DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. This Final Rejection is in response to the amendment submitted on 5/15/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/3/2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 5/15/2026, with respect to rejection of claims 2-4 and 14-15 under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The meaning of the term “second driver” has been clarified and the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 5/15/2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection provided below, which was necessitated based on Applicant’s amendments to the claims, which changed the scope of the claims. Examiner notes wherein Applicant’s arguments are directed towards the newly amended claim limitation(s), which are addressed by the newly found prior art, as indicated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, 11-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (US 20150119214 A1) as modified by Brand (US 20240009856 A1)
Claim 1:
Sasaki teaches the following limitations:
A system for torquing fasteners of a semiconductor manufacturing component, comprising: a first driver comprising a bit and a bit tip; (Sasaki - [0041] The first fastening tool 111 includes a shaft 111a extending along an axis O.sub.1 perpendicular to the axis O.sub.0; and a tool driver (not shown) which drives the shaft 111a to rotate. A first bolt B.sub.1 to be fastened to the object A is set at the tip of the shaft 111a.)a first toolhead connected to the bit of the first driver; (Sasaki - [ [0039] The second tool holding part 117 is movably attached to the rail 114. The second tool holding part 117 has a connecting part (not shown) which screws with the above-mentioned screw shaft. Via the connecting part, the second tool holding part 117 is driven along the axis O.sub.0 as indicated by the arrows D.sub.0 in the figure, as the screw shaft is driven to rotate by the motor 116. The second fastening tool 112 is held by the second tool holding part 117.)a first robotic arm connected to the first toolhead and configured to translate the first toolhead along an x-axis, a y-axis, and a z-axis; (Sasaki - [0010] In another aspect of the present invention, a robot system is provided with a robot arm; a robot controller which controls the robot arm; and the above fastening device. The robot controller includes a movement controller and controls the robot arm to position the plurality of fastening tools relative to the object. ; [0033] The robot arm 13 is connected to a swivel stand (not shown) which can rotate about a vertical axis. The robot arm 13 includes a lower arm (not shown) attached to the swivel stand; and a front arm 13a attached to the lower arm. A wrist 15 is attached to the front end of the front arm 13a. ; [0035] … The robot controller 12 pre-records the position of the imaging part 104 in the form of coordinates in a 3D space. ) one or more processors; and a computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations to: (Sasaki - [0068] Next, referring to FIG. 8, a robot system 40 according to another embodiment of the present invention will be explained. Note that the element similar to the above-mentioned embodiment is assigned the same numeral reference, and detailed explanation therefor will be omitted. The robot system 40 includes a robot 41; a robot controller 42 which controls the robot 41; and a fastening device 200 which is fixed to a predetermined position. In the same way as the above embodiments, the robot controller 42 executes the functions of the movement controller 102 and fastening position calculating part 103.)
cause, by the system, the first robotic arm to translate such that the bit tip of the first driver iteratively engages with a fastener of the plurality of fasteners
(Sasaki - [0011] The plurality of fastening tools may be attached to the robot arm. In this case, the robot arm may be operated so as to move the plurality of fastening tools to positions for performing fastening work on the object. …)
and cause, by the system, the first driver to rotate the bit of the first driver such that the fastener of the plurality of fasteners is tightened to the respective
(Sasaki – [0009] … The fastening device may be further provided with a plurality of tool drivers, each of which rotates each of the plurality of fastening tools; and a rotation controller which controls the plurality of tool drivers so as to simultaneously rotate the plurality of fastening tools.)
Examiner Note: It would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that the robot wrist 15, combined with the X and Y travel of the fastening device would provide movement in 3 dimensions.
Sasaki does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Brand teaches:
receive, by the system, a torque plan, wherein the torque plan comprises:
a fastener pattern indicating a location of a plurality of fasteners associated with the semiconductor manufacturing component; a predetermined torque for each fastener within the fastener pattern; and a predetermined order in which each fastener within the fastener pattern is to be tightened;
(Brand – [0108] … Additionally, the robot is programmed to identify the bolt holes 137 in accordance to a specific pattern that needs to be followed, install the bolts 136, and follow the specific pattern to torque the bolts 136. The robot arm 130 is then used to perform the task of installing the bolts 136 in the top plate 194 and the installation follows the specific pattern and the specific sequence of torquing.)
based at least in part on the fastener pattern and the predetermined order;
(Brand – [0108] … The robot arm 130 is then used to perform the task of installing the bolts 136 in the top plate 194 and the installation follows the specific pattern and the specific sequence of torquing.)
predetermined torque indicated by the torque plan.
