DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 01/23/2026. Claims 1-27 are pending in this Office Action.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Remark
In the response filed 01/23/2026, claims 1, 12, and 23 have been amended, no claim has been cancelled, and no new claim has been added.
Applicant has requested deferral for responding to the double patenting rejection until allowable subject matter has been determined. The prior double patenting rejection is maintained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to amended claims 1, 12 and 23 that the cited references, Baron and Bose, do not disclose the amended limitation of “when the data includes connection parameters associated with a previous connection, establishing the connection based on the connection parameters; and when the data does not include connection parameters associated with a previous connection, generating the connection parameters for the connection and storing the connection parameters in the memory” have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection over the new reference Iko, US 2015/0201330.
The new combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko discloses or at least suggests all the limitations of amended claims 1, 12, and 23.
Double Patenting
See the previous non-final Office Action mailed 05/06/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, 12, 13, 15-18, 21, and 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baron et al., US 2018/0152977 (Baron, hereafter) in view of Bose et al., US 2023/0229461 (Bose, hereafter) and further in view of Iko, US 2015/0201330.
Regarding claim 1,
Baron discloses a system comprising:
at least one processor operatively connected to a memory, the at least one processor, when executing (See Baron: at least Fig. 8 and para 89), is configured
to:
receive data relating to a data source and data sink, wherein the data
source is a boundless data source (See Baron: at least Fig. 1-2, Fig. 4-6, para 4-5, 49, and 76-77, receiving data relating to source, sink, and communication preferences or settings); and
establish, based on the received data relating to the data source and data sink, a connection between the data source and the data sink (See Baron: at least Fig. 1-2, Fig. 4-6, para 4-5, 49, and 76-77).
Although, Baron discloses receiving streaming data from a source and storing it in a sink, Baron does not explicitly teach receive event data from the data source; process the event data on an event-by-event basis; and land the processed event data into the data sink.
On the other hand, Bose discloses receiving event data, process and transform each event, and send the processed event to a sink (See Bose: at least Fig. 1, Fig. 2B, Fig. 5, para 50-51, 78, 80, 103, 120, and 134). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the teachings of Baron with Bose’s teaching in order to implement above function with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve functionality of the method by allowing the system to process event data, transform, and enrich event data prior to sending the event to data to a data sink.
The combination of Baron and Bose discloses the limitations as stated above
including establishing a connection between a node and a sink node based on stored preference data (See Baron: at least Fig. 6 and para 70-71). However, it does not explicitly teach when the data includes connection parameters associated with a previous connection, establishing the connection based on the connection parameters; and when the data does not include connection parameters associated with a previous connection, generating the connection parameters for the connection and storing the connection parameters in the memory.
On the other hand, Iko discloses determining whether there is history of previous information of a network connection, if there is then read the stored network parameters and establish a connection (See Iko: at least Fig. 7, para 124, 125, and 128) which reads on the limitation of when the data includes connection parameters associated with a previous connection, establishing the connection based on the connection parameters.
Iko further discloses determining if there is not exist history of previous information of stored network parameter, then “generate network parameter”, establish a connection, and storing the network parameters (See Iko: at least Fig. 4A-C, Fig. 7, para 124, 125, and 128) which reads on the limitation of when the data does not include connection parameters associated with a previous connection, generating the connection parameters for the connection and storing the connection parameters in the memory.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the teachings of the combination of Baron and Bose with Iko’s teaching in order to implement above function with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve functionality of the method and save the user the trouble of inputting network information and connection parameters again.
Regarding claim 4,
the combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko discloses wherein the data relating to the data source and data sink comprises one or more connection strings associated with the data source and/or data sink (See Baron: at least Fig. 1-2, Fig. 4-6, para 4-6, 49, and 76-77, the communication preferences or setting such as paths could be in form of strings of characters).
Regarding claim 5,
the combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko discloses wherein the data relating to the data source and data sink further comprises credentials for the data source and data sink (See Baron: at least 57 and 76-77, controlling the data by implementing authorization and authentication of devices).
Regarding claim 6,
the combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko discloses wherein the data relating to the data source and data sink is received from a connection registry configured to store connection strings and metadata associated with the data source and the data sink (See Baron: at least 4, 47, and 76-77, the communication preferences data and configuration (i.e., metadata) could be stored in a storage/registry).
Regarding claim 7,
the combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to process the event data by performing one or more database operations on the event data prior to landing the event data into the data sink (See Baron: at least Fig. 1, para 24, 28, 33, 49, 72-78, 108, and 141).
Regarding claim 8,
the combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko discloses wherein the one or more
database operations comprise one or more of monitoring, timestamping, windowing, and/or checkpointing (See Baron: at least Fig. 1, para 33, 49, 108, 120,
and 141, for example windowing (para 120)).
