DETAILED ACTION
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
This application contains claims directed to more than one species of the generic invention. These species are deemed to lack unity of invention because they are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
The species are as follows:
Ducted fan with outer and inner rows of chevrons – see Figs. 3A, 4 and 9.
Unducted fan with single row of chevrons and variable pitch stator – see Figs. 3B, 5, 6, 7A-7F.
Applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single species to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. The reply must also identify the claims readable on the elected species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered non-responsive unless accompanied by an election.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which are written in dependent form or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowed generic claim. Currently, the following claim(s) are generic: no claim appears generic as claim 1 is directed to a variable pitch stator disclosed only in the context of the unducted fan.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons.
Claim Objections
Claims 11, 14, 16, 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: the preamble / introductory portion of claim 11 “wherein the at least one locating arrangement comprises the lower locating arrangement” is redundant as this limitation is already positively set forth in claim 21. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 9-14 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 “wherein the upper locating arrangement is configured so that there is a circumferential clearance between opposing portions of the upper locating arrangement in the closed position in a static state of the propulsion device” is unclear as to what this limitation entails. Note even a hole/opening by itself has a circumferential clearance between opposing portions. Analogous issues occur for claims 16, 17
Claims 16, 17 “in a static state” appears to repeat limitations from claim 1 but do not make clear the relationship to “a static state” of claim 1.
Claim 11 “wherein for each thrust reverser half: the at least one locating arrangement comprises the lower locating arrangement” is indefinite. Note that claim 1 establishes the at least one locating arrangement as the upper locating arrangement. Claim 21 only sets forth a lower locating arrangement. The wording of claim 11 requires the at least one locating arrangement [clm. 1 - the upper locating arrangement] to comprise the lower locating arrangement. These are now conflicting requirements. See also claims 14, 16, 17.
Claim 16 last paragraph “the circumferential clearance” is unclear as to whether this is for the lower or the upper the upper locating arrangement, since the language could apply to either.
Claim 17 “the circumferential clearance” [claim 1 of the upper locating arrangement] is unclear how the lower locating arrangement can close the clearance of the upper locating arrangement. How would this be even possible?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10, 14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being Vauchel (8,070,101) in view of Vauchel (2010/0284806) and Stretton et al (2021/0079810) and Paolini et al (20180170566). Vauchel ‘101 teach A propulsion device comprising: a casing structure to surround a fan [within 6] of the propulsion device; a core structure 2 to support a core of the propulsion device; a thrust reverser unit, TRU 7, comprising two thrust reverser halves 8, each thrust reverser half being pivotable about a respective hinge line [not shown, but relatively near 13] between an open position for access to the core structure, and a closed position; upper 4 and lower [circa 14] support members extending from the casing structure at diametrically opposing sides of a centreline axis, defining a vertical direction of the propulsion device from the lower support member to the upper support member, each support member extending from the casing structure at an axial location adjacent to or overlapping an axial extent of the TRU 7; wherein for each thrust reverser half there is at least one locating arrangement comprising: an upper locating arrangement [includes 20, 13] comprising an upper TRU locating portion 41 provided on the thrust reverser half 8 and an upper support locating portion 23, 40 provided on the upper support member 23, 40, mutually configured to engage each other as the thrust reverser half 8 moves towards the closed position in a closing operation; wherein the upper locating arrangement is configured so that there is a circumferential clearance between opposing portions of the upper locating arrangement in the closed position in a static state of the propulsion device; wherein the upper locating arrangement is configured to close the circumferential clearance under load to provide a load path between the respective thrust reverser half and the upper support member [discussed later]; (2) wherein for at least one of the upper and lower support members, the support member 13 extends from the casing structure to the core structure to provide a casing-core load path; (3) wherein for each thrust reverser half the at least one locating arrangement comprises the upper locating arrangement; wherein the hinge line is angularly offset from the vertical direction by a hinge offset about the centreline axis; wherein the thrust reverser half is configured so that in the closed position the upper TRU locating portion