DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made that the instant application is a continuation of application PCT/JP2022/040572, filed on 10/30/2022, which claims priority from US provisional application 63/266089, filed on 12/28/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asayama et al. (US PGPub 2015/0194781, Asayama hereinafter) in view of Mizoguchi et al. (JP 2631607, Mizoguchi hereinafter; English translation included with this Office action).
Regarding claim 1, Asayama discloses a gas laser device (Figs. 1-7, 9, 13-24, 26-28, 30-37, paras. [0082]-[0084], laser apparatus includes laser chamber 10) comprising:
a conductive laser chamber including an opening and a pair of windows (Figs. 1-7, 9, 13-24, 26-28, 30-37, paras. [0084], [0111], [0127], the laser chamber 10 includes an opening for insulator 20 and windows 10a, 10b. The laser chamber 10 includes metal material);
an electrical insulating portion blocking the opening (Figs. 1-7, 9, 13-24, 26-28, 30-37, paras. [0084], [0125], insulator 20 is within the laser chamber 10 opening);
a first electrode fixed to a surface of the electrical insulating portion on a side of an internal space of the laser chamber (Figs. 1-7, 9, 13-24, 26-28, 30-37, paras. [0083]-[0084], [0125]-[0126] electrode 11a is attached to insulator 20 on one interior side of the laser chamber 10); and
a second electrode facing the first electrode at the internal space of the laser chamber (Figs. 1-7, 9, 31, 36-37, paras. [0083], [0098]-[0099], [0126], electrode 11b faces electrode 11a inside the laser chamber 10),
a laser gas being enclosed at the internal space of the laser chamber (Figs. 1-7, 9, 31, 36-37, paras. [0079], [0082]-[0083], [0091]-[0094], [0099], laser gas is supplied between the electrodes 11a and 11b inside laser chamber 10),
the laser chamber being configured to cause light, generated through excitation of the laser gas due to discharge caused by a voltage applied between the first electrode and the second electrode, to be output outside the laser chamber through the pair of windows (Figs. 1-7, 9, 31, 36-37, paras. [0098]-[0104], a controller 30 applies a voltage between electrodes 11a and 11b to cause discharge and the emission of light from the excited laser gas. the light is output through windows 10a and 10b),
the first electrode including a contact region which is in contact with the surface of the electrical insulating portion, an opposing surface which faces the second electrode (Figs. 1-7, 9, 13-24, 26-28, 30-37, paras. [0140], [0145]-[0147], [0167], [0172]-[0173], [0177], [0194]-[0198], [0209]-[0212], electrode 11a contacts a surface in contact with insulator 20, such as insulators 73, 74, insulator member 121. The electrode includes a surface opposing the electrode 11b). Asayama does not appear to explicitly describe a first curved surface which is included in a region between the contact region and the opposing surface and which is convexly curved toward an outer side of the first electrode, in a cross section of the first electrode along a surface extending in a separation direction of the first electrode and the second electrode and a predetermined direction perpendicular to the separation direction, the contact region being located on an inner side of the first electrode with respect to the first curved surface, and the first curved surface being a part of a circumference of a circle or an ellipse which does not intersect the electrical insulating portion.
Mizoguchi discloses an electrical insulating portion (Fig. 2, page 4 of English translation, insulating member 7), a first electrode fixed to a surface of the electrical insulating portion on a side of an internal space of the laser chamber (Figs. 1-2, 5, 10-11, pgs. 4-5 and 7, electrode 5, 16 is fixed to a surface of the insulating member 7 on one side of the discharge excitation region); and
a second electrode facing the first electrode at the internal space of the laser chamber (Figs. 1-2, 5, 10-11, pgs. 4 and 7, electrode 6, 17 faces the electrode 5),
the first electrode including a contact region which is in contact with the surface of the electrical insulating portion, an opposing surface which faces the second electrode (Figs. 1-2, 5, 10-11, pgs. 4-5 and 7, the first electrode includes a contact surface with the insulating member 7 and an opposing surface facing the second electrode), and a first curved surface which is included in a region between the contact region and the opposing surface and which is convexly curved toward an outer side of the first electrode (Figs. 1-2, 5, 10-11, pgs. 4 and 7, the electrode 5, 16 includes a convex surface between the contact surface and the opposing surface (see annotated Figs. 10 and 11 below)), and
in a cross section of the first electrode along a surface extending in a separation direction of the first electrode and the second electrode and a predetermined direction perpendicular to the separation direction, the contact region being located on an inner side of the first electrode with respect to the first curved surface, and the first curved surface being a part of a circumference of a circle or an ellipse which does not intersect the electrical insulating portion (Figs. 2 and 10-11, pgs. 4-5 and 7, the shape of the surface the electrode 16b provides contact with the insulating member 7 on an interior side of the electrode, and the convex surface is part of a circumference of an ellipse or circle not intersecting with the surface of the insulating member 7 in the annotated Figs. 10 and 11 below).