Regarding claim 9,
the combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko discloses wherein the one or more database operations comprise aggregation operations including at least one of: comparisons of the event data, string manipulations of the event data, expression matching of the event data, and/or calculation of metrics of grouped data of the event data (See Baron: at least Fig. 1, para 24, 28, 33, 49, 72-78, 108, 120, and 141, aggregation operation based on time window).
Regarding claim 12,
Baron discloses a system comprising:
at least one processor operatively connected to a memory, the at least one processor, when executing (See Baron: at least Fig. 8 and para 89), is configured to:
receive data relating to a data source and data sink (See Baron: at least Fig.
1-2, Fig. 4-6, para 4-5, 49, and 76-77, receiving data relating to source, sink, and
communication preferences or settings); and
establish, based on the received data relating to the data source and data sink, a connection between the data source and each data sink (See Baron: at least Fig. 1-2, Fig. 4-6, para 4-5, 49, and 76-77).
Although, Baron discloses receiving streaming data from a source and storing it
in sink, Baron does not explicitly teach a plurality of data sinks; receive event data from the data source; process the event data on an event-by-event basis; land the processed event data into one of the plurality of data sinks; and merge the processed event data from each data sink of the plurality of data sinks into a
collection.
On the other hand, Bose discloses a plurality of sinks, receiving event data, process and transform each event, and send the processed event to a sink (See Bose: at least Fig. 1, Fig. 2B, Fig. 5, para 50-51, 78, 80, 103, 120, and 134). Bose further discloses aggregating the outputs of the data sinks into a collection (See Bose: at least Fig., 1, para 28, 120, and 134).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the teachings of Baron with Bose’s teaching in order to implement above function with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve functionality of the method by allowing the system to process event data, transform, and enrich event data prior to sending the event to data to a data sink.
The combination of Baron and Bose discloses the limitations as stated above including establishing a connection between a node and a sink node based on stored preference data (See Baron: at least Fig. 6 and para 70-71). However, it does not explicitly teach when the data includes connection parameters associated with a previous connection, establishing the connection based on the connection parameters; and when the data does not include connection parameters associated with a previous connection, generating the connection parameters for
the connection and storing the connection parameters in the memory.
On the other hand, Iko discloses determining whether there is history of previous information of a network connection, if there is then read the stored network parameters and establish a connection (See Iko: at least Fig. 7, para 124, 125, and 128) which reads on the limitation of when the data includes connection parameters associated with a previous connection, establishing the connection based on the connection parameters.
Iko further discloses determining if there is not exist history of previous information of stored network parameter, then “generate network parameter”, establish a connection, and storing the network parameters (See Iko: at least Fig. 4A-C, Fig. 7, para 124, 125, and 128) which reads on the limitation of when the data does not include connection parameters associated with a previous connection, generating the connection parameters for the connection and storing the connection parameters in the memory.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the teachings of the combination of Baron and Bose with Iko’s teaching in order to implement above function with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve functionality of the method and save the user the trouble of inputting network
information and connection parameters again.
Regarding claim 13,
the combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko discloses wherein the collection is a
database configured to store processed event data from each data sink of the
plurality of data sinks (See Bose: at least Fig. 1, Fig. 2B, Fig. 5, para 50-51, 78, 80, 103, 120, and 134).
Regarding claim 15,
the combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko discloses wherein data relating to the data source and the plurality of data sinks comprise one or more connection strings associated with the data source and/or plurality of data sinks (See Baron: at least Fig. 1-2, Fig. 4-6, para 4-6, 49, 76-77, and 103).
Regarding claim 16,
the combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko discloses wherein the data relating to the data source and the plurality of data sinks further comprises credentials for the data source and data sink (See Baron: at least 57, 76-77, and 103).
Regarding claim 17,
the combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko discloses wherein the data relating to the data source and the plurality of data sinks is received from a connection registry configured to store connection strings and metadata associated with the data source and the plurality of data sinks (See Baron: at least 4, 47, 76-77, and 103).
Regarding claim 18,
the combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko discloses wherein the at least one
processor is configured to process the event data by performing one or more database operations on the event data prior to landing the event data into one of
the plurality of data sinks (See Baron: at least Fig. 1, para 24, 28, 33, 49, 72-78, 103,
108, and 141).
Regarding claim 21,
the combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko discloses wherein event data is received from the data source at a stream rate of 100,000 events per second or higher (Baron discloses a transmission rate (at least para 77). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to stream rate of 100,000 event per second or higher, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
Regarding claims 23-27,
the scopes of the claims are substantially the same as claims 1, 4, 6, 7, and 9, respectively, and are rejected on the same basis as set forth for the rejections of claims 1, 4, 6, 7, and 9, respectively.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baron et al., US 2018/0152977 in view of Bose et al., US 2023/0229461 further in view of Iko, US 2015/0201330 and further in view of EL Hattami, US 2024/0330595.
The combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko discloses processing event data. However, it does not explicitly teach wherein the processing of the event data comprises serializing the event data into Binary Javascript Object Notation (BSON).
On the other hand, El Hattami disclose serializing event data using BSON (See El Hattami: at least para 13 and 57). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the teachings of the combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko with El Hattami’s teaching in order to implement above function with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve processing event data by translating event data state into a format that can be stored or transmitted and reconstructed later.
Claims 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baron et al., US 2018/0152977 in view of Bose et al., US 2023/0229461 further in view of Iko, US 2015/0201330 and further in view of Chen et al., US 11,113,244 (Chen, hereafter).
Regarding claim 10,
the combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko discloses operations performed on event data. However, it does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more database
operations comprise compressing the event data.
On the other hand, Chen discloses compressing event data (See Chen: at least 1:63 to 2:4 and 16:31-34). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the teachings of the combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko with Chen’s teaching in order to implement above function with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve data transmission by reducing the size of data to be sent.
Regarding claim 14,
the combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko discloses operations performed on event data. However, it does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to process the event data by compressing the event data prior to
landing and merging the processed event data into the database.
On the other hand, Chen discloses compressing event data (See Chen: at least
1:63 to 2:4 and 16:31-34). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill
in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the teachings of
the combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko with Chen’s teaching in order to implement above function with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve data transmission by reducing the size of data to be sent.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baron et al., US 2018/0152977 in view of Bose et al., US 2023/0229461 further in view of Iko, US 2015/0201330 and further in view of Jasper et al., US 2024/0160720 (Jasper, hereafter).
The combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko discloses operations performed on event data. However, it does not explicitly teach process the event data by comparing the event data to reference data to identify whether the event data is fraudulent, and push the event data to a processing system configured to further process the event data is the event data is identified as fraudulent.
On the other hand, Jasper discloses identifying anomaly in the event data by comparing to data patterns and further processing the anomalous event data (See Jasper: at least para 5, 16, 45, 51, and 52). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the teachings of the combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko with Jasper’s teaching in order to implement above function with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for
doing so would have been to improve security and integrity of data.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baron et al., US 2018/0152977 in view of Bose et al., US 2023/0229461 further in view of Iko, US 2015/0201330 and further in view of Noh et al., US 2024/0111611 (Noh, hereafter).
Regarding claim 19,
the combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko discloses to land the processed event data in the data sink of the plurality of data sinks associated with the application (See Bose: at least Fig. 1, Fig. 2B, Fig. 5, para 50-51, 78, 80, 103, 120, and 134). However, it does not explicitly teach processing the event data by creating a view of the event data to be used by an application.
On the other hand, Noh discloses creating a view by converting event information according to a schema define by an application (See Noh: at least para 65 and 75). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the teachings of the combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko with Noh’s teaching in order to implement above function with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve integrity and conformity of event data.
Regarding claim 20,
the combination of Baron, Bose, and Noh discloses wherein creating the view of the event data to be used by the application comprises determining a schema associated with the application, and reformatting the event data to fit the schema
(See Noh: at least para 65 75).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baron et al., US 2018/0152977 in view of Bose et al., US 2023/0229461 further in view of Iko, US 2015/0201330 and further in view of Kampmann et al., US 2008/0256091 (Kampmann, hereafter).
The combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko discloses a transmission rate. However, it does not explicitly teach to process the event data received at a same rate as the stream rate.
On the other hand, Kampmann discloses processing data elements at a rate matching a predetermined rate of stream (See Kampmann: at least para 86). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the teachings of the combination of Baron, Bose, and Iko with Kampmann’s teaching in order to implement above function with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve control data transmission according to transmission bandwidth.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Goto, US 2016/0174119 disclosing a communication apparatus that performs wireless communication using a first communication system and a second communication system includes a determining unit that determines an operation mode selected from a first operation mode and a second operation mode, the first operation mode being an operation which is used in the second communication system and in which the communication apparatus communicates with a different communication apparatus in a wireless network created by the communication apparatus, the second operation mode being an operation which is used in the second communication system and in which the communication apparatus communicates with the different communication apparatus in a wireless network created by an external apparatus, and a storing unit that stores information, based on the selected operation mode, used to establish a connection with one of the wireless networks.
Wang et al., US 2013/0174238 disclosing a method include detecting when a sink device connects to a communication interface and in response to detecting a connected sink device, activating a sink device authentication protocol which authenticates whether the connected sink device is an approved sink device for connecting via the communication interface. The source device determines a level of authentication of the connected sink device from among a first-level authentication and a second-level authentication based on first and second authentication components, respectively derived from different master keys, which affects the type of content provided to the sink device. Responsive to the level of authentication provided through the connected sink device, modifying the content transmitted to the connected sink device, and preventing transfer of any content from the source device to the sink device in response to the sink device not being authenticated.
Points of Contact
/Hares Jami/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2162
03/24/2026