is angularly offset from the vertical direction by a locating portion offset about the centreline axis, (4) wherein each thrust reverser half comprises a TRU coupling portion at an angular location offset from the vertical direction by a coupling offset about the centreline axis, the TRU coupling portion configured to engage a cooperating coupling portion of the casing structure in the closed position to form a coupling arrangement, coupling the thrust reverser half to the casing structure; (5) wherein the TRU coupling portion of each thrust reverser half comprises a projecting arm 11 axially extending to overlap with an axial extent of the casing structure [Fig. 1], and wherein an engaging portion 11 depends from the projecting arm radially inwardly when the thrust reverser half is in the closed position to engage the cooperating coupling portion 10 of the casing structure; (6) wherein the coupling portion of the casing structure comprises a groove and/or recess having a radially outer opening 10 configured to receive the engaging portion 11 of the TRU coupling portion; (20) wherein each upper TRU locating portion and corresponding upper support locating portion are configured to engage by a pin 40 and opening 41 arrangement, whereby the pin is configured to be received in the opening; (9) wherein the upper locating arrangement 20 is configured to provide a structural load [inherent] path between the thrust reverser half and one or more other structural elements of the propulsion device via the upper support member 4; (10) wherein the structural load path includes radial walls of the upper support member 4, inboard of the hinge line; (181) wherein each upper locating arrangement 20 is configured to provide a structural load path between the respective thrust reverser half 8 and a support structure 4 of the propulsion device for transferring at least one of a vertical, lateral, or axial load; and/or wherein each lower locating arrangement is configured to provide a structural load path between the respective thrust reverser half and a support structure of the propulsion device for transferring at least one of a vertical, lateral, or axial load; wherein the support structure of the propulsion device is the casing structure and/or the core structure; (19) wherein each upper locating arrangement is configured to provide a structural load path between the respective thrust reverser half 8 and a support structure 7 of the propulsion device for transferring at least one of a roll, pitch, or yaw load; and/or wherein each lower locating arrangement is configured to provide a structural load path between the respective thrust reverser half and a support structure of the propulsion device for transferring at least one of a roll, pitch, or yaw loads; wherein the support structure of the propulsion device is the casing structure and/or the core structure. As for the amended limitations of claim 1: wherein the upper locating arrangement is configured so that there is a circumferential clearance between opposing portions of the upper locating arrangement in the closed position in a static state of the propulsion device; wherein the upper locating arrangement is configured to close the circumferential clearance under load to provide a load path between the respective thrust reverser half and the upper support member. First, note the limitation is so broad that circumferential clearance between opposing portions of the upper locating arrangement in the closed position in a static state of the propulsion device; wherein the upper locating arrangement is configured to close the circumferential clearance under load to provide a load path between the respective thrust reverser half and the upper support member – see the annotated Broad Interpretation where the circumferential clearance is in the circumferential direction of the engine [compare with Fig. 2]. Alternately, more narrowly Vauchel ‘101 teach in Fig. 8 appears to teach that there is a circumferential clearance between opposing portions 40, 41 of the upper locating arrangement in the closed position in a static state of the propulsion device [i.e. the clearance for pin insertion into the bore]; wherein the upper locating arrangement is configured to close the circumferential clearance under load to provide a load path between the respective thrust reverser half 8 and the upper support member 4 [shifting of the connection rod 23, 40 in any direction transverse to the rod/pin will close the clearance and form a load path therebetween]. Vauchel ‘806 teaches that the locating arrangement is configured so that there is a circumferential clearance between opposing portions of the locating arrangement in the closed position in a static state of the propulsion device [see Fig. 3] and note that the bore for 29 is substantially greater than that for 24 [accordingly, when centered, there is a clearance for the pin 28 within the opening]. To the point not already inherent in Vauchel ‘101, it would have been obvious to size the bore receiving the pin of Vauchel ‘108, i.e. the upper locating arrangement, the upper locating arrangement is configured so that there is a circumferential clearance between opposing portions of the upper locating arrangement in the closed position in a static state of the propulsion device; wherein the upper locating arrangement is configured to close the circumferential clearance under load to provide a load path between the respective thrust reverser half and the upper support member, to facilitate ease of inserting the pin.
