DETAILED ACTION
This is in reference to communication received 19 January 2026. Claims 1 – 20 are pending for examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Independent claim 11, representative of claim 1, in part is directed toward a statutory category of invention, the claim appears to be directed toward a judicial exception namely an abstract idea. Claim 1 recites invention directed to
Obtaining collected historical data, subset of unlabeled data are identified using sampling strategies and providing them to an oracle (e.g., a human). Subsequently to providing the data to the oracle, a set of labeled data is received from the oracle as their response and utilized to adjust the parameters for subsequent data processing for identifying future predictions. These limitations describe as marketing/sales/advertising activities. Accessing collected data (such as from a file in a filing cabinet), limiting identifying of clients who present an opportunity of making an offer when their subscription is eligible for renewals within a renewal period as claimed would be part of marketing research. Identifying subscribers who are due for renewal within a threshold time of renewal would be the marketing team (or person) contacting them to retain them as subscribing clients.
In addition, using a supervised machine learning methodology to train a model with subset of data labeled by a human, and then using the trained model to label all of the unlabeled data. Not only do these features fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see below), but it can also reasonably be seen as the conventional application of well-known machine learning concepts to build and train a model to implement the abstract idea on a computer, and merely uses a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Represented claim 1, which do recite statutory categories (machine, product of manufacture, for example), the same analysis as above applies to these claims since the method steps are the same. However, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. These claims add the generic computer components (additional elements) of a system comprising one or more hardware processors and a memory (claim 1), and a transitory memory comprising instructions that when executed by a processor of a machine cause the machine to perform the method addressed above (claim 1).
As for dependent claims 2 – 9 and 12 - 19, these claims recite limitations that further define the same abstract idea of using different weighting algorithms for determination of preferences, defining what information will be predicted using the model, defining criteria for rate-eligibility, defining which users will be eligible for discounted-rate, defining filtering criteria for filtering client who should not be considered to offer discounted-rate, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of organizing certain methods of human activity related to advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors but for the recitation of generic computer components. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6 and 11 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duesterwald US Publication 2022/0180230 and Underfitted YouTube video “Active Learning – The Secret of Training Models Without Labels” hereinafter referred to as “Underfitted”.
Regarding claim 1 and representative claim 11, Duesterwald teaches machine learning based techniques for decision making tasks such as data labeling using a hybrid approach where cooperation between an artificial intelligence (AI) assessor and a human labeler controls automation of the process comprising:
a communication interface [Duesterwald, 0086];
a memory storing instructions [Duesterwald, 0086, claim 18];
one or more processors coupled to the communications interface and to the memory, the one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to perform operations to train a prediction model using active learning [Duesterwald, 0084] comprising:
obtaining, from a database, a set of unlabeled data comprising a set of first data entries for a plurality of clients relating to eligibility for discounted rates (Duesterwald, Namely, in step 604, the AI label predictor selects a batch of unlabeled data items and presents the selected unlabeled data items to the human labeler.) [Duesterwald, 0069];
applying a selection model to the set of unlabeled data to obtain a subset of unlabeled data (Duesterwald, Namely, in step 604, the AI label predictor selects a batch of unlabeled data items and presents the selected unlabeled data items to the human labeler.) [Duesterwald, 0069];
Duesterwald dpes not explicitly teach plurality of sampling strategies. However, Underfitted teaches several classic exploration algorithms that work out pretty well in the multi-armed bandit problem or simple tabular RL to find the best solution as fast as possible [Underfitted, page 1].
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gong in view of Duesterwald by adopting teachings of Underfitted to find the best solution as fast as possible [Underfitted, page 1].
Duesterwald in view of Underfitted teaches system further comprising:
applying a selection model to the set of unlabeled data to obtain a subset of unlabeled data (Duesterwald, Namely, in step 604, the AI label predictor selects a batch of unlabeled data items and presents the selected unlabeled data items to the human labeler.) [Duesterwald, 0069], the selection model being configured to obtain the subset of unlabeled data based on a plurality of sampling strategies, the plurality of sampling strategies being applied to the set of unlabeled data according to a plurality of dynamic weightings corresponding to the plurality of sampling strategies (as responded to above) [Underfitted, page];
sending, to the communication interface, the subset of unlabeled data for investigation by the oracle (Duesterwald, the AI assistant selects a batch of the (unprocessed) input data items and presents the data items to the human decision maker) [Duesterwald, 0036, 0038];
receiving, from the communication interface, a set of labeled data comprising second data entries corresponding to the subset of unlabeled data, each of the second data entries comprising a label: from the oracle for a corresponding first data entry from the subset of unlabeled data (Duesterwald, In step 206, (true) human decisions for the data items presented to the human decision maker are obtained from the human decision maker. These human decisions for the data items are then used by the AI assistant in making further decision predictions, and so on) [Duesterwald, 0040]; and
applying, in a training phase of the machine learning model, the set of labeled data to the machine learning model to adjust parameters of the machine learning model (Duesterwald, Based on the presented analysis from the AI assessor (which is provided at the end of each active learning loop iteration), if it is decided in step 208 that NO automation readiness has not yet been achieved, then delegation to the AI assistant is declined and training is continued with manual decision in the next iteration of the active learning refinement loop.) [Duesterwald, 0044].
