DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 11/13/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2 recites “28GHz and at 24 GHz” but should read “28GHz and 24 GHz”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi et al. (US20240356236; hereinafter Chi), Schaffner et al. (US20160013549; hereinafter Schaffner), Khaleghi et al. (US20190229770; hereinafter Khaleghi), and Cho et al. (US20220344806; hereinafter Cho).
Regarding claim 1, Chi discloses “A dual-band antenna array comprising: a top layer of fused silica substrate (420); a bottom layer of fused silica substrate (440); a ground plane (430) positioned between the top and bottom layers of fused silica substrate; antenna patch elements (410) arranged on top of the top layer of fused silica substrate; an input feedline (450) arrange on the bottom layer of the fused silica substrate”.
Chi does not disclose “wherein the ground plane comprises layers of three different metals” or “a meanderline complimentary split ring resonator structure etched on a top surface of the ground plane, wherein the input feedline is directly coupled to the meanderline complimentary split ring resonator structure and is configured to excite a plurality of resonance frequencies of the antenna patch elements”.
However, Schaffner teaches “wherein the ground plane comprises layers of three different metals (¶[0026]; A multilayer electromagnetic bandgap structure forms a wideband multilayer ground plane 22 to cover the frequencies of operation of the pixelated tile 10 and ¶[0016]; configured as a patch antenna and then reconfigured in size to three different operational frequencies)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Schaffner and make Chi’s antenna array wherein the ground plane comprises layers of three different metals, in order to help with shielding and mitigate changes in bandwidth vs. frequency (¶[0031]).
The modified Chi does not disclose “a meanderline complimentary split ring resonator structure etched on a top surface of the ground plane, wherein the input feedline is directly coupled to the meanderline complimentary split ring resonator structure and is configured to excite a plurality of resonance frequencies of the antenna patch elements”.
However, Khaleghi teaches “a meanderline complimentary split ring resonator structure (fig. 2A/4A), wherein the input feedline (38) is directly coupled to the meanderline complimentary split ring resonator structure (coupled capacitively) and is configured to excite a plurality of resonance frequencies of the antenna patch elements”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Khaleghi and make Chi’s antenna array wherein a meanderline complimentary split ring resonator structure, wherein the input feedline is directly coupled to the meanderline complimentary split ring resonator structure and is configured to excite a plurality of resonance frequencies of the antenna patch elements, in order to feed the patches at multiple frequencies and avoid cross talk when patches are located close together.
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is ‘configured to’ perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
The modified Chi does not disclose that the meanderlines ring resonator is “etched on a top surface of the ground plane”.
However, Cho teaches that the meanderlines ring resonator is “etched on a top surface of the ground plane (Abstract; and meander line (ML) slots formed in a ground plane disposed on a second side of the substrate)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Cho and make Chi’s antenna array wherein the meanderline ring resonator is etched on a top surface of the ground plane, in order to miniaturize the structure.
Regarding claim 3, Chi discloses the antenna array of claim 1 as shown previously.
Chi does not disclose “wherein the antenna patch elements comprise a 2x2 patch antenna array”.
However, Cho teaches “wherein the antenna patch elements comprise a 2x2 patch antenna array (fig. 1)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Cho and make Chi’s antenna array wherein the antenna patch elements comprise a 2x2 patch antenna array, in order to allow MIMO capabilities.
Regarding claim 10, Chi discloses the antenna array of claim 1 as shown previously.
Chi does not disclose “wherein the meanderline complimentary split ring resonator structure comprises four meanderline complimentary split ring resonators that are configured to resonate around a desired frequency and are placed diagonally on the ground plane beneath the antenna patch elements”.
However, Cho teaches “wherein the meanderline complimentary split ring resonator structure comprises four meanderline complimentary split ring resonators that are configured to resonate around a desired frequency and are placed diagonally on the ground plane beneath the antenna patch elements (fig. 1)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Cho and make Chi’s antenna array wherein the meanderline complimentary split ring resonator structure comprises four meanderline complimentary split ring resonators that are configured to resonate around a desired frequency and are placed diagonally on the ground plane beneath the antenna patch elements, in order to allow the patches to be more closely disposed.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi, Schaffner, Khaleghi, and Cho, further in view of Brobston et al. (US20230037629; hereinafter Brobston).
Regarding claim 2, Chi discloses the antenna array of claim 1 as shown previously.
Chi does not disclose “wherein the plurality of resonant frequencies comprise 28 GHz and at 24 GHz”.
However, Brobston teaches “wherein the plurality of resonant frequencies comprise 28 GHz and at 24 GHz (¶[0005]; Some 5G wireless communications systems are being deployed that operate in millimeter wave (mmWave) frequency bands, such as, for example, the 24 GHz, 28 GHz and 39 GHz frequency bands)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Brobston and make Chi’s antenna array wherein the plurality of resonant frequencies comprise 28 GHz and at 24 GHz, in order to allow the antenna to operate at common frequencies.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi, Schaffner, Khaleghi, and Cho, further in view of Koul et al. (US20220021123; hereinafter Koul).