Vauchel ‘101 teach the hinge but do not illustrate it and do not teach (3) wherein for each thrust reverser half the at least one locating arrangement comprises the upper locating arrangement; wherein the hinge line is angularly offset from the vertical direction by a hinge offset about the centreline axis; wherein the thrust reverser half is configured so that in the closed position the upper TRU locating portion is angularly offset from the vertical direction by a locating portion offset about the centreline axis, wherein the locating portion offset is less than the hinge offset, such that in the closing operation, the upper TRU locating portion engages the respective upper support locating portion along a direction having a radially outward component; (4) wherein each thrust reverser half comprises a TRU coupling portion at an angular location offset from the vertical direction by a coupling offset about the centreline axis, the TRU coupling portion configured to engage a cooperating coupling portion of the casing structure in the closed position to form a coupling arrangement, coupling the thrust reverser half to the casing structure; wherein the coupling offset is greater than the hinge offset, such that in the closing operation, the TRU coupling portion engages the coupling portion of the casing structure along a direction having a radially inward component; Stretton al teach (1) wherein for each thrust reverser half there is at least one locating arrangement comprising: an upper locating arrangement comprising an upper TRU locating portion 90 provided on the thrust reverser half and an upper support locating portion 85 provided on the upper support member, mutually configured to engage each other as the thrust reverser half 65 moves towards the closed position in a closing operation [from Fig. 6 to 5;] wherein each upper TRU locating portion and corresponding upper support locating portion are configured to engage by a pin and opening arrangement, pin 90 and opening [of 85] arrangement, whereby the pin 90 is configured to be received in the opening [appears to be a pin projection, alternately, it would have been obvious to make a pin at the end of the hook as a typical latching configuration used in the art or as disclosed as an alternative embodiment, see paragraphs 0107, 0110]; as well as the limitations of claims 3+ , wherein for each thrust reverser half the at least one locating arrangement comprises the upper locating arrangement 90/85; wherein the hinge line is angularly offset from the vertical direction by a hinge [at top of 65] offset about the centreline axis; wherein the thrust reverser half is configured so that in the closed position the upper TRU locating portion 90 is angularly offset from the vertical direction by a locating portion offset about the centreline axis, wherein the locating portion offset is less than the hinge offset [top of 85], such that in the closing operation, the upper TRU locating portion engages the respective upper support locating portion along a direction having a radially outward component [direction of Fig. 6 to Fig. 5]; (9) wherein the upper locating arrangement 85, 90 is configured to provide a structural load path between the thrust reverser half 65 and one or more other structural elements of the propulsion device via the upper support member 70; (14) wherein the at least one locating arrangement comprises the upper locating arrangement 85, 90; wherein the upper locating arrangement is configured so that movement from the open configuration to the closed position reduces a radial separation between opposing portions of the upper locating arrangement, and provides a radial clearance between the opposing portions in the closed configuration in a static state of the propulsion device; wherein the upper locating arrangement 85, 90 is configured to close the radial clearance under load to provide a load path between the respective thrust reverser half and the upper support member 70; wherein the at least one locating arrangement comprises the upper locating arrangement 85, 90; wherein the upper locating arrangement is configured so that there is an axial clearance and/or a circumferential clearance between opposing portions of the upper locating arrangement in a static state of the propulsion device; wherein the upper locating arrangement 85, 90 is configured to close the axial clearance and/or the circumferential clearance under load to provide a load path between the respective thrust reverser half and the upper support member 70. Stretton teaches each upper TRU locating portion and corresponding upper support locating portion are configured to engage by a latching mechanism, i.e. with hooks, but teaches that other latching mechanisms may be used e.g. using a pin [paragraph 0107], which may be used in conjunction with the hooks or as an alternative [see paragraphs 0107, 0110] the pin and opening arrangement, whereby the pin is configured to be received in the opening. Furthermore, Vauchel ‘806 teach the equivalence of replacing a latching mechanism with hooks [Fig. 5] with a pin connection [Fig. 3]. Stretton al teach (1) wherein for each thrust reverser half there is at least one locating arrangement comprising: an upper locating arrangement comprising an upper TRU locating portion 90 provided on the thrust reverser half and an upper support locating portion 85 provided on the upper support member, mutually configured to engage each other as the thrust reverser half 65 moves towards the closed position in a closing operation [from Fig. 6 to 5]; wherein each upper TRU locating portion and corresponding upper support locating portion are configured to engage by a pin and opening arrangement, pin 90 and opening [of 