[AltContent: textbox (Examiner-annotated Figures 10 and 11)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a first curved surface which is included in a region between the contact region and the opposing surface and which is convexly curved toward an outer side of the first electrode, in a cross section of the first electrode along a surface extending in a separation direction of the first electrode and the second electrode and a predetermined direction perpendicular to the separation direction, the contact region being located on an inner side of the first electrode with respect to the first curved surface, and the first curved surface being a part of a circumference of a circle or an ellipse which does not intersect the electrical insulating portion as taught by Mizoguchi as the shape of the first electrode in the gas laser device as taught by Asayama since including a first curved surface which is included in a region between the contact region and the opposing surface and which is convexly curved toward an outer side of the first electrode, in a cross section of the first electrode along a surface extending in a separation direction of the first electrode and the second electrode and a predetermined direction perpendicular to the separation direction, the contact region being located on an inner side of the first electrode with respect to the first curved surface, and the first curved surface being a part of a circumference of a circle or an ellipse which does not intersect the electrical insulating portion is commonly used to reduce discharge instability to produce a stable laser with a uniform light beam (Mizoguchi, pgs. 4, para. [0018], 6, 7, para. [0039]).
Regarding claim 2, Asayama as modified by Mizoguchi discloses wherein the region of the first electrode further includes a first plane connected to the contact region, extending in a direction away from the electrical insulating portion, and connected to the first curved surface (Asayama, Figs. 1-7, 9, 13-24, 26-28, 30-37, paras. [0083]-[0084], [0125]-[0126], a plane extends away from the contact surface of electrode 11a with the insulating member 7 and connected to the surface of the electrode 11a, and as modified by Mizoguchi, Figs. 2 and 10-11, pgs. 4 and 7, a plane is connected to the contact region between the electrode 5, 16 and the insulating member 7 and connected to the convex surface of electrode 16).
Regarding claim 4, Asayama as modified by Mizoguchi discloses wherein the region of the first electrode further includes a second plane extending in the separation direction and connected to the first curved surface and the opposing surface (Mizoguchi, Figs. 2 and 10-11, pgs. 4 and 7, a second plane extends between the electrodes and connected to the curved surface and the surface facing the electrode 17b).
Regarding claim 5, Asayama as modified by Mizoguchi discloses wherein the first electrode extends in a travel direction of the light (Asayama, Figs. 1-7, 9, 13-24, 26-28, 30-37, paras. [0083]-[0084], [0125]-[0126] electrode 11a extends in the direction of the laser beam, and as modified by Mizoguchi, Figs. 2 and 10-11, pgs. 4 and 7, electrode 5, 16), and the predetermined direction is a direction perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the first electrode (Asayama, Figs. 1-7, 9, 13-24, 26-28, 30-37, paras. [0083]-[0084], [0125]-[0126], a direction is perpendicular to the length direction of the electrode 11a (see Figs. 2, 3B, 4B, for example), and as modified by Mizoguchi, Figs. 2 and 10-11, pgs. 4 and 7, a direction perpendicular to the length direction of electrode 5, 16).
Regarding claim 6, Asayama as modified by Mizoguchi discloses wherein the first electrode extends in a travel direction of the light (Asayama, Figs. 1-7, 9, 13-24, 26-28, 30-37, paras. [0083]-[0084], [0125]-[0126], electrode 11a extends in the direction of the laser beam, and as modified by Mizoguchi, Figs. 2 and 10-11, pgs. 4 and 7, electrode 5, 16), and the predetermined direction is a longitudinal direction of the first electrode (Asayama, Figs. 1-7, 9, 13-24, 26-28, 30-37, paras. [0083]-[0084], [0125]-[0126], electrode 11a extends in the direction of the laser beam (see Figs. 6A, 31A, for example), and as modified by Mizoguchi, Figs. 2 and 10-11, pgs. 4 and 7, electrode 5, 16).
