DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed 20 June 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-10 are now pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 20 June 2024, 08 January 2025, and 16 January 2025 was/were filed before mailing of the first action on the merits. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Disclosure
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Subject to the [fifth paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA )], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 9 recites an “armature comprising the coil assembly as set forth in Claim 1”, but does not disclose any further limitations of said coil assembly. As such, the claim does not further limit the subject matter, i.e. the coil assembly, of the claim upon which it depends.
The Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nakamura et al. (US 2009/0079277 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Nakamura”.
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses a coil assembly (fig. 1-3) comprising:
a band member [1] formed of an electrically-insulative material into a band shape and rolled along a circumferential direction (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0029-0030; “cylindrical substrate 1 made of an insulating thermoplastic resin”);
a plurality of coils [7,13] formed of an electroconductive material on the band member [1] and arranged in alignment with each other along the circumferential direction (fig. 2; ¶ 0033-0037), the plurality of coils [7,13] having a plurality of paths [a1,a2] through which electric current flows and which constitute parts of a closed circuit (fig. 2; ¶ 0031-0034; the coil patterns are formed of conductors laid in pairs of axially-parallel and circumferentially-parallel grooves);
a first connection portion [b1] constituting a part of the closed circuit and connecting between the plurality of paths [a1,a2] (fig. 2; ¶ 0033-0037; the axially extending paths are connected by circumferentially extending portions); and
a second connection portion [b2] constituting another part of the closed circuit and connecting between the plurality of paths [a1,a2] or between the plurality of coils [7,13] (fig. 2; ¶ 0033-0037) so that induced currents, which are induced in the closed circuit by electromagnetic induction due to movement of magnets in the circumferential direction, are canceled out by each other in the closed circuit (according to ¶ 01554 of the publication of the present application, the corresponding structure responsible for providing this function is simply the “closed loop” or coiled structure of the winding pattern; such a coiled structure is clearly shown in figures 2(d) and 2(h) of Nakamura),
wherein:
the plurality of paths [a1,a2] include a first path [a1] and a second path [a2] that are arranged side by side in the circumferential direction (fig. 2);
each of coil portions [7,13] of at least some of the plurality of coils [7,13] is divided into a first part [7] and a second part [13] in a direction intersecting an extending direction of the coil portion [7,13] (fig. 2; each coil portion comprises two individual coils divided in the radial direction, which intersects the axial and circumferential directions in which each individual part extends);
the first parts [7] of the coil portions [7,13] constitute the first path [a1], and the second parts [13] of the coil portions [7,13] constitute the second path [a2] (fig. 2; each individual coil contains both first and second axial paths and connection portions); and
the first path [a1] and the second path [a2] are connected with each other by the first connection portion [b1] and the second connection portion [b2] to form the closed circuit (fig. 2; ¶ 0033-0037; the axially extending paths are connected by circumferentially extending portions).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura discloses the coil assembly as set forth in Claim 1, as stated above, wherein each of the plurality of coils [7,13] has a plurality of turns; and to each of the plurality of turns, there is formed one closed circuit (fig. 2; ¶ 0033-0037; each coil comprises two full turns, each turn comprises both axially and circumferentially extending conductors formed in a closed coil shape).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura discloses the coil assembly as set forth in Claim 1, as stated above, wherein each of the plurality of coils [7,13] has a plurality of turns; and to each of the plurality of coils [7,13], there is formed one closed circuit (fig. 2; ¶ 0033-0037; each coil comprises two full turns, each turn comprises both axially and circumferentially extending conductors formed in a closed coil shape).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura discloses the coil assembly as set forth in Claim 1, as stated above, wherein, to the plurality of coils [7,13], there is formed one closed circuit (fig. 2; ¶ 0033-0037; each coil comprises two full turns, each turn comprises both axially and circumferentially extending conductors formed in a closed coil shape).
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura discloses the coil assembly as set forth in Claim 1, as stated above, wherein axial positions of those parts [b1,b2] in the paths [a1,a2] of the coils [7,13] where the coils [7,13] are folded back from a first side [top] to a second side [bottom] in an axial direction are set to be the same as each other (fig. 2; the coils are overlaid in the radial direction, at the same axial positions); and
axial positions of those parts [b1,b2] in the paths [a1,a2] of the coils [7,13] where the coils [7,13] are folded back from the second side [bottom] to the first side [top] in the axial direction are set to be the same as each other (fig. 2; the coils are overlaid in the radial direction, at the same axial positions).
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura discloses the coil assembly as set forth in Claim 5, as stated above, wherein the number of the coils [7,13] of a same phase is 2n, where n is a natural number (fig. 2; ¶ 0033-0037; two coils are formed, i.e. ‘n’ equals one);
counting the coils [7,13] of the same phase in order from one side to the other side in the circumferential direction, the first and second parts [7,13] of the coil portion at one end of the (2m-1)-th coil are connected with each other via the first connection portion [b1], the first and second parts [7,13] of the coil portion at one end of the 2m-th coil are connected with each other via the second connection portion [b2], and the first and second parts [7,13] of the coil portion at the other end of the (2m-1)-th coil are connected respectively with the first and second parts [7,13] of the coil portion at the other end of the 2m-th coil, where m is a natural number that satisfies m ≤ n (fig. 2; ¶ 0033-037; the connecting portions join the axially-extending portions of each of the two coils, i.e. ‘m’ equals one); and
one closed circuit is formed to every two coils [7,13] of the same phase that are electrically continuous with each other (fig. 2; ¶ 0036; each closed coil is connected via the radially-extending “longitudinal wire 18”).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura discloses an armature [26] comprising the coil assembly as set forth in Claim 1, as stated above (fig. 4; ¶ 0007-0010).
