DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim(s)
Generic Placeholder or “means for”
Functional Language
Corresponding Structure
1-8
a “pressing unit”
Presses (i.e. configured to press) the insert of the test tray prepared on the preparation surface toward the test board
Discussed in [0081]-[0083] and depicted as figure 9, 220, illustrating the structure
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. USPG Pub. No.: US 2005/0012498.
Regarding Claim 1, Lee teaches a test apparatus for a semiconductor device with terminals located on a lateral surface thereof (see Lee figures 1 and 9, in which the X and Y directions represent lateral directions relative to the device’s lying down state; see the par [07] of the present specification, which states that the lateral direction is relative to the lying-down state of the device, as shown in figure 6 of the figures of the present application), the test apparatus comprising:
a test board that has a preparation surface (see figures 9-12, 310) on which a test tray (see figure 12, 337 which are test trays to which semiconductors 360 are mounted) with the semiconductor device mounted to an insert is prepared (see [0073]-[0074] and figures 9-10, see the inserts 330 that a has a receiver 335 with a pocket 337, i.e. the test trays, where semiconductors 360 are mounted), and performs a test on the semiconductor device mounted to the insert (see [0050]-[0051] discussing the test operation); and
a pressing unit that is positioned to face the preparation surface and presses the insert of the test tray prepared on the preparation surface toward the test board (see [0076] and figures 9-10 and 12, pushing assembly 350),
the test board comprising:
an insert guide block (figure 9 and 12, 315) that supports the insert of the test tray prepared on the preparation surface (see figures 9-12); and
a socket that is located on the insert guide block, has a connection surface where an axis of intersecting a pressing direction of the pressing unit passes (see [0017], [0071], and figure 9, socket 313), and exchanges signals for a test with the semiconductor device as electrically connected to the terminals of the lateral surface of the semiconductor device being in close contact with the connection surface (see [0017], [0071], and figures 9-12).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee teaches the test apparatus of claim 1, wherein the insert guide block comprises an insert alignment hole or pin extended in parallel with a direction of pushing the insert to interact with the insert while the insert is being pushed in a direction intersecting the pressing direction and located adjacent to the socket (see figure 9 which shows that 315 comprises alignment holes and pins that meet the claimed limitation).
Regarding Claim 3, Lee teaches the test apparatus of claim 2, wherein the socket comprises a push alignment hole or pin extending in parallel with a direction of pushing the insert to further align the semiconductor device with the connection surface after the insert is aligned by the insert alignment hole or pin (seen in figure 9 as the socket comprises an alignment hole that receives a pushing force).
Regarding Claim 4, Lee teaches the test apparatus of claim 3, wherein the push alignment hole or pin has a smaller diameter than the insert alignment hole or pin (see figure 9 in which the push alignment pin has a diameter that fits within the diameter of the insert alignment hole at 330).
Regarding Claim 5, Lee teaches the test apparatus of claim 3, wherein the insert alignment pin protrudes more than the push alignment pin (see figure 9 in which the insert alignment hole protrudes more than the push alignment pin in the x-dimension; note that the applicant does not specify the direction of the protrusion).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee teaches the test apparatus of claim 1, wherein the insert guide block comprises a preparation alignment hole or pin extending in parallel with a direction in which the test tray approaches the preparation surface so that the insert guide block can interact with the insert while the test tray is being prepared on the preparation surface (see figures 9-12 in which the insert guide block comprises preparation alignment hole as a part of preparation surface 310 at element 317).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee teaches the test apparatus of claim 1, wherein the pressing unit comprises a guide hole or pin extending in parallel with the pressing direction to interact with the insert (see figure 9 in which the pressing unit 350 is comprised of component 353 having a pin that interacts with the insert in a parallel manner to the pressing force).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee teaches the test apparatus of claim 1, wherein, based on a direction perpendicular to the connection surface, the thickness of the insert guide block is shorter than the height of the lateral surface of the semiconductor device (clearly seen in figure 9 as 315 is not as thick as 360).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL A HARRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 2852