DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma USPG Pub. No.: US 2015/0015288 in view of Stockford USPG Pub. No.: US 2001/0024119. Claims 15-16-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma USPG Pub. No.: US 2015/0015288 in view of Stockford USPG Pub. No.: US 2001/0024119 in further view of Mayder et al. USPG Pub. No: US 2008/0100291.
Regarding Claim 1, Ma teaches a device comprising:
a connector configured to electrically connect a measurement device on an annular ring on a first side of a Plated Through Hole (PTH) (see figures 1 and 3, in elements 30 and 32 are connectors that electrically connects with a plurality of electrically conductive connectors 28; paragraph [0018]: "The exterior surface metal used to form the contact pads 26-28 may be patterned to provide lands surrounding the plated through holes (e.g, 1) which are larger than the diameters of the holes");
a probe connected to the measurement device and configured to touch an interior wall of the PTH at a first location (see [0020]: "test probe device 201 having a conductive elastomer test probe tip 203 that is positioned for insertion into a back-drilled plated through hole via 106 formed in a printed circuit or wire board 101"; [0022]-[0024]; Fig. 3); and
a sensor, in the measurement device, to detect electrical measurements through the PTH from the connector to the probe (paragraph [0030]: "With this testing configuration, any component mounting defects on the printed circuit board assembly caused by the assembly process can be detected using current in-circuit testing methodologies”).
Ma is silent in disclosing a motor control and a motor to move the probe in the PTH. However, Stockford discloses a motor control and a motor to move the probe in the PTH (see Stockford figure 2 and [0018]-[0020], which describes the motor system of the probe device). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Ma such that the probe is motorized, as seen in Stockford, in order to have a testing system that “is automated, fast, accurate, and cost-effective” as manual testing techniques are “costly, time-consuming, and error-prone given the complexity of modern circuitry” (as discussed in Stockford [0005]).
Regarding Claims 7, the device as recited in claim 1 is specific to this method and thus it must perform the method. The method is intrinsic to the apparatus because the recited method steps will be performed during normal operation of the apparatus. Therefore, Claim 7 is also rejected.
Regarding Claims 15, the device as recited in claim 1 is specific to this method and thus it must perform the method. The method is intrinsic to the apparatus because the recited method steps will be performed during normal operation of the apparatus. However, Claim 15, in addition to the limitations recited in claim 1 that are specific to this method, also include the limitations:
a method comprising: drilling a hole in a Printed Circuit Boar (PCB); depositing copper in the hole to form a Plated Through Hole (PTH) with an annular ring on a first side of the PTH.
Ma and Stockford are silent in explicitly teaching the above limitations, Mayder teaches:
drilling a hole in a PCB (see Mayder [0007]-[0008], in which holes are drilled into the PCB board, element 200 in figure 2);
depositing copper in the hole to form a Plated Through Hole (PTH) with an annular ring on a first side of the PTH (see Mayder Claim 1 and [0022], which describes the copper deposition process in the vias).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the teachings of Ma and Stockford with the teachings of Mayder because copper has excellent electrical conduction properties (as described in Mayder [0020]) and because drilling is used for precision purposes (as described in Mayder [0007]-[0008]).
Regarding Claim 2, Ma and Stockford teach the device of claim 1, wherein the measurement device is configured to detect a voltage drop through the PTH from the annular ring to the probe (see Ma [0030] which teaches reading a voltage drop through the PTH of the annular ring).
Regarding Claim 3, Ma and Stockford teach the device of claim 1, wherein the measurement device is configured to detect a current running from the annular ring to the probe given an applied voltage (see Ma [0030] which teaches a current detection through the PTH of the annular ring).
Regarding Claim 4, Ma and Stockford teach the device of claim 1, wherein the motor is configured to incrementally step the probe along the interior wall of the PTH (see Stockford figure 2, which shows a motor actuation system that is capable of incremental steps in three degrees of freedom).
Regarding Claim 5, Ma and Stockford teach the device of claim 1, wherein the first location of the probe is based on velocity and time measurements recorded during movement of the probe (see Stockford [0015]-[0021] discussing the positioning of the probe apparatus in three dimensions over time, and figure 2 which teaches a motorized apparatus in which the location of the probe is based on velocity and time measurements; note that the language “based on” is broad enough that any suggestion of recorded velocity and or time measurements due to a controller would meet the claim limitation).