85] arrangement, whereby the pin 90 is configured to be received in the opening [appears to be a pin projection, alternately, it would have been obvious to make a pin at the end of the hook as a typical latching configuration used in the art or as disclosed as an alternative embodiment, see paragraphs 0107, 0110]; as well as the limitations of claims 3+ , wherein for each thrust reverser half the at least one locating arrangement comprises the upper locating arrangement 90/85; wherein the hinge line is angularly offset from the vertical direction by a hinge [at top of 65] offset about the centreline axis; wherein the thrust reverser half is configured so that in the closed position the upper TRU locating portion 90 is angularly offset from the vertical direction by a locating portion offset about the centreline axis, wherein the locating portion offset is less than the hinge offset [top of 85], such that in the closing operation, the upper TRU locating portion engages the respective upper support locating portion along a direction having a radially outward component [direction of Fig. 6 to Fig. 5]; (12) wherein the upper locating arrangement 85, 90 is configured to provide a structural load path between the thrust reverser half 65 and one or more other structural elements of the propulsion device via the upper support member 70; (14) wherein the at least one locating arrangement comprises the upper locating arrangement 85, 90; wherein the upper locating arrangement is configured so that movement from the open configuration to the closed configuration reduces a radial separation between opposing portions of the upper locating arrangement, and provides a radial clearance between the opposing portions in the closed position in a static state of the propulsion device; wherein the upper locating arrangement 85, 90 is configured to close the radial clearance under load to provide a load path between the respective thrust reverser half and the upper support member 70;(18) wherein the at least one locating arrangement comprises the upper locating arrangement 85, 90; wherein the upper locating arrangement is configured so that there is an axial clearance and/or a circumferential clearance between opposing portions of the upper locating arrangement in a static state of the propulsion device; wherein the upper locating arrangement 85, 90 is configured to close the axial clearance and/or the circumferential clearance under load to provide a load path between the respective thrust reverser half and the upper support member 70. Stretton teaches each upper TRU locating portion and corresponding upper support locating portion are configured to engage by a latching mechanism, i.e. with hooks, but teaches that other latching mechanisms may be used e.g. using a pin [paragraph 0107], which may be used in conjunction with the hooks or as an alternative [see paragraphs 0107, 0110] the pin and opening arrangement, whereby the pin is configured to be received in the opening. Stretton teaches the pin but does not illustrate it. Paolini et al teaches for each cowl half that each upper TRU locating portion and corresponding upper support locating portion are configured to engage by a pin 78 and opening [in 76] arrangement [Fig. 23], whereby the pin 78 is configured to be received in the opening 76, and wherein the opening 76 fully surrounds an outer diameter of the pin 74 [Fig. 4] where the pivotable cowl 42 engages with the fixed structure 76, which is mounted on fixed structure in Fig. 23. The upper locating arrangement is configured so that there is a circumferential clearance [when centered, no matter how small, note when the pin is centered there is no load path] between opposing portions of the upper locating arrangement in the closed position in a static state of the propulsion device; wherein the upper locating arrangement is configured to close the circumferential clearance under load to provide a load path [¶ 0008, 0065] between the respective thrust reverser half and the upper support member [during operation]. Stretton teaches the upper locating arrangement and with upper locating features facilitates opening and closing the hinged TRU halves relative to the V-groove connections [paragraph 0091], which are taught by both Burhans and Vauchel ‘101 as typical TRU coupling portion / coupling arrangement. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the upper locating arrangement, as taught by Stretton et al and Vauchel ‘806, to attach to the support structure of Vauchel ‘101, and allow guided locating and connection between the TRU and support structure, including facilitating the opening and closing relative to the V-grooves of the prior art. Note that as Vauchel ‘806 teach the equivalence of replacing a latching mechanism with hooks [Fig. 5] with a pin connection [Fig. 3], which is consistent with Stretton’s teaching of using a pin as an alternative to the latches. A pin/bore connection to replace the latch hooks of Stretton are deemed equivalent constructions by Vauchel ‘806. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a pin /bore connection for the upper location portion of Vauchel ‘101, as an additional upper locating arrangement, as taught by Stretton on the corresponding upper support locating portion, such as to utilize a conventional latching arrangement suitable for the pivoting motion of the cowl utilized by the prior art. As set forth above, the pin/bore connection of Vauchel ‘101 for the upper support locating portion was considered to inherent offer a load path. Alternately, it would have been obvious to make the pin/bore a load path when the circumferential clearance is closed, as taught by Paolini et al, the upper locating arrangement also creates a load path with clearance.