(Brand – [0107] … the bolts have to be torqued incrementally to reach the specific torque value. For example, initially, the bolts may have to be torqued to 7 inch-pounds, then torqued three additional times by incrementing the torque to 20 inch-pounds, 40 inch-pounds, and 60 inch-pounds, with each round of torquing following the specific pattern. … Additionally, the consistency, precision, sequence, and amount of torque applied by the robot are steady and repeatable.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sasaki to include a torque plan for screw tightening patterns, to include an ordered sequence for tightening and also recommended torques as taught in Brand. Having the ability to map out a strategy for tightening a plurality of screws provides for greater control of the screw tightening process which in turn ensures consistent part connections, seals, and compressions.
Claim 2:
Sasaki teaches the following limitations:
The system of claim 1, wherein the toolhead is connected to a second driver and is configured to move the second driver independently of the first driver.
(Sasaki – [0053] At step S6, the robot controller 12 moves the second fastening tool 112 relative to the first fastening tool 111 based on the calculated distance between two fastening locations. Specifically, the robot controller 12 drives the motor 116 to rotate, and moves the second fastening tool 112 so that the distance d.sub.1 (FIG. 2) between the first fastening tool 111 and the second fastening tool 112 becomes equal to the distance d.sub.2 calculated at step S5. Thus, in the present embodiment, the robot controller 12 functions as the movement controller 102 which controls the movement mechanism so as to arrange the individual fastening tools at the corresponding fastening locations.
Claim 7:
Sasaki teaches the following limitations:
The system of claim 1, wherein the first robotic arm is configured to rotate the toolhead in one or more directions.
(Sasaki - [0033] The robot arm 13 is connected to a swivel stand (not shown) which can rotate about a vertical axis. The robot arm 13 includes a lower arm (not shown) attached to the swivel stand; and a front arm 13a attached to the lower arm. A wrist 15 is attached to the front end of the front arm 13a. The robot arm drive part 14 operates the robot arm 13 by driving servo motors provided at the articulation axes of the robot arm 13 in accordance with a command from the robot controller 12. )
Claim 8:
Sasaki teaches the following limitations:
causing, by the computing system, a first robotic arm to translate such that a bit tip of a first driver engages with one or more fasteners of the plurality of fasteners
(Sasaki - [0011] The plurality of fastening tools may be attached to the robot arm. In this case, the robot arm may be operated so as to move the plurality of fastening tools to positions for performing fastening work on the object. …)
causing, by the computing system, the first driver to rotate a bit of the first driver such that the one or more fasteners of the plurality of fasteners are each tightened to the respective predetermined torque.
(Sasaki – [0009] … The fastening device may be further provided with a plurality of tool drivers, each of which rotates each of the plurality of fastening tools; and a rotation controller which controls the plurality of tool drivers so as to simultaneously rotate the plurality of fastening tools.)
Sasaki does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Brand teaches:
A method, comprising: receiving, by a computing system, a torque plan, wherein the torque plan comprises: a fastener pattern indicating a location of a plurality of fasteners associated with a semiconductor manufacturing component; a predetermined torque for each fastener within the fastener pattern; and a predetermined order in which each fastener within the fastener pattern is to be tightened;
(Brand – [0108] … Additionally, the robot is programmed to identify the bolt holes 137 in accordance to a specific pattern that needs to be followed, install the bolts 136, and follow the specific pattern to torque the bolts 136. The robot arm 130 is then used to perform the task of installing the bolts 136 in the top plate 194 and the installation follows the specific pattern and the specific sequence of torquing.)
based at least in part on the fastener pattern and the predetermined order; and
(Brand – [0108] … The robot arm 130 is then used to perform the task of installing the bolts 136 in the top plate 194 and the installation follows the specific pattern and the specific sequence of torquing.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sasaki to include a torque plan for screw tightening patterns, to include an ordered sequence for tightening and also recommended torques as taught in Brand. Having the ability to map out a strategy for tightening a plurality of screws provides for greater control of the screw tightening process which in turn ensures consistent part connections, seals, and compressions.
