DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta et al. (US 20220182724 A1) in view of Toal et al. (US 10298643).
Note: any documents that is directly or indirectly incorporated by references in its entirety in Gupta (see for example, paragraph 0132) including Patent No. 7761892 (referred to as Ellis) is treated as part of the specification of Gupta (see MPEP 2163.07 b).
Claim 1, Gupta discloses a management method for managing reading by a reading device of a content recorded on a data medium (managing reading by a reading device such as user equipment of a content recorded on a storage – see include, but are not limited to, figure 14-15), wherein the method is implemented by the reading device (the method is implemented by a playback device) and comprises:
“upon a read mode access by the reading device to the content recorded on the data medium and having been broadcast live, requesting to render, during a rendering of the recorded content rebroadcast, a datum representative of the read mode access of the recorded content” (in response to reading mode for playing back content by a user device to content recorded/cached on a cache/storage medium and have been broadcast live, requesting to render/present/display, during rendering/displaying/playing back of the recorded/recorded content provided from recorded location/source, data with value, segment information, timestamp, options, etc. representative/indicating of the read mode access/play back mode of the recorded content in response to a lag time between a current broadcasting instant of the content broadcast live (live segment location 112/312) and the current playback position for the recorded/cached content being greater than or exceeding a certain threshold, for example, when it’s longer than 1 minute or longer than 5 minutes, and include, but are not limited to, paragraphs 0033-0035, 0036, 0040, 0090, 0132, figures 1-2, 4, 9, 11-14 and Ellis: figures 4-5, 18a, 27-31).
Gupta is not entirely clear in teaching the specific feature of:
“said datum being an indication relative to live which is modified into a rebroadcast indication in response to a time between a current broadcasting instant of the content broadcast live and a rebroadcasting instant for the recorded content being greater than a given time”.
Toal teaches the specific feature of:
“said datum (i.e. go live or watching live) being an indication relative to live which is modified into a rebroadcast indication in response to a time between a current broadcasting instant of the content broadcast live and a rebroadcasting instant for the recorded content being greater than a given time” (i.e. seeking past the live edge threshold) (figs. 3-4; col. 5-6, lines 16-61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided live edge detection as taught by Toal to the system of Gupta to provide a threshold of seeking and remaining in a particular state (col. 5-6 lines 16-61).
Regarding claim 2, Gupta discloses the management method according to Claim 1, wherein the datum representative of a reading of the content rebroadcast is included in a received data stream corresponding to the content (metadata included in a received data stream such as timestamp, segment information, location, etc. of a reading of the content rebroadcast/provided is included in the received data stream corresponding to the content – see include, but are not limited to, figures 5-7, 9-13, paragraphs 0043, 0063; Ellis: figures 4-5, 18a, 27-31).
Regarding claim 3, Gupta discloses the management method according to Claim 1, wherein the datum representative of a reading of the recorded content is added by the reading device (the data timestamp, segment information, time duration to catch up live content, etc. representative of a reading of recorded content at particular point, duration, skip segment, etc. is added by the user device – see include, but are not limited to, figures 1-2, 4, 9-11, paragraphs 0033, 0035-0036, 0040; Ellis: figures 4-5, 18a-18d, 27-31) .
Regarding claim 4, Gupta discloses the management method according to Claim 1, wherein the given time is included in a received data stream corresponding to the recorded content (given time of certain threshold/duration is included in a received data stream corresponding to the recorded content – see include, but are not limited to, figures 2, 9-11, paragraphs 0035, 0040, 0079, 0089-0090; Ellis: figures 4-5, 18a, 27-31).
Regarding claim 5, limitations of a reading device that correspond to the method of claim 1 are analyzed as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Particularly, Gupta discloses the reading device for reading a content recorded on a data medium, wherein the reading device comprises: a processor configured to, upon a read mode access by the reading device to a content recorded and having been broadcast live, request a rendering, during a rendering of the recorded content rebroadcast, of a datum representative of the read mode access of the recorded content in response to a time between a current broadcasting instant of the content broadcast live and a rebroadcasting instant for the recorded content being greater than a given time (see discussion in the rejection of claim 1 and figure 14, paragraphs 0035, 0090, 0132, 0119-0122; Ellis: figures 4-5, 7, 9, 18a, 27-31).
Regarding claim 6, limitations of a non-transitory computer readable medium that correspond to limitations of claim 1 and/or claim 5 are analyzed as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 and/or claim 5. Particularly, Gupta non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon which when executed by a processor, carries out the method defined in Claim 1 (see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 1 and/or claim 5; Ellis: figures 4-5, 7, 9, 18a, 27-31, claims 3, 8-9).
Claim 11, Gupta is not entirely clear in teaching The management method according to claim 1, including:
comparing the time between the current broadcasting instant of the content broadcasting live and the rebroadcasting instant for the recorded content to a given time, before requesting to render the datum.
Toal teaches The management method according to claim 1, including:
comparing the time between the current broadcasting instant of the content broadcasting live (i.e. current playback time) and the rebroadcasting instant for the recorded content to a given time (i.e. seeking past the live edge threshold), before requesting to render the datum (i.e. determining state before displaying “watching live” or “go to live”) (figs. 3-4; col. 5-6, lines 16-61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided live edge detection as taught by Toal to the system of Gupta to provide a threshold of seeking and remaining in a particular state (col. 5-6 lines 16-61).
Claim 12 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 11.
Conclusion
Claims 1-6, 11-12 are rejected.
Inquires
MUSHFIKH I. ALAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2426
/MUSHFIKH I ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 8/4/2026