DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7-15, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0062539 A1 (Chang).
Chang discloses, referring primarily to figure 2, a laser light source (100a), comprising: a laser assembly (10), a housing (20a, 60) on which the laser assembly is arranged, and a light combination mirror assembly (40), wherein the laser assembly at least comprises a laser (12, 13, 14) and a circuit board (11) which is electrically connected to the laser, a light emitting surface of the laser, on which light emitting chips (12, 13, 14) are provided, is arranged in parallel with the circuit board; the light emitting surface of the laser has a plurality of light emitting regions, and beams emitted from different ones of the plurality of light emitting regions are in different colors ([0010]); and the light combination mirror assembly comprises a plurality of mirrors (411) with different mirrors corresponding to different light emitting regions; the plurality of mirrors are arranged to be inclined relative to the light emitting surface of the laser, and at least one of the plurality of mirrors allows beams in colors corresponding to other light emitting regions to pass through ([0013]), wherein the plurality of light emitting regions comprise three light emitting regions that are, respectively, a green light (13) emitting region for emitting a green beam, a blue light (14) emitting region for emitting a blue beam, and a red light (emitting region for emitting a red beam; an area of the red beam emitted by the red light emitting region is larger than an area of the blue beam emitted by the blue light emitting region and an area of the green beam emitted by the green light emitting region (by at least the area between the far left reflecting surface 411 and the middle reflecting surface 411 as depicted in figure 2; [0017]-[0018]) [claim 1], wherein the laser assembly is fixed to the housing through a fixed connection between the circuit board and the housing, and the light emitting surface of the laser faces an inner side (211) of the housing [claim 4], wherein the plurality of mirrors comprises a green mirror, a blue mirror and a red mirror corresponding to the green beam, the blue beam and the red beam, respectively; and surfaces of the green mirror, the blue mirror and the red mirror, that face toward the light emitting surface of the laser, are inclined relative to the light emitting surface of the laser (figure 2; [0017]-[0018]) [claim 8], wherein the housing has a receiving cavity (215 and space adjacent 212; figure 2), the laser and the light combination mirror assembly are at least partially accommodated in the receiving cavity, and the receiving cavity has an opening facing a light emitting direction of the laser light source [claim 9], wherein the plurality of mirrors are arranged in order at intervals along a direction (figure 2) [claim 10], wherein the plurality of light emitting regions of the light emitting surface of the laser are adjacently arranged in one plane (figure 2) [claim 11], wherein the plurality of mirrors comprise at least one reflection mirror and at least one light combination mirror, each light combination mirror is used to reflect a beam emitted by a corresponding light emitting region while allowing beams corresponding to other light emitting regions to pass through, and each reflection mirror is used to reflect a beam emitted by a corresponding light emitting region ([0017]-[0018]) [claim 12], wherein beams respectively in at least two colors are reflected by a corresponding light combination mirror ([0017]-[0018]) [claim 13], wherein the plurality of mirrors are light combination mirrors, and each light combination mirror is used to reflect a beam of a corresponding color, while allowing beams of other colors to pass through without blocking reflection optical paths of the beams of other colors ([0017]-[0018]) [claim 14], wherein an angle is formed between each of the mirrors of the light combination mirror +assembly and a light emitting direction of a corresponding light emitting region; and inclination angles of all the mirrors with respect to the first direction are the same ([0013], [0018]) [claim 15].
Additionally, Chang discloses a laser projection device, comprising: the laser light source according to claim 1 (as described above), a lens (213), a light guide (41) and a light valve (42); wherein the laser light source is configured to emit laser light to form a light source optical path; the laser light emitted from the laser light source passes through the lens (213), where the laser light is condensed, and then propagates along the light source optical path to the light guide; the light guide (41) is configured to apply homogenization to the laser light; the light valve (42) is configured to receive the laser light emitted out of the light guide, and project the laser light onto a lens assembly system (50) [claim 17], further comprising: a diffusion sheet (30) arranged between the lens and the light guide, wherein the laser light that has been diffused by the diffusion sheet irradiates to the light guide [claim 18].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of US 2015/0270682 A1 (Daniels).