The prior art teaching wherein the upper locating arrangement is configured to close the circumferential clearance under load to provide a load path between the respective thrust reverser half and the upper support member [Stretton ¶ 0106, 0120; Paolini et al ¶ 0008, 0065; load path is inherent in Vauchel ‘101 Fig. 8 when 40 contacts 41 there is a load path, and a clearance is inherent to accommodate tolerances and/or any relative moment of 8 and 4]; between the respective thrust reverser half and the upper support member. Furthermore, it is noted that for (7) wherein the upper locating arrangement and the coupling arrangement are configured so that in the closing operation, the upper TRU locating portion and the upper support locating portion engage each other before the coupling portions of the coupling arrangement [with V-groove] engage each other, to guide further movement in the closing operation, there are only a limited number of arrangements and V-grooves are typically shallow in dimension, then a shallow V-groove would facilitate connection of pin / latching member before the V-groove / blade being seated is regarded as an obvious matter of using the workable ranges in the art. Note there are only three options for “the upper TRU locating portion and the upper support locating portion engage each other before [other options are after or simultaneously] the coupling portions of the coupling arrangement” and since the V-groove is relatively shallow, it will typically be engaged last as it effectively renders the TRU half fully closed and fastened to the [fan] casing structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a relatively shallow V-groove, such that wherein the upper locating arrangement and the coupling arrangement are configured so that in the closing operation, the upper TRU locating portion and the upper support locating portion engage each other before the coupling portions of the coupling arrangement [e.g. by using a shallow V-groove] engage each other, to guide further movement in the closing operation, as an obvious matter of using the workable ranges in the art for the V-groove structure and out of a limited number of options for allowing the TRU half to be fully closed. The prior art teaching in combination, (1); wherein the upper locating arrangement is configured so that there is a circumferential clearance between opposing portions of the upper locating arrangement in the closed position in a static state of the propulsion device; wherein the upper locating arrangement is configured to close the circumferential clearance under load to provide a load path between the respective thrust reverser half and the upper support member; (2) wherein for at least one of the upper and lower support members, the support member extends from the casing structure to the core structure to provide a casing-core load path; (3) wherein for each thrust reverser half the at least one locating arrangement comprises the upper locating arrangement; wherein the hinge line is angularly offset from the vertical direction by a hinge offset about the centreline axis; wherein the thrust reverser half is configured so that in the closed position the upper TRU locating portion is angularly offset from the vertical direction by a locating portion offset about the centreline axis, wherein the locating portion offset is less than the hinge offset, such that in the closing operation, the upper TRU locating portion engages the respective upper support locating portion along a direction having a radially outward component; (4) wherein each thrust reverser half comprises a TRU coupling portion at an angular location offset from the vertical direction by a coupling offset about the centreline axis, the TRU coupling portion configured to engage a cooperating coupling portion of the casing structure in the closed position to form a coupling arrangement, coupling the thrust reverser half to the casing structure; wherein the coupling offset is greater than the hinge offset, such that in the closing operation, the TRU coupling portion engages the coupling portion of the casing structure along a direction having a radially inward component; (5) wherein the TRU coupling portion of each thrust reverser half comprises a projecting arm axially extending to overlap with an axial extent of the casing structure, and wherein an engaging portion depends from the projecting arm radially inwardly when the thrust reverser half is in the closed position to engage the cooperating coupling portion of the casing structure; (6) wherein the coupling portion of the casing structure comprises a groove and/or recess having a radially outer opening configured to receive the engaging portion of the TRU coupling portion; (7) wherein the upper locating arrangement and the coupling arrangement are configured so that in the closing operation, the upper TRU locating portion and the upper support locating portion engage each other before the coupling portions of the coupling arrangement engage each other, to guide further movement in the closing operation; (20) wherein each upper TRU locating portion and corresponding upper support locating portion are configured to engage by a pin and opening arrangement, whereby the pin is configured to be received in the opening; (9) wherein the upper locating arrangement is configured to provide a structural load path between the thrust reverser half and one or more other structural elements of the propulsion device via the upper support member; (10) wherein the structural load path includes radial walls of the upper support member, inboard of the hinge line; (14) wherein the at least one locating arrangement comprises the upper locating arrangement; wherein the upper locating arrangement is configured so that movement from the open configuration to the closed configuration reduces a radial separation between opposing portions of the upper locating arrangement, and provides a radial clearance between the opposing portions in the closed position in a static state of the propulsion device; wherein the upper locating arrangement is configured to close the radial clearance under load to provide a load path between the respective thrust reverser half and the upper support member; (18) wherein each upper locating arrangement is configured to provide a structural load path between the respective thrust reverser half and a support structure of the propulsion device for transferring at least one of a vertical, lateral, or axial load; and/or wherein each lower locating arrangement is configured to provide a structural load path between the respective thrust reverser half and a support structure of the propulsion device for transferring at least one of a vertical, lateral, or axial load; wherein the support structure of the propulsion device is the casing structure and/or the core structure; (19) wherein each upper locating arrangement is configured to provide a structural load path between the respective thrust reverser half and a support structure of the propulsion device for transferring at least one of a roll, pitch, or yaw load; and/or wherein each lower locating arrangement is configured to provide a structural load path between the respective thrust reverser half and a support structure of the propulsion device for transferring at least one of a roll, pitch, or yaw loads; wherein the support structure of the propulsion device is the casing structure and/or the core structure.
