DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s information disclosure statement filed 6/8/2026 has been considered and is included in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the height direction” and “the second longitudinal beam” in lines 2, 4-5, and 6 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 is rejected for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the plurality of battery cells are connected to the cover plate”, which broadens the limitation “the plurality of battery cells are bonded to the cover plate” in claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (CN 215284989) in view of Harsch et al. (US 2024/0258599).
Regarding claim 1, Yan et al. discloses a chassis of a vehicle, comprising: a lower vehicle body ((1), (2), (3)), comprising a frame (21), wherein the frame has an accommodation cavity (213), wherein the frame comprises a first longitudinal beam (211) and a first transverse beam (212), the first longitudinal beam extends along a length direction of the vehicle, the first transverse beam extends along a width direction of the vehicle, and the first longitudinal beam is connected to the first transverse beam (Fig. 5); a plurality of battery cells (paragraph [n0052] of the machine translation discloses (213) is for accommodating the battery module), disposed in the accommodation cavity and connected to the frame (paragraph [n0053] of the machine translation discloses the battery tray (23) supports the battery module, i.e. is connected, and the battery tray (23) is connected to frame (21)); and a cover plate (22), wherein the cover plate is located on an upper side of the plurality of battery cells and is connected to the first longitudinal beam and the first transverse beam (Fig. 5, paragraph [n0053] of the machine translation).
Yan et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of battery cells are bonded to the cover plate.
Harsch et al., like Yan et al., teaches a chassis of a vehicle, and further teaches wherein the plurality of battery cells (51) are bonded to the cover plate ((35), by adhesive layer (9), see paragraphs [0079]-[0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chassis of Yan et al. to bond the plurality of battery cells to the cover plate as taught by Harsch et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a stiffer and stronger installation of the plurality of battery cells (Harsch et al.: paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 3, Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al. teaches the chassis of claim 1, and teaches (references to Yan et al.) wherein the first longitudinal beam (211) is a sill beam of the lower vehicle body (paragraph [n0011] of the machine translation discloses the beams are sill beams).
Regarding claim 5, Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al. teaches the chassis of claim 1, and teaches (references to Yan et al.) wherein the cover plate (22) serves as a floor of a passenger compartment of the vehicle (paragraph [n0053] of the machine translation).
Regarding claim 6, Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al. teaches the chassis of claim 1, and teaches (references to Harsch et al.) wherein the plurality of battery cells are connected to the cover plate (by adhesive layer (9), see paragraphs [0079]-[0080]).
Regarding claim 7, Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al. teaches the chassis of claim 1, and teaches (references to Yan et al.) wherein the frame (Fig. 5) comprises two first longitudinal beams ((211) along bottom and top of Figure) and two first transverse beams ((212) and (212) along left and right of Figure), the two first longitudinal beams are respectively located on two sides of the plurality of battery cells along the width direction, the two first transverse beams are respectively located on two sides of the plurality of battery cells along the length direction, and each first transverse beam is connected to the two first longitudinal beams (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al. teaches the chassis of claim 1, and teaches (references to Yan et al.) wherein the frame further comprises a second transverse beam (214) disposed in the accommodation cavity (213), the second transverse beam and the first transverse beam are spaced apart from each other along the length direction (Fig. 5), and the second transverse beam is connected to the first longitudinal beam (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al. teaches the chassis of claim 9, and teaches (references to Yan et al.) wherein the second transverse beam (214) is provided in plurality, the plurality of second transverse beams are spaced apart from each other along the length direction (Fig. 5), and the battery cells are arranged between adjacent second transverse beams (Fig. 5, arranged in each (213a) between adjacent (214)s).
Regarding claim 11, Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al. teaches the chassis of claim 1, and teaches (references to Yan et al.) wherein the frame further comprises a protection plate (23), and the protection plate is located below the plurality of battery cells (holds the battery module) and covers the accommodation cavity from below (Fig. 8); and the protection plate (23) is fixedly connected to the first longitudinal beam and the first transverse beam, or the protection plate is detachably connected to the first transverse beam and the first longitudinal beam (paragraphs [n0053] and [n0063] of the machine translation discloses (23) connected to the bottom of (21)).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (CN 215284989) in view of Harsch et al. (US 2024/0258599) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 115503841, hereinafter “Zhang ‘841”).
Regarding claim 8, Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al. teaches the chassis of claim 7. However, Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the frame further comprises four torque box assemblies, and each first transverse beam is connected to the two first longitudinal beams through two of the torque box assemblies respectively.