Regarding claim 7, Asayama as modified by Mizoguchi discloses wherein the region of the first electrode further includes a first plane connected to the contact region and extending in a direction away from the electrical insulating portion, and a third plane connected to the first plane and the first curved surface and parallel to the electrical insulating portion (Asayama, Figs. 1-7, 9, 13-24, 26-28, 30-37, paras. [0083]-[0084], [0125]-[0126], a plane extends away from the contact surface of electrode 11a with the insulating member 7, and plane extends parallel to the insulating member 7, and as modified by Mizoguchi, Figs. 2 and 10-11, pgs. 4 and 7, a plane is connected to the contact region between the electrode 5, 16 and the insulating member 7, and a plane parallel to the insulating member 7 connects to the curved surface of the electrode).
Regarding claim 8, Asayama as modified by Mizoguchi discloses wherein the region of the first electrode further includes a second plane extending in the separation direction and connected to the first curved surface and the opposing surface (Mizoguchi, Figs. 2 and 10-11, pgs. 4 and 7, a second plane extends between the electrodes and connected to the curved surface and the surface facing the electrode 17b).
Regarding claim 9, Asayama as modified by Mizoguchi discloses wherein the first plane is perpendicular to the contact region (Asayama, Figs. 1-7, 9, 13-24, 26-28, 30-37, paras. [0083]-[0084], [0125]-[0126], a plane extends away from the contact surface of electrode 11a with the insulating member 7).
Regarding claim 10, Asayama as modified by Mizoguchi discloses wherein the first curved surface is connected to the opposing surface (Mizoguchi, Figs. 2 and 10-11, pgs. 4-5 and 7, the convex surface of electrode 16 provides a connection to the surface facing electrode 17).
Regarding claim 11, Asayama as modified by Mizoguchi discloses wherein the opposing surface further includes a second curved surface connected to the first curved surface and a fourth plane connected to the second curved surface (Mizoguchi, Figs. 2 and 10-11, pgs. 4-5 and 7, the surface of electrode 16 facing electrode 17 includes a curved surface connected to the curved surface connected to the contact surface for insulating member 7 (see annotated Figs. 10-11 above), and a plane is connected to the surface opposite electrode 17),
the first curved surface and the second curved surface are located on the circumference of the circle in the cross section of the first electrode (Mizoguchi, Figs. 2 and 10-11, pgs. 4-5 and 7, the curved surface of electrode 16 are on a circle (for example, see annotated Figs. 10 and 11 above)), and
the fourth plane is parallel to the electrical insulating portion (Mizoguchi, Figs. 2 and 10-11, pgs. 4-5 and 7, the plane is parallel to the insulating member 7).
Regarding claim 12, Asayama as modified by Mizoguchi discloses wherein the region of the first electrode further includes a first plane connected to the contact region and extending in a direction away from the electrical insulating portion, and a third plane connected to the first plane and the first curved surface and parallel to the electrical insulating portion (Asayama, Figs. 1-7, 9, 13-24, 26-28, 30-37, paras. [0083]-[0084], [0125]-[0126], a plane extends away from the contact surface of electrode 11a with the insulating member 7, and plane extends parallel to the insulating member 7, and as modified by Mizoguchi, Figs. 2 and 10-11, pgs. 4 and 7, a plane is connected to the contact region between the electrode 5, 16 and the insulating member 7, and a plane parallel to the insulating member 7 connects to the curved surface of the electrode).
Regarding claim 13, Asayama as modified by Mizoguchi discloses wherein the opposing surface further includes a second curved surface connected to the first curved surface (Mizoguchi, Figs. 2 and 10-11, pgs. 4-5 and 7, the surface of electrode 16 facing electrode 17 includes a curved surface connected to the curved surface connected to the contact surface for insulating member 7 (see annotated Figs. 10-11 above)),
the first curved surface and the second curved surface are located on the circumference of the ellipse in the cross section of the first electrode (Mizoguchi, Figs. 2 and 10-11, pgs. 4-5 and 7, the curved surface of electrode 16 are on an ellipse (for example, see annotated Figs. 10 and 11 above)).
