DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kessel et al (US 10,951,015; hereinafter Kessel).
Regarding claim 1, Kessel discloses a fitting adapter (see figure 9) for a conduit system, the fitting adapter (4’) comprising: a body (see figure 10) having a first end, a second end, a hollow core, a lip, a recess, and a flange (see figure 10); and a gasket (12’) comprising a polymeric material, sized and configured to be received by the body (see figure 10), and having a rim (18’), wherein the recess and the flange are sized and configured to receive the rim (see figure 10), and wherein the fitting adapter (4’) is configured to interact with a conduit (100) or a transition adapter and a conduit body or a device box to form a sealed connection where a conduit or transition adapter (100) is connected to a conduit body or a device box (see figure 7).
Regarding claim 2, Kessel discloses the fitting adapter (see figure 9), wherein the fitting adapter (4’) is sized and configured to allow a first end of the conduit (100) or the transition adapter to pass through the hollow core of the fitting adapter (4’) such that the first end of the conduit or the transition adapter at least partially extend from the second end (see figure 10).
Regarding claim 3, Kessel discloses the fitting adapter (see figure 9), wherein the gasket (12’) is sized and configured to interact and form a sealed connection with the conduit (100) or the transition adapter, and the second end is configured to interact and form a sealed connection with the conduit body or the device box (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, Kessel discloses the fitting adapter (see figure 9), wherein the first end of the body (see figure 10) comprises the lip (see figure 10), the second end of the body comprises the flange, and the flange further comprises a flange surface (see figure 10).
Regarding claim 5, Kessel discloses the fitting adapter (see figure 9), wherein the flange surface (see figure 10) is configured to cover exposed threads of the conduit (100) or the transition adapter (see figure 9).
Regarding claim 6, Kessel discloses the fitting adapter (see figure 9), wherein the flange surface (see figure 10) is further configured to threadably engage 1.5 to 2.5 exposed threads of the conduit (100) or the transition adapter.
Regarding claim 7, Kessel discloses the fitting adapter (see figure 9), wherein the gasket (12’) further comprises at least two rings connected by a center portion (see figure 12).
Regarding claim 8, Kessel discloses the fitting adapter (see figure 9), wherein a first ring of the at least two rings (18’,22’) comprises the rim (see figure 12) and is positioned in the recess (see figures 10-12).
Regarding claim 9, Kessel discloses the fitting adapter (see figure 9), wherein a second ring of the at least two rings (18’,22’) is positioned in the lip (see figures 10-12).
Regarding claim 11, Kessel discloses a conduit system (see figure 9), the conduit system comprising: a conduit (100) or a transition adapter comprising a first end; a conduit body or a device box; and a fitting adapter (4’), the fitting adapter (4’) comprising: a body (see figure 10) having a first end, a second end, a hollow core, a lip, a recess, and a flange (see figure 10); and a gasket (12’) comprising a polymeric material, received by the body (see figure 10), and having a rim (18’), wherein the recess and the flange receive the rim (see figure 10), and wherein the fitting adapter (4’) interacts with the conduit (100) or the transition adapter and the conduit body (100) or the device box to form a sealed connection where the conduit or the transition adapter is connected to the conduit body or the device box (see figures 10 and 11).
Regarding claim 12, Kessel discloses the conduit system (see figure 9), wherein the conduit (100) further comprises a cylindrical body or wherein the transition adapter further comprises a frustoconical body (see figure 7).
Regarding claim 13, Kessel discloses the conduit system (see figure 9), wherein the conduit (100) or the transition adapter comprises exposed threads (see figure 7).
Regarding claim 14, Kessel discloses the conduit system ( see figure 9), wherein the first end of the body (see figure 10) comprises the lip, the second end of the body comprises the flange, and the flange further comprises a flange surface threadably engaged with 1.5 to 2.5 exposed threads (see figure 7) of the conduit (100) or the transition adapter (see figure 7).
Regarding claim 15, Kessel discloses the conduit system (see figure 9), wherein the gasket (12’) further comprises at least two rings (18’,22’) connected by a center portion (14; see figure 12), a first ring of the at least two rings (18’,22’) comprises the rim (18’) and is positioned in the recess (see figures 10-12), a second ring (22’) of the at least two rings is positioned in the lip (see figures 10-12), and the gasket (14’) is sealingly engaged with the conduit (100) or the transition adapter.
Regarding claim 16, Kessel discloses a method of connecting a conduit (100) or transition adapter to a fitting adapter (4’) and a conduit body or device box, the method comprising: providing a fitting adapter (4’), the fitting adapter (4’) comprising: a body (see figure 10) having a first end, a second end, a hollow core, a lip, a recess, and a flange (see figure 10); and a gasket (12’) comprising a polymeric material, sized and configured to be received by the body (see figure 12), and having a rim (18’), wherein the recess and the flange are sized and configured to receive the rim (see figure 10), and inserting a first end of a conduit (100) or a transition adapter into the fitting adapter (4’) such that the first end of the conduit (100) or transition adapter extends through the second end of the fitting adapter (4’); and connecting the first end of the conduit (100) or transition adapter into a conduit body or a device box such that a sealed connection is made where the conduit or transition adapter is connected to a conduit body or a device box (see figures 10-12).
Regarding claim 17, Kessel discloses the method, wherein the first end of the conduit (100) or the transition adapter has exposed threads (see figure 7) and all exposed threads are covered by the conduit body or the device box, the fitting adapter, or a combination thereof (see figures 7-9).
