Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on December 18, 2025 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 18, 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed December 18, 2025 has been entered. The Applicant amended claims 11, 16, and 19. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0041], “focal point F” is improper as the Drawings reference character is “f”
Appropriate correction is required.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: Claim 14 recites the limitation “wherein the density of the first medium decreases from a center of the second medium toward a side of the second medium” which depends on claim 1 which recites the limitation “wherein an equivalent dielectric constant of the central region is greater than that of the peripheral region”, the specification fails to provide proper antecedent basis for this combination of limitations as the specification does not describe an embodiment in which the density of the first medium decreases from a center of the second medium toward a side of the second medium and the equivalent dielectric constant of the central region is greater than that of the peripheral region, Claim 18 recites the limitation “wherein a density of the plurality of through vias decreases from a center of the directing structure toward a side of the directing structure” which depends on claim 1 which recites the limitation “wherein an equivalent dielectric constant of the central region is greater than that of the peripheral region”, the specification fails to provide proper antecedent basis for this combination of limitations as the specification does not describe an embodiment in which the density of the plurality of through vias decreases from a center of the directing structure toward a side of the directing structure and the equivalent dielectric constant of the central region is greater than that of the peripheral region.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ELECTRONIC DEVICE WITH A DIRECTING STRUCTURE FOR AN ANTENNA.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the density of the first medium decreases from a center of the second medium toward a side of the second medium” in claim 14 and “wherein a density of the plurality of through vias decreases from a center of the directing structure toward a side of the directing structure” in claim 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 6, “the first antenna is partially disposed under the central region and partially under the peripheral region” is improper and should read “the first antenna is disposed partially under the central region and partially under the peripheral region”
In claim 20, “the second antenna is free from vertically overlapping the plurality of through vias” is improper and should read “the second antenna does not vertically overlap the plurality of through vias”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "wherein an equivalent dielectric constant of the central region is greater than that of the peripheral region" in lines 2-4. The phrase “that of the peripheral region” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what “that” is referring to. For examination purposes, the examiner interprets the limitation as “wherein an equivalent dielectric constant of the central region is greater than a dielectric constant of the peripheral region”.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "wherein a dielectric constant of the directing structure is greater than that of the dielectric layer" in lines 3-4. The phrase “that of the dielectric layer” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what “that” is referring to. For examination purposes, the examiner interprets the limitation as “wherein a dielectric constant of the directing structure is greater than a dielectric constant of the dielectric layer”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "wherein a thickness of the dielectric layer is less than that of the directing structure" in lines 1-2. The phrase “that of the directing structure” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what “that” is referring to. For examination purposes, the examiner interprets the limitation as “wherein a thickness of the dielectric layer is less than a thickness of the directing structure”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "a density of the second medium in the central region is less than that in the peripheral region" in lines 2-3. The phrase “that in the peripheral region” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what “that” is referring to. For examination purposes, the examiner interprets the limitation as “a density of the second medium in the central region is less than a density of the second medium in the peripheral region”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "a dielectric constant of the second medium is less than that of the first medium" in lines 1-2. The phrase “that of the first medium” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what “that” is referring to. For examination purposes, the examiner interprets the limitation as “a dielectric constant of the second medium is less than a dielectric constant of the first medium”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "a dimension of the second medium in the central region is less than that in the peripheral region" in lines 1-2. The phrase “that in the peripheral region” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what “that” is referring to. For examination purposes, the examiner interprets the limitation as “a dimension of the second medium in the central region is less than a dimension of the second medium in the peripheral region”.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "a second medium with a dielectric constant greater than that of the first medium" in line 2. The phrase “that of the first medium” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what “that” is referring to. For examination purposes, the examiner interprets the limitation as “a second medium with a dielectric constant greater than a dielectric constant of the first medium”.
Claims 2-20 inherit the deficiencies of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rofougaran et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0212588 A1), hereinafter known as Rofougaran.
