DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LAHTI et al. (US 2020/0305637) in view of JANSSEN et al. (EP 2,520,429 B1; citations to translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, LAHTI teaches a method of packaging a product comprising positioning a product 70 on a support 50, positioning a sheet 60 comprising polymer and fiber above the product 70, heating to thermoform the sheet, and extracting air between the support and the sheet to shape the sheet on the product adhere the sheet to the support at a periphery around the product (paras. 31, 34, and 46; figs. 4-6). LAHTI does not teach that the polymer and fiber sheet is a multi-layer sheet. JANSSEN teaches an alternative polymer and fiber film for packaging products, wherein the sheet is a multi-layer sheet comprising a paper (fiber) layer and a thermoplastic polymer layer (para. 1). It would have been obvious to utilize a multilayer sheet of JANSSEN in place of the sheet of LAHTI in order to increase the recyclability of the sheet (JANSSEN; para. 5). JANSSEN teaches a thermoformable polymer thickness of less than or equal to 50 microns and teaches a paper weight between 20 and 350 g/m^2 (paras. 11 and 27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize polymer layer thicknesses and paper weights within the claimed ranges because the claimed ranges overlap those disclosed by the prior art (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 2, in the step of heating the sheet of LAHTI, heating inherently occurs in both layers.
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to perform separate heating steps because duplicating process steps and rearranging steps has been held per se obvious (MPEP 2144.04), and there would have been a reasonable expectation of producing the same product (MPEP 2141; KSR).
Regarding claim 4, JANSSEN teaches printing on the paper sheet (JENSSEN; para. 18).
Regarding claims 5-6, JANSSEN does not teach producing the sheets by printing in line or cutting individual sheets from a continuous sheet, but it would have been obvious to print in line and cut separate sheets from a continuous sheet as a well known means of continuously producing sheet materials.
Regarding claims 7-8, JANSSEN teaches providing the paper and polymer layers separately and coupling the two with an adhesive interposed therebetween (para. 33).
Regarding claim 9, JANSSEN teaches forming plural empty windows in the paper layer so portions of the multilayer sheet comprise only the thermoplastic layer (JENSSEN; para. 33).
Regarding claim 24, LAHTI teaches the support comprises a paper layer with a basis weight of 80-200 g/m^2 (para. 35-36) and a thermoformable polymeric material having a thickness between 25 and 500 microns (para. 44), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize polymer layer thicknesses and paper weights within the claimed ranges because the claimed ranges overlap those disclosed by the prior art (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 25, LAHTI teaches thermoforming the support (para. 61).
Regarding claim 26, JANSSEN teaches utilizing polyesters as the thermoplastic layer (JENSSEN; para. 23), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that a polyester sheet would comprise above 99% polyester and less than 1% additional materials.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that LATHI does not teach utilizing a cellulose material In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). JANSSEN is utilized as disclosing cellulose material in the present rejection.
Applicant argues that JANSSEN does not teach vacuum packaging and shaping. Applicant argues that In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). LATHI is utilized as a teaching of the method of vacuum packaging and shaping in the present rejection.
Applicant argues that JANSSEN does not provide a reason to utilize the material of JANSEN as that of LATHI. It would have been obvious to utilize a multilayer sheet of JANSSEN in place of the sheet of LAHTI in order to increase the recyclability of the sheet (JANSSEN; para. 5).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICKOLAS R HARM/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745