Regarding claim 4, Chi discloses the antenna array of claim 3 as shown previously.
Chi does not disclose “wherein the top layer of fused silica substrate comprises a 350 pm thick fused silica wafer”.
However, Koul teaches that the thickness of a top substrate is an adjustable parameter (¶[0048]; Further, as shown in FIG. 2D, the thickness of the second substrate is a parameter that adjusts the flat response over the band without compromising the bandwidth)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Koul and make Chi’s antenna array wherein the top layer of fused silica substrate comprises a 350 pm thick fused silica wafer, in order to improve the response over the band.
Furthermore, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 5, Chi discloses the antenna array of claim 3 as shown previously.
Chi does not disclose “wherein the bottom layer of fused silica substrate comprises a 180 pm thick fused silica wafer”.
However, Koul teaches that the thickness of a bottom substrate may be half the thickness of a top substrate (¶[0043]; In some examples, the thickness h′.sub.3 of the bottom or first substrate 120 may be one-half, or approximately one-half, that of the thickness h′.sub.1 of the top or second substrate 124)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Koul and make Chi’s antenna array wherein the bottom layer of fused silica substrate comprises a 180 pm thick fused silica wafer, in order to improve the response over the band.
Regarding claim 6, Chi discloses the antenna array of claim 5 as shown previously.
Chi does not disclose “wherein four patch elements of the 2x2 patch antenna array are separated by a pitch p = 0.048Ao with Ao being a free space wavelength”.
However, Cho teaches that the meander line ring resonators are used to place the patches much closer together without interference and crosstalk (¶[0035]; he size of the array antenna can be greatly reduced by shrinking the gap between array elements to, e.g., 2 mm (i.e. 0.033λ for 5 GHz and 0.023λ for 3.5 GHz) by inserting the meander-line (ML) ring resonators).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Cho and make Chi’s antenna array wherein four patch elements of the 2x2 patch antenna array are separated by a pitch p = 0.048Ao with Ao being a free space wavelength, in order to miniaturize the antenna array.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi, Schaffner, Khaleghi, Cho, and Koul, further in view of Sun et al. (US20200411985; hereinafter Sun).
Regarding claim 7, Chi discloses the antenna array of claim 6 as shown previously.
Chi does not disclose “wherein the three different metals comprise titanium, copper, and gold”.
However, Sun teaches that ground planes can be made out of titanium, copper, or gold (¶[0019]; In one embodiment, the conductive material may be aluminum. It should be appreciated that other metals including e.g., brass, copper, gold, steel, titanium, tin and stainless steel could be used to form the capacitive ground structure 130 and that the claimed invention should not be limited to the specific conductive materials disclosed herein).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Sun and make Chi’s antenna array wherein the three different metals comprise titanium, copper, and gold, in order to separate the layers and match them to the desired frequency.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi, Schaffner, Khaleghi, and Cho, further in view of Dave et al. (US20240258701; hereinafter Dave).
Regarding claim 8, Chi discloses the antenna array of claim 1 as shown previously.
Chi does not disclose “wherein the input feedline comprises an asymmetric microstrip line attached to an open stub”.
However, Dave teaches “wherein the input feedline comprises an asymmetric microstrip line attached to an open stub (figs. 11-12 and ¶[0090]; Hence the feedlines are matched using open circuit capacitive stubs)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Dave and make Chi’s antenna array wherein the input feedline comprises an asymmetric microstrip line attached to an open stub, in order to feed the meanderline structures with different frequencies.
Regarding claim 9, Chi discloses the antenna array of claim 1 as shown previously.
Chi does not disclose “wherein the input feedline comprises an asymmetric feedline”.
However, Dave teaches “wherein the input feedline comprises an asymmetric feedline (figs. 11-12)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Dave and make Chi’s antenna array wherein the input feedline comprises an asymmetric feedline, in order to feed the meanderline structures with different frequencies.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi, Schaffner, Khaleghi, and Cho, further in view of Robinson et al. (US20230246323; hereinafter Robinson).
Regarding claim 11, Chi discloses the antenna array of claim 1 as shown previously.
Chi does not disclose “wherein the antenna patch elements comprise a 4x4 patch antenna array”.
However, Robinson teaches that it is known the art to change 2x2 arrays to 4x4 arrays (¶[0098]; In some embodiments, the antennae 313 may include MIMO signaling capabilities include, e.g., 2x2, 4x4, 6x6, 8x8 or more SISO channels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Robinson and make Chi’s antenna array wherein the antenna patch elements comprise a 4x4 patch antenna array, in order to add more modes to the MIMO antenna.
Furthermore, as seen in the instant application the change of the antenna from a 2x2 to 4x4 array is achieved through duplicating the 2x2 antenna design (see fig. 5) and it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977).
Conclusion
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/AUSTIN M BACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845