DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 20170371376 A1) and in further view of Kim et al. (US 20230213979 A1)
Regarding Claim 1 – Chung teaches a display device (Fig 1; 10) comprising: a display panel including a display area (Fig 1; display area DA; Chung [0053]), a first part positioned around the display area and including a first non-display area (Fig 1; main portion of 10, non-display area NA; Chung [0053]), and second parts disposed in a second non-display area positioned outside the first non-display area (Figs 1, 4; pad portions PP, pad area PA; Chung [0056, 0062-0063]); wherein the second parts are spaced apart from each other in a first direction (Figs 1, 4; pad portions PP, first direction D1; Chung [0056, 0058]), each of the second parts protrudes from the first part in a second direction intersecting the first direction (Figs 1, 4; pad portions PP, second direction D2; Chung [0054, 0057]).
Chung does not explicitly disclose a bridge part disposed between adjacent second parts, and the bridge part physically connects the adjacent second parts.
Kim teaches a bridge part disposed between adjacent second parts (Figs 18-20; bridge 1122_1a, adjacent segments 1140_1, 1140_2), and the bridge part physically connects the adjacent second parts (Figs 18-20; bridge 1122_1a, connection portions CT2_1, CT2_2, segments 1140_1, 1140_2).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Chung with a bridge part disposed between adjacent second parts, and the bridge part physically connects the adjacent second parts as taught by Kim because Kim [0160] states that with this structure “the segments 1140 are mutually maintained at constant intervals and are not distorted, whereby device reliability may be improved” while maintaining improved bending characteristics.
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 20170371376 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20230213979 A1) and in further view of You et al. (US 20220221748 A1)
Regarding Claim 2 – Chung in view of Kim teaches the display device of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the second non-display area includes a bending area, and a pad area spaced apart from the first non-display area with the bending area interposed therebetween, the second part is bent in the bending area, and the pad area overlaps the first non-display area.
You teaches the second non-display area includes a bending area, and a pad area spaced apart from the first non-display area with the bending area interposed therebetween (Fig 3; NDA, BD, DP-PD/PW-PD; You [0086, 0088. 0095]), the second part is bent in the bending area (Fig 3; SUB, BD; You [0089]), and the pad area overlaps the first non-display area (Fig 3; DP-PD/PW-PD, NDA; You [0090, 0095]).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Chung in view of Kim with the second non-display area includes a bending area, and a pad area spaced apart from the first non-display area with the bending area interposed therebetween, the second part is bent in the bending area, and the pad area overlaps the first non-display area as taught by You to position the pad-containing portion to overlap the non-display area when bent, thereby accommodating the pad-containing portion behind the main area of the display.
Regarding Claim 3 – Chung in view of Kim and You teaches the display device of claim 2, further comprising printed circuit films having one end connected to the pad area (Chung Figs 1, 4; 50, PP/PA; Chung [0056, 0059]), wherein the printed circuit films are connected to the second parts, respectively (Chung Fig 4; 50, PP; Chung [0067]).
Regarding Claim 4 – Chung in view of Kim and You teaches the display device of claim 3, further comprising a circuit board connected to another end of the printed circuit films (Chung Figs 1-2; 50, printed circuit board; Chung [0059]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 20170371376 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20230213979 A1) and You et al. (US 20220221748 A1) in further view of Jeon et al. (US 20250120297 A1)
Regarding Claim 5 – Chung in view of Kim and You teaches the display device of claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the bridge part includes a first bridge part positioned at a same layer as the display panel.
Jeon teaches the bridge part includes a first bridge part positioned at a same layer as the display panel (Fig 5; 12, 100; Jeon [0105, 0107]).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Chung in view of Kim and You with the bridge part includes a first bridge part positioned at a same layer as the display panel as taught by Jeon to form the bridge and adjacent display-panel portions together in the same substrate process while providing a deformable connection between adjacent platforms.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 20170371376 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20230213979 A1), You et al. (US 20220221748 A1) and Jeon et al. (US 20250120297 A1) in further view of Won (US 20190058028 A1)
Regarding Claim 6 – Chung in view of Kim, You, and Jeon teaches the display device of claim 5, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a back plate layer disposed under the display panel, wherein the back plate layer includes a first back plate layer disposed on the display area and the first non-display area, and a second back plate layer disposed on the pad area.
Won teaches a back plate layer disposed under the display panel (Fig 2; 115, 116; Won [0043-0044]), wherein the back plate layer includes a first back plate layer disposed on the display area and the first non-display area (Fig 2; 115, A/A, N/A; Won [0044]), and a second back plate layer disposed on the pad area (Fig 2; 116, PPA; Won [0056]).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Chung in view of Kim, You, and Jeon with a back plate layer disposed under the display panel, wherein the back plate layer includes a first back plate layer disposed on the display area and the first non-display area, and a second back plate layer disposed on the pad area as taught by Won to support the display portion and pad portion while permitting bending between them.