Claim 11:
Sasaki teaches the following limitations:
The method of claim 8, further comprising: determining, by the computing system, a position of the semiconductor manufacturing component; and causing, by the computing system, the first driver to be positioned in an initial position according to the torque plan.
(Sasaki - [0046] … As explained above, the robot system 10 is for fastening the bolts B to the object A in order to fasten the workpiece W and the jig J together. As shown in FIG. 4, after the flow of operation according to the present embodiment is started, at step S1, the robot controller 12 operates the robot arm 13 so as to move the fastening tools 111, 112 to the pre-work position.)
Claim 12:
Sasaki teaches the following limitations:
The method of claim 11, wherein causing the first driver to be positioned in the initial position comprises moving one or more of the robotic arm and a toolhead that couples the first driver with the robotic arm.
(Sasaki - [0046] … As explained above, the robot system 10 is for fastening the bolts B to the object A in order to fasten the workpiece W and the jig J together. As shown in FIG. 4, after the flow of operation according to the present embodiment is started, at step S1, the robot controller 12 operates the robot arm 13 so as to move the fastening tools 111, 112 to the pre-work position.)
Claim 13:
Sasaki teaches the following limitations:
The method of claim 8, wherein the computing system comprises one or more controllers configured to receive control signals from the computing system and cause the robotic arm and/or the first driver to perform torquing operations.
(Sasaki – [0009] … The fastening device may be further provided with a plurality of tool drivers, each of which rotates each of the plurality of fastening tools; and a rotation controller which controls the plurality of tool drivers so as to simultaneously rotate the plurality of fastening tools.) ;[0044] Next, referring to FIGS. 3A and 3B, the object A to which the bolts B are fastened by the fastening device 100 will be briefly explained. In the present embodiment, the object A includes a workpiece W and a jig J arranged on the workpiece W. The workpiece W is formed with a total of four screw holes 21, 22, 23, and 24 at predetermined positions.)
Claim 16:
Sasaki teaches the following limitations:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
(Sasaki - [0068] Next, referring to FIG. 8, a robot system 40 according to another embodiment of the present invention will be explained. Note that the element similar to the above-mentioned embodiment is assigned the same numeral reference, and detailed explanation therefor will be omitted. The robot system 40 includes a robot 41; a robot controller 42 which controls the robot 41; and a fastening device 200 which is fixed to a predetermined position. In the same way as the above embodiments, the robot controller 42 executes the functions of the movement controller 102 and fastening position calculating part 103.)
causing, by the computing system and according to the torque plan, a first robotic arm to translate such that a bit tip of a first driver engages with a fastener of the plurality of fasteners
(Sasaki - [0011] The plurality of fastening tools may be attached to the robot arm. In this case, the robot arm may be operated so as to move the plurality of fastening tools to positions for performing fastening work on the object. …)
causing, by the computing system and according to the torque plan, the first driver to rotate a bit of the first driver such that the fastener of the plurality of fasteners is tightened to the respective predetermined torque.
(Sasaki – [0009] … The fastening device may be further provided with a plurality of tool drivers, each of which rotates each of the plurality of fastening tools; and a rotation controller which controls the plurality of tool drivers so as to simultaneously rotate the plurality of fastening tools.)
Sasaki does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Brand teaches:
receiving, by a computing system, a torque plan ,wherein the torque plan comprises:
a fastener pattern indicating a location of a plurality of fasteners associated with a semiconductor manufacturing component; a predetermined torque for each fastener within the fastener pattern; and a predetermined order in which each fastener within the fastener pattern is to be tightened;
(Brand – [0108] … Additionally, the robot is programmed to identify the bolt holes 137 in accordance to a specific pattern that needs to be followed, install the bolts 136, and follow the specific pattern to torque the bolts 136. The robot arm 130 is then used to perform the task of installing the bolts 136 in the top plate 194 and the installation follows the specific pattern and the specific sequence of torquing.)
based at least in part on the fastener pattern and the predetermined order; and
(Brand – [0108] … The robot arm 130 is then used to perform the task of installing the bolts 136 in the top plate 194 and the installation follows the specific pattern and the specific sequence of torquing.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sasaki to include a torque plan for screw tightening patterns, to include an ordered sequence for tightening and also recommended torques as taught in Brand. Having the ability to map out a strategy for tightening a plurality of screws provides for greater control of the screw tightening process which in turn ensures consistent part connections, seals, and compressions.
