DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Transport device in claim 1, disclosed as a conveyor belt 101 in Fig. 1;
Labeling unit in claim 1, disclosed as a label dispenser 105 in Fig 1 and ¶ 34-35.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 10-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heide et al. (DE 102005010466).
As to claim 1, Heide discloses an apparatus for labeling packs filled with a product. Heide discloses that the apparatus comprises of: a transport device 7 with a holder 10 that has a depression placing an object/pack, wherein the holder has boundary surfaces on at least two sides of the depression, and a labeling unit/dispenser 17 capable of placing a label upon an object in said depression (Fig. 2 below).
Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969).
A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Here, the apparatus of Heide contains all of the structural limitations of claim 1.
As to claim 2, the apparatus of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Heide discloses that the boundary surfaces are arranged in a transverse direction relative to the direction of transport of the transport device (Id).
As to claim 3, the apparatus of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Heide discloses that the labeling unit 17 is capable of moving in a transport direction as the label is applied to the pack, moving from a down position back to an up position as the label is taken by the object (Id; ¶23, 31).
As to claim 4, the apparatus of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Heide discloses that the transport device comprises of a plurality of holders, said holders having respective depressions and boundary surfaces (Fig. 2).
As to claim 5, the apparatus of claim 4 is taught as seen above. Heide discloses that adjacent depressions are separated by boundary surfaces.
As to claim 7, the apparatus of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Heide discloses that the transport device comprises a conveyor belt, and wherein the boundary surfaces are arranged on the conveyor belt and the depression is defined at least in part by the boundary surfaces and the conveyor belt (Fig. 2).
As to claim 10, Heide discloses a method for labeling packs filled with a product (product enclosed in casing) using a labeling device, the labeling device comprising a transport device 7 for transporting packs along a direction of transport