Regarding Claim 7 – Chung in view of Kim, You, Jeon, and Won teaches the display device of claim 6, wherein the second back plate layer is disposed between the pad area of the display panel and the first back plate layer (Won Fig 2; 115, 116, PPA; Won [0044, 0056]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 20170371376 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20230213979 A1), You et al. (US 20220221748 A1), Jeon et al. (US 20250120297 A1) and Won (US 20190058028 A1) in further view of Afsar et al. (US 20220270522 A1)
Regarding Claim 8 – Chung in view of Kim, You, Jeon, and Won teaches the display device of claim 6, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the bridge part further includes a second bridge part overlapping the first bridge part and positioned on a same layer as the back plate layer.
After teaches the bridge part further includes a second bridge part overlapping the first bridge part and positioned on a same layer as the back plate layer (Fig 14; 92, 58, 60; Afsar [0033, 0043, 0047, claim 14]).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Chung in view of Kim, You, Jeon, and Won with the bridge part further includes a second bridge part overlapping the first bridge part and positioned on a same layer as the back plate layer as taught by Afsar in order to hold adjacent portions of the back plate together while allowing the back plate to flex (Afsar [0047]).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 20170371376 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20230213979 A1) and in further view of La et al. (US 20220044599 A1)
Regarding Claim 9 – Chung in view of Kim teaches the display device of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a plate layer disposed under the display panel and overlapping the first part.
La teaches a plate layer disposed under the display panel and overlapping the first part (Fig 4; SPT1; La [0069]).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Chung in view of Kim with a plate layer disposed under the display panel and overlapping the first part as taught by La to support the display module, as La expressly teaches in [0069].
Regarding Claim 10 – Chung in view of Kim and La teaches the display device of claim 9, wherein the display panel includes a folding area extending in the first direction, a first non-folding area positioned at one side of the folding area in the second direction, and a second non-folding area positioned at another side of the folding area in the second direction (La Figs 1-2; FA, NFA, NFA2; La [0051, 0056]).
Regarding Claim 11 – Chung in view of Kim and La teaches the display device of claim 10, wherein the plate layer includes a first plate layer, and a second plate layer disposed above the first plate layer, and the second plate layer includes patterns disposed in the folding area (La Fig 4; SPT2, SPT 1, OP; La [0059, 0064]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 20170371376 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20230213979 A1) and in further view of Choi et al. (US 20130342429 A1)
Regarding Claim 12 – Chung teaches a display device (Fig 1; 10) comprising: a display panel including a first part (Figs 1, 4; 10, DA; Chung [0053, 0062]), and second parts protruding from the first part and including a bending area (Figs 1-2, 4; PP, FO/FOA, BA; Chung [0056, 0062-0063]); wherein the second parts are spaced apart from each other in a first direction (Figs 1, 4; PP, C, D1; Chung [0056-0057]), each of the second parts protrudes from the first part in a second direction intersecting the first direction (Figs 1, 4; PP, FO/FOA, C, D1, D2; Chung [0054, 0056, 0063]), the second part is bent in the bending area (Figs 1-2, 4; PP, BA, X; Chung [0057, 0062-0063]).
Chung does not explicitly disclose a bridge part disposed between adjacent second parts, and radii of curvature of the second parts are the same.
Kim teaches a bridge part disposed between adjacent second parts (Figs 18-20; bridge 1122_1a, adjacent segments 1140_1, 1140_2; Kim [0170]).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Chung with a bridge part disposed between adjacent second parts, as taught by Kim because Kim [0160] states that with this structure “the segments 1140 are mutually maintained at constant intervals and are not distorted, whereby device reliability may be improved” while maintaining improved bending characteristics.
Choi teaches radii of curvature of the second parts are the same (Figs 16-17; 200, D1, D2, R; Choi [0073-0075]).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Chung with radii of curvature of the second parts are the same as taught by Choi to provide the bent portions with a uniform, controlled curved profile (Choi [0074-0076]).
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 20170371376 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20230213979 A1) and Choi et al. (US 20130342429 A1) and in further view of You et al. (US 20220221748 A1)
Regarding Claim 13 – Chung in view of Kim and Choi teaches the display device of claim 12, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the second part includes a pad area spaced apart from the first part with the bending area interposed therebetween, and the pad area overlaps the first part.
You teaches wherein the second part includes a pad area spaced apart from the first part with the bending area interposed therebetween (Fig 3; NDA, BD, DP-PD/PW-PD; You [0086, 0088. 0095]), and the pad area overlaps the first part (Fig 3; DP-PD/PW-PD, NDA; You [0090, 0095]).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Chung in view of Kim and Choi with the second part includes a pad area spaced apart from the first part with the bending area interposed therebetween, and the pad area overlaps the first part as taught by You to position the pad-containing portion to overlap the non-display area when bent, thereby accommodating the pad-containing portion behind the main area of the display.
Regarding Claim 14 – Chung in view of Kim, Choi and You teaches the display device of claim 13, further comprising printed circuit films having one end connected to the pad area (Chung Figs 1, 4; 50, PP/PA; Chung [0056, 0059]), wherein the printed circuit films are connected to the second parts, respectively (Chung Fig 4; 50, PP; Chung [0067]).
