DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
1. Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo et al. (KR20210098131, examiner is using English machine Translation as provided) in view of Seo et al. (KR 101557611, examiner is using English Machine Translation as provided).
Claim 1. Woo et al. teach a nanogap-based hydrogen sensor (hydrogen sensor with nanogap; Fig 2 and page 3) including:
a metamaterial (electrode coated onto substrate 1) manufactured by forming a metal nanoslot pattern on a wafer (support part 2 onto substrate 1 forms the nanoslot 4; see pages 4-5);
a catalyst layer deposited on the surface of the metamaterial to form a nanogap inside the metal nanoslot (sensor unit 3 made up of palladium is deposited onto the electrode to form nanogap inside the nanoslot 4; see pages 3-5).
Woo et al. do not teach a protective layer formed on the catalyst layer to protect the catalyst layer. However, Seo et al. teach hydrogen sensor comprising sensing layer 230 covered with protective layer 250 to protect the sensing layer from external contaminants (page 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention in view of Seo et al. teaching to form a protecting layer on the catalyst/sensor unit 3 of Woo et al. because the protection layer protects the sensor unit from external contaminants.
Claim 2. Woo et al. teach the catalyst layer is formed by depositing a catalyst material on the surface of the metamaterial, the nanogap is formed between the metal wall surface and the catalyst layer inside the metal nanoslot due to the step difference of the metal nanoslot (nanogap is formed between the electrode surface and the sensor unit 3 protrusion 32 inside the nanoslot 4 due to step difference of the nanoslot 4).
Claim 3. Woo et al. teach the nanoslot 4 is formed with nano-dimension. Woo et al. do not explicitly teach the nanogap has a width of 10 to 25 nm. However, Woo et al. teach the nanogap thickness can be adjusted by changing the thickness of sacrificial layer 5 (see page 5), therefore the nanogap width could be adjusted
Claim 4. Woo et al. teach the catalyst layer causes a distance change from the wall surface of the metal forming the metal nanoslot as the volume thereof expands due to a reaction with hydrogen, thereby changing a gap size of the nanogap (the protrusion part 32 expands due to presence of hydrogen and distance change from the electrode and protrusion; see page 4).
Claims 5 and 6 is/are considered product-by-process claim. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113).
Claim 7. Woo et al. teach a method of manufacturing a nanogap-based hydrogen sensor (method of making hydrogen sensor comprising nanogap; see Fig 5a-c and page 3), the method including the steps of:
manufacturing a metamaterial by forming a metal nanoslot pattern on a wafer (electrode coating is disposed on substrate 1 and support part 2 forms the pattern of the nanoslot 4; see pages 4-5);
depositing a catalyst material on the surface of the metamaterial to form a catalyst layer forming a nanogap inside the metal nanoslot (sensor unit 3 made up of palladium is deposited onto the electrode to form nanogap inside the nanoslot 4; see pages 3-5).
Woo et al. do not teach forming a protective layer protecting the catalyst layer on the catalyst layer. However, Seo et al. teach hydrogen sensor comprising sensing layer 230 covered with protective layer 250 to protect the sensing layer from external contaminants (page 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention in view of Seo et al. teaching to form a protecting layer on the catalyst/sensor unit 3 of Woo et al. because the protection layer protect the sensor unit from external contaminants.
Claim 8. Woo et al. tach in the step of forming the catalyst layer, when the catalyst layer is formed by depositing a catalyst material on the surface of the metamaterial, the nanogap is formed between the metal wall surface and the catalyst layer inside the metal nanoslot due to the step difference of the metal nanoslot (nanogap is formed between the electrode surface and the sensor unit 3 protrusion 32 inside the nanoslot 4 due to step difference of the nanoslot 4).
Claim 9. Woo et al. teach the step of manufacturing the metamaterial is a step of manufacturing the metamaterial by forming the metal nanoslot pattern on the wafer through a photolithography process (photolithography process is used to form nanoslot by forming sacrificial layer; see page 5).
Claim 10. Woo et al. teach the step of forming the catalyst layer is a step of forming a catalyst layer forming a nanogap inside the metal nanoslot by depositing a catalyst material on the surface of the metamaterial through a thermal evaporator (vapor deposition method which inherently use heat to form the vapor is used to deposit sensor unit 3; see claim 6; pages 8-9).
Conclusion
/GURPREET KAUR/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759