DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9 and 15 recite “relatively closer” and “relatively further”. Each recitation lacks a basis for comparison, therefore the metes and bounds of each are unknown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 4, 6, 13, 14, 17, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as anticipated by Le (US 2023/0215695).
Regarding claim 1, Le teaches a plasma generation circuit comprising:
a high frequency power source (412 fig. 4) configured to generate a first high frequency current;
a current divider (418) comprising a first capacitor (Vc2) and a variable capacitor (Vc3) and configured to divide the first high frequency current into a second high frequency current and a third high frequency current (inner/outer, fig. 4);
an antenna assembly (Fig. 3) comprising a center antenna (inner coil) connected to the current divider and through which the second high frequency current is configured to flow, and an edge antenna (outer coil) connected in to the current divider and through which the third high frequency current is configured to flow, the antenna assembly being configured to induce generation of an inductively coupled plasma (pg. 1, [0008-0017]);
a first coil coupled inductor (L3) configured to allow the second high frequency current to flow therethrough;
and a second coil coupled inductor (L4) configured to allow the third high frequency current to flow therethrough and adjacent to the first coil coupled inductor [0071-0072].
Regarding claim 2, Le teaches the center antenna and the edge antenna are provided to generate a first electromagnetic inductive coupling by mutual induction, the first coil coupled inductor (L3) and the second coil coupled inductor (L4) are provided to generate a second electromagnetic inductive coupling in a direction opposite to a direction of the first electromagnetic inductive coupling, and the first electromagnetic inductive coupling is canceled by the second electromagnetic inductive coupling [0072].
Regarding claim 3, Le teaches the first coil coupled inductor (L3) and the second coil coupled inductor (L4) are disposed between the current divider (418) and the antenna assembly (Fig. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 4, Le teach the first capacitor (C4) is disposed between the center antenna (inner) and the edge antenna (outer, Fig. 4), and a current ratio of the second high frequency current to the third high frequency current is adjusted by a capacitance of the variable capacitor ([0069]).
Regarding claim 6, Le teaches the center antenna (inner coil) and the edge antenna (outer coil) include coils that are turned in the same direction (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Le teaches a plasma generation circuit comprising: a gas supply portion configured to supply plasma gas to a chamber configured to define a space for plasma-processing a substrate (Fig. 1 and 3);
a high frequency power source (412 fig. 4) configured to generate a first high frequency current;
a current divider (418) comprising a first capacitor (C4) and a variable capacitor (Vc3) and configured to divide the first high frequency current into a second high frequency current and a third high frequency current (inner/outer, fig. 4, [0069]);
an antenna assembly (Fig. 3) comprising a center antenna (inner coil) connected to the current divider (418) and through which the second high frequency current is configured to flow, and an edge antenna (outer coil) connected in to the current divider and through which the third high frequency current is configured to flow, the antenna assembly being configured to induce generation of an inductively coupled plasma (pg. 1, [0008-0017]);
a first coil coupled inductor (L3) configured to allow the second high frequency current to flow therethrough;
and a second coil coupled inductor (L4) configured to allow the third high frequency current to flow therethrough and adjacent to the first coil coupled inductor [0071-0072].
and a coupled inductor (L3, L4) disposed between the current divider (418) and the antenna (432) assembly, wherein: the center antenna and the edge antenna are provided to generate a first electromagnetic inductive coupling by mutual induction, the coupled inductor is provided to generate a second electromagnetic inductive coupling in a direction opposite to a direction of the first electromagnetic inductive coupling, and the first electromagnetic inductive coupling is canceled by the second electromagnetic inductive coupling [0072],
wherein the chamber comprises: an upper housing; a lower housing disposed below the upper housing (Fig. 3);
a window (124, fig. 1, [0055]) disposed between the upper housing and the lower housing (Fig. 3);
and a chuck (334) configured to support the substrate (Sample).
Regarding claim 14, Le teaches the coupled inductor comprises:
a first coil coupled inductor (L3) configured to allow the second high frequency current to flow therethrough;
and a second coil coupled inductor (L4) configured to allow the third high frequency current to flow therethrough and adjacent to the first coil coupled inductor [0071-0072].
