DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the second wiring”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because it is unclear whether “the second wiring” relates back to “at least one of the second wirings” recited in lines 13-14 of claim 14 or to set forth an additional second wiring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0243818 to Aburada et al. (hereinafter Aburada).
With respect to claim 1, Aburada discloses a wiring structure (e.g., see the annotated Fig. 6A below) (Aburada, Figs. 6A-6B, ¶0002, ¶0015-¶0031, ¶0052) comprising:
a first wiring (e.g., 40_2, below the space region SP) (Aburada, Figs. 6A-6B, ¶0018, ¶0029) disposed on a substrate (e.g., insulating layer 10 on a substrate (not shown)) (Aburada, Figs. 6A-6B, ¶0029, ¶0052), wherein the first wiring (40_2) includes a first extension portion (e.g., a portion of the wiring line 40_2 extending in a first direction D1 and having a substantially a same width) that extends in a first direction (D1) and has a first width in a second direction (D2), and a first expansion portion (E40_2) (Aburada, Figs. 6A-6B, ¶0029) that is formed at a first end portion of end portions, in the first direction (D1), of the first extension portion (E40_2) and has a first maximum width (e.g., widened end portion E40_2 with an increased width at the edge portion of the wiring line 40_2) in the second direction (D2), wherein the first maximum width is larger than the first width, wherein the first direction (D1) is substantially parallel to an upper surface of the substrate (10), and the second direction (D2) is substantially parallel to the upper surface of the substrate (10) and crosses the first direction (D1); and
a second wiring (e.g., 40_2, above the space region SP) (Aburada, Figs. 6A-6B, ¶0018, ¶0029) disposed on the substrate (10), wherein the second wiring extends in the first direction (D1) and faces the first expansion portion (e.g., widened end portion E40_2) of the first wiring (40_2, below the space SP) in the first direction (D1), wherein a first end portion (e.g., an end portion E40_2, above the space SP) of end portions, in the first direction, of the second wiring (e.g., 40_2, above the space SP) facing the first expansion portion (e.g., E40_2, below the space SP) has a second maximum width in the second direction (D2), wherein the second maximum width (e.g., the width of E40_2, above the space SP) is substantially the same as the first maximum width (e.g., the width of
E40_2, below the space SP).
Regarding claim 2, Aburada discloses the wiring structure of claim 1. Further, Aburada discloses the wiring structure, wherein the first expansion portion (e.g., E40_2, below the space SP) (Aburada, Figs. 6A-6B, ¶0029) of the first wiring (40_2, below the space SP) is disposed at only the first end portion of the end portions of the first extension portion of the first wiring (40_2).
Regarding claim 7, Aburada discloses the wiring structure of claim 1. Further, Aburada discloses the wiring structure, wherein the second wiring (e.g., E40_2, above the space SP) (Aburada, Figs. 6A-6B, ¶0029) includes a second extension portion (e.g., a portion of the wiring line 40_2 extending in the first direction D1 and having a substantially a same width) and a second expansion portion (e.g., widened end portion E40_2 with an increased width at the edge portion of the wiring line 40_2), wherein the second extension portion (e.g., 40_2, above the space SP) extends in the first direction and has a second width in the second direction, wherein the second expansion portion (e.g., E40_2, above the space SP) is formed at a first end portion of end portions, in the first direction (D1), of the second extension portion and has the second maximum width, wherein the first end portion of the second extension portion (e.g., E40_2, above the space SP) corresponds to the first end portion of the second wiring (40_2, above the space SP), and wherein the second maximum width (e.g., the widened width of E40_2) is greater than the second width (e.g., the width of 40_2 along the first direction D1 and above the space SP).
Regarding claim 8, Aburada discloses the wiring structure of claim 7. Further, Aburada discloses the wiring structure, wherein the second expansion portion (E40_2, above the space SP) (Aburada, Figs. 6A-6B, ¶0029) of the second wiring (40_2, above the space SP) is disposed at only the first end portion of end portions, in the first direction, of the second extension portion of the second wiring.