Regarding claim 1, Rofougaran discloses (Fig. 1A, 3D, and 3E) An electronic device (102), comprising: a directing structure (104, 310, 314) including a central region (central region of 310, 314) and a peripheral region (peripheral region of 310, 314), wherein an equivalent dielectric constant of the central region (central region of 310, central region of 314 has no vias) is greater than that of the peripheral region (peripheral region of 310, 314); and a first antenna (106) configured to transceive first radio-frequency (RF) signals through the directing structure (104, 310, 314).
Regarding claim 2, Rofougaran further discloses (Fig. 1A) further comprising: a dielectric layer (air layer between 106 and 104) disposed between the first antenna (106) and the directing structure (104), wherein a dielectric constant of the directing structure (104) is greater than that of the dielectric layer (air layer between 106 and 104).
Regarding claim 3, Rofougaran further discloses (Fig. 1A) wherein the first antenna (106) is configured to transceive the first RF signals through the dielectric layer (air layer between 106 and 104).
Regarding claim 5, Rofougaran further discloses (Fig. 1A) wherein the first antenna (106) comprises a plurality of segments (108) having an array arrangement.
Regarding claim 6, Rofougaran further discloses (Fig. 1A and 3E) wherein the first antenna (106) is partially disposed under the central region (central region of 314) and partially under the peripheral region (peripheral region of 314).
Regarding claim 7, Rofougaran further discloses (Fig. 1A and 3E) wherein the directing structure comprises a first medium (314 dielectric lens medium) and a second medium (air medium in 316) within the first medium (314 dielectric lens medium), and a density of the second medium (air medium in 316) in the central region (central region of 314) is less than that in the peripheral region (peripheral region of 314).
Regarding claim 8, Rofougaran further discloses (Fig. 3E) wherein a dielectric constant of the second medium (air medium in 316) is less than that of the first medium (314 dielectric lens medium).
Regarding claim 9, Rofougaran further discloses (Fig. 3E) wherein a dimension of the second medium (air medium in 316) in the central region (central region has no 316) is less than that in the peripheral region (peripheral region of 314).
Regarding claim 10, Rofougaran further discloses (Fig. 3E) wherein the first medium (314 dielectric lens medium) has a substantially uniform thickness.
Regarding claim 11, Rofougaran further discloses (Fig. 3E) wherein the directing structure comprises a first medium (air medium in 316) with a density varying along a horizontal direction, and wherein the directing structure (314) is configured to converge the first RF signals.
Regarding claim 12, Rofougaran further discloses (Fig. 3E) wherein the directing structure further comprises a second medium (314 dielectric lens medium) with a dielectric constant greater than that of the first medium (air medium in 316).
Regarding claim 13, Rofougaran further discloses (Fig. 3E) wherein the second medium (314 dielectric lens medium) comprises a lens structure, and the first medium (air medium in 316) comprises air.
Regarding claim 15, Rofougaran further discloses (Fig. 1A) wherein the second medium (104) is spaced apart from the first antenna (106).
Regarding claim 16, Rofougaran further discloses (Fig. 3E) the directing structure (314) defines a plurality of through vias (316) configured to converge the first RF signals.
Regarding claim 17, Rofougaran further discloses (Fig. 1A and 3E) wherein the directing structure (104, 314) has a first surface facing the first antenna (106) and a second surface opposite to the first surface, and the second surface (surface of 104 away from 106) is a substantially flat surface.
Claims 1-4 and 7-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Winsor (US PGPUB 2008/0238810 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Winsor discloses (Fig. 1 and 2A) An electronic device (Fig. 1), comprising: a directing structure (10) including a central region (16) and a peripheral region (14), wherein an equivalent dielectric constant ([0023]) of the central region (16) is greater than that of the peripheral region (14); and a first antenna (26) configured to transceive first radio-frequency (RF) signals (28) through the directing structure (10).