Regarding claim 17, Le teaches the center antenna and the edge antenna are disposed between the upper housing and the window (Fig. 3), the center antenna is disposed above a center of the window and is configured to induce generation of plasma at a center of the substrate (Fig. 3), the edge antenna is disposed above an edge of the window and is configured to induce generation of plasma at an edge of the substrate (Fig. 3), and the center antenna and the edge antenna include coils that are turned in the same direction (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 18, Le teach the first capacitor (C4) is disposed between the center antenna (inner) and the edge antenna (outer), and a current ratio of the second high frequency current to the third high frequency current is adjusted by a capacitance of the variable capacitor (VC3, [0069]).
Regarding claim 19, Le teaches the current divider (418) is further configured to control an etch rate at a center of the substrate and an edge of the substrate by adjusting a capacitance of the variable capacitor ([0069-0070], [0044-0046]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le as applied to claim 1 above in view of Galstyan (US 10,600,618).
Regarding claim 5, Le does not explicitly teach a second capacitor disposed between the center antenna (inner) and ground and connected in series with the center antenna; and a third capacitor disposed between the edge antenna and ground and connected in series with the edge antenna.
Galstyan teaches a second capacitor (435) disposed between the center antenna (inner, 413) and ground (Fig. 3) and connected in series with the center antenna (413); and a third capacitor (433) disposed between the edge antenna (outer) and ground and connected in series with the edge antenna (411, fig. 3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the capacitor of Le by providing a second capacitor disposed between the center antenna and ground and connected in series with the center antenna; and a third capacitor disposed between the edge antenna and ground and connected in series with the edge antenna, as taught by Galstyan, because it would allow adjustment of the resonance of a coil during an etching process to adjust a current ratio in a specific range, thereby providing a uniform etch rate over the entire region of a substrate (col. 13, ln. 5-8).
Claim 7, 8, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le (US 2023/0215695) in view of Jeifurii (JP H07-326494 see translation for citations)
Regarding claim 7, Le teaches a plasma generation circuit comprising:
a high frequency power source (412) configured to generate a first high frequency current (Fig. 4);
a current divider (418) comprising a first capacitor (C4) and a variable capacitor (VC3, FIG. 4) and configured to divide the first high frequency current into a second high frequency current and a third high frequency current ([0069];
an antenna assembly comprising a center antenna (INNER) connected to the current divider(418) and through which the second high frequency current is configured to flow, and an edge antenna (OUTER) connected to the current divider (418) and through which the third high frequency current is configured to flow, the antenna assembly being configured to induce generation of an inductively coupled plasma;
a first inductor (L3) configured to allow the second high frequency current to flow therethrough;
a second inductor (L4) configured to allow the third high frequency current to flow therethrough, and disposed to be apart from the first busbar coupled inductor in a horizontal direction;
Le does not teach a busbar coupled inductor. Nor does it teach a first busbar connection portion connected in series with the first busbar coupled inductor; and a second busbar connection portion connected in series with the second busbar coupled inductor.
Jiefurii is directed to a plasma source using a bus bar for connection of capacitors 6, 8 to the coil 18. Jiefurii teaches a first busbar connection portion (4) connected in series with the first busbar coupled capacitor (6); and a second busbar connection portion (204) connected in series with the second busbar coupled capacitor (8, fig. 1 and 3, pg. 5). Jeifurii teaches using busbars within a plasma apparatus are operable for connecting electrical components to facilitate processing a substrate with a plasma. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have used the busbar of Jeifurii as a means for connecting the inductors L3 and L4 of Le with a reasonable expectation of success. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143. A.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the first and second inductor of Le by providing a first busbar connection portion connected in series with the first busbar coupled inductor; and a second busbar connection portion connected in series with the second busbar coupled inductor, as taught by Jeifurii, because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143. A.
Regarding claim 8, Le teaches the center antenna and the edge antenna are provided to generate a first electromagnetic inductive coupling by mutual induction, the first inductor (L3) and the second inductor (L4) are provided to generate a second electromagnetic inductive coupling in a direction opposite to a direction of the first electromagnetic inductive coupling, and the first electromagnetic inductive coupling is canceled by the second electromagnetic inductive coupling [0072].
Regarding claim 10, Le teaches the first inductor (L3) and the second inductor (L4) are disposed between the current divider (418) and the antenna assembly (432).
