DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “an insulating film disposed in a third portion of the trench, wherein the photoelectric conversion region is disposed in an active region and wherein the first, second, and third portions of the trench are disposed in an isolation region.” (claim 7), and insulating film (claim 8) and gate insulating film (claim 9) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Regarding insulating film (claim 8) and gate insulating film (claim 9), FIG. 5A shows a
gate insulating film 29a, but it is unclear what layer is the “insulating film” as stated in claim 8. It does not appear the layer 27 is the “insulating film” since claim 11 states “an isolation insulating film”, which appears to be layer 27 as shown in FIG. 5A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 5, and 9 thru 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In lines 7-10 of claim 7, the applicant states “an insulating film disposed in a third portion of the trench, wherein the photoelectric conversion region is disposed in an active region and wherein the first, second, and third portions of the trench are disposed in an isolation region.”; however, it is unclear what is area is “a third portion” since the “third portion of the trench” is not used in the specification and may be interpreted as any arbitrary area of the trench. Further, regarding the limitation “wherein the first, second, and third portions of the trench are disposed in an isolation region”, the applicant shows (see, for example, FIG. 5A) a trench 26, but none of trench 26 is disposed in an isolation region but rather in a semiconductor layer 20. Appropriate clarification and/or correction are required.
Claim 9 recites “a gate insulating film”, but it is unclear whether the “gate insulating film” is referring to “an insulating film” in line 7 of claim 8. In claim 10, the applicant further states “an insulating film”, and then in claim 11, the applicant further states “an isolation insulating film”. For example, in FIG. 5A, the applicant shows a gate insulating film 29a, and an isolation insulating film 27, but it is unclear which layer would be defined as the “an insulating film” as stated in claim 8. In other words, it is unclear how these structures as stated in claim 8 (i.e. “an insulating film”), claim 9 (i.e. “a gate insulating film”), and claim 11 (i.e. “isolation insulating film”) are represented in FIG. 5A, for example since the claims as stated disclose three separate insulating films but FIG. 5A only shows two insulating films 29a, and 27 that could possibly be the films (i.e. “an insulating film”, “a gate insulating film”, and “ and “isolation insulating film” as disclosed in claims 8, 9, and 11 respectively). Appropriate clarification and/or correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nozaki et al. US 2012/0043589 A1. Nozaki discloses (see, for example, FIG. 3A) a light detecting device comprising a photoelectric conversion region 310, semiconductor layer 330, floating diffusion 320, transfer gate electrode 360, first portion 362 of the gate electrode 360, first portion of the trench 335, and a second portion of the trench 335. The second portion of the trench 335 penetrates the semiconductor layer 330. Any region inside the trench is a “portion” of the trench 335. See, for example, annotated FIG. 3A of Nozaki, which shows the locations of the first, second and third portions of the trench 335 as stated in the applicant’s claims. As shown in the annotated FIG. 3A below, the first portion (i.e. green arrow) of the trench is in the middle of the trench 335 at a depth in between the third portion (i.e. blue arrow) and second portion (i.e. red arrow), the second portion of the trench is at the bottom of the trench and is occupied by the insulating film 350, and the third portion of the trench is the most shallow and occupied by the insulating film 350 on the right edge of the trench 335.
Regarding claim 2, see, for example, FIG. 3A wherein Nozaki discloses the first portion of the trench 335 being shallower than the than the second portion of the trench 335.
Regarding claim 16, see, for example, FIG. 3A wherein Nozaki an isolation insulating film 350 being disposed in the second portion of the trench 335.
Regarding claim 19, see, for example, FIG. 6A wherein Nozaki discloses the transfer gate electrode 660 having a rectangular form 661/662.
Regarding claim 20, see, for example, paragraph [0032] wherein Nozaki discloses lenses, even though not illustrated, and FIG. 1A wherein Nozaki discloses control circuitry 120 and readout circuitry 110, which are both types of signal processing circuits.
In view of the 112 rejection above, claim(s) 7, 5, and 8 thru 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paik et al. US 2006/0145215 A1. Paik discloses (see, for example, FIG. 6) a light detecting device comprising a photoelectric conversion region 69 disposed in a semiconductor layer 51; a floating diffusion 79 disposed in the semiconductor layer 51; a gate electrode 73’ of a transfer transistor is disposed in a first portion of a trench, and wherein a second portion of the trench penetrates the semiconductor layer; an insulating film 71 disposed in a third portion of the trench wherein the photoelectric conversion region 69 is disposed in an active region and wherein the first, second and third portion of the trench are disposed in an isolation region 63.
Regarding claim 5, see, for example, FIG. 6 wherein Paik discloses the third portion of the trench being shallower than the second portion of the trench.
Regarding claim 8, see, for example, FIG. 6 and the annotated figure above wherein Paik discloses a light detecting device comprising a photoelectric conversion region 69 disposed in a semiconductor layer 51; a floating diffusion 79 disposed in the semiconductor layer 51; a gate electrode 73’ of a transfer transistor, wherein at least a first portion of the gate electrode is disposed in a first portion of a trench, and wherein a second portion of the trench penetrates the semiconductor layer; an insulating film 71 disposed in a third portion of the trench, wherein at least a second portion (i.e. top left portion of the gate electrode 73’ that is above the insulating film 71) of the gate electrode 73’ is disposed on a first surface side of the semiconductor layer 51.
Regarding claim 9, see, for example, FIG. 6 wherein Paik discloses at least a part of the second portion of the gate electrode 73’ being separated from the semiconductor layer 51 by a gate insulating film 71.
Regarding claim 10, see, for example, FIG. 6 wherein Paik discloses at least a part of the first portion of the gate electrode 73’ being separated from the semiconductor layer 51 by the insulating film 71.
Regarding claims 11-15, see the 112 rejection above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 18, 3, 4, and 6 are allowed. The references of record, either singularly or in combination, do not teach or suggest at least a light detecting device, comprising: wherein at least a first portion of the gate electrode is disposed in a first portion of a trench, wherein an isolation insulating film is disposed in the second portion of the trench, wherein the isolation insulating film and the second portion of the trench form a square annular planar pattern surrounding a periphery of the photoelectric conversion region.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
INFORMATION ON HOW TO CONTACT THE USPTO
Eugene Lee
September 7, 2026
/EUGENE LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815