DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-13, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0065625) hereinafter “Wang” in view of Ha et al. (US 2011/0204369) hereinafter “Ha”, Kim et al. (US 2017/0309651) hereinafter “Kim”, Li et al. (US 2021/0074778) hereinafter “Li” and Jung et al. (US 2016/0126494) hereinafter “Jung” and in further view of Hong et al. (US 2018/0006098) hereinafter “Hong”.
Regarding claim 11, Fig. 1I of Wang teaches a display apparatus (Paragraph 0002) comprising: a substrate (Item 100) including a first display area (Item A1) and a second display area (Item A2); main subpixels (Items 1, 2 and 3 in Item A1) being at the first display area (Item A1) and auxiliary subpixels (Items 1, 2 and 3 in Item A2) and a transmission portion (See Picture 1 above) being at the second display area (Item A2); a first main subpixel (Item 1 in Item A1) from among the main subpixels comprising a first pixel electrode and a first emission layer (Paragraph 0103); a first auxiliary subpixel (Item 1 of Item A2) from among the auxiliary subpixels comprising a second pixel electrode and a second emission layer (Paragraph 0103), the first auxiliary subpixel representing a same color as that of the first main subpixel; a thin film transistor (Item T1) located on the substrate (Item 100) and comprising a gate electrode (Paragraph 0368); an opposite electrode (Not labeled but identified in Paragraph 0360 as a second [cathode]); and wherein a pixel layout of the auxiliary subpixels (Items 1, 2 and 3 in Item A2) is different from a pixel layout of the main subpixels (Items 1, 2 and 3 in Item A1), where the substrate is continuously provided (Fig. 6 where Item DP is present over Item 111 and Paragraph 0019 where the display substrate includes a plurality of transparent areas) corresponding to the transmission portion.
Wang does not explicitly teach where the thin film transistor comprises a semiconductor layer nor an inorganic insulating layer comprising a first gate insulating layer located between the semiconductor layer and the gate electrode; and an organic insulating layer on the thin film transistor, wherein the inorganic insulating layer has a first hole corresponding to the transmission portion, wherein the organic insulating layer has a second hole corresponding to the transmission portion and where the first emission layer and the second emission layer do not cover the end of the first gate insulating layer exposed by the first hole.
Fig. 7 of Ha teaches a display apparatus comprising a subpixel portion (Item PA) and a transmission portion (Item TA), a thin film transistor (Item TR2) present on a substrate (Item 1), where the thin film transistor (Item TR2) comprises a semiconductor layer (Item 212b; Paragraph 0084); and a first gate insulating layer (Item 213) located between the semiconductor layer (Item 212b) and the gate electrode (Item 214b); and an organic insulating layer (Item 218; Paragraph 0090) on the thin film transistor (Item TR2), wherein the first gate insulating layer (Item 213) has a first hole (Item 227) corresponding to the transmission portion (Item TA), wherein the organic insulating layer (Item 218) has a second hole (Item 224) corresponding to the transmission portion (Item TA), and where the emission layer does not cover the end of the first gate insulating layer (Item 213) exposed by the first hole (Item 227).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the thin film transistor comprise a semiconductor layer; and the display device further comprise a first gate insulating layer located between the semiconductor layer and the gate electrode; and an organic insulating layer on the thin film transistor, wherein the first gate insulating layer has a first hole corresponding to the transmission portion, wherein the organic insulating layer has a second hole corresponding to the transmission portion because a semiconductor layer is known to act as an active layer in a transistor (Ha Paragraph 0084); having the first gate insulating layer being located between the semiconductor layer and the gate electrode is known to act as the gate insulating layer of the transistor (Ha Paragraph 0085) and having an organic insulating layer on the thin film transistor acts as a passivation layer (Ha Paragraph 0090).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first gate insulating layer have a first hole corresponding to the transmission portion and the interlayer insulating layer have a second hole corresponding to the transmission portion, where the first emission layer and the second emission layer do not cover the end of the first gate insulating layer exposed by the first hole because this is known to increase the transmittance of external light in the transmission portion (Ha Paragraph 0079).
Wang and Ha does not explicitly teach where the first gate insulating layer is an inorganic insulating layer.
Kim teaches a gate insulating layer (Item GI); where the gate insulating layer is an inorganic insulating layer (Paragraph 0089).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first gate insulating layer be an inorganic insulating layer because an inorganic insulating layer is known to act as a gate insulating layer (Kim Paragraph 0089) and since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), and MPEP 2144.07 Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose.
Wang does not explicitly teach where an opposite electrode covering the main subpixels and the auxiliary subpixels extends on the first display area and the second display area, the opposite electrode being integrally formed and having an opening corresponding to the transmission portion nor where the opposite electrode covers an end of the first gate insulating layer of the inorganic insulating layer exposed by the first hole.