Regarding Claim 15 – Chung in view of Kim and You teaches the display device of claim 14, further comprising a circuit board connected to another end of the printed circuit films (Chung Figs 1-2; 50, printed circuit board; Chung [0059]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 20170371376 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20230213979 A1), Choi et al. (US 20130342429 A1), and You et al. (US 20220221748 A1) in further view of Jeon et al. (US 20250120297 A1)
Regarding Claim 16 – Chung in view of Kim, Choi and You teaches the display device of claim 13, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the bridge part includes a first bridge part positioned at a same layer as the display panel.
Jeon teaches the bridge part includes a first bridge part positioned at a same layer as the display panel (Fig 5; 12, 100; Jeon [0105, 0107]).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Chung in view of Kim, Choi and You with the bridge part includes a first bridge part positioned at a same layer as the display panel as taught by Jeon to form the bridge and adjacent display-panel portions together in the same substrate process while providing a deformable connection between adjacent platforms.
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 20170371376 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20230213979 A1), Choi et al. (US 20130342429 A1), You et al. (US 20220221748 A1) and Jeon et al. (US 20250120297 A1) in further view of Won (US 20190058028 A1)
Regarding Claim 17 – Chung in view of Kim, Choi, You, and Jeon teaches the display device of claim 16, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a back plate layer disposed under the display panel, wherein the back plate layer includes a first back plate layer overlapping the first part, and a second back plate layer disposed on the pad area.
Won teaches a back plate layer disposed under the display panel (Fig 2; 115, 116; Won [0043-0044]), wherein the back plate layer includes a first back plate layer overlapping the first part (Fig 2; 115, A/A, N/A; Won [0044]), and a second back plate layer disposed on the pad area (Fig 2; 116, PPA; Won [0056]).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Chung in view of Kim, Choi You, and Jeon with a back plate layer disposed under the display panel, wherein the back plate layer includes a first back plate layer overlapping the first part, and a second back plate layer disposed on the pad area as taught by Won to support the display portion and pad portion while maintaining their substantially planar shapes and permitting the intervening bending portion to bend.
Regarding Claim 18 – Chung in view of Kim, Choi, You, Jeon, and Won teaches the display device of claim 17, wherein the second back plate layer is disposed between the pad area of the display panel and the first back plate layer (Won Fig 2; 115, 116, PPA; Won [0044, 0056]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 20170371376 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20230213979 A1), Choi et al. (US 20130342429 A1), You et al. (US 20220221748 A1), Jeon et al. (US 20250120297 A1) and Won (US 20190058028 A1) in further view of Afsar et al. (US 20220270522 A1)
Regarding Claim 19 – Chung in view of Kim, Choi, You, Jeon, and Won teaches the display device of claim 17, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the bridge part further includes a second bridge part overlapping the first bridge part and positioned on a same layer as the back plate layer.
After teaches the bridge part further includes a second bridge part overlapping the first bridge part and positioned on a same layer as the back plate layer (Fig 14; 92, 58, 60; Afsar [0033, 0043, 0047, claim 14]).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Chung in view of Kim, Choi, You, Jeon, and Won with the bridge part further includes a second bridge part overlapping the first bridge part and positioned on a same layer as the back plate layer as taught by Afsar in order to hold adjacent portions of the back plate together while allowing the back plate to flex (Afsar [0047]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 20170371376 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20230213979 A1) and Choi et al. (US 20130342429 A1) in further view of La et al. (US 20220044599 A1)
Regarding Claim 20 – Chung in view of Kim and Choi teaches the display device of claim 12, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a plate layer disposed under the display panel and overlapping the first part, wherein the display panel includes: a folding area extending in the first direction; a first non-folding area positioned at one side of the folding area in the second direction; and a second non-folding area positioned at the other side of the folding area in the second direction, wherein the plate layer includes a first plate layer, and a second plate layer disposed above the first plate layer, and the second plate layer includes patterns disposed in the folding area.
La teaches a plate layer disposed under the display panel and overlapping the first part (Fig 4; SPT1; La [0069]), wherein the display panel includes: a folding area extending in the first direction, a first non-folding area positioned at one side of the folding area in the second direction, and a second non-folding area positioned at the side of the folding area in the second direction (La Figs 1-2; FA, NFA, NFA2; La [0051, 0056]), wherein the plate layer includes a first plate layer, and a second plate layer disposed above the first plate layer, and the second plate layer includes patterns disposed in the folding area (La Fig 4; SPT2, SPT 1, OP; La [0059, 0064]).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Chung in view of Kim and Choi with a plate layer disposed under the display panel and overlapping the first part, wherein the display panel includes: a folding area extending in the first direction; a first non-folding area positioned at one side of the folding area in the second direction; and a second non-folding area positioned at the other side of the folding area in the second direction, wherein the plate layer includes a first plate layer, and a second plate layer disposed above the first plate layer, and the second plate layer includes patterns disposed in the folding area as taught by La to support the display panel while facilitating bending in the folding area, as La expressly teaches in [0069].
Conclusion
/ADITYA SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847