Claim(s) 3-4, 14-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (US 20150119214 A1) as modified by Brand (US 20240009856 A1) In view of Komatsu (US 20110048649 A1)
Claim 3:
Sasaki in combination with Brand does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Komatsu teaches:
The system of claim 1, further comprising: a second driver comprising a bit and a bit tip; a second toolhead, connected to the bit of the second driver; a second robotic arm connected to the second toolhead and configured to translate the second toolhead along the x-axis, the y-axis, and the z-axis, wherein the second driver, the second toolhead, and the second robotic arm are independently moveable; and (Komatsu – [see figure 10] ; [0182] As shown in FIG. 10, the second working mechanism 222a and the third working mechanism 222b, which are structurally identical to each other, include respective robot bodies 274a, 274b having arms 276a, 276b, each of which includes hands 278a, 278b on distal ends with index bases 280a, 280b rotatably mounted thereon. ; [0183] As shown in FIGS. 10 and 14, on the index base 280a, there are mounted a first full tightening means 282a for fully tightening nuts 228 that have temporarily been tightened on hub bolts 218 in the first mounting region 224a, … ; [0184] On the index base 280b, similarly, there are mounted a second full tightening means 282b for fully tightening nuts 228 that have temporarily been tightened on hub bolts 218 in the second mounting region 224b, …) one or more controllers, configured to receive control signals from the one or more processors and cause the first and second robotic arms, the first and second toolheads, and the first and second drivers to perform one or more torquing operations. (Komatsu – [0189] … Based on the processed image information input from the arithmetic unit 306, the main controller 308 controls operations of the first working mechanism 220, and also controls operations of the second working mechanism 222a and the third working mechanism 222b.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sasaki and Brand to include a second robotic arm which contains a set of bit drivers that is wholly independent from the bit drivers of the first robotic arm as taught in Komatsu. Having the ability to independently control coordinated sets of bit drivers allows the robot to perform a variety of screw tightening patterns, including simultaneous tightening, which helps to improve the compression and sealing between fastened parts.
Claim 4:
Sasaki in combination with Brand does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Komatsu teaches:
The system of claim 3, wherein the first driver and the second driver tighten respective fasteners of the plurality of fasteners such that the respective torque for the fastener engaged by the first driver and the fastener engaged by the second driver is reached simultaneously.
(Komatsu - [see figure 10] ; [0020] In the tire mounting apparatus, the temporary tightening means should preferably comprise a plurality of detachable nut runners, and a single rotational drive source for rotating the nut runners in unison with each other. ; [0161] Since the assembly line 12 includes the tire mounting apparatus 10 disposed one on each side of the automobile body 14, the same operations as described above are performed substantially simultaneously on each side. , [0216] Operation of the second working mechanism 222a to sense the first mounting region 224a, and operation of the third working mechanism 222b to sense the second mounting region 224b are performed simultaneously. …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sasaki and Brand to include a second robotic arm which contains a set of bit drivers that is wholly independent from the bit drivers of the first robotic arm as taught in Komatsu. Having the ability to independently control coordinated sets of bit drivers allows the robot to perform a variety of screw tightening patterns, including simultaneous tightening, which helps to improve the compression and sealing between fastened parts.
Claim 14:
Sasaki in combination with Brand does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Komatsu teaches:
The method of claim 8, further comprising: causing, by the system, a second robotic arm to translate such that a bit tip of a second driver engages a second fastener of the plurality of fasteners; and causing, by the system, the second driver to rotate a bit of the second driver such that the second fastener of the plurality of fasteners is tightened to the predetermined torque.