With respect to claim 14, Aburada discloses a wiring structure (e.g., see the annotated Fig. 12 below) (Aburada, Figs. 11-12, ¶0002, ¶0015-¶0031, ¶0032-¶0047, ¶0052) comprising:
first wirings (e.g., wiring lines 40_12, 40_14, 40_16, below the space region SP) (Aburada, Figs. 11-12, ¶0041- ¶0045) disposed on a substrate (e.g., insulating layer 10 on a substrate (not shown)) (Aburada, Figs. 11-12, ¶0033, ¶0052), wherein the first wirings (e.g., wiring lines 40_12, 40_14, 40_16, below the spacer SP) are spaced apart from each other in a second direction (D2), wherein each of the first wirings includes a first extension portion (e.g., a portion of the wiring line 40_12/40_14/40_16 extending in a first direction D1 and having a substantially a same width) that extends in a first direction (D1) and has a first width in the second direction (D2), and a first expansion portion (e.g., Etr12/Etr14/Etr16) (Aburada, Figs. 11-12, ¶0041-¶0043) that is formed at a first end portion of end portions, in the first direction (D1), of the first extension portion and has a first maximum width (e.g., widened end portion Etr12/Etr14/Etr16 with an increased width at the edge portion of the wiring line 40_12/40_14/40_16) in the second direction (D2), wherein the first maximum width is larger than the first width, wherein the first direction (D1) is substantially parallel to an upper surface of the substrate (10), and the second direction (D2) is substantially parallel to the
upper surface of the substrate (10) and crosses the first direction (D1); and
second wirings (e.g., wiring lines 40_12, 40_14, 40_16, above the space region SP) (Aburada, Figs. 11-12, ¶0041- ¶0045) disposed on the substrate (10), wherein the second wirings are spaced apart from each other in the second direction (D2), wherein each of the second wirings extends in the first direction (D1) and faces the first expansion portion (e.g., Etr12/Etr14/Etr16) of the corresponding one of the first wirings (e.g., wiring lines 40_12, 40_14, 40_16, below the space region SP) in the first direction (D1), and a first end portion of end portions, in the first direction (D1), of at least one of the second wirings facing the first expansion portion (e.g., Etr12/Etr14/Etr16) of the corresponding one of the first wirings (e.g., wiring lines 40_12, 40_14, 40_16, below the space region SP) has a second maximum width in the second direction (D2), the second maximum width (e.g., the width of Etr12/Etr14/Etr16 of the second wiring lines 40_12, 40_14, 40_16, above the space region SP) is substantially the same as the first maximum width (e.g., the width of Etr12/Etr14/Etr16 of the first wiring lines 40_12, 40_14, 40_16, below the space region SP); and
third wirings (e.g., 40_13/40_15) (Aburada, Figs. 11-12, ¶0041- ¶0045) disposed on the substrate (10), wherein each of the third wirings (e.g., 40_13/40_15) extends in the first direction (D1) between ones of the first (e.g., 40_12, 40_14, 40_16, below the space region SP) and second (e.g., 40_12, 40_14, 40_16, above the space region SP) wirings adjacent to each other in the second direction (D2), wherein the third wirings (e.g., 40_13/40_15) are spaced apart from each other in the second direction (D2), and wherein each of the third wirings has a third width in the second direction (D2).
Regarding claim 18, Aburada discloses the wiring structure of claim 14. Further, Aburada discloses the wiring structure, wherein a second wiring (e.g., 40_12, above the space SP) of the second wirings (e.g., 40_12, 40_14, 40_16, below the space region SP) (Aburada, Figs. 11-12, ¶0041- ¶0045) includes a second extension portion (e.g., a portion of the wiring line 40_12 extending in the first direction D1 and having a substantially a same width) and a second expansion portion (e.g., widened end portion Etr12 with an increased width at the edge portion of the wiring line 40_12), wherein the second extension portion extends in the first direction (D1) and has a second width in the second direction, wherein the second expansion portion (e.g., Etr12, above the space SP) is formed at a first end portion of end portions, in the first direction (D1), of the second extension portion and has the second maximum width, wherein the first end portion of the second extension portion corresponds to the first end portion of the second wiring (40_12, above the space SP), and wherein the second maximum width (e.g., the widened width of Etr12 of 40_12, above the space SP) is greater than the second width (e.g., the width of 40_12 along the first direction D1 and above the space SP).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 110391134A to Xu et al. (hereinafter Xu).
