DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 06/19/2024 and 03/17/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (CN 219041650).
Pertaining to claim 1, Chen discloses A power supply device (Abstract, see fig. 1), comprising: a main circuit board (2, see fig. 6); a power output panel (copper strips 15, see fig. 3) arranged on the main circuit board (2); and a power supply unit (transformer 11 + PCB board 1, see fig. 2) arranged on the main circuit board and configured to provide an output power source, wherein the power supply unit comprises: an output connection electrode (see “X” in the reproduction of Fig. 4 below) electrically connected to the power output panel (15) and configured to transmit the output power source from the power supply unit (see paragraph [0020]) to at least one connector of the power output panel (copper strips 15, see fig. 3).
Pertaining to claim 8, Chen discloses wherein the power output panel (copper strips 15, see fig. 3) is vertically disposed on the main circuit board (2), and the output connection electrode extends to the power output panel in a first direction (see “X” in the reproduction of Fig. 4 above).
Pertaining to claim 9, Chen discloses A power supply unit (Abstract, see fig. 1) configured to provide an output power source to a power output panel (copper strips 15, see fig. 3), the power supply unit (transformer 11 + PCB board 1, see fig. 2) comprising: a transformer (11); and an output connection electrode electrically connected (see “X” in the reproduction of Fig. 4 below) between the transformer and the power output panel (15) and configured to transmit the output power source to at least one connector of the power output panel (copper strips 15, see fig. 3).
Pertaining to claim 16, Chen discloses, wherein the output connection electrode (see “X” in the reproduction of Fig. 4 above) extends to the power output panel (15) in a first direction (see fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 219041650) in view of Liu (CN 214101195 U).
Pertaining to claims 2 and 10, Chen discloses wherein the power supply unit (transformer 11 + PCB board 1, see fig. 2) further comprises: a transformer comprising a secondary winding (see paragraph [0020], line 15), wherein a first terminal of the secondary winding is electrically connected to a first terminal of the output connection electrode (see paragraph [0029]).
But, Chen doesn’t explicitly teach wherein a second terminal of the output connection electrode is electrically connected to a power pin of the at least one connector.
However, Liu teaches wherein a second terminal (12, see fig. 4) of the output connection electrode is electrically connected to a power pin of the at least one connector (see paragraph [0038]).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a second terminal of the output connection electrode is electrically connected to a power pin of the at least one connector in the device of Chen based on the teachings of Liu in order to focused on electrical efficiency, structural stability, and simplified assembly.
Claims 3-7 and 11-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 219041650) in view of Liu (CN 214101195 U) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Teng et al. (US 8724337 B2).
Pertaining to claims 3 and 11, Chen discloses wherein the power supply unit (transformer 11 + PCB board 1, see fig. 2) further comprises: a rectifier element, wherein a second terminal (12 of Liu) of the secondary winding is connected to a ground pin of the at least one connector through the rectifier element (see paragraph [0038 of Liu])
But Chen and Liu do not teach a ground electrode of the main circuit board; and an output capacitor electrically connected between the output connection electrode and the ground electrode of the main circuit board.
However, Teng et al. teaches a ground electrode of the main circuit board; and an output capacitor electrically connected between the output connection electrode and the ground electrode of the main circuit board, (see column 4, lines 53-60).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a ground electrode of the main circuit board; and an output capacitor electrically connected between the output connection electrode and the ground electrode of the main circuit board in the device of Chen based on the teachings of Teng et al. in order provides voltage stabilization, noise suppression (EMI filtering), and safety.
Pertaining to claims 4 and 12, Chen as modified by Liu and Teng further discloses wherein the power supply unit (transformer 11 + PCB board 1 of Chen) further comprises a first circuit board (1 of Chen), the first circuit board is arranged on the main circuit board (2 of Chen), and the rectifier element and the output capacitor (323 of Teng et al. ) are arranged on the first circuit board (1 of Chen).
Pertaining to claims 5 and 13, Chen as modified by Liu and Teng further discloses, wherein the power supply unit further comprises a first circuit board and a second circuit board, the first circuit board and the second circuit board (1, multi-layer printed circuit board, PCB, board, see fig. 2-3 of Chen) are arranged on the main circuit board (2), the rectifier element (bidirectional AC/DC power supply topology, see fig. 1) is arranged on the first circuit board (1), and the output capacitor (323 of Teng et al.) is arranged on the second circuit board ) multi-layer printed circuit board of Chen).
Pertaining to claims 6 and 14, Chen as modified by Liu and Teng further discloses wherein the output connection electrode (see column 4, lines 53-60 of Liu) comprises: a first branch structure extending in a first direction and electrically connected between the transformer and the power output panel ((copper strips 15, see fig. 3 and see column 6, lines 6-17 of Teng); and a second branch structure extending from the first branch structure in a second direction (see column 3, lines 55-67of Teng) and covering a portion of the rectifier element (bidirectional AC/DC power supply topology, see fig. 1).
Pertaining to claims 7 and 15, Chen as modified by Liu and Teng further discloses wherein the output connection electrode comprises: a support portion fixed onto a housing of the transformer (see fig. 2 showing the feature “support portion” of Liu).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park (US 2017/0094782 A1) and Tsao et al. (US 2020/0020603 A1).
/ANDARGIE M AYCHILLHUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848