(Komatsu – [see figure 10] ; [0182] As shown in FIG. 10, the second working mechanism 222a and the third working mechanism 222b, which are structurally identical to each other, include respective robot bodies 274a, 274b having arms 276a, 276b, each of which includes hands 278a, 278b on distal ends with index bases 280a, 280b rotatably mounted thereon. ; [0183] As shown in FIGS. 10 and 14, on the index base 280a, there are mounted a first full tightening means 282a for fully tightening nuts 228 that have temporarily been tightened on hub bolts 218 in the first mounting region 224a, … ; [0184] On the index base 280b, similarly, there are mounted a second full tightening means 282b for fully tightening nuts 228 that have temporarily been tightened on hub bolts 218 in the second mounting region 224b, … ; [0189] … Based on the processed image information input from the arithmetic unit 306, the main controller 308 controls operations of the first working mechanism 220, and also controls operations of the second working mechanism 222a and the third working mechanism 222b.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sasaki and Brand to include a second robotic arm which contains a set of bit drivers that is wholly independent from the bit drivers of the first robotic arm as taught in Komatsu. Having the ability to independently control coordinated sets of bit drivers allows the robot to perform a variety of screw tightening patterns, including simultaneous tightening, which helps to improve the compression and sealing between fastened parts.
Claim 15:
Sasaki in combination with Brand does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Komatsu teaches:
The method of claim 14, wherein the first driver and the second driver tighten respective fasteners of the plurality of fasteners such that the predetermined torque is reached simultaneously.
(Komatsu - [see figure 10] ; [0020] In the tire mounting apparatus, the temporary tightening means should preferably comprise a plurality of detachable nut runners, and a single rotational drive source for rotating the nut runners in unison with each other. ; [0161] Since the assembly line 12 includes the tire mounting apparatus 10 disposed one on each side of the automobile body 14, the same operations as described above are performed substantially simultaneously on each side. , [0216] Operation of the second working mechanism 222a to sense the first mounting region 224a, and operation of the third working mechanism 222b to sense the second mounting region 224b are performed simultaneously. …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sasaki and Brand to include a second robotic arm which contains a set of bit drivers that is wholly independent from the bit drivers of the first robotic arm as taught in Komatsu. Having the ability to independently control coordinated sets of bit drivers allows the robot to perform a variety of screw tightening patterns, including simultaneous tightening, which helps to improve the compression and sealing between fastened parts.
Claim 19:
Sasaki in combination with Brand does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Komatsu teaches:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the computing system causes a plurality of robotic arms, a plurality of toolheads, and a plurality of drivers to execute the torque plan.
(Komatsu – [see figure 10] ; [0138] Based on the processed image information input thereto from the arithmetic unit 108, the main controller 110 controls operation of the first working mechanism 20, and also controls operation of the second working mechanism 22 and the third working mechanism 33. ; [0232] Based on the calculated information input from the arithmetic unit 472, the main controller 474 controls operations of the nut tightening robot 422, and also controls operations of the tire setting robot 420 and the nut arraying robot 438.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sasaki and Brand to include a second robotic arm which contains a set of bit drivers that is wholly independent from the bit drivers of the first robotic arm as taught in Komatsu. Having the ability to independently control coordinated sets of bit drivers allows the robot to perform a variety of screw tightening patterns, including simultaneous tightening, which helps to improve the compression and sealing between fastened parts.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (US 20150119214 A1) as modified by Brand (US 20240009856 A1) In view of Cunningham (US 20160193722 A1)
Claim 5:
Sasaki in combination with Brand does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Cunningham teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the bit tip of the first driver comprises a rounded portion and a pattern corresponding to at least a portion of the fastener.
