DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-11, 23-31, and 33-36), and Species I, Figure 3 in the reply filed on 9/3/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 32, and 37 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/3/26.
Further, claims 7 (directed to Species II, FIG. 4), and 27-31, 33-36, and 11 (directed towards Species III, FIG. 5) are further withdrawn since these claims include limitations (i.e. “a polycrystalline silicon local region in contact with a top surface of the gate metal layer …” and “and a second conductive armature capacitor contact formed by a second polycrystalline silicon layer extending through the dielectric interface layer to the gate metal layer.”, and “”between said surface at the front face and said layer of the material with the high dielectric contact, at least one gate dielectric layer.”) directed towards Species II, and III respectively. However, the applicant is reminded that any claims that include all the limitations of an allowable claim are subject to rejoinder, and may be subsequently allowed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "SGO" and "HTO1" have both been used to designate dielectric interface layer. See, for example, lines 10, and 23 of page 10 of the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “HTO1” has been used to designate both dielectric interface layer and dielectric interface region. See, for example, line 2 of page 11, and lines, 8, and 9 of page 12 of the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the a first conductive armature including a gate metal layer located over a layer of a material with a high dielectric constant forming a dielectric interface region over the first conductive armature (claim 1), MOS transistor (claims 8, and 25), high-voltage MOS transistor (claims 9, and 26), and a gate dielectric layer (claim 11) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim1 thru 6, and 8 thru 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In lines 2-3 of claim 1, the applicant states “a first conductive armature including a gate
metal layer located over a layer of a material with a high dielectric constant forming a dielectric interface region over the first conductive armature;”; however, it is unclear (see, for example, FIG. 3) how a gate metal layer TIN located over a layer of a material with a high dielectric constant HK forming a dielectric interface region is over the first conductive armature which includes structures E1, PE, TIN. The dielectric interface region (i.e. the interface between the gate metal layer TIN, and material with a high dielectric constant HK) is not over any of these structures E1, PE, TIN that may include the conductive armature. Appropriate clarification and/or correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In view of the 112 rejection above, claim(s) 1 thru 6, and 8 thru 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xia et al. US 2011/0031585 A1. Xia discloses (see, for example, FIG. 2G) an integrated circuit 282, comprising: a region 202 having a front face; and at least one capacitive element 204 including, over a surface at the front face, a stack of: a first conductive armature including a gate metal layer 222 located over a layer of a material 220 with a high dielectric constant forming a dielectric interface region 247 over the first conductive armature; and a second conductive armature 248/249/261/268/283 over the dielectric interface region 247.
Regarding claim 2, see, for example, paragraph [0021] and [0023] wherein Xia discloses
the gate metal layer includes a titanium nitride composition.
Regarding claim 3, see, for example, paragraph [0020] wherein Xia discloses the layer of
the material with the high dielectric constant includes one of: a hafnium or zirconium oxide composition or a silicide composition.
Regarding claim 4, see, for example, paragraph [0027] wherein Xia discloses the second
conductive armature includes a polycrystalline silicon composition 249.
Regarding claim 5, and 6, see the 112 rejection above.
Regarding claim 8, see, for example, FIG. 2G wherein Xia discloses at least one MOS transistor, wherein the at least one MOS transistor 208 includes a gate region 243 comprising a stack 243 which has a formation identical to said second conductive armature over a formation of layers 242 identical to said first conductive armature.
Regarding claim 9, see, for example, FIG. 2G wherein Xia discloses at least one high-voltage MOS transistor, wherein the at least one high-voltage MOS transistor includes a gate dielectric region 253 comprising a formation identical to said dielectric interface region 247 over the surface at the front face.
Regarding claim 10, see, for example, FIG. 2G wherein Xia discloses said region comprises one of: a shallow isolation trench region STI.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23 thru 26 are allowed. The references of record, either singularly or in combination, do not teach or suggest at least an integrated circuit, comprising: wherein the stack of layers comprises a first polycrystalline silicon layer encapsulating top and side surfaces of the gate metal layer and side surfaces of the layer of the material with the high dielectric constant; a dielectric interface layer over the first polycrystalline silicon layer; and a second polycrystalline silicon layer over the dielectric interface layer; a first conductive armature capacitor contact extending through the dielectric interface layer to the first polycrystalline silicon layer; and a second conductive armature capacitor contact to the second polycrystalline silicon layer.
INFORMATION ON HOW TO CONTACT THE USPTO
Eugene Lee
October 24, 2026
/EUGENE LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815