 1-8 the system of claim 9, wherein customizing the second configuration for the metal detector further includes selecting a product profile that includes the second set of features, wherein the product profile is configured to support the second classification of metal detecting operations of the metal detector (para. 69 - for detecting a comparatively large object, the classification unit selects a transmitting coil which has a comparatively large diameter, and for detecting a comparatively small object, it selects a transmitting coil having a comparatively small diameter).
Regarding claim 13, Winter discloses in figure(s) 1-8 the system of claim 9, wherein the second configuration includes upgraded versions of one or more features from the first set of features of the first configuration, wherein the upgraded versions provide enhanced performance levels compared to those in the first configuration (para. 80 - a controller of the detection device is designed to determine an SNR value of the pre-response signal and to perform the selection of the at least one transmitting coil and/or the determination of the measuring method and/or the establishment of the sampling rate, the amplification, the energizing period, the measuring time, and/or the maximum current in such a way that the SNR value of the main response signal is greater than the SNR value of the pre-response signal. The measuring environment of the detection device is thus adapted in an improved way to the instantaneous object and/or environmental characteristic).
Regarding claim 15, Winter discloses in figure(s) 1-8 the system of claim 9, wherein the first classification of metal detecting operations is based on a performance level of the metal detector, and wherein the second classification of metal detecting operations represents a different performance level achieved by the second configuration for the metal detector, the different performance level providing one of higher detection capabilities (para. 80 - a controller of the detection device is designed to determine an SNR value of the pre-response signal and to perform the selection of the at least one transmitting coil and/or the determination of the measuring method and/or the establishment of the sampling rate, the amplification, the energizing period, the measuring time, and/or the maximum current in such a way that the SNR value of the main response signal is greater than the SNR value of the pre-response signal. The measuring environment of the detection device is thus adapted in an improved way to the instantaneous object and/or environmental characteristic) or lower detection capabilities compared to the first classification.
Regarding claim 16, Winter discloses in figure(s) 1-8 the system of claim 9, wherein the first classification of metal detecting operations is configured to enable a first metal detecting application, and wherein the second classification of metal detecting operations is configured to enable a second metal detecting application different from the first metal detecting application, the second metal detecting application requiring a distinct set of features for optimization (para. 119 - Control unit 170 is thus designed, e.g., with operation of optimum sequence and/or configuration S of coils, to cause emission of further transmitting signal 120, which is adapted with the aid of selected configuration S; fig. 2).
Claim(s) 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nelson et al. (US 7157913; hereinafter Nelson).
Regarding claim 17, Nelson discloses in figure(s) 1-6 a computer-based tool for customizing and installing a configuration for a metal detector, the computer-based tool including non-transitory computer readable media having stored thereon computer code which, when executed by a processor, causes a computing device (computer 62; fig. 6) to perform operations comprising:
customizing (by switch 60 in fig 6; col. 5 line 8-15 :- switch 60 connected between windings 32a, 32b for selectively configuring coil 50 between differential configuration 31 and summing configuration 36) a first configuration (differential receiver coil configuration 31; figs. 3, 5a,6) for a metal detector (abs. – inductive metal detector) to include a first set of features (differential/balanced coil) selected from a set of available features (differential/blanced or summing/single) associated with the metal detector, the set of available features constructed from a set of capabilities associated with hardware components (switched receiver coil 50, transmitter 30, amplifier 34; figs. 3-4) of the metal detector, wherein the first configuration is configured to support a first classification (classify small metal target) of metal detecting operations of the metal detector (col. 5 lines. 49-51 – operator/computer can toggle between small and large metal target modes using the same metal detector by simply altering the configuration of the receiver coil);
installing the first configuration into the metal detector (col. 5 lines 10-15 :- responsive to a control signal 61 operator can control positions depicted at (a) and (b) in FIG. 6 of switch 60), wherein the installing enables the metal detector to operate according to the first configuration (differential configuration);
customizing a second configuration (summing receiver coil configuration 36; figs. 4, 5b,6) for the metal detector to include a second set of features (summing) selected from a set of available features (differential/balanced or summing/single) different from the first set of features of the first configuration, wherein the second configuration is configured to support a second classification (classify large metal target) of metal detecting operations of the metal detector different from the first classification of metal detecting operations; and
installing the second configuration (col. 5 lines 10-15 :- responsive to a control signal 61 operator can control positions depicted at (a) and (b) in FIG. 6 of switch 60) into the metal detector by replacing the first configuration (by switching position of 60 from (a) to (b)), wherein the installing of the second configuration reconfigures the metal detector to operate according to the second configuration (summing configuration) without replacing hardware components (50,30,34 hardware intact) of the metal detector.