With respect to claim 12, Xu discloses a wiring structure (e.g., see the annotated Fig. 20 below) (Xu, Figs. 20, 21A-21B, Abstract, pp. 6-10) comprising:
a wiring (e.g., a conductive pattern CP1 in upper portions of the interlayer dielectric layer) (Xu, Fig. 20, p. 7) including:
an extension portion (e.g., a central portion of the conductive patten CP1 having a substantially a same width) (Xu, Figs. 20, 21A, p. 7) disposed on a substrate (100) (Xu, Figs. 20, 21A, p.4), wherein the extension portion extends in a first direction (e.g., D2) (Xu, Figs. 20, 21A, p. 7), and the extension portion has a first width (e.g., W3) in a second direction (D1), wherein the first direction (D2) is substantially parallel to an upper surface of the substrate (100), and the second direction (D1) is substantially parallel to the upper surface of the substrate (100) and crosses the first direction (D2); and
expansion portions (CP1a) (Xu, Figs. 20, 21A, p. 7) disposed on the substrate (100), wherein the expansion portions (CP1a) are disposed at both of end portions, in the first direction (D2), of the extension portion, and the expansion portion (CP1a) has a first maximum width (e.g., near the width W1) in the second direction (D1), wherein the first maximum width is larger than the first width (W3) (Xu, Figs. 20, 21A, p. 7).
Regarding claim 13, Xu discloses the wiring structure of claim 12. Further, Xu discloses the wiring structure, wherein each of the expansion portions (CP1a) has a circular shape (Xu, Fig. 20, p. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0318968 to Xu.
With respect to claim 1, Xu discloses a wiring structure (Xu, Figs. 20, 21A-21B, ¶0002, ¶0005-¶0008, ¶0016-¶0062, ¶0081-¶0084) comprising:
a first wiring (e.g., a conductive pattern CP1 or a conductive pattern CP adjacent CP5, in upper portions of the interlayer dielectric layer) (Xu, Figs. 20, 21A, p. 7) disposed on a substrate (100) (Xu, Figs. 20, 21A, p. 4), wherein the first wiring (CP1) includes a first extension portion (e.g., a central portion of the conductive patten CP1 having a substantially a same width) (Xu, Figs. 20, 21A, p. 7) that extends in a first direction (D2) and has a first width (W3) in a second direction (D1) (Xu, Figs. 20, 21A, p. 7), and a first expansion portion (CP1a) (Xu, Figs. 20, 21A, p. 7) that is formed at a first end portion of end portions, in the first direction (D2), of the first extension portion (CP1a) and has a first maximum width (e.g., near the width W1) in the second direction (D1), wherein the first maximum width is larger than the first width (W3), wherein the first direction (D2) is substantially parallel to an upper surface of the substrate (100), and the second direction (D1) is substantially parallel to the upper surface of the substrate (100) and crosses the first direction; and
a second wiring (e.g., a wiring CP horizontally adjacent to CP1 and facing CP1a of the first wiring CP1 or a conductive pattern CP vertically adjacent to the wiring CP5, at the right side of the wiring structure) (Xu, Figs. 20, 21A, p. 7) disposed on the substrate (100), wherein the second wiring extends in the first direction (D2) and faces the first expansion portion (CP1a) of the first wiring (CP1) in the first direction (D2), wherein a first end portion of end portions, in the first direction, of the second wiring facing the first expansion portion (CP1a) has a second maximum width in the second direction (D1).