(Cunningham - [0037] FIGS. 1 and 2 show an example of a double ball end fastener driver 10 provided in accordance with this invention. As shown in FIGS. 1 and 1A, the drives 10 is preferably provided in a substantially L-shaped configuration comprising a shank 12, a first shank end 22, a first neck 24, a first ball end 26, a second shank end 32, a second neck 34, a second ball end 36, and an interior angle α. …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sasaki and Brand to include driver bits with a ball end design as taught in Cunningham. Having a ball end on a bit allows the robot to approach a fastener from a variety of angles and still maintain sufficient torque during the tightening process.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (US 20150119214 A1) as modified by Brand (US 20240009856 A1) In view of Oya (US 20090320754 A1)
Claim 6:
Sasaki in combination with Brand does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Oya teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the semiconductor manufacturing device comprises a gas panel. (Oya - [0001] This invention relates to an integrated gas panel apparatus used for a process of manufacturing semiconductors. ; [0002] Integrated gas panel apparatus is to control and finally to mix flow of several different kinds of gas used for manufacturing semiconductor devices and to supply them to a chamber. … ; (See Also Figure 1))
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sasaki and Brand to include the ability to tighten semiconductor manufacturing devices, such as gas panels as taught in Oya. Gas panels in particular benefit from the application of a controlled fastener torque pattern in order to properly seal the gas panel and prevent the escape of gases during their use in a semiconductor manufacturing environment.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (US 20150119214 A1) as modified by Brand (US 20240009856 A1) In view of Katou (US 20240024996 A1)
Claim 9:
Sasaki in combination with Brand does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Katou teaches:
The method of claim 8, further comprising: determining, by the computing system, an actual torque of each of the one or more fasteners; ( Katou – [0042] … The fastening torque reaction force can be measured by disposing a force sensor between the robot 10 and a device for reducing the fastening torque reaction force (composed of the retaining member 40, the electric motor 41, the support member 30, and the screw fastening device 20).) determining, by the computing system, whether the actual torque is different than the predetermined torque; and in response to determining that the actual torque is different than the predetermined torque: generating, by the computing system, and output for display indicating the actual torque. (Katou – [0043] The robot controller 50 (the motor control unit 502) may possess a numerical table in which the torque limit and the fastening torque reaction force (measured value) are associated with each other in the memory (non-volatile memory) 52. The robot controller 50 may also be configured to display such a numerical table on a display device (e.g., a display panel of the robot controller 50 or a display unit of a teach pendant connected to the robot controller 50) and accept the torque limit selected by the user. In this case, the robot controller 50 may highlight one or more recommended values for the torque limit and prompts the user to select one of the recommended values. …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sasaki and Brand to include a method of measuring actual fastener torques and comparing the result to the recommended torque as taught in Katou. Having the ability to set recommended torque limits and then monitor the difference between the recommended and actual torques allows the robot and operator to quickly make adjustments thereby ensure the quality of the fastening process.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (US 20150119214 A1) as modified by Brand (US 20240009856 A1) In view of Ohno (US 20210387342 A1)
Claim 10:
Sasaki in combination with Brand does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Ohno teaches:
The method of claim 8, further comprising: generating, by the computing system, a build plan, the build plan comprising a record of each fastener and an associated actual torque, (Ohno - [0052] As shown in FIG. 4, the fastening condition DB 23b includes, for each component, fastening condition information in which a fastening hole number, coordinates, a permissible range, a torque, and a condition(s) are associated with each other. FIG. 4 shows fastening condition information for a component No. 8044214. ; [0052] As shown in FIG. 4, the fastening condition DB 23b includes, for each component, fastening condition information in which a fastening hole number, coordinates, a permissible range, a torque, and a condition(s) are associated with each other. FIG. 4 shows fastening condition information for a component No. 8044214. .; [See also figure 4]) the record updated as the plurality of fasteners are tightened. (Ohno - [0061] FIG. 5 shows information stored in the traceability file 24. In the traceability file 24, fastening result information in which, for each component, a fastening hole number, coordinates, a torque, and success/failure are associated with each other is stored. FIG. 5 shows fastening result information for the component No. 8044214. ; [0063] The torque means the actual fastening torque that was applied when the sub-component 4 placed in the corresponding fastening hole was screwed.; [See also figure 5])
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sasaki and Brand to include a fastener torque plan for each fastener as taught in Ohno. Having the ability to map out the required torque for each individual screw allows for the development of a strategy which ensure the proper fastening of target parts.
Claim(s) 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (US 20150119214 A1) as modified by Brand (US 20240009856 A1) in view of Ueda (US 20180215038 A1)
Claim 17:
Sasaki in combination with Brand does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Ueda teaches:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the torque plan is displayed in a user interface during operation of the computing system.
