DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baek et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0202083).
Regarding claim 1, in Figure 1, Baek discloses a printed circuit board comprising: a first substrate portion (comprising 105, 185) including a first insulating portion (105) and a plurality of first wiring layers (130, 120) respectively disposed on or in the first insulating portion; a resin layer (155, paragraph [0053]) disposed to cover a side surface of the first insulating portion; and a second substrate portion (comprising 180, 187) including a second insulating portion (180, 187) disposed to cover each of an upper surface of the first insulating portion and an upper surface of the resin layer, and a second wiring layer (160, 165) disposed on or in the second insulating portion.
Regarding claim 2, Baek discloses wherein the second wiring layer includes a wiring finer than a wiring of the first wiring layer (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Baek discloses wherein the second insulating portion covers at least a portion of the first wiring layer (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Baek discloses wherein a side surface of the second insulating portion is substantially coplanar with a side surface of the resin layer (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Baek discloses wherein at least a portion of the second wiring layer is disposed on an upper region of the resin layer (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Baek discloses a third substrate portion including a third insulating portion disposed on a lower side of the first insulating portion, and a third wiring layer disposed on the third insulating portion (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Baek discloses wherein the third insulating portion covers a lower surface of the resin layer (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Baek discloses wherein the third insulating portion includes a material substantially the same as a material of the second insulating portion (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Baek discloses a solder resist layer disposed on each of the second insulating portion and the third insulating portion (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Baek discloses wherein a side surface of the solder resist layer is substantially coplanar with a side surface of the second insulating portion and a side surface of the resin layer (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Baek discloses a fourth substrate portion including a fourth insulating portion disposed on side surfaces of the second and third insulating portions and a side surface of the resin layer, and a fourth wiring layer disposed on or in the fourth insulating portion (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Baek discloses wherein the fourth insulating portion includes a fourth-first insulating portion and a fourth-second insulating portion, the fourth-first insulating portion includes a material substantially the same as a material of the first insulating portion, and the fourth-second insulating portion includes a material substantially the same as a material of the second insulating portion (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Baek discloses wherein the fourth wiring layer includes a fourth-first wiring layer and a fourth-second wiring layer, the fourth-first wiring layer includes a wiring having a density substantially the same as that of a wiring of the first wiring layer, and the fourth-second wiring layer includes a wiring having a density substantially the same as that of a wiring of the second wiring layer (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Baek discloses wherein the fourth-second insulating portion and the second insulating portion are one integral insulating portion (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 15, Baek discloses wherein the fourth substrate portion includes a metal block passing through at least a portion of the fourth insulating portion, the metal block connected to the fourth wiring layer (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, Baek discloses wherein the resin layer includes at least one of a thermal interface material (TIM), a bonding sheet, an epoxy molding compound (EMC), or an underfill resin (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 17, in Figure 1, Baek discloses a printed circuit board comprising: a first substrate portion (comprising 105, 185) including a first insulating portion (105) and a first wiring layer (130, 120) disposed on or in the first insulating portion; a resin layer (155, paragraph [0053]) disposed to cover a side surface of the first substrate portion; and a second substrate portion (comprising 180, 187) including a second insulating portion (180, 187) disposed on the first insulating portion and the resin layer, and a second wiring layer (160, 165) disposed on or in the second insulating portion, wherein an upper surface of the resin layer is substantially coplanar with an upper surface of the first insulating portion (Figure 7).
Regarding claim 18, Baek discloses wherein a side surface of the resin layer is externally exposed, and a side surface of the second insulating portion is substantially coplanar with the side surface of the resin layer (Figure 1).
Conclusion
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847