DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed on 28 May 2026 have been entered. Claims 1-10, 12, 14-18, and 20 have been amended. Claims 21-23 have been added. Claims 1-23 are still pending in this application with claims 1, 8 and 15 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 14, 15, 17, 18 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen et al. (US 20190196698 A1), referred herein as Cohen in view of TIAN et al. (US 20200117213 A1), referred herein as TIAN.
Regarding Claim 1, Cohen teaches one or more processor, comprising (Cohen [0005] A directed user conversation is processed, e.g., with a natural language processor):
circuitry to use one or more neural networks to
identify one or more first objects in an image (Cohen [0005] an object is identified from the user conversation, such as an object to be removed, an object to be replaced, an object to replace another object);
Cohen does not but TIAN teaches
generate a mapping based, at least in part, on semantic labels corresponding to the one or more first objects (TIAN [0057] When performing object segmentation, the improved method allows user interaction with the reconstructed object surface in the scene, and performs segmentation in real-time, rather than through offline semantic classifications; [0070] Such an interface enables more flexible haptic interaction, e.g. haptic texture, material properties for different objects, and also provides the object position and orientation for robot grasping tasks. Many previous researches combine object detection and semantic classification into dense mapping; [0072] After the 2D segmentation, a label image L.sub.i is generated); and
Cohen in view of TIAN further teaches
add one or more second objects to the image with a pose at a position indicated by the mapping based, at least in part on, a relative position of the one or more second objects in the image to the one or more first objects in the image (Cohen [0047] though the description of image enhancement system 110 and image enhancement application 120 describes remove requests and replace requests, the systems, procedures, and devices described herein are not limited to remove requests and replace requests…a duplicate request (to duplicate an object in an image), an add request (to add an object in an image); TIAN [0061] The virtual obstacle interface enables the user to add virtual objects of any form of geometries into the scene, then the path planner will search a new path in accordance with the positions and the assigned roles of the virtual objects).
TIAN discloses a mixed reality system that provides haptic interfaces to interact with a virtualized representation of a physical environment , which is analogous to the present patent application.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Cohen to incorporate the teachings of TIAN, and applying the combination of object detection and semantic classification into dense mapping into the methods, systems, and techniques for directing a user conversation to obtain an editing query, and removing and replacing objects in an image based on the editing query.
Doing so would improve the performance and adaptability of the system in the method and system for joint synthesis and placement of objects in scenes.
Regarding Claim 3, Cohen and TIAN teaches the one or more processor of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the one or more neural networks are to further add the one or more second objects to the image based, at least in part, on labels associated with pixels of the image (Cohen [0061] vision module 146 has semantic understanding of an image to be edited, and is therefore able to distinguish between objects in the image based on a description of the object in an editing query).
Regarding Claim 4, Cohen and TIAN teaches the one or more processor of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the one or more neural networks are to add the one or more second objects with one or more shapes based, at least in part, on locations in the image identified by the one or more neural networks to which the one or more first objects are to be inserted (Cohen [0116] A mask can describe a shape of an object without including content from the image to be edited. Vision module 146 can generate an object mask for an object, and from the object mask generate a refined mask by dilating the object mask to create a region bounded by a boundary of the object mask and separating a background from a foreground for pixels in the region; FIG. 6.614-616).
Regarding Claim 5, Cohen and TIAN teaches the one or more processor of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the one or more neural networks are to generate one or more affine transformations representing one or more first bounding boxes for the one or more second objects (Cohen [0047] including a move request (to move an object within an image; [0153] ascertaining the pixels of the image can include generating an object mask for the object, dilating the object mask to create a region bounded by a boundary of the object mask, and generating a refined mask representing the pixels of the image corresponding to the object; FIG. 6.614-616).