Zhang ‘841, like Yan et al., teaches a chassis of a vehicle, and further teaches the frame comprises four torque box assemblies (two in the front (101) and two in the rear (301)), and each first transverse beam is connected to the two first longitudinal beams through two of the torque box assemblies respectively (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chassis of Yan et al. modified by Harsch et al. to include the four torque box assemblies as taught by Zhang ‘841, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to avoid damage to the battery cells by dispersing the impact force (Zhang ‘841: paragraphs [n0077]-[n0078] of the machine translation).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (CN 215284989) in view of Harsch et al. (US 2024/0258599) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (WO 2023/185682, hereinafter “Zhang ‘682”).
Regarding claim 12, Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al. teaches the chassis of claim 1 and Yan et al. appears to show in Figs. 1-3 the chassis further comprising a front longitudinal beam assembly and a front anti-collision beam, wherein the front longitudinal beam assembly is fixedly connected to the frame or detachably connected to the frame, and the front anti-collision beam is fixedly connected to the front longitudinal beam assembly or detachably connected to the front longitudinal beam assembly. However, Yan et al. does not explicitly call out these features.
Zhang ‘682, like Yan et al., teaches a chassis of a vehicle and further teaches the chassis comprising a front longitudinal beam assembly (21011) and a front anti-collision beam (210), wherein the front longitudinal beam assembly is fixedly connected to the frame or detachably connected to the frame (11), and the front anti-collision beam is fixedly connected to the front longitudinal beam assembly or detachably connected to the front longitudinal beam assembly (Figs. 1 and 15 show the connection of the front anti-collision beam and the front longitudinal beam assembly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chassis of Yan et al. modified by Harsch et al. to include a front longitudinal beam assembly and a front anti-collision beam as taught by Zhang ‘682, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a common protective feature for passengers in the cabin with a passive safety component to absorb and distribute impact energy during a collision.
Regarding claim 13, Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al. teaches the chassis of claim 1 and Yan et al. appears to show in Figs. 1-3 the chassis further comprising a rear longitudinal beam assembly and a rear anti-collision beam, wherein the rear longitudinal beam assembly is fixedly connected to the frame or detachably connected to the frame, and the rear anti-collision beam is fixedly connected to the rear longitudinal beam assembly or detachably connected to the rear longitudinal beam assembly. However, Yan et al. does not explicitly call out these features.
Zhang ‘682., like Yan et al., teaches a chassis of a vehicle and further teaches the chassis comprising a rear longitudinal beam assembly (rear section of (32) through (34)) and a rear anti-collision beam (33), wherein the rear longitudinal beam assembly is fixedly connected to the frame or detachably connected to the frame (11), and the rear anti-collision beam is fixedly connected to the rear longitudinal beam assembly or detachably connected to the rear longitudinal beam assembly (Figs. 1 and 17-21 show the connection of the rear anti-collision beam and the rear longitudinal beam assembly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chassis of Yan et al. modified by Harsch et al. to include a rear longitudinal beam assembly and a rear anti-collision beam as taught by Zhang ‘682, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a common protective feature for passengers in the cabin with a passive safety component to absorb and distribute impact energy during a collision.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (CN 215284989) in view of Harsch et al. (US 2024/0258599) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 115503841, hereinafter “Zhang ‘841”).
Regarding claim 14, Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al. teaches the chassis of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and teaches (references to Yan et al.) a vehicle (title, paragraph [n0001] of the machine translation). Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al. does not explicitly teach an upper vehicle body, wherein the frame is detachably connected to the upper vehicle body.
Zhang ‘841, like Yan et al., teaches a vehicle with a chassis and further teaches an upper vehicle body (paragraph [n0094] of the machine translation), wherein the frame of the lower vehicle body is detachably connected to the upper vehicle body (paragraphs [n0094]-[n0096] of the machine translation, bolts can be used which allow for detaching).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle of Yan et al. modified by Harsch et al. to include the upper vehicle body and detachable connection as taught by Zhang ‘841, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide the ability to repair or update as needed, only portions of the overall vehicle without having to damage other portions of the vehicle in the process, reducing time of maintenance and costs of repairs.
Regarding claim 15, Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al. and Zhang ‘841 teaches the vehicle of claim 14, and teaches (references to Zhang ‘841) wherein the lower vehicle body is configured to be connected to the upper vehicle body after the battery cells are mounted to the frame (paragraph [n0094] of the machine translation teaches the lower vehicle body is connected to the upper vehicle body after the batter cells are mounted to the frame).