Chang discloses the claimed invention as described above with respect to claim 1, except Chang does not specifically state that the laser is soldered to the circuit board [claim 2]. However, it is well known in the art to attach a laser light source to a circuit board with solder as evidenced by Daniels ([0032]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to use solder to attach the laser light sources to the circuit board as is known in the art and evidenced by Daniels. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a reliable electromechanical connection.
Additionally, the modified invention of Daniels teaches that laser further comprises a conductive part, the laser is soldered to the circuit board through the conductive part [claim 3].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 16, 19, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 5 states the limitation “wherein a sealing element is provided at a fitting joint between the laser and the housing, and is used to be interference-fitted between the laser and the housing.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art. Claim 6 states the limitation “wherein the laser further comprises a compound-eye lens, which is arranged on the light emitting surface of the light emitting chip.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art. Claim 16 states the limitation “wherein the circuit board is arranged outside the laser, and has a first surface and a second surface which are oppositely arranged; and the laser has a substrate on which the light emitting chips emitting beams in different colors are arranged, and the circuit board has a receiving region for receiving the laser, a light emitting direction of the laser is along an axial direction of the receiving region, the light emitting surface of the laser is arranged in parallel with the first surface of the circuit board, and the circuit board is parallel to and electrically connected with the substrate.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art. Claim 19 states the limitation “wherein the diffusion sheet comprises a rotating diffusion wheel.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art. Claim 20 states the limitation “wherein the light valve comprises a digital micromirror device (DMD).” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art. Claim 21 states the limitation “wherein the circuit board is arranged outside the laser, and has a first surface and a second surface which are oppositely arranged; and the laser has a substrate on which the light emitting chips emitting beams in different colors are arranged, and the circuit board has a receiving region for receiving the laser, a light emitting direction of the laser is along an axial direction of the receiving region, the light emitting surface of the laser is arranged in parallel with the first surface of the circuit board, and the circuit board is parallel to and electrically connected with the substrate.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 102 Rejections, Applicant alleges, “Chang only discloses a green light source 13 for emitting green light rays, a blue light source 14 for emitting blue light rays, and a red light source 12 for emitting red light rays. However, Chang does not further mention anything regarding a relationship among an area of the red light rays emitted by the red light source, an area of the blue light rays emitted by the blue light source and an area of the green light rays emitted by the green light source. In fact, as can be seen from FIG. I of Chang, it appears that the area of the red light rays emitted by the red light source, the area of the blue light rays emitted by the blue light source, and the area of the green light rays emitted by the green light source are the same.” However, to come to such a conclusion regarding figure 1 in Chang (and similarly figure 2 of Chang relied upon in the instant rejection) one would have to ignore the disclosure of Chang that the reflecting surfaces (411) are spaced apart, parallel from one another and additionally, that the red light emitter (12) is situated further from the diverging lens (42) ([0013]-[0017]). Thus the red light beam must travel across a greater area to reach the diverging lens (42) than both the green light beam (from emitter 13) and the blue light beam (from emitter 14). Hence, Applicant’s traversal of the instant rejection on these grounds is deemed unsuccessful. Regarding the 103 rejections, Applicant alleges, “Daniels does not mention anything about a red light emitting region, a blue light emitting region and a green light emitting region as well as the corresponding beams respectively emitted by these light emitting regions and thus does not disclose a relationship among areas of these beams. Therefore, Daniels fails to disclose the above feature of amended claim 1 and thus fails to cure the deficiencies of Chang.” However, as noted above, there is no deficiency in Chang regarding these features as they are clearly disclosed. Daniels is provided only to address other limitations in the claims and the Examiner notes that Applicant has provided no further arguments in regards to said other limitations. Therefore, Applicant’s traversal on these grounds is deemed unsuccessful.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JEREMY C. NORRIS
Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/JEREMY C NORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847