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-12, 14, 16-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vauchel (8,070,101) in view of Vauchel (2010/0284806) and Stretton et al (2021/0079810) and Paolini et al (20180170566), as applied above, and further in view of Burhans (4,679,750). The prior art do not teach a lower locating arrangement, i.e. (21) a lower locating arrangement comprising a lower TRU locating portion provided on the thrust reverser half and a lower support locating portion provided on the lower support member, mutually configured to engage each other as the thrust reverser half moves towards the closed position in the closing operation; (11) wherein for each thrust reverser half: the at least one locating arrangement comprises the lower locating arrangement; and the lower TRU locating portion is configured to engage the lower support locating portion along a closing direction during the closing operation which substantially opposes the closing direction associated with the opposing lower TRU locating portion; (12) wherein each thrust reverser half comprises a TRU coupling portion at an angular location offset from the vertical direction by a coupling offset about the centreline axis, the TRU coupling portion configured to engage a cooperating coupling portion of the casing structure in the closed position to form a coupling arrangement, coupling the thrust reverser half to the casing structure; and wherein the lower locating arrangement and the coupling arrangement are configured so that in the closing operation, the lower TRU locating portion and the lower support locating portion engage each other before the coupling portions of the coupling arrangement engage each other, to guide further movement in the closing operation; (13) wherein each lower TRU locating portion and corresponding lower support locating portion are configured to engage by a pin and opening arrangement, whereby the pin is configured to be received in the opening, and wherein the opening fully surrounds an outer diameter of the pin; (16) wherein the at least one locating arrangement comprises the lower locating arrangement; wherein the lower locating arrangement is configured so that there is a circumferential clearance between opposing portions of the lower locating arrangement in the closed position in a static state of the propulsion device; wherein the lower locating arrangement is configured to close the circumferential clearance under load to provide a load path between the thrust reverser halves; or between the respective thrust reverser half and the lower support member; (17) wherein the at least one locating arrangement comprises the lower locating arrangement; wherein the lower locating arrangement is configured so that there is a radial clearance and/or an axial clearance between opposing portions of the lower locating arrangement in the closed position in a static state of the propulsion device; wherein the lower locating arrangement is configured to close the circumferential clearance under load to provide a load path between the respective thrust reverser half and the lower support member; (18) wherein each upper locating arrangement is configured to provide a structural load path between the respective thrust reverser half and a support structure of the propulsion device for transferring at least one of a vertical, lateral, or axial load; and/or wherein each lower locating arrangement is configured to provide a structural load path between the respective thrust reverser half and a support structure of the propulsion device for transferring at least one of a vertical, lateral, or axial load; wherein the support structure of the propulsion device is the casing structure and/or the core structure; (19) wherein each upper locating arrangement is configured to provide a structural load path between the respective thrust reverser half and a support structure of the propulsion device for transferring at least one of a roll, pitch, or yaw load; and/or wherein each lower locating arrangement is configured to provide a structural load path between the respective thrust reverser half and a support structure of the propulsion device for transferring at least one of a roll, pitch, or yaw loads; wherein the support structure of the propulsion device is the casing structure and/or the core structure.