(Ueda - [0128] As shown in FIG. 5, when screw-tightening torque is set, a window for screw-tightening torque setting (a screen for screw-tightening torque setting) 5 is displayed on the display device 41. ; [0132] The text box 57 has a function of displaying recommended screw-tightening torque. The recommended screw-tightening torque refers to screw-tightening torque to be recommended. The screw-tightening torque is called tightening torque as well and refers to a force (torque) for turning the screw 9 in a rotating direction when turning and tightening (fastening) the screw 9. … )
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sasaki and Brand to include a method of displaying current torque information such as recommended torque for the user as taught in Ueda. Having the ability to display torque information for the user, allows the user to monitor the fastening process and make corrections as needed.
Claim 18:
Sasaki in combination with Brand does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Ueda teaches:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the user interface is configured to accept user input to modify the torque plan during operation. (Ueda - [0160] When the receiving section 15 receives the operation instruction to the button 59 by the user (step S101), the display control section 13 calculates recommended screw-tightening torque using Expression (1) and Expression (2) described above. ; [0161] The display control section 13 instructs the display device 41 to display the recommended screw-tightening torque (step S102). According to the instruction, the display device 41 displays the recommended screw-tightening torque in the text box 57. Consequently, the user can grasp the recommended screw-tightening torque.)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sasaki and Brand to include a method of displaying current torque information such as recommended torque for the user as taught in Ueda. Having the ability to display torque information for the user, allows the user to monitor the fastening process and make corrections as needed.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (US 20150119214 A1) as modified by Brand (US 20240009856 A1) In view of Roy (WO 2023149958 A9)
Claim 20:
Sasaki in combination with Brand does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Roy teaches:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein each of the plurality of fasteners are tightened such that a seal of the semiconductor manufacturing component is uniformly compressed.
(Roy – [0050] … In one implementation illustrated in Figure 1, the top plate includes about 40 mounting screws that have to be torqued to secure the top plate to the process module and de-torqued when the top plate has to be removed for accessing the inside of the process module. The number of mounting screws can vary with a type of top plate used and the type of process module in which the top plate is used. Thus, there could be fewer or greater number of mounting screws for securing the top plate to the different process modules. The torquing and de-torquing of the mounting screws have to be done in specific sequence and by applying precise amount of force so that the process module can be efficiently sealed or un-sealed. ; [0051] …Further, the specific sequence of torquing or de-torquing that needs to be followed may vary from process module to process module or from one cluster tool to another cluster tool. To assist in the repetitive nature of the torquing or de- torquing operation that has to be performed during maintenance of the process modules, a robot arm assembly is engaged. The robot arm assembly is capable of performing such repetitive actions with high precision and minimal variability. …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sasaki and Brand to include a method to ensure that the target components are uniformly tightened to form a reliable seal as taught in Roy. Having the ability to ensure a proper sealing of components helps to prevent leaks when joined parts must convey fluids or gases in a manufacturing process.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure or directed to the state of the art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
The following is a brief description for relevant prior art that was cited but not applied:
STOCKSCHLAEDER (WO 2015173239 A1) describes a robot workstation having a robot arm that holds a tool in the form of a screwing device which has a detection means for detecting and/or displaying a torque applied by the screwing device to a screw or a nut, wherein the robot controller is configured and/or set up to additionally detect a reaction torque supported by means of the robot arm, said reaction torque being introduced into the robot arm by a torque applied by the screwing device to the screw or the nut.
BIWAKI (US 20230271282 A1) describes a screw tightening system which includes an actuator including a driver bit that rotationally drives a screw and a motor coupled with driver bit, and a controller that controls actuator. Controller includes an acquirer that acquires torque values of a torque generated in a motor, a calculator that calculates a standard deviation of the torque values in a temporary tightening period, and a determiner that determines that there is an abnormality when a ratio of the standard deviation to a reference standard deviation exceeds a first threshold value.
Thiele (US 20230281793 A1) describes a method which includes: receiving a recycled wood workpiece populated with a set of metal fasteners; accessing an internal imaging scan; detecting the set of metal fasteners embedded in the recycled wood workpiece based on internal features detected in the internal imaging scan and, in response to identifying the first metal fastener analogous to an initial metal fastener in the virtual model, isolating the first metal fastener in the virtual model and generating a fastener removal schedule.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAN LINDSAY OSTROW/
Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657