DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Injection portion in claim 1, disclosed as an adhesive dispenser/injector 130 in Fig. 2;
Control portion in claim 1, disclosed in Fig. 1 and ¶32 as a box 140 that is capable of to determine flow rate compliance without any description on the structure of the control portion;
Output portion in claim 10, disclosed in Fig. 1 and as box 150 in Fig. 1 and ¶33 as a component which may comprise of a display or speaker which can give an alarm;
Storage portion, disclosed in Fig. 2 as a container 110.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As noted above in the Claim Interpretation section, the term “control portion” in claim 1 invokes interpretation under 35 USC 112(f). Applicant discloses in Fig. 1 and ¶32 an adhesive dispensing device, wherein the control portion is capable of determining flow rate compliance of the adhesive dispensing device but does not specifically teach or disclose the corresponding structure of the control portion. Accordingly, the written description fails to convey that Applicant was in possession, at the time the application was filed, of disclosed corresponding structure of the application mechanism required by 35 USC 112(f).
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. As noted above in the Claim Interpretation section, the term “control portion” in claim 1 invokes interpretation under 35 USC 112(f) and the specification fails to disclose the corresponding structure for this limitation. Accordingly, the structure required by the application mechanism is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by .Kiernan et al. (US 5263608).
As to claim 1, Kiernan discloses an apparatus for dispensing a controlled volume of adhesive (Abstract). Kiernan discloses that the apparatus comprises of: an injection portion 20 for discharging an adhesive; a flow sensor 3 for detecting a flow rate of the adhesive; a control portion 7 capable of determining whether adjustments need to be made to the apparatus according to the measured flow rate (Fig. 1 below; C2, L65 – C3, L50).
Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969).
A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Here, the apparatus of Kiernan contains all of the structural limitations of claim 1.
As to claim 2, the apparatus of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Kiernan discloses that the apparatus has a storage portion 1 in the form of a reservoir, with a pipe 2 connecting said storage portion to the flow sensor (Id.).
As to claim 3, the apparatus of claim 2 is taught as seen above. Kiernan discloses that the flow sensor 3 is fixed to the outer surface of the pipe 2 (Fig. 1).
As to claim 8, the apparatus of claim 1 is taught as seen above. The controller of Kiernan is capable of making determinations according to the flow rate read by the flow sensor that it is connected to.
As to claim 9, the apparatus of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Kiernan disclose that the injection portion is adjusted by the controller according to a flow rate of the adhesive measured by the flow sensor (C3, L65 – C4, L48).
As to claims 11 and 12, the apparatus of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Claims 11 and 12 are rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above since they are drawn to materials worked upon and method limitations and do not recite new structural limitations of the apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiernan et al. (US 5263608) in view of Tsukigi et al. (US 20190285450).
As to claims 4 and 5, the apparatus of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Kiernan discloses that the flow sensor may comprise of a thermal sensor but fails to teach or disclose that the sensor comprises of separate transceivers capable of sending ultrasonic waves to one another according to set inclination angles so as to detect the flow rate of the fluid in the pipe. Tsukigi discloses a clamp-on type ultrasonic flow sensor (Abstract). Tsukigi discloses that the sensor comprises of a first and second transceiver disposed at respective inclination set angles that can send ultrasonic waves towards each other (Fig. 3 below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the ultrasonic flow sensor of Tsukigi in the apparatus taught by Kiernan because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution to achieve the predictable result of providing a known successful and conventional means of non-invasively measuring the fluid flow rate of a material in a pipe. “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claims 6 and 7, the apparatus of claim 5 is taught as seen above. Tsukigi discloses that the sensor calculates the flow rate based on a difference between reception times of the receivers and the cross-sectional area of the pipe (¶12, 58-61).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiernan et al. (US 5263608) in view of Rzonca et al. (US 20120259448).
As to claim 10, the apparatus of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Kiernan fails to specifically teach or disclose whether the apparatus may have an output portion comprising a display alarm for when the apparatus runs outside of desired operation parameters. Rzonca discloses an apparatus for regulating adhesive application (Abstract). Rzonca discloses that it is known and conventional in the art to include display alarms and alerts with a controller that monitors the flow rate of adhesive so that the operator may be alerted to noncompliant events such as the flow rate of adhesive being too slow (¶24-25). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include display alarms and would have been motivated to do so because Rzonca teaches that such alarms can be used to alert operators of noncompliant events such as the flow rate being too slow.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER C CAILLOUET/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745