Regarding Claim 6, Cohen and TIAN teaches the one or more processor of claim 1, and further teaches wherein a pose of the one or more second objects is identified based, at least in part, on one or more affine transformation matrices applied to one or more second bounding boxes in the image, the one or more second bounding boxes generated by the one or more neural networks (Cohen [0129] Compositing module 152 can process fill material or replacement material in any way to composite it with an image to be edited. For instance, compositing module 152 can extract fill material or replacement material from an image obtained by image search module 150, filter the material (e.g., adjust color, brightness, contrast, apply a filter, and the like), re-size the material (e.g., interpolate between pixels of the material, decimate pixels of the material, or both, to stretch or squash the material), rotate the material, crop the material, composite the material with itself or other fill or replacement material, and the like; FIG. 6.614-616)
Regarding Claim 8, Cohen and TIAN teaches a system (Cohen Abst: Systems and techniques are described herein for directing a user conversation to obtain an editing query, and removing and replacing objects in an image based on the editing query; [0005] A directed user conversation is processed, e.g., with a natural language processor). The metes and bounds of the rest of the limitations substantially correspond to the claim as set forth in Claim 1; thus they are rejected on similar grounds and rationale as their corresponding limitations.
Regarding Claim 14, Cohen and TIAN teaches the system of claim 8, and further teaches wherein the one or more neural networks are to generate the one or more second objects with a shape based, at least in part, on a location and scale indicated by an affine transformation applied to a region of the image (Cohen [0116] A mask can describe a shape of an object without including content from the image to be edited; [0195] Platform 818 may also serve to abstract scaling of resources to provide a corresponding level of scale to encountered demand for resources 820 that are implemented via platform 818).
Regarding Claim 15, Cohen and TIAN teaches a method (Cohen Abst: Systems and techniques are described herein for directing a user conversation to obtain an editing query, and removing and replacing objects in an image based on the editing query; [0005] A directed user conversation is processed, e.g., with a natural language processor). The metes and bounds of the rest of the limitations substantially correspond to the claim as set forth in Claim 1; thus they are rejected on similar grounds and rationale as their corresponding limitations.
Regarding Claim 17, Cohen and TIAN teaches the method of claim 15, and further teaches further comprising adding the one or more second objects to the image based, at least in part, on labels of a semantic representation of the image (Cohen [0061] vision module 146 has semantic understanding of an image to be edited, and is therefore able to distinguish between objects in the image based on a description of the object in an editing query).
Regarding Claim 18, Cohen and TIAN teaches the method of claim 15, and further teaches further comprising identifying a pose of the one or more second objects using one or more affine transformations applied to one or more bounding boxes in the image, the one or more bounding boxes generated by the one or more neural networks, and generating the one or more second objects based, at least in part, on the one or more affine transformations (Cohen [0116] A mask can describe a shape of an object without including content from the image to be edited. Vision module 146 can generate an object mask for an object, and from the object mask generate a refined mask by dilating the object mask to create a region bounded by a boundary of the object mask and separating a background from a foreground for pixels in the region; [0089] indicators of regions in which harmonization is done, and the like, used by or calculated by harmonizing module 154 are stored in storage 126, such as in image data 138, and made available to modules of image enhancement application 120; [0129] Compositing module 152 can process fill material or replacement material in any way to composite it with an image to be edited. For instance, compositing module 152 can extract fill material or replacement material from an image obtained by image search module 150, filter the material (e.g., adjust color, brightness, contrast, apply a filter, and the like), re-size the material (e.g., interpolate between pixels of the material, decimate pixels of the material, or both, to stretch or squash the material), rotate the material, crop the material, composite the material with itself or other fill or replacement material, and the like).
Regarding Claim 21, Cohen and TIAN teaches the processor of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the one or more second objects are added at the position within the image without removing the one or more first objects from the image (Cohen [0097] Though the example in FIG. 3 describes images for a remove request, images of FIG. 3 are also applicable to other editing functions, such as a replace request, a move request (to move an object within an image), a duplicate request (to duplicate an object in an image), an add request (to add an object to an image); TIAN [0061] The haptic interaction interface enables the user to use haptic input to experience and realize placement and movement of virtual objects in the scene, and assigning various types of roles to the virtual objects (e.g., target, passage, obstacle, shield, guide, measure, etc.)).
Regarding Claim 22, Cohen and TIAN teaches the system of claim 8, and further teaches wherein the one or more second objects are added at the position within the image without removing the one or more first objects from the image (Cohen [0097] Though the example in FIG. 3 describes images for a remove request, images of FIG. 3 are also applicable to other editing functions, such as a replace request, a move request (to move an object within an image), a duplicate request (to duplicate an object in an image), an add request (to add an object to an image); TIAN [0061] The haptic interaction interface enables the user to use haptic input to experience and realize placement and movement of virtual objects in the scene, and assigning various types of roles to the virtual objects (e.g., target, passage, obstacle, shield, guide, measure, etc.)).