Regarding claim 16, Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al. and Zhang ‘841 teaches the vehicle of claim 14, and teaches (references to Zhang ‘841) the vehicle further comprising a connector (paragraph [n0094] of the machine translation, can be bolts), wherein the frame is detachably connected to the upper vehicle body through the connector (paragraph [n0094] of the machine translation teaches the lower vehicle body is connected to the upper vehicle body after the batter cells are mounted to the frame).
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (CN 215284989) in view of Harsch et al. (US 2024/0258599) and Zhang et al. (CN 115503841, hereinafter “Zhang ‘841”) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (CN 216969800).
Regarding claim 17, Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al. and Zhang ‘841 teaches the vehicle of claim 14. However, Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al. and Zhang ‘841 does not explicitly teach the specific connection of wherein the first longitudinal beam comprises a first body and a first connection portion, wherein the first connection portion is located on an outer side of the first body, and an upper end of the first body is higher than the first connection portion in the height direction of the vehicle; the second longitudinal beam comprises a second body and a second connection portion, wherein the second connection portion is located on an inner side of the second body, the second body is located on an upper side of the first connection portion, and the second connection portion is located on an upper side of the first body; and the second body is detachably connected to the first connection portion, and the second connection portion is detachably connected to the first body.
Huang et al., like Yan et al., teaches a vehicle and further teaches the first longitudinal beam comprises a first body (240) and a first connection portion (220), wherein the first connection portion is located on an outer side of the first body (Fig. 8), and an upper end of the first body is higher than the first connection portion in the height direction of the vehicle (Fig. 8); the second longitudinal beam comprises a second body (120) and a second connection portion (portion of (410)), wherein the second connection portion is located on an inner side of the second body (Fig. 8), the second body is located on an upper side of the first connection portion, and the second connection portion is located on an upper side of the first body (Fig. 8); and the second body is detachably connected to the first connection portion, and the second connection portion is detachably connected to the first body (Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle of Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al. and Zhang ‘841 to provide a connection between a first longitudinal beam and a second longitudinal beam as taught by Huang et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a means to join together an upper vehicle body and a lower vehicle body together by a commonly known method with anticipated results. Using a known technique for connecting components would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, since they would have recognized that applying a known technique of Huang et al. would yield predictable results for connecting the components of the vehicle of Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al. and Zhang ‘841.
In the alternative, if applicant disagrees that Huang et al. teaches the second body is detachably connected to the first connection portion, and the second connection portion is detachably connected to the first body. It has been held that “if it were considered desirable for any reasons to obtain access… it would be obvious to make [a component detachable] for that purpose.” In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). Here, access to the battery cells would be desirable, so that the ability to make the connection detachable would be obvious.
Regarding claim 18, Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al., Zhang ‘841, and Huang et al. teaches the vehicle of claim 17, and teaches (references to Huang et al.) the vehicle further comprising a sealing member (300), wherein a part of the sealing member is clamped between the second connection portion and the first body ((300) is clamped by (450)).
Regarding claim 19, Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al. and Zhang ‘841 teaches the vehicle of claim 14. However, Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al. and Zhang ‘841 does not explicitly teach the vehicle further comprising a sealing member, wherein the sealing member is clamped between the upper vehicle body and the frame.
Huang et al., like Yan et al., teaches a vehicle and further teaches the vehicle further comprising a sealing member (300), wherein the sealing member is clamped between the upper vehicle body (120) and the frame (240) (see Fig. 8 which shows the sealing member (300) clamped in place by (450)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle of Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al. and Zhang ‘841 to provide a sealing member as taught by Huang et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a means to a space between the upper vehicle body and the frame for the battery cells by a commonly known method with anticipated results. Using a known technique for connecting components would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, since they would have recognized that applying a known technique of Huang et al. would yield predictable results for sealing the space between components of the vehicle of Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al. and Zhang ‘841.
Regarding claim 20, Yan et al. as modified by Harsch et al., Zhang ‘841, and Huang et al. teaches the vehicle of claim 19, and teaches (references to Huang et al.) wherein the sealing member (300) surrounds a passenger compartment of the vehicle (Fig. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, and 5-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Fees et al. (US 2020/0052258), Persson et al. (US 2022/0176788), Fees et al. (US 2018/0108891), Harsch et al. (US 2024/0294060), and Xie et al. (CN 115911697) teach bonding of cover plate with battery module.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARLY W. LYNCH/Examiner, Art Unit 3643