Regarding claim 14, Asayama as modified by Mizoguchi discloses wherein the region of the first electrode further includes a first plane connected to the contact region, extending in a direction away from the electrical insulating portion and perpendicular to the contact region and connected to the first curved surface (Asayama, Figs. 1-7, 9, 13-24, 26-28, 30-37, paras. [0083]-[0084], [0125]-[0126], a plane extends away from the contact surface of electrode 11a with the insulating member 7 and perpendicular to the insulating member 7 and surface of the electrode 11a, and as modified by Mizoguchi, Figs. 2 and 10-11, pgs. 4 and 7, a plane is connected to the contact region between the electrode 5, 16 and the insulating member 7 and perpendicular to the insulating member 7).
Regarding claim 15, Asayama discloses an electronic device manufacturing method (Figs. 1-7, 9, 13-24, 26-28, 30-37, paras. [0005]-[0006], [0079], [0082]-[0084], [0097], [0101], laser apparatus includes laser chamber 10 generates a laser for exposure apparatus 100 to expose a wafer during exposure processing for semiconductor integrated circuit manufacturing), comprising:
generating laser light using a gas laser device (Figs. 1-7, 9, 13-24, 26-28, 30-37, paras. [0079]-[0080], [0082]-[0084], [0098]-[0104], laser apparatus includes laser chamber 10 to produce a laser output to exposure apparatus 100);
outputting the laser light to an exposure apparatus (Figs. 1-7, 9, 13-24, 26-28, 30-37, paras. [0079]-[0080], [0082]-[0084], [0098]-[0104], the laser beam is output to exposure apparatus 100); and
exposing a photosensitive substrate to the laser light in the exposure apparatus to manufacture an electronic device (Figs. 1-7, 9, 13-24, 26-28, 30-37, paras. [0005]-[0006], [0079], [0082]-[0084], [0097], [0101], exposure apparatus 100 uses the laser beam to expose a wafer during exposure processing for semiconductor integrated circuit manufacturing), the gas laser device comprising:
a conductive laser chamber including an opening and a pair of windows (Figs. 1-7, 9, 13-24, 26-28, 30-37, paras. [0084], [0111], [0127], the laser chamber 10 includes an opening for insulator 20 and windows 10a, 10b. The laser chamber 10 includes metal material);
an electrical insulating portion blocking the opening (Figs. 1-7, 9, 13-24, 26-28, 30-37, paras. [0084], [0125], insulator 20 is within the laser chamber 10 opening);
a first electrode fixed to a surface of the electrical insulating portion on a side of an internal space of the laser chamber (Figs. 1-7, 9, 13-24, 26-28, 30-37, paras. [0083]-[0084], [0125]-[0126] electrode 11a is attached to insulator 20 on one interior side of the laser chamber 10); and
a second electrode facing the first electrode at the internal space of the laser chamber (Figs. 1-7, 9, 31, 36-37, paras. [0083], [0098]-[0099], [0126], electrode 11b faces electrode 11a inside the laser chamber 10),
a laser gas being enclosed at the internal space of the laser chamber (Figs. 1-7, 9, 31, 36-37, paras. [0079], [0082]-[0083], [0091]-[0094], [0099], laser gas is supplied between the electrodes 11a and 11b inside laser chamber 10),
the laser chamber being configured to cause light, generated through excitation of the laser gas due to discharge caused by a voltage applied between the first electrode and the second electrode, to be output outside the laser chamber through the pair of windows (Figs. 1-7, 9, 31, 36-37, paras. [0098]-[0104], a controller 30 applies a voltage between electrodes 11a and 11b to cause discharge and the emission of light from the excited laser gas. the light is output through windows 10a and 10b),
the first electrode including a contact region which is in contact with the surface of the electrical insulating portion, an opposing surface which faces the second electrode (Figs. 1-7, 9, 13-24, 26-28, 30-37, paras. [0140], [0145]-[0147], [0167], [0172]-[0173], [0177], [0194]-[0198], [0209]-[0212], electrode 11a contacts a surface in contact with insulator 20, such as insulators 73, 74, insulator member 121. The electrode includes a surface opposing the electrode 11b). Asayama does not appear to explicitly describe a first curved surface which is included in a region between the contact region and the opposing surface and which is convexly curved toward an outer side of the first electrode, and in a cross section of the first electrode along a surface extending in a separation direction of the first electrode and the second electrode and a predetermined direction perpendicular to the separation direction, the contact region being located on an inner side of the first electrode with respect to the first curved surface, and the first curved surface being a part of a circumference of a circle or an ellipse which does not intersect the electrical insulating portion.