Regarding Claim 23, Cohen and TIAN teaches the method of claim 15, and further teaches wherein the one or more second objects are added at the position within the image without removing the one or more first objects from the image (Cohen [0097] Though the example in FIG. 3 describes images for a remove request, images of FIG. 3 are also applicable to other editing functions, such as a replace request, a move request (to move an object within an image), a duplicate request (to duplicate an object in an image), an add request (to add an object to an image); TIAN [0061] The haptic interaction interface enables the user to use haptic input to experience and realize placement and movement of virtual objects in the scene, and assigning various types of roles to the virtual objects (e.g., target, passage, obstacle, shield, guide, measure, etc.)).
Claim(s) 2, 9, 12, 13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen et al. (US 20190196698 A1), referred herein as Cohen in view of TIAN et al. (US 20200117213 A1), referred herein as TIAN, Madani et al. (US 20190197358 A1), referred herein as Madani and Muller et al. (US 20200035016 A1), referred herein as Muller.
Regarding Claim 2, Cohen and TIAN teaches the one or more processor of claim 1, but does not teach all the claimed limitation therein.
However, Cohen in view of Madani and Muller teaches wherein the one or more neural networks include one or more variational autoencoders (VAEs) to determine vectors for the one or more first objects and encode the vectors to a latent space to act as a constraint in adding the one or more second objects to the image (Madani [0027] VAEs attempt to find the variational lower bound of the probability density function with a loss function that consists of a reconstruction error and regularizer; [0029] FIG. 1 is an example block diagram of a generative adversarial network (GAN). As shown in FIG. 1, the generator, G, takes a vector z, sampled from random Gaussian noise or conditioned with structured input; Cohen [0069] Hence, similarity scores determined from word vectors can be used to determine an object to be replaced or removed from an image; Muller [0022] perform a mapping of multi-dimensional input vector 130/230 to a latent space as an invertible compound function of the form: ĥ=h.sub.L° . . . °h.sub.2°h.sub.1, where each h.sub.i applies a piecewise-polynomial bijective transformation or piecewise-polynomial warp. It is noted that for the purposes of the present inventive principles, h is stable invertible with computationally tractable Jacobians. That constraint enables exact and fast inference of latent variables and consequently exact and fast probability density estimation).
Madani discloses a machine learning training model that trains an image generator of a generative adversarial network (GAN) to generate medical images approximating actual medical images, which is analogous to the present patent application.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Cohen to incorporate the teachings of Madani, and applying the discriminator and VAE on machine learning system into the methods, systems, and techniques for directing a user conversation to obtain an editing query, and removing and replacing objects in an image based on the editing query.
Doing so would provide an architecture that can be trained using both labeled and unlabeled image data that are equally applicable regardless of the particular type of image data being operated on in the method and system for joint synthesis and placement of objects in scenes.
Muller discloses a system memory storing a software code including multiple artificial neural networks (ANNs), which is analogous to the present patent application
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Cohen to incorporate the teachings of Muller, and apply the piecewise-polynomial transformation for vector data, as taught by Muller into the methods, systems, and techniques for classifying an object-of-interest using an artificial neural network.
Doing so would improve the performance of rendering applications using warp-predicting neural networks having piecewise-polynomial coupling layers in the method and system of a context-aware synthesis and placement of object instances.
Regarding Claim 9, Cohen and TIAN teaches the system of claim 8. The metes and bounds of the rest of the limitations substantially correspond to the claim as set forth in Claim 2; thus they are rejected on similar grounds and rationale as their corresponding limitations.
Regarding Claim 12, Cohen and TIAN teaches the system of claim 8, but does not teach all the claimed limitation therein.