Further, Xu does not specifically disclose that the second maximum width is substantially the same as the first maximum width.
However, Xu teaches that a distance (Xu, Fig. 20, pp. 7, 9-10) between the ends of the conductive patterns is adjusted by using a plurality of photomasks and a spacer layer to form the conductive patterns in a self-alignment manner to prevent an electrical short between the conductive patterns.
Thus, Xu recognizes that controlling a distance between the ends of the conductive patterns and a shape of the ends of the conductive patterns impact performance of the wiring structure. Thus, a distance between the ends of the conductive patterns and a shape of the ends of the conductive patterns are result-effective variables.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to vary, through routine optimization, a distance between the ends of the conductive patterns and a shape of the ends of the conductive patterns as Xu has a distance between the ends of the conductive patterns and a shape of the ends of the conductive patterns as result-effective variables. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive a specific distance between the ends of the conductive patterns and a specific shape of the ends of the conductive patterns, such that the second maximum width is substantially the same as the first maximum width, in order to provide conductive patterns in a self-alignment manner to prevent an electrical short between the conductive patterns as taught by Xu (pp. 4, 7, 9-10) (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the wiring structure of Xu by optimizing a distance between the ends of the conductive patterns and a shape of the ends of the conductive patterns as taught by Xu to have the wiring structure, wherein the second maximum width is substantially the same as the first maximum width, in order to provide conductive patterns in a self-alignment manner to prevent an electrical short between the conductive patterns (Xu, Abstract, pp. 4, 7, 9-10).
Regarding claim 2, Xu discloses the wiring structure of claim 1. Further, Xu discloses the wiring structure, wherein the first expansion portion of the first wiring (e.g., the conductive pattern CP vertically adjacent to CP5 has only one expansion portion at the right side of CP) (Xu, Fig. 20, p. 7) is disposed at only the first end portion of the end portions of the first extension portion of the first wiring.
Regarding claim 3, Xu discloses the wiring structure of claim 2. Further, Xu discloses the wiring structure, wherein the first expansion portion (e.g., the expansion portion at the right side of CP adjacent CP5) (Xu, Fig. 20, p. 7) has a circular shape, and a second end portion of the end portions of the first extension portion has a curved surface.
Regarding claim 4, Xu discloses the wiring structure of claim 1. Further, Xu discloses the wiring structure, wherein the first wiring (CP1) (Xu, Fig. 20, p. 7) further includes a second expansion portion that is formed at a second end portion (e.g., left side of CP1) of the end portions, in the first direction, of the first extension portion and has the first maximum width in the second direction.
Regarding claim 5, Xu discloses the wiring structure of claim 4. Further, Xu discloses the wiring structure, wherein each of the first expansion portion (e.g., CP1a, at the right side) (Xu, Fig. 20, p. 7) and the second expansion portion (e.g., CP1a, at the left side) has a circular shape.
Regarding claim 6, Xu discloses the wiring structure of claim 1. Further, Xu does not specifically disclose that a width in the second direction of the second wiring is substantially constant at the second maximum width.
However, Xu teaches forming wirings (CP1-CP4) and (CP5 and CP6) having different constant widths in the second direction. Further, Xu teaches that a distance (Xu, Fig. 20, pp. 7, 9-10) between the conductive patterns is adjusted by using a plurality of photomasks and a spacer layer to form the conductive patterns in a self-alignment manner to prevent an electrical short between the conductive patterns.
