DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is indefinite because method used to measure the Tg is not specified (Guidelines F-IV, 4.11 ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6 and 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Sista et al. (US 2020/0115544).
Regarding claims 1-6, 9, 10, 12 and 13, Sista discloses discloses a composition comprising a compound having a structure represented by formulas (55), (56), (58), or (59) (pages 14-15 in combination with formula (11) - page 7) falling under the scope of formulas (I) and (II) of the present application, an aminotriazine novolac skeleton type phenol compound, and an imidazole compound ([0191 ]-[0192], Tables 2,4).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 9, 10 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Osaka Gas Chemical (JP 2020158623 A).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9, 10 and 12-15, Osaka Gas Chemical discloses a composition comprising 9,9-bis(4-glycidyloxyphenyl)fluorene, falling under the scope of formula (I) of the present application (claim 2, [0011 ]), a phenol novolac resin, and a triphenylphosphine ([0087]-[0091], Table 1 ).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Sumitomo Bakelite Co. (JP 202117880 A).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 9 and 10, Sumitomo Bakelite Co. discloses a composition comprising an epoxy compound having a structure, falling under the scope of formula (II) of the present application [0111], a triphenylmethane type phenol resin, and a triphenylphosphine ([0110]-[0131], Table 1 ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 8, 11 and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sista et al. (US 2020/0115544) alone.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, although Sista discloses the monomer compound according to claim 6, and the composition is a liquid, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a monomer compound according to claim 7 and the composition as a powder since the Applicant’s specification indicates that either configurations are acceptable – therefore neither one can be considered a critical element to the invention.
Regarding claims 8 and 11, although Sista is silent as to the specific crosslinker-resin ratio, catalyst amount and pigment percentage, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to utilize such well-known procedural variations and subsequently optimizing them to reach the claimed values for the desired specific application. Subsequently, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claims 15-19, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the cured coating depending on the desired features and/or applications of the coating.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or suggest – either alone or in combination – the instant composition applied to the claimed specific uses and applications defined in claim 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (KR 20210131560 A) and (KR 20190112394 A) disclose epoxy compositions comprising a binder resin including a difunctional monomer similar to that of the claimed invention.
KYLE ARMSTRONG, P.E.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3678
/KYLE ARMSTRONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619