Regarding claim 18, Nelson discloses in figure(s) 1-6 the computer-based tool of claim 17, wherein customizing the first configuration for the metal detector includes selecting a product profile (windings 32a and 32b are connected together such that they are wound in opposite directions targeting small target detection) that includes the first set of features, wherein the product profile is configured to support the first classification of metal detecting operations of the metal detector, and wherein customizing the second configuration for the metal detector further includes selecting a product profile that includes the second set of features, wherein the product profile is configured to support the second classification of metal detecting operations of the metal detector (windings 32a and 32b are connected together such that they are wound in same directions targeting large target detection).
Regarding claim 19, Nelson discloses in figure(s) 1-6 the computer-based tool of claim 17, wherein the first classification of metal detecting operations is based on a performance level of the metal detector, and wherein the second classification of metal detecting operations represents a different performance level achieved by the second configuration for the metal detector, the different performance level providing one of higher detection capabilities (col. 5 lines 35-45 :- If the receiver coils were connected in a differential configuration (position (a) in FIG. 6), the signal from a large object beneath the coils would be close to zero after performing the differential algorithm unless the metal object was off to one side of the sensor head (transmitter/receiver coil). Either way, classifying such a relatively large object would be much more difficult in a differential receiver coil configuration) or lower detection capabilities compared to the first classification.
Regarding claim 20, Nelson discloses in figure(s) 1-6 the computer-based tool of claim 17, wherein the first classification of metal detecting operations is configured to enable a first metal detecting application, and wherein the second classification of metal detecting operations is configured to enable a second metal detecting application different from the first metal detecting application, the second metal detecting application requiring a distinct set of features for optimization (col. 3 lines 5-25 :- metal detection sensitivity and detection depth are functions of the transmitter and receiver coil size … differential receiver coil allows for a faster responding metal detection signal high bandwidth; col. 3 lines 35-45 :- a pulse inductive metal detector that can selectively change the receiver coil configuration from a differential configuration good for detecting and classifying smaller metal objects to a summing configuration good for detecting and classifying larger metal objects).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winter in view of Nelson et al. (US 20050253711; hereinafter Nelson2).
Regarding claim(s) 6 and 14, Winter teaches in figure(s) 1-16 the method of claim 1 and the system of claim 9, respectively.
Winter does not teach explicitly wherein the second configuration includes downgraded versions of one or more features from the first set of features of the first configuration, wherein the downgraded versions provide lower performance levels compared to those in the first configuration.
However, Nelson2 teaches in figure(s) 1-16 wherein the second configuration includes downgraded versions (high bandwidth, low sensitivity snr TD mode versus low bandwidth, high sensitivity snr FD mode tradeoff of metal detector in paras. 8-9 tables 1, 2) of one or more features from the first set of features of the first configuration, wherein the downgraded versions provide lower performance (lower bandwidth) levels compared to those in the first configuration.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Winter by having wherein the second configuration includes downgraded versions of one or more features from the first set of features of the first configuration, wherein the downgraded versions provide lower performance levels compared to those in the first configuration as taught by Nelson2 in order to provide use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way as evidenced by "variable inductor transmitter and receiver coil realized via switches connecting coils in series or parallel combinations to achieve high and low bandwidth operation" (para. 48).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See the List of References cited in the US PT0-892.
Conclusion
/AKM ZAKARIA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858