However, Cohen in view of Madani and Muller teaches wherein the one or more neural networks includes one or more first variational autoencoders (VAEs) to encode vectors of the one or more first objects to a latent space and one or more second VAEs to generate the one or more second objects based, at least in part, on the vectors (Madani [0027] VAEs attempt to find the variational lower bound of the probability density function with a loss function that consists of a reconstruction error and regularizer; [0029] FIG. 1 is an example block diagram of a generative adversarial network (GAN). As shown in FIG. 1, the generator, G, takes a vector z, sampled from random Gaussian noise or conditioned with structured input; Muller [0022] perform a mapping of multi-dimensional input vector 130/230 to a latent space as an invertible compound function of the form: ĥ=h.sub.L° . . . °h.sub.2°h.sub.1, where each h.sub.i applies a piecewise-polynomial bijective transformation or piecewise-polynomial warp. It is noted that for the purposes of the present inventive principles, h is stable invertible with computationally tractable Jacobians. That constraint enables exact and fast inference of latent variables and consequently exact and fast probability density estimation). The same motivation as claim 2 applies here.
Regarding Claim 13, Cohen and TIAN teaches the system of claim 8, but does not teach all the claimed limitation therein.
However, Cohen in view of Madani teaches wherein the one or more neural networks includes one or more variational autoencoders (VAEs) to receive a semantic representation of the image and a random input and to generate a latent vector using the semantic representation and the random input (Madani [0027] VAEs attempt to find the variational lower bound of the probability density function with a loss function that consists of a reconstruction error and regularizer; [0029] FIG. 1 is an example block diagram of a generative adversarial network (GAN). As shown in FIG. 1, the generator, G, takes a vector z, sampled from random Gaussian noise or conditioned with structured input; Cohen [0061] vision module 146 has semantic understanding of an image to be edited, and is therefore able to distinguish between objects in the image based on a description of the object in an editing query; Muller [0022] perform a mapping of multi-dimensional input vector 130/230 to a latent space as an invertible compound function of the form: ĥ=h.sub.L° . . . °h.sub.2°h.sub.1, where each h.sub.i applies a piecewise-polynomial bijective transformation or piecewise-polynomial warp. It is noted that for the purposes of the present inventive principles, h is stable invertible with computationally tractable Jacobians. That constraint enables exact and fast inference of latent variables and consequently exact and fast probability density estimation). The same motivation as claim 2 applies here.
Regarding Claim 16, Cohen and TIAN teaches the method of claim 15. The metes and bounds of the rest of the limitations substantially correspond to the claim as set forth in Claim 2; thus they are rejected on similar grounds and rationale as their corresponding limitations.
Claim(s) 7, 10, 11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen et al. (US 20190196698 A1), referred herein as Cohen in view of TIAN et al. (US 20200117213 A1), referred herein as TIAN and Madani et al. (US 20190197358 A1), referred herein as Madani.
Regarding Claim 7, Cohen teaches the processor of claim 1, but does not teach all the claimed limitation therein.
However, Cohen in view of TIAN and Madani teaches wherein the one or more neural networks includes one or more variational autoencoders (VAEs) comprising one or more decoder portions to generate one or more shapes of the one or more first objects that fit into one or more first bounding boxes represented by affine transformations (Madani [0027] VAEs attempt to find the variational lower bound of the probability density function with a loss function that consists of a reconstruction error and regularizer; [0029] FIG. 1 is an example block diagram of a generative adversarial network (GAN). As shown in FIG. 1, the generator, G, takes a vector z, sampled from random Gaussian noise or conditioned with structured input; [0032] standard augmentation methods that produce new examples of data merely involve varying lighting, field of view, and spatial rigid transformations; Cohen [0116] A mask can describe a shape of an object without including content from the image to be edited. Vision module 146 can generate an object mask for an object, and from the object mask generate a refined mask by dilating the object mask to create a region bounded by a boundary of the object mask and separating a background from a foreground for pixels in the region; [0089] indicators of regions in which harmonization is done, and the like, used by or calculated by harmonizing module 154 are stored in storage 126, such as in image data 138, and made available to modules of image enhancement application 120). The same motivation as claim 2 applies here.
Regarding Claim 10, Cohen and TIAN teaches the system of claim 8, but does not teach all the claimed limitation therein.
However, Cohen in view of TIAN and Madani teaches wherein the one or more neural networks include one or more spatial transformer networks (STNs) to generate one or more affine transformations representing one or more bounding boxes for the one or more first objects (Madani [0032] standard augmentation methods that produce new examples of data merely involve varying lighting, field of view, and spatial rigid transformations; Cohen [0047] including a move request (to move an object within an image; [0153] ascertaining the pixels of the image can include generating an object mask for the object, dilating the object mask to create a region bounded by a boundary of the object mask, and generating a refined mask representing the pixels of the image corresponding to the object). The same motivation as claim 2 applies here.