Regarding claim 2 and representative claim 12, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Gong in view of Duesterwald and Underfitted teaches system and method, wherein the selection model comprises an exploration weighting, wherein the plurality of dynamic weightings includes an exploration weighting, the exploration weighting biasing the selection model to selecting unlabeled data that the machine learning model is not trained for (Underfitted, teaches several classic exploration algorithms that work out pretty well in the multi-armed bandit problem or simple tabular RL to find the best solution as fast as possible) [Underfitted, page 1].
Regarding claim 3 and representative claim 13, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Gong in view of Duesterwald and Underfitted teaches system and method, wherein the plurality of dynamic weightings includes a challenger weighting, the challenger weighting biasing the selection model to randomly selecting unlabeled data (Underfitted, We started with a rough model, used it to predict the entire data set, grabbed the samples with lower confidence, labeled them, and now we can use these new labels to retrain a new version of our model.) [Underfitted, page 12].
Regarding claim 4 and representative claim 14, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Gong in view of Duesterwald and Underfitted teaches system and method, wherein the plurality of dynamic weightings includes an exploitation weighting, the exploitation weighting biasing the selection model to selecting unlabeled data based on exploitation sampling (Underfitted, Exploitation and Exploration strategies are used in Deep Reinforcement Learning) [Underfitted, page 1].
Regarding claim 5 and representative claim 15, Duesterwald and Underfitted teaches system and method, wherein the operations further comprise applying the prediction model to the set of unlabeled data to a set of predictions, wherein the set of predictions comprises a prediction of discounted rate eligibility for each of the plurality of clients (Duesterwald, On the other hand, if it is decided in step 208 that YES automation readiness has been achieved, then the decision making capabilities are fully delegated to the AI assistant and in step 210 the AI assistant performs the decision making on the remainder of the data tasks without receiving verification (agreed/not agreed) from the human decision maker.) [Duesterwald, 44].
Regarding claim 6 and representative claim 16, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Gong in view of Duesterwald and Underfitted teaches system and method, wherein the operations further comprise providing a reward score of the machine learning model, the reward score being based on the set of predictions (Underfitted teaches providing score) [Underfitted, page 20], wherein the reward score is a number of clients in the plurality of clients that require a re-rate based on an associated discounted rate eligibility (Underfitted, Count-based Exploration) [Underfitted, page 3, 4].
Claims 7 – 10 and 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duesterwald US Publication 2022/0180230 and Underfitted YouTube video “Active Learning – The Secret of Training Models Without Labels” hereinafter referred to as “Underfitted” and Singh US Publication 2020/0320565
Regarding claim 7 and representative claim 17, Duesterwald and Underfitted does not teach using unlabeled data for renewals within a renewal period. However, Singh teaches system and method to determine a data reward to provide to a mobile device customer in response to the occurrence of the event associated with the renewal of a current prepaid service plan.
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Duesterwald and Underfitted by adopting teachings of Singh put in use their machine-learning algorithm in services industries to help them identify customer who are up for renewal before their subscription expires.
as combined and under the same rationale as above, Duesterwald and Underfitted and Singh teaches system and method, wherein the set of unlabeled data is for renewals within a renewal period (Singh teaches system and method to determine a data reward to provide to a mobile device customer in response to the occurrence of the event associated with the renewal of a current prepaid service plan) [Singh, 0014].
Regarding claim 8 and representative claim 18, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Duesterwald and Underfitted and Singh teaches system and method, wherein the set of unlabeled data includes data relating to clients and the method further comprises removing first data entries in the set of unlabeled data for clients over a threshold age (Singh, In order to identify customers eligible or otherwise targeted for renewal rewards, the customer incentive system 150 may access and/or receive information from the customer data system 140 and/or the database 160, such as information that identifies the customer, information that identifies the customer's activities within the network 120, information that tracks historical preferences or attributes assigned to the customer, information that groups the customer into various groups or cohorts of customers of the carrier, and so on. …. Reward determination module 220 may follow certain parameters or instructions when determining customer eligibility for rewards.) [Singh, 0025, 0035].
Regarding claim 9 and representative claim 19, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Duesterwald and Underfitted and Singh teaches system and method, wherein the set of unlabeled data includes data relating to clients and the method further comprises receiving an affinity list from the database and searching the first data entries for clients in the affinity list, wherein any first data entries for clients in the affinity list are removed from the set of unlabeled data (Singh, In order to identify customers eligible or otherwise targeted for renewal rewards, the customer incentive system 150 may access and/or receive information from the customer data system 140 and/or the database 160, such as information that identifies the customer, information that identifies the customer's activities within the network 120, information that tracks historical preferences or attributes assigned to the customer, information that groups the customer into various groups or cohorts of customers of the carrier, and so on.) [Singh, 0025].
Regarding claim 10 and representative claim 20, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Duesterwald and Underfitted and Singh teaches system and method, wherein the set of unlabeled data includes data relating to clients and the method further comprises receiving a member list from the database and searching the first data entries for clients in the member list, wherein any first data entries for clients in the member list are removed from the set of unlabeled data (Singh, In order to identify customers eligible or otherwise targeted for renewal rewards, the customer incentive system 150 may access and/or receive information from the customer data system 140 and/or the database 160, such as information that identifies the customer, information that identifies the customer's activities within the network 120, information that tracks historical preferences or attributes assigned to the customer, information that groups the customer into various groups or cohorts of customers of the carrier, and so on.) [Singh, 0025].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 January 2026 have been fully considered, however, applicant’s arguments are for amended claimed invention. While performing an updated search in view of amended claimed invention, a new prior art was found and cited in this office action. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are moot under new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NARESH VIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3622
February 11, 2026