Mizoguchi discloses an electrical insulating portion (Fig. 2, page 4 of English translation, insulating member 7), a first electrode fixed to a surface of the electrical insulating portion on a side of an internal space of the laser chamber (Figs. 1-2, 5, 10-11, pgs. 4-5 and 7, electrode 5, 16 is fixed to a surface of the insulating member 7 on one side of the discharge excitation region); and
a second electrode facing the first electrode at the internal space of the laser chamber (Figs. 1-2, 5, 10-11, pgs. 4 and 7, electrode 6, 17 faces the electrode 5),
the first electrode including a contact region which is in contact with the surface of the electrical insulating portion, an opposing surface which faces the second electrode (Figs. 1-2, 5, 10-11, pgs. 4-5 and 7, the first electrode includes a contact surface with the insulating member 7 and an opposing surface facing the second electrode), and a first curved surface which is included in a region between the contact region and the opposing surface and which is convexly curved toward an outer side of the first electrode (Figs. 1-2, 5, 10-11, pgs. 4-5 and 7, the electrode 5, 16 includes a convex surface between the contact surface and the opposing surface (see annotated Figs. 10 and 11 above)), and
in a cross section of the first electrode along a surface extending in a separation direction of the first electrode and the second electrode and a predetermined direction perpendicular to the separation direction, the contact region being located on an inner side of the first electrode with respect to the first curved surface, and the first curved surface being a part of a circumference of a circle or an ellipse which does not intersect the electrical insulating portion (Figs. 2 and 10-11, pgs. 4-5 and 7, the shape of the surface the electrode 16b provides contact with the insulating member 7 on an interior side of the electrode, and the convex surface is part of a circumference of an ellipse or circle not intersecting with the surface of the insulating member 7 in the annotated Figs. 10 and 11 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a first curved surface which is included in a region between the contact region and the opposing surface and which is convexly curved toward an outer side of the first electrode, in a cross section of the first electrode along a surface extending in a separation direction of the first electrode and the second electrode and a predetermined direction perpendicular to the separation direction, the contact region being located on an inner side of the first electrode with respect to the first curved surface, and the first curved surface being a part of a circumference of a circle or an ellipse which does not intersect the electrical insulating portion as taught by Mizoguchi as the shape of the first electrode in the gas laser device in the method as taught by Asayama since including a first curved surface which is included in a region between the contact region and the opposing surface and which is convexly curved toward an outer side of the first electrode, in a cross section of the first electrode along a surface extending in a separation direction of the first electrode and the second electrode and a predetermined direction perpendicular to the separation direction, the contact region being located on an inner side of the first electrode with respect to the first curved surface, and the first curved surface being a part of a circumference of a circle or an ellipse which does not intersect the electrical insulating portion is commonly used to reduce discharge instability to produce a stable laser with a uniform light beam (Mizoguchi, pgs. 4, para. [0018], 6, 7, para. [0039]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asayama as modified by Mizoguchi as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Katsuumi et al. (US PGPub 2017/0346252, Katsuumi hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, Asayama as modified by Mizoguchi does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the first plane is inclined with respect to the contact region.
Katsuumi discloses wherein the first plane is inclined with respect to the contact region (Figs. 15A-D, 16, paras. [0157]-[0159], the electrode 11a includes a wide portion 11c with an inclined portion of the electrode with respect to the contact region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the first plane is inclined with respect to the contact region as taught by Katsuumi as the first plane in the gas laser device as taught by Asayama as modified by Mizoguchi since including wherein the first plane is inclined with respect to the contact region is commonly used to provide a shape of the electrode to ease an electric field to reduce electric discharge in spaces other than the intended discharge space (Katsuumi, para. [0157]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Steiger et al. (US PGPub 2005/0047471, Steiger hereinafter) discloses an electrode assembly formed of ellipsoidal portions.
Niemoller et al. (US PGPub 2007/0002918) discloses an upper electrode with shoulder portions in a gas laser chamber.
Gillespie et al. (US PGPub 2010/0054295) discloses an electrode having a rounded surface in a gas discharge laser.
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882