Thus, Xu recognizes that controlling a distance between the conductive patterns and a shape of the ends of the conductive patterns impact performance of the wiring structure. TXus, a distance between the conductive patterns and a shape of the ends of the conductive patterns are result-effective variables.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to vary, through routine optimization, a distance between the conductive patterns and a shape of the ends of the conductive patterns as Xu has a distance between the ends of the conductive patterns and a shape of the ends of the conductive patterns as result-effective variables. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive a specific distance between the ends of the conductive patterns and a specific shape of the ends of the conductive patterns, such that a width in the second direction of the second wiring is substantially constant at the second maximum width, in order to provide conductive patterns in a self-alignment manner to prevent an electrical short between the conductive patterns as taught by Xu (Abstract, pp. 4, 7, 9-10) (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the wiring structure of Xu by optimizing a distance between the conductive patterns and a shape of the ends of the conductive patterns as taught by Xu to have the wiring structure, wherein a width in the second direction of the second wiring is substantially constant at the second maximum width, in order to provide conductive patterns in a self-alignment manner to prevent an electrical short between the conductive patterns (Xu, Abstract, pp. 4, 7, 9-10).
Regarding claim 7, Xu discloses the wiring structure of claim 1. Further, Xu discloses the wiring structure, wherein the second wiring (e.g., a wiring CP horizontally adjacent to CP1 and facing CP1a of the first wiring CP1 or the conductive pattern CP vertically adjacent to the wiring CP5, at the right side of the wiring structure) (Xu, Figs. 20, 21A, p. 7) includes a second extension portion (e.g., a central portion of the CP) and a second expansion portion, wherein the second extension portion extends in the first direction (D2) and has a second width in the second direction (D1), wherein the second expansion portion is formed at a first end portion (e.g., left end) of end portions, in the first direction (D2), of the second extension portion and has the second maximum width, wherein the first end portion of the second extension portion corresponds to the first end portion of the second wiring, and wherein the second maximum width is greater than the second width.
Regarding claim 8, Xu discloses the wiring structure of claim 7. Further, Xu discloses the wiring structure, wherein the second expansion portion of the second wiring (e.g., a wiring CP vertically adjacent to the wiring CP5 has only one expansion portion at the left/right side) (Xu, Figs. 20, 21A, p. 7) is disposed at only the first end portion of end portions, in the first direction, of the second extension portion of the second wiring.
Regarding claim 9, Xu discloses the wiring structure of claim 8. Further, Xu discloses the wiring structure, wherein the second expansion portion (e.g., the expansion portion at the right/left side of wiring CP adjacent wiring CP5) (Xu, Fig. 20, p. 7) has a circular shape, and a second end portion of the end portions of the first extension portion has a curved surface.
Regarding claim 10, Xu discloses the wiring structure of claim 7. Further, Xu discloses the wiring structure, wherein the second wiring (e.g., a wiring CP horizontally adjacent to CP1 and facing CP1a of the first wiring CP1) (Xu, Fig. 20, p. 7) further includes a third expansion portion (e.g., at the right side) that is formed at a second end portion of the end portions, in the first direction (D2), of the second extension portion and has the second maximum width in the second direction (D1).
Regarding claim 11, Xu discloses the wiring structure of claim 10. Further, Xu discloses the wiring structure, wherein each of the second expansion portion and the third expansion portion has a circular shape (Xu, Fig. 20, p. 7).