Burhans teaches A propulsion device comprising: a casing structure 28 to surround a fan 16 of the propulsion device; a core structure 30 to support a core of the propulsion device; a thrust reverser unit 22, TRU, comprising two thrust reverser halves 24, 26, each thrust reverser half being pivotable about a respective hinge line 132 between an open position [Fig. 8] for access to the core structure, and a closed position; upper 33 or 140 and lower support members 58 extending from the casing structure 28 at diametrically opposing sides of a centreline axis, defining a vertical direction of the propulsion device from the lower support member to the upper support member, each support member extending from the casing structure 28 at an axial location adjacent to or overlapping an axial extent of the TRU 22; wherein for each thrust reverser half there is (21) a lower locating arrangement 40, 44 comprising a lower TRU locating portion 86 provided on the thrust reverser half and a lower support locating portion 76 provided on the lower support member 58, mutually configured to engage each other as the thrust reverser half 24 moves towards the closed position [solid lines Fig. 5 or see Fig. 4] in the closing operation [from open position in dashed lines in Fig. 5]; wherein for each thrust reverser half the at least one locating arrangement comprises the upper locating arrangement 42, 46; wherein the hinge line 132 is angularly offset from the vertical direction 36 by a hinge offset about the centreline axis; wherein the thrust reverser half is configured so that in the closed position the upper TRU locating portion 42 is angularly offset from the vertical direction by a locating portion offset about the centreline axis, wherein the locating portion offset is less than the hinge 132 offset, (9) wherein the upper locating arrangement 42 is configured to provide a structural load path between the thrust reverser half 24 and one or more other structural elements of the propulsion device via the upper support member 33 or 140, wherein the structural load path includes radial walls of the upper support member 33, inboard of the hinge line 132; (11) wherein for each thrust reverser half: the at least one locating arrangement comprises the lower locating arrangement 40, 42; and the lower TRU locating portion 86 is configured to engage the lower support locating portion 76 along a closing direction during the closing operation which substantially opposes the closing direction [dashed lines to solid lines in Fig. 5] associated with the opposing lower TRU locating portion; (12) wherein each thrust reverser half comprises a TRU coupling portion at an angular location offset from the vertical direction by a coupling offset about the centreline axis, the TRU coupling portion configured to engage a cooperating coupling portion of the casing structure in the closed position to form a coupling arrangement, coupling the thrust reverser half to the casing structure; wherein the lower locating arrangement 42 and the coupling arrangement 114, 115 are configured so that in the closing operation, the lower TRU locating portion 86 and the lower support locating portion 76 engage each other before the coupling portions 114, 115 of the coupling arrangement engage each other, to guide further movement in the closing operation; (13) wherein each lower TRU locating portion and corresponding lower support locating portion are configured to engage by a pin 76 and opening [of hook 86] arrangement, whereby the pin 76 is configured to be received in the opening [of 86]; (14) wherein the at least one locating arrangement comprises the upper locating arrangement 42; wherein the upper locating arrangement 42 is configured so that movement from the open configuration to the closed configuration reduces a radial separation between opposing portions of the upper locating arrangement, and provides a radial clearance between the opposing portions in the closed configuration in a static state of the propulsion device; wherein the upper locating arrangement is configured to close the radial clearance under load to provide a load path between the respective thrust reverser half and the upper support member; wherein the at least one locating arrangement comprises the upper locating arrangement 42; wherein the upper locating arrangement is configured so that there is an axial clearance and/or a circumferential clearance between opposing portions of the upper locating arrangement in a static state of the propulsion device; wherein the upper locating arrangement is configured to close the axial clearance and/or the circumferential clearance under load to provide a load path between the respective thrust reverser half and the upper support member; (16) wherein the at least one locating arrangement comprises the lower locating arrangement 40; wherein the lower locating arrangement is configured so that there is a circumferential clearance between opposing portions of the lower locating arrangement in the closed position in a static state of the propulsion device; wherein the lower locating arrangement is configured to close the circumferential clearance under load to provide a load path between the thrust reverser halves; or between the respective thrust reverser half and the lower support member; (17) wherein the at least one locating arrangement comprises the lower locating arrangement 42; wherein the lower locating arrangement is configured so that there is a radial clearance and/or an axial clearance between opposing portions of the lower locating arrangement in the closed position in a static state of the propulsion device; wherein the lower locating arrangement is configured to close the circumferential clearance under load to provide a load path between the respective thrust reverser half and the lower support member; (18) wherein each upper locating arrangement is configured to provide a structural load path between the respective thrust reverser half and a support structure 33 or 140 of the propulsion device for transferring at least one of vertical, lateral or axial loads; or wherein each lower locating arrangement is configured to provide a structural load path between the respective thrust reverser half and a support structure 28 of the propulsion device for transferring at least one of vertical, lateral or axial loads; wherein the support structure of the propulsion device is the casing structure 28 and/or the core structure; (19) wherein each upper locating arrangement 42 is configured to provide a structural load path between the respective thrust reverser half and a support structure of the propulsion device for transferring at least one of roll, pitch or yaw loads; and/or wherein each lower locating arrangement 40 is configured to provide a structural load path between the respective thrust reverser half and a support structure of the propulsion device for transferring at least one of roll, pitch or yaw loads; wherein the support structure of the propulsion device is the casing structure 28 and/or the core structure. Burhans teaches the lower locating arrangement facilitates fastening the thrust reverser halves together. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the lower locating arrangement of Burhans, with structure /limitations as set forth above, in order to facilitate fastening the thrust reverser halves together.