Li teaches a display panel where an opposite electrode (Item 304/404) is integrally formed with main pixels (Pixels in first display region) and auxiliary pixels (Pixels in second display region), the opposite electrode (Item 304/404) located in a first region (First display portion) and a second region (Second display portion).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the display panel further comprise an opposite electrode integrally formed with the main pixels and the auxiliary pixels because the opposite electrode acts as the cathode of the main and auxiliary pixels (Li Paragraph 0093) and allows for the cathode of the main and auxiliary electrode to an integral structure formed in the same patterning process (Li Paragraph 0093) which simplifies manufacturing by allowing for less processing steps.
Fig. 10 of Jung teaches a display panel where an opening (Item 187) in the cathode (Item 225) corresponds to a transmission portion, where the cathode (Item 225) covers an end of a first gate insulating layer (Item 140) of an inorganic insulating layer exposed by a first hole.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an opening in the opposite electrode corresponding to the transmission portion, where the opposite electrode covers an end of the first gate insulating layer of the inorganic insulating layer exposed by the first hole because the opening in the opposite electrode allows for an improvement in the transmittance pf the transmission area (Jung Paragraph 0157).
Wang does not teach where the opposite electrode is spaced from the end of the first gate insulating layer exposed by the first hole.
Fig. 4 of Hong teaches where a first intermediate layer (Item 221) and a second intermediate layer (Item 223) extend into a hole such that an opposite electrode (Item 230) is separated from the end of the layers defining the hole.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include first and second intermediate layers extending into the opening such that the opposite electrode is spaced from the end of the first gate insulating layer exposed by the first hole because the intermediate layers serve as functional layers which are present in subpixels while still allowing for hole which corresponds to the opening such that light can still freely move through the opening (Hong Paragraph 0067).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Wang, Ha, Kim, Li, Jung and Hong teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Wang does not teach where a first width of the first hole is smaller than a second width of the second hole.
Fig. 7 of Ha further teaches where a first width of the first hole (Item 227) is smaller than a second width of the second hole (Item 224).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first width of the first hole be smaller than a second width of the second hole because this is a result of the wet etching process used to form the respective holes which in combination form an opening (Ha Paragraph 0107).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Wang, Ha, Kim, Li, Jung and Hong teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except where the inorganic insulating layer further comprises a second gate insulating layer on the gate electrode, wherein the first hole is provided by overlapping an opening of the first gate insulating layer and an opening of the second gate insulating layer.
Fig. 8 of Li teaches where a gate insulating layer further comprises a first gate insulating layer (Item 12) under a gate electrode (Item 203) and a second gate insulating layer (Item 13) on the gate electrode (Item 203).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the inorganic insulating layer further comprise a second gate insulating layer on the gate electrode because the second gate insulating layer serves as a spacer between a gate electrode and a capacitor electrode (Li Paragraph 0102) such that a capacitor could be included in the structure of Li.
Fig. 7 of Ha further teaches where the opening (Item 229) comprises etching through all of the insulating layers (Paragraph 0079) overlying the substrate (Item 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first hole be provided by overlapping an opening of the first gate insulating layer and an opening of the second gate insulating layer because an opening is known to be formed in the insulating layers at a location corresponding to a transmission region (Ha Paragraph 0079).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Wang, Ha, Kim, Li, Jung and Hong teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Wang does not teach further comprising a functional layer between the first pixel electrode and the opposite electrode, wherein the functional layer is located to correspond to the transmission portion.
Li further teaches a functional layer (Portion of Item 303; Paragraph 0115) between the first pixel electrode (Item 301) and the opposite electrode (Item 303/404), wherein the functional layer (Portion of Item 303) is located to correspond to the transmission portion.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the display apparatus further comprises a functional layer between the first pixel electrode and the opposite electrode, wherein the functional layer is located to correspond to the transmission portion because the functional layer improves the efficiency of injecting electrons and holes into the emitting layer (Li Paragraph 0115).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Wang, Ha, Kim, Li, Jung and Hong teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Wang does not teach a buffer layer between the substrate and the semiconductor layer, wherein a first inorganic encapsulation layer is in direct contact with the buffer layer at the transmission portion.
Fig. 7 of Ha teaches a buffer layer (Item 211) between the substrate (Item 1) and the semiconductor layer (Item 212b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a buffer layer between the substrate and the semiconductor layer because the buffer layer prevents impurities from penetrating into the organic emission unit and planarizes the first surface of the substrate (Ha Paragraph 0083).
Fig. 10 of Jung teaches where a cathode (Item 225) is not present in the transmission region (Item TA) and where a first inorganic encapsulation layer (Item 235) is present at the bottom of the window (Item 187) in the transmission region (Item TA).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cathode layer be removed from the transmission portion such that a first inorganic encapsulation layer is in direct contact with the buffer layer at the transmission portion because consistency with the transmitting structure may be improved and a transmittance on the transmitting region may be further enhanced (Jung Paragraph 0152).