Regarding Claim 6, Ma and Stockford teach the device of claim 1, wherein an anomalous reading at a position indicates an absence of a coating at the position (see Ma [0030], in which an absence of coating would be detected in such a circumstance as described).
Regarding Claim 8, Ma and Stockford teach the method of claim 7, further comprising: recording a position of the measurement based on velocity, direction, and travel time of the probe (see Stockford [0015]-[0021] discussing the positioning of the probe apparatus in three dimensions over time, and figure 2 which teaches a motorized apparatus in which the location of the probe is based on velocity and time measurements).
Regarding Claim 9, Ma and Stockford teach the method of claim 8 further comprising:
determining if the measurement is outside of an acceptable measurement parameter; and recording the position as an anomalous reading (see Stockford [0015]-[0021] and figure 2; note that the coating determination is a form of “outside acceptable measure” in the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding Claim 11, Ma and Stockford teach the method of claim 9 further comprising: determining, based on a resistance measurement above a threshold, that there is an absence of a coating at the position of the anomalous reading (see Ma [0030], in which an absence of coating would be detected in such a circumstance as described, qualifying as an anomalous reading).
Regarding Claim 12, Ma and Stockford teach the method of claim 7 further comprising: moving the probe to a new position along the interior wall of the PTH; and measuring the electrical properties of the PTH between the connector and the probe at the new position (see Stockford [0019] and figure 2).
Regarding Claim 13, Ma and Stockford teach the method of claim 12 further comprising: repeating the moving and measuring to record measurements at set points along the PTH (see Stockford [0019]).
Regarding Claim 14, Ma and Stockford teach the method of claim 7 further comprising: applying a voltage to the annular ring through the connector (see Ma [0030] which teaches applying a voltage drop through the PTH of the annular ring).
Regarding Claim 16, Ma, Stockford, and Mayder teach the method of claim 15, further comprising: recording a position of the measurement based on the velocity, direction, and travel time of the probe (see Stockford [0015]-[0021] discussing the positioning of the probe apparatus in three dimensions over time, and figure 2 which teaches a motorized apparatus in which the location of the probe is based on velocity and time measurements).
Regarding Claims 17 and 19, Ma and Stockford teach the method of claims 16 and 17, respectively, further comprising: determining if the measurement is outside of an acceptable measurement parameter; and recording the position as an anomalous reading (see Stockford [0015]-[0021] and figure 2; note that the coating determination is a form of “outside acceptable measure” in the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding Claim 20, Ma, Stockford, and Mayder teach the method of claim 15 further comprising: moving the probe to a new position along the interior surface of the PTH; and measuring the electrical properties of the PTH between a connector and the probe at the new position, wherein the connector is configured to electrically connect the measurement device on the annular ring (see Stockford figure 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
RE Claims 10 and 18, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest “based on a determination that the measurement is outside of the acceptable measurement parameter, a resistive value, wherein the calculating is based on a current reading at the probe with a known voltage being applied at the annular ring,” in combination with the other claim limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the rejection of Claims 1-9 and 11-14 under 35 USC § 103, Applicant argues: “Ma does not disclose a probe configured to touch an interior wall of the PTH (Plated Through Hole) at a first location, as required by claim 1. While Ma describes insertion of a probe into a via (see, e.g., Ma's cited portions of paragraphs [0020] and [0022]-[0024]), it does not teach or suggest the probe configured to touch an interior wall of the PTH.
Insertion of the probe into a via is structurally and functionally distinct from a probe being configured to touch the interior wall of the PTH. Therefore, Ma fails to disclose the claimed feature "a probe connected to the measurement device and configured to touch an interior wall of the PTH at a first location" of claim 1.
Further, the cited portions (i.e., paragraphs [0018]-[0020]) of Stockford describe motors for positioning a probe tip in a Printed Circuit Board (PCB), it does not disclose movement of a probe in the PTH. Therefore, Stockford fails to disclose the claimed feature "a motor control and a motor to move the probe in the PTH," as recited in claim 1.”
Contrary to Applicant’s arguments, Ma figure 3, implicates the probe 201 touching walls through the contact pads 102 and 103. Respectfully, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation “a probe connected to the measurement device and configured to touch an interior wall of the PTH at a first location”, the prior art meets the claim language. For these reasons, the aforementioned claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL A HARRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852