Regarding Claim 11, Cohen and TIAN teaches the system of claim 8, but does not teach all the claimed limitation therein.
However, Cohen in view of Madani teaches wherein the one or more neural networks includes one or more spatial transformer networks (STNs) to convert one or more vectors generated by one or more variational autoencoders (VAEs) of the one or more neural networks into one or more affine transformations (Madani [0027] VAEs attempt to find the variational lower bound of the probability density function with a loss function that consists of a reconstruction error and regularizer; [0029] FIG. 1 is an example block diagram of a generative adversarial network (GAN). As shown in FIG. 1, the generator, G, takes a vector z, sampled from random Gaussian noise or conditioned with structured input; Cohen [0047] including a move request (to move an object within an image; [0116] A mask can describe a shape of an object without including content from the image to be edited. Vision module 146 can generate an object mask for an object, and from the object mask generate a refined mask by dilating the object mask to create a region bounded by a boundary of the object mask and separating a background from a foreground for pixels in the region). The same motivation as claim 2 applies here.
Regarding Claim 19, Cohen and TIAN teaches the method of claim 15, but does not teach all the claimed limitation therein.
However, Cohen in view of TIAN and Madani teaches further comprising using one or more spatial transformer networks (STNs) of the one or more neural networks to convert one or more vectors generated by one or more variational autoencoders (VAEs) of the one or more neural networks into one or more affine transformations (Madani [0027] VAEs attempt to find the variational lower bound of the probability density function with a loss function that consists of a reconstruction error and regularizer; [0029] FIG. 1 is an example block diagram of a generative adversarial network (GAN). As shown in FIG. 1, the generator, G, takes a vector z, sampled from random Gaussian noise or conditioned with structured input; Cohen [0047] including a move request (to move an object within an image; [0116] A mask can describe a shape of an object without including content from the image to be edited. Vision module 146 can generate an object mask for an object, and from the object mask generate a refined mask by dilating the object mask to create a region bounded by a boundary of the object mask and separating a background from a foreground for pixels in the region). The same motivation as claim 2 applies here.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen et al. (US 20190196698 A1), referred herein as Cohen in view of TIAN et al. (US 20200117213 A1), referred herein as TIAN and Muller et al. (US 20200035016 A1), referred herein as Muller.
Regarding Claim 20, Cohen and TIAN teaches the method of claim 15, but does not teach all the claimed limitation therein.
However, Cohen in view of TIAN and Muller teaches further comprising using the one or more neural networks to add the one or more second objects to the image based, at least in part, on one or more bounding boxes generated by the one or more neural networks at the image and a shape of the one or more second objects that is identified by transforming one or more vectors in latent space (Cohen [0047] including a move request (to move an object within an image; [0153] ascertaining the pixels of the image can include generating an object mask for the object, dilating the object mask to create a region bounded by a boundary of the object mask, and generating a refined mask representing the pixels of the image corresponding to the object; [0069] Hence, similarity scores determined from word vectors can be used to determine an object to be replaced or removed from an image; [0116] A mask can describe a shape of an object without including content from the image to be edited; [0195] Platform 818 may also serve to abstract scaling of resources to provide a corresponding level of scale to encountered demand for resources 820 that are implemented via platform 818; Muller [0022] perform a mapping of multi-dimensional input vector 130/230 to a latent space as an invertible compound function of the form: ĥ=h.sub.L° . . . °h.sub.2°h.sub.1, where each h.sub.i applies a piecewise-polynomial bijective transformation or piecewise-polynomial warp. It is noted that for the purposes of the present inventive principles, h is stable invertible with computationally tractable Jacobians. That constraint enables exact and fast inference of latent variables and consequently exact and fast probability density estimation). The same motivation as claim 2 applies here.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed on 28 May 2026, with respect to double patenting rejections over copending Application No. 16922214 and over U.S. Patent No. US 12462453 B2 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of 30 April 2026 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed on 28 May 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 14, 15, 17 and 18 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of new references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Samantha (YUEHAN) WANG/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2617