With respect to claim 14, Xu discloses a wiring structure (Xu, Figs. 20, 21A-21B, ¶0002, ¶0005-¶0008, ¶0016-¶0062, ¶0081-¶0084) comprising:
first wirings (e.g., conductive patterns CP1, the wiring CP vertically adjacent to the wiring CP5, and the wiring CP6, on the left side of the wiring structure, and in upper portions of the interlayer dielectric layer) (Xu, Figs. 20, 21A, p. 7) disposed on a substrate (100) (Xu, Figs. 20, 21A, p. 4), wherein the first wirings (e.g., CP1, the wiring CP vertically adjacent to the wiring CP5, and the wiring CP6, on the left side) are spaced apart from each other in a second direction (D1), wherein each of the first wirings includes a first extension portion (e.g., a central portion of the conductive patten CP1/CP having a substantially a same width) (Xu, Fig. 20, p. 7) that extends in a first direction (D2) and has a first width (e.g., W3 of CP1) in the second direction (D1) (Xu, Figs. 20, 21A, p. 7), and a first expansion portion (e.g., CP1a of CP1) (Xu, Figs. 20, 21A, p. 7) that is formed at a first end portion of end portions, in the first direction (D2), of the first extension portion (CP1a) and has a first maximum width (e.g., near the width W1) in the second direction (D1), wherein the first maximum width is larger than the first width (W3), wherein the first direction (D2) is substantially parallel to an upper surface of the substrate (100), and the second direction (D1) is substantially parallel to the upper surface of the substrate (100) and crosses the first direction; and
second wirings (e.g., conductive pattern CP horizontally adjacent to the wiring CP1, and the wiring CP vertically adjacent to the wiring CP5, on the right side of the wiring structure) (Xu, Figs. 20, 21A, p. 7) disposed on the substrate (100), wherein the second wirings are spaced apart from each other in the second direction (D1), wherein each of the second wirings extends in the first direction (D2) and faces the first expansion portion (CP1a) of the corresponding one of the first wirings (CP1 and CP adjacent the wiring CP5) in the first direction (D2), and a first end portion of end portions, in the first direction (D2), of at least one of the second wirings facing the first expansion portion (CP1a) of the corresponding one of the first wirings has a second maximum width in the second direction (D1); and
third wirings (e.g., CP2/CP3 and CP4, and wirings horizontally adjacent to the wirings CP2 andCP4) (Xu, Figs. 20, 21A, p. 7) disposed on the substrate (100), wherein each of the third wirings extends in the first direction (D2) between ones of the first (e.g., CP1, CP vertically adjacent the wiring CP5, and CP6, on the left side) and second (e.g., CP horizontally adjacent to the wiring CP1, and CP vertically adjacent the wiring CP5, on the right side) wirings adjacent to each other in the second direction (D1), wherein the third wirings (e.g., CP2/CP3 and CP4) are spaced apart from each other in the second direction (D1), and wherein each of the third wirings has a third width in the second direction (D1).
Further, Xu does not specifically disclose that the second maximum width is substantially the same as the first maximum width.
However, Xu teaches that a distance (Xu, Fig. 20, pp. 7, 9-10) between the ends of the conductive patterns is adjusted by using a plurality of photomasks and a spacer layer to form the conductive patterns in a self-alignment manner to prevent an electrical short between the conductive patterns.
Thus, Xu recognizes that controlling a distance between the ends of the conductive patterns and a shape of the ends of the conductive patterns impact performance of the wiring structure. Thus, a distance between the ends of the conductive patterns and a shape of the ends of the conductive patterns are result-effective variables.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to vary, through routine optimization, a distance between the ends of the conductive patterns and a shape of the ends of the conductive patterns as Xu has a distance between the ends of the conductive patterns and a shape of the ends of the conductive patterns as result-effective variables. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive a specific distance between the ends of the conductive patterns and a specific shape of the ends of the conductive patterns, such that the second maximum width is substantially the same as the first maximum width, in order to provide conductive patterns in a self-alignment manner to prevent an electrical short between the conductive patterns as taught by Xu (pp. 4, 7, 9-10) (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the wiring structure of Xu by optimizing a distance between the ends of the conductive patterns and a shape of the ends of the conductive patterns as taught by Xu to have the wiring structure, wherein the second maximum width is substantially the same as the first maximum width, in order to provide conductive patterns in a self-alignment manner to prevent an electrical short between the conductive patterns (Xu, Abstract, pp. 4, 7, 9-10).
Regarding claim 15, Xu discloses the wiring structure of claim 14. Further, Xu discloses the wiring structure, wherein the first expansion portion of the first wiring (e.g., the conductive pattern CP vertically adjacent to CP5 has only one expansion portion at the right side of CP) (Xu, Fig. 20, p. 7) is disposed at only the first end portion (e.g., right end of CP) of the end portions of the first extension portion of the first wiring.