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura discloses a rotating electric machine [27] comprising a stator [26]; and a rotor [21], wherein one of the stator [26] and the rotor [21] includes the armature [26] as set forth in Claim 9, as stated above, and the other of the stator [26] and the rotor [21] has the magnets [21] arranged to radially face the coil assembly (fig. 4; ¶ 0009-0010).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura in view of Takahashi et al. (US 2020/0162003 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Takahashi”.
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura discloses the coil assembly as set forth in Claim 5, as stated above, wherein the number of the coils [7,13] of a same phase is 2n, where n is a natural number (fig. 2; ¶ 0033-0037; two coils are formed, i.e. ‘n’ equals one);
counting the coils [7,13] of the same phase in order from one side to the other side in the circumferential direction, the first and second parts [7,13] of the coil portion at one end of the (2m-1)-th coil are connected with each other via the first connection portion [b1], the first and second parts [7,13] of the coil portion at one end of the 2m-th coil are connected with each other via the second connection portion [b2], and the first and second parts [7,13] of the coil portion at the other end of the (2m-1)-th coil are connected respectively with the first and second parts [7,13] of the coil portion at the other end of the 2m-th coil, where m is a natural number that satisfies m ≤ n (fig. 2; ¶ 0033-037; the connecting portions join the axially-extending portions of each of the two coils, i.e. ‘m’ equals one);
for the (2m-1)-th coil to the 2n-th coil, one closed circuit is formed to every two coils [7,13] of the same phase that are electrically continuous with each other (fig. 2; ¶ 0036; each closed coil is connected via the radially-extending “longitudinal wire 18”).
Nakamura does not disclose the number of coils of a same phase being 2n+1, rather than 2n (i.e. two coils, rather than 3 coils are disclosed); or one closed circuit is formed to the (2n+1)-th coil of one phase and the (2n+1)-th coil of another phase (i.e. only a single phase is disclosed, rather than multiple phases).
Takahashi discloses a coil assembly [51] comprising a number of coils [81] arranged in a number of phases [U,V,W] (fig. 12-15, 19; ¶ 0213, 0261-0262, 0331), wherein the number of the coils [81] of a same phase [U,V,W] is 2n+1, where n is a natural number (fig. 15; ¶ 0288-0293; each phase comprises three circumferentially adjacent and overlapping coils); and
one closed circuit is formed to the (2n+1)-th coil of one phase [U,V,W] and the (2n+1)-th coil of another phase [U,V,W] (fig. 19; ¶ 0331; the coil structures shown in figure 12-15 are duplicated for each of the three phases).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the coil assembly of Nakamura having multiple phases each with three coils per phase as taught by Takahashi, in order to improve the surface magnetic flux density and minimize magnetic saturation of the armature (¶ 0010-0013 of Takahashi).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura discloses the coil assembly as set forth in Claim 1, as stated above, wherein the band member [1] has a plurality of layers in a radial direction (fig. 2; ¶ 0026); and the plurality of coils [7,13] are radially stacked and arranged so that those coils of a given phase which are formed in one layer are aligned in the circumferential direction to those coils [7,13] of the given phase which are formed in another layer (fig. 2; ¶ 0033-0037; both layers of coils are overlaid in the radial direction).
Nakamura does not disclose that the plurality of coils formed in one layer are offset in the circumferential direction from those coils of the given phase which are formed in another layer.
Takahashi discloses a coil assembly [51] comprising a number of coils [81] arranged in a number of phases [U,V,W] (fig. 12-15, 19; ¶ 0213, 0261-0262, 0331), wherein the plurality of coils [81] are radially stacked and arranged so that those coils of a given phase which are formed in one layer are offset in the circumferential direction from those coils of the given phase which are formed in another layer (fig. 15(a); ¶ 0011, 0290-0293; the coils are layered radially and “arranged at given intervals away from each other in the circumferential direction of the armature”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the coil assembly of Nakamura having layers of circumferentially offset coils as taught by Takahashi, in order to improve the surface magnetic flux density and minimize magnetic saturation of the armature (¶ 0010-0013 of Takahashi).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Prior art:
Morita et al. (US 2022/0123616 A1) discloses a motor comprising an armature having a coil assembly formed on a cylindrically wound substrate, with individual coils formed as closed circuits.
Takahashi et al. (US 2021/0328488 A1) discloses a motor comprising an armature having a coil assembly formed on a cylindrical substrate, with individual coils formed as closed circuits stacked radially and circumferentially offset from one another.
Morita et al. (US 2021/0066982 A1) discloses a motor comprising an armature having a coil assembly formed on a cylindrically wound substrate, with individual coils formed as closed circuits.
Graham et al. (US 6,111,329) discloses an armature having a coil assembly formed on a cylindrically wound substrate.
Malsky (US 4,645,961) discloses a dynamoelectric machine comprising an armature having a coil assembly formed on a cylindrically wound substrate, with individual coils formed as closed circuits.
DiMeo (US 4,271,370) discloses a coil assembly formed on a cylindrically wound substrate, with individual coils formed as closed circuits.
Faulhaber (US 3,944,857) discloses an armature having a coil assembly formed on a cylindrically wound substrate.
Conclusion
/Michael Andrews/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834