Regarding claim 2, Winsor further discloses (Fig. 1) further comprising: a dielectric layer (22) disposed between the first antenna (26) and the directing structure (10), wherein a dielectric constant of the directing structure (10) is greater than that of the dielectric layer (22; [0038]).
Regarding claim 3, Winsor further discloses (Fig. 1) wherein the first antenna (26) is configured to transceive the first RF signals (28) through the dielectric layer (22).
Regarding claim 4, Winsor further discloses (Fig. 1) wherein a thickness of the dielectric layer (22) is less than that of the directing structure (10).
Regarding claim 7, Winsor further discloses (Fig. 2A) wherein the directing structure (10) comprises a first medium (12) and a second medium (14) within the first medium (12), and a density of the second medium (14) in the central region (16) is less than that in the peripheral region (18; [0023]).
Regarding claim 8, Winsor further discloses (Fig. 2A) wherein a dielectric constant of the second medium (air in 14) is less than that of the first medium (12).
Regarding claim 9, Winsor further discloses (Fig. 2A) wherein a dimension of the second medium (14) in the central region (16) is less than that in the peripheral region (18; [0023]).
Regarding claim 10, Winsor further discloses (Fig. 1 and 2A) wherein the first medium (12) has a substantially uniform thickness.
Regarding claim 11, Winsor further discloses (Fig. 1 and 2A) wherein the directing structure (10) comprises a first medium (14) with a density varying along a horizontal direction, and wherein the directing structure (10) is configured to converge the first RF signals (28).
Regarding claim 12, Winsor further discloses (Fig. 2A) wherein the directing structure further comprises a second medium (12) with a dielectric constant greater than that of the first medium (14).
Regarding claim 13, Winsor further discloses (Fig. 2A) wherein the second medium (12) comprises a lens structure (12), and the first medium (14) comprises air.
Regarding claim 14, Winsor further discloses (Fig. 2C) wherein the density of the first medium (14) decreases from a center of the second medium (center of 42) toward a side of the second medium (side of 42).
Regarding claim 15, Winsor further discloses (Fig. 1) wherein the second medium (10) is spaced apart from the first antenna (26).
Regarding claim 16, Winsor further discloses (Fig. 2A) the directing structure (10) defines a plurality of through vias (14) configured to converge the first RF signals.
Regarding claim 17, Winsor further discloses (Fig. 1) wherein the directing structure (10) has a first surface (surface of 10 facing 26) facing the first antenna (26) and a second surface (surface of 10 away from 26) opposite to the first surface, and the second surface (surface of 10 away from 26) is a substantially flat surface.
Regarding claim 18, Winsor further discloses (Fig. 2C) wherein a density of the plurality of through vias (14) decreases from a center of the directing structure (center of 42) toward a side of the directing structure (side of 42).
Claims 1, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Michaelis et al. (US PGPUB 2019/0237874 A1), hereinafter known as Michaelis.
Regarding claim 1, Michaelis discloses (Fig. 6A-6B) An electronic device (500), comprising: a directing structure (540) including a central region (central region of 540) and a peripheral region (peripheral region of 540), wherein an equivalent dielectric constant of the central region is greater than that of the peripheral region ([0087], Luneburg lens have higher dielectric constants in the central region than the peripheral region); and a first antenna (532) configured to transceive first radio-frequency (RF) signals through the directing structure (540).
Regarding claim 16, Michaelis further discloses (Fig. 6A-6B) the directing structure (540) defines a plurality of through vias configured to converge the first RF signals ([0087], hollow Luneburg lens have a plurality of through vias).
Regarding claim 19, Michaelis further discloses (Fig. 6A-6B) further comprising: a second antenna (524) disposed at the peripheral region of the directing structure (540), wherein the first antenna (532) is operated at a first frequency and the second antenna (524) is operated at a second frequency different from the first frequency ([0104] and [0105]).
Regarding claim 20, Michaelis further discloses (Fig. 6A-6B) wherein the second antenna (524) is free from vertically overlapping the plurality of through vias (540).
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/YONCHAN J KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2845