Regarding claim 18, Kessel discloses the method (see figure 9), wherein the first end of the body (see figure 9) comprises the lip, the second end of the body comprises the flange, and the flange further comprises a flange surface (see figures 9 and 10).
Regarding claim 19, Kessel discloses the method (see figure 9), wherein the flange surface threadably engages 1.5 to 2.5 exposed threads of the conduit (100) or the transition adapter (see figure 8).
Regarding claim 20, Kessel discloses the method (see figure 9), wherein the gasket (12’) interacts and forms a sealed connection with the conduit (100) or the transition adapter, and the second end interacts and forms a sealed connection with the conduit body or the device box (see figures 9-10).
3. Claims 1-4, 7-12, 15, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McWane (US 2,245,154).
Regarding claim 1, McWane discloses a fitting adapter (see figure 3) for a conduit system, the fitting adapter (18) comprising: a body (see figure 3) having a first end, a second end, a hollow core, a lip, a recess, and a flange (see figure 3); and a gasket (14) comprising a polymeric material, sized and configured to be received by the body (see figure 3), and having a rim (see figure 3), wherein the recess and the flange are sized and configured to receive the rim (see figure 3), and wherein the fitting adapter (see figure 3) is configured to interact with a conduit (19 or 21) or a transition adapter and a conduit body or a device box to form a sealed connection where a conduit or transition adapter (19 or 21) is connected to a conduit body or a device box (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 2, McWane discloses the fitting adapter (see figure 3), wherein the fitting adapter (see figure 3) is sized and configured to allow a first end of the conduit (19 or 21) or the transition adapter to pass through the hollow core of the fitting adapter (see figure 3) such that the first end of the conduit or the transition adapter at least partially extend from the second end (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, McWane discloses the fitting adapter (see figure 3), wherein the gasket (14) is sized and configured to interact and form a sealed connection with the conduit (19 or 21) or the transition adapter, and the second end is configured to interact and form a sealed connection with the conduit body or the device box (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, McWane discloses the fitting adapter (see figure 3), wherein the first end of the body (see figure 3) comprises the lip (see figure 3), the second end of the body comprises the flange, and the flange further comprises a flange surface (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, McWane discloses the fitting adapter (see figure 3), wherein the gasket (14) further comprises at least two rings (see figure 3) connected by a center portion (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, McWane discloses the fitting adapter (see figure 3), wherein a first ring of the at least two rings (see figure 3) comprises the rim (see figure 3) and is positioned in the recess (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 9, McWane discloses the fitting adapter (see figure 3), wherein a second ring of the at least two rings (see figure 3) is positioned in the lip (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 10, McWane discloses the fitting adapter (see figure 3), wherein the fitting adapter (see figure 3) further comprises a second gasket (14; see figure 3) and the second gasket is positioned at the second end of the body (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 11, McWane discloses a conduit system (see figure 3), the conduit system comprising: a conduit (19 or 21) or a transition adapter comprising a first end; a conduit body or a device box; and a fitting adapter (18), the fitting adapter (18) comprising: a body (see figure 3) having a first end, a second end, a hollow core, a lip, a recess, and a flange (see figure 3); and a gasket (14) comprising a polymeric material, received by the body (see figure 3), and having a rim, wherein the recess and the flange receive the rim (see figure 3), and wherein the fitting adapter (18) interacts with the conduit (19 or 21) or the transition adapter and the conduit body (19 or 21) or the device box to form a sealed connection where the conduit or the transition adapter is connected to the conduit body or the device box (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 12, McWane discloses the conduit system (see figure 3), wherein the conduit (19 or 21) further comprises a cylindrical body or wherein the transition adapter further comprises a frustoconical body (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 15, McWane discloses the conduit system (see figure 3), wherein the gasket (14) further comprises at least two rings connected by a center portion (see figures 3 and 4), a first ring of the at least two rings comprises the rim and is positioned in the recess (see figures 3 and 4), a second ring of the at least two rings is positioned in the lip (see figures 3 and 4), and the gasket (14) is sealingly engaged with the conduit (19 or 21) or the transition adapter.
Regarding claim 16, McWane discloses a method of connecting a conduit (19 or 21) or transition adapter to a fitting adapter (18) and a conduit body or device box, the method comprising: providing a fitting adapter (18), the fitting adapter (18) comprising: a body (see figure 3) having a first end, a second end, a hollow core, a lip, a recess, and a flange (see figure 3); and a gasket (14) comprising a polymeric material, sized and configured to be received by the body (see figure 3), and having a rim, wherein the recess and the flange are sized and configured to receive the rim (see figures 3 and 4), and inserting a first end of a conduit (19 or 21) or a transition adapter into the fitting adapter (18) such that the first end of the conduit (19 or 21) or transition adapter extends through the second end of the fitting adapter (18); and connecting the first end of the conduit (19 or 21) or transition adapter into a conduit body or a device box such that a sealed connection is made where the conduit or transition adapter is connected to a conduit body or a device box (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 18, McWane discloses the method (see figure 3), wherein the first end of the body (see figure 3) comprises the lip, the second end of the body comprises the flange, and the flange further comprises a flange surface (see figures 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 20, McWane discloses the method (see figure 3), wherein the gasket (14) interacts and forms a sealed connection with the conduit (19 or 21) or the transition adapter, and the second end interacts and forms a sealed connection with the conduit body or the device box (see figures 3 and 4).
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wolff (US 7,182,372), Nattel (US 4,692,561), Bram (US 3,236,528), Haugen et al (US 2,953,398), Bowan et al (US 2,735,700) and Larson (US 11,774,022) disclose a fitting adapter.
March 4, 2026
/ANGEL R ESTRADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841