Regarding claim 11, Le teach the first capacitor (C4) is disposed between the center antenna (inner) and the edge antenna (outer, Fig. 4), and a current ratio of the second high frequency current to the third high frequency current is adjusted by a capacitance of the variable capacitor (VC3, [0069]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Galstyan (US 10,600,618).
Regarding claim 12, Le does not explicitly teach a second capacitor disposed between the center antenna (inner) and ground and connected in series with the center antenna; and a third capacitor disposed between the edge antenna and ground and connected in series with the edge antenna.
Galstyan teaches a second capacitor (435) disposed between the center antenna (inner, 413) and ground (Fig. 3) and connected in series with the center antenna (413); and a third capacitor (433) disposed between the edge antenna (outer) and ground and connected in series with the edge antenna (411, fig. 3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the capacitor of Le by providing a second capacitor disposed between the center antenna and ground and connected in series with the center antenna; and a third capacitor disposed between the edge antenna and ground and connected in series with the edge antenna, as taught by Galstyan, because it would allow adjustment of the resonance of a coil during an etching process to adjust a current ratio in a specific range, thereby providing a uniform etch rate over the entire region of a substrate (col. 13, ln. 5-8).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le as applied to claim 13 above in view of Dorn (US 9,103,026).
Regarding claim 16, Le does not teach a first filter capacitor disposed between the center antenna and the coupled inductor and connected in series to the center antenna;
and a second filter capacitor disposed between the edge antenna and the coupled inductor and connected in series to the edge antenna.
Dorn teaches an RC filter circuit for provided for each coil used in a sputtering apparatus. It teaches a second capacitor (102) disposed between a coil and ground (Fig. 1) and connected in series with the coil (101).
Dorn teaches that it was well known in the plasma art to use a capacitor as a filter circuit for coils producing electromagnetic fields. Because Dorn teaches that filter capacitors are operable it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have used the filter capacitors of Dorn as filters circuits for each coil antenna of Le with a reasonable expectation of success. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art MPEP 2143. A.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the capacitor of Le by providing a first filter capacitor disposed between the center antenna and the coupled inductor and connected in series to the center antenna; and a second filter capacitor disposed between the edge antenna and the coupled inductor and connected in series to the edge antenna, as taught by Dorn, because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art MPEP 2143. A.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le as applied to claim 13 above in view of Galstyan (US 10,600,618).
Regarding claim 20, Le does not teach the gas supply portion comprises:
a gas source configured to supply gas to the chamber;
a gas valve connected to the gas source and configured to control an amount of the gas supplied to the chamber;
a gas supply line configured to provide a path through which the gas moves;
and a gas supply nozzle configured to supply the gas between the window and the substrate.
Galstyan teach the gas supply portion comprises:
a gas source (330) configured to supply gas to the chamber;
a gas valve (321) connected to the gas source and configured to control an amount of the gas supplied to the chamber;
a gas supply line (320) configured to provide a path through which the gas moves;
and a gas supply nozzle (310, col. 8, ln. 51) configured to supply the gas between the window and the substrate (col. 8, ln. 40-58).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the chamber of Le by providing the gas supply portion comprises: a gas source configured to supply gas to the chamber; a gas valve connected to the gas source and configured to control an amount of the gas supplied to the chamber; a gas supply line configured to provide a path through which the gas moves; and a gas supply nozzle configured to supply the gas between the window and the substrate, as taught by Le, because it would allow the admission of gas for etching into the process chamber.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
No prior art teaches the first busbar coupled inductor is configured to be movable along an axis parallel to an extension direction of the first busbar connection portion within a length range between the first point and the second point so as to adjust a magnitude of the second electromagnetic inductive coupling, when the first busbar coupled inductor is located at the first point, a horizontal distance between the first busbar coupled inductor and the second busbar coupled inductor is a first distance, when the first busbar coupled inductor is located at the second point, a horizontal distance between the first busbar coupled inductor and the second busbar coupled inductor is a second distance, and a magnitude of the second electromagnetic inductive coupling generated when the first busbar coupled inductor is located at the first point is greater than a magnitude of the second electromagnetic inductive coupling generated when the first busbar coupled inductor is located at the second point.
Conclusion
JOHN J. BRAYTON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1794
/JOHN J BRAYTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794