Regarding claim 16, Xu discloses the wiring structure of claim 14. Further, Xu discloses the wiring structure, wherein a first wiring (e.g., CP1) of the first wirings further includes a second expansion portion (CP1a) (Xu, Fig. 20, p. 7) that is formed at a second end portion (e.g., left end) of the end portions, in the first direction (D2), of the first extension portion, wherein the second expansion portion has the first maximum width in the second direction, and wherein each of the first expansion portion and the second expansion portion has a circular shape.
Regarding claim 17, Xu discloses the wiring structure of claim 14. Further, Xu does not specifically disclose that a width in the second direction of the second wiring is substantially constant at the second maximum width.
However, Xu teaches forming wirings (CP1-CP4) and (CP5 and CP6) having different constant widths in the second direction. Further, Xu teaches that a distance (Xu, Fig. 20, pp. 7, 9-10) between the conductive patterns is adjusted by using a plurality of photomasks and a spacer layer to form the conductive patterns in a self-alignment manner to prevent an electrical short between the conductive patterns.
Thus, Xu recognizes that controlling a distance between the conductive patterns and a shape of the ends of the conductive patterns impact performance of the wiring structure. TXus, a distance between the conductive patterns and a shape of the ends of the conductive patterns are result-effective variables.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to vary, through routine optimization, a distance between the conductive patterns and a shape of the ends of the conductive patterns as Xu has a distance between the ends of the conductive patterns and a shape of the ends of the conductive patterns as result-effective variables. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive a specific distance between the ends of the conductive patterns and a specific shape of the ends of the conductive patterns, such that a width in the second direction of the second wiring is substantially constant at the second maximum width, in order to provide conductive patterns in a self-alignment manner to prevent an electrical short between the conductive patterns as taught by Xu (Abstract, pp. 4, 7, 9-10) (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the wiring structure of Xu by optimizing a distance between the conductive patterns and a shape of the ends of the conductive patterns as taught by Xu to have the wiring structure, wherein a width in the second direction of the second wiring is substantially constant at the second maximum width, in order to provide conductive patterns in a self-alignment manner to prevent an electrical short between the conductive patterns (Xu, Abstract, pp. 4, 7, 9-10).
Regarding claim 18, Xu discloses the wiring structure of claim 14. Further, Xu discloses the wiring structure, wherein a second wiring (e.g., a wiring CP horizontally adjacent to CP1 and facing CP1a of the first wiring CP1 or a wiring CP vertically adjacent to the wiring CP5, on the right side of the wiring structure) (Xu, Fig. 20, p. 7) of the second wirings includes a second extension portion (e.g., a central portion of the CP horizontally adjacent to CP1 in the D2 direction) and a second expansion portion, wherein the second extension portion extends in the first direction (D2) and has a second width in the second direction (D1), wherein the second expansion portion is formed at a first end portion (e.g., left end) of end portions, in the first direction (D2), of the second extension portion and has the second maximum width, wherein the first end portion of the second extension portion corresponds to the first end portion of the second wiring, and wherein the second maximum width is greater than the second width.
Regarding claim 19, Xu discloses the wiring structure of claim 18. Further, Xu discloses the wiring structure, wherein the second expansion portion of the second wiring (e.g., a wiring CP vertically adjacent to the wiring CP5 has only one expansion portion at the left side) (Xu, Fig. 20, p. 7) is disposed at only the first end portion of end portions, in the first direction, of the second extension portion of the second wiring, and the second expansion portion has a circular shape.
Regarding claim 20, Xu discloses the wiring structure of claim 18. Further, Xu discloses the wiring structure, wherein the second wiring (e.g., the wiring CP horizontally adjacent to CP1 and facing CP1a of the first wiring CP1) (Xu, Fig. 20, p. 7) of the second wirings further includes a third expansion portion (e.g., the expansion portion at the right side of wiring CP horizontally adjacent to CP1) that is formed at a second end portion (e.g., right end) of the end portions, in the first direction (D2), of the second extension portion of the second wiring, wherein the third expansion portion has the second maximum width in the second direction, and wherein each of the second expansion portion and the third expansion portion has a circular shape.
Conclusion
/NATALIA A GONDARENKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891