Claims 16, 19 and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0065625) hereinafter “Wang” in view of Ha et al. (US 2011/0204369) hereinafter “Ha”, Kim et al. (US 2017/0309651) hereinafter “Kim”, Li et al. (US 2021/0074778) hereinafter “Li”, Jung et al. (US 2016/0126494) hereinafter “Jung” and Hong et al. (US 2018/0006098) hereinafter “Hong” and in further view of Moon et al. (US 2018/000561) hereinafter “Moon”.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Wang, Ha, Kim, Li, Jung and Hong teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Wang does not teach a pixel defining layer having a first opening and a second opening exposing center portions of the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode, respectively, wherein a light emission area of the first main subpixel is defined by the first opening, and a light emission area of the first auxiliary subpixel is defined by the second opening.
Figs. 7 of Moon teaches a display apparatus comprising a pixel defining layer (Item 130), where the pixel defining layer (Item 130) surrounding a subpixel unit has a first opening exposing a center portion of a first pixel electrode (Item 140), wherein the light emission area (Item 150) of the subpixel is defined by the first opening.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the display apparatus of Wang to further comprise a pixel defining layer having a first opening and a second opening exposing center portions of the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode, respectively, wherein a light emission area of the first main subpixel is defined by the first opening, and a light emission area of the first auxiliary subpixel is defined by the second opening because the pixel defining layer defines the area of emission for each subpixel (Moon Paragraph 0073).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Wang, Ha, Kim, Li, Jung and Hong teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Wang further teaches where the main subpixels (Items 1, 2 and 3 in Item A1) are arranged in a pentile matrix (Paragraph 0115).
Wang does not teach where the auxiliary subpixels are arranged in a stripe structure.
Fig. 13 of Moon teaches a layout of a pixel (Item 211) in a basic unit, where the basic unit comprises a transmission region (Item 220) and pixel (Item 211), and where the layout of the pixel (Item 211) is arranged in a stripe structure (Paragraph 0056 where the an S-stripe arrangement is present).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the auxiliary subpixels be arranged in a stripe structure because this configuration is known to allow for lights from each of the subpixels to combine to display one color (Moon Paragraph 0055 and 0056).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Wang, Ha, Kim, Li, Jung, Hong and Moon teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Fig. 7 of Wang further teaches where the auxiliary subpixels further comprise a second auxiliary subpixel (Item 2) and a third auxiliary subpixel (Item 3), the first auxiliary subpixel, the second auxiliary subpixel and third auxiliary subpixel being arranged along a first direction.
Wang does not explicitly teach where a first side of each of the auxiliary subpixels in the first direction is smaller than a second side of each of the auxiliary subpixels in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction.
Fig. 2 of Moon further teaches where a first, second and third auxiliary subpixel (Items 400B, 400R and 400G) are arranged in a first direction (Up and down across the page), a first side of each of the auxiliary subpixels in the first direction is smaller than a second side of each of the auxiliary subpixels in a second direction (Right to left across the page) perpendicular to the first direction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first side of each of the auxiliary subpixels in the first direction is smaller than a second side of each of the auxiliary subpixels in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction because this configuration is known to allow for lights from each of the subpixels to combine to display one color (Moon Paragraph 0055 and 0056).
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner notes that the term “arranged” does not require or specify the way or order in which the auxiliary subpixels are arranged.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0065625) hereinafter “Wang” in view of Ha et al. (US 2011/0204369) hereinafter “Ha”, Kim et al. (US 2017/0309651) hereinafter “Kim”, Li et al. (US 2021/0074778) hereinafter “Li” and Jung et al. (US 2016/0126494) hereinafter “Jung” and Hong et al. (US 2018/0006098) hereinafter “Hong” and in further view of Park et al. (US 2019/0115411) hereinafter “Park”.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Wang, Ha, Kim, Li, Jung and Hong teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except a thin film encapsulation layer comprising a first inorganic encapsulation layer, an organic encapsulation layer, and a second inorganic encapsulation layer sequentially on the opposite electrode.
Fig. 5 of Park teaches a thin film encapsulation layer (Item TFE) comprising a first inorganic encapsulation layer, an organic encapsulation layer, and a second inorganic encapsulation layer sequentially (Paragraph 0080) on an opposite electrode (Item CE).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the display apparatus of Wang further comprise a thin film encapsulation layer comprising a first inorganic encapsulation layer, an organic encapsulation layer, and a second inorganic encapsulation layer sequentially on the opposite electrode because the thin film encapsulation layer protects the light emitting elements from the outside environment (Park Paragraph 0080).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, the prior art does not teach, suggest or motivate one having ordinary skill in the art to have a functional layer overlapping with the main subpixels and the auxiliary subpixels covers an end of the inorganic insulating layer exposed by the first hole, the functional layer having an opening corresponding to the transmission portion along with all of the other limitations of claim 1.
Claims 2-10 are also indicated as being allowable as they depend from and include all of the limitations of claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s REMARKS/ARGUMENTS, filed 06/09/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hong.
Conclusion
/ERIC K ASHBAHIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891