Claims 1-7, 9-14, 16-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vauchel (8,070,101) in view of Vauchel (2010/0284806) and Stretton et al (2021/0079810) and Paolini et al (20180170566), and Burhans (4,679,750), as applied above, and further in view of Porte et al (2011/0174930). Vauchel ‘101 does not teach each lower TRU locating portion and corresponding lower support locating portion are configured to engage by a pin and opening arrangement, whereby the pin is configured to be received in the opening, and wherein the opening fully surrounds an outer diameter of the pin. Porte et al teach TRU half cowl 14 [note 14 are the rear cowls and thrust reversers are taught in paragraph 0003 and located on the rear cowls in the other applied art] each lower TRU locating portion / indexer 40 and corresponding lower support locating portion 42 are configured to engage by a [indexer] pin and opening arrangement, whereby the [indexer] pin 40 is configured to be received in the opening 42, and wherein the opening 42 fully surrounds an outer diameter of the pin 40 [Figs. 6, 8]. In the prior art embodiment Fig. 3, the analogous lower TRU locating portion / indexer 22 is designated as a pin [paragraph 0012] and this has an analogous shape to that of Figs. 6, 8. Porte et al teach using the indexer / pin / opening arrangement allows limiting the relative movement between the door and stationary part of the aircraft. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make each lower TRU locating portion and corresponding lower support locating portion configured to engage by a pin and opening arrangement, whereby the pin is configured to be received in the opening, and wherein the opening fully surrounds an outer diameter of the pin, as taught by Porte et al, in order to facilitate limiting the relative movement between the door and stationary part of the aircraft. After modification with Porte et al, the prior art in combination further teach(21) a lower locating arrangement comprising a lower TRU locating portion provided on the thrust reverser half and a lower support locating portion provided on the lower support member, mutually configured to engage each other as the thrust reverser half moves towards the closed position in the closing operation; (16) wherein the at least one locating arrangement comprises the lower locating arrangement; wherein the lower locating arrangement is configured so that there is a circumferential clearance between opposing portions of the lower locating arrangement in in the closed position in a static state of the propulsion device; wherein the lower locating arrangement is configured to close the circumferential clearance under load to provide a load path between the thrust reverser halves; or between the respective thrust reverser half and the lower support member [see ¶ 0046-0048 of Porte et al which teach the contact of indexer pin 40 with the female part creates load path]; (17) wherein the at least one locating arrangement comprises the lower locating arrangement; wherein the lower locating arrangement is configured so that there is a radial clearance and/or an axial clearance between opposing portions of the lower locating arrangement in in the closed position in a static state of the propulsion device; wherein the lower locating arrangement is configured to close the circumferential clearance under load to provide a load path between the respective thrust reverser half and the lower support member [see ¶ 0046-0048 of Porte et al which teach the contact of indexer pin 40 with the opening of the female part creates load path]; (18) wherein each upper locating arrangement is configured to provide a structural load path between the respective thrust reverser half and a support structure of the propulsion device for transferring at least one of vertical, lateral or axial loads; and/or wherein each lower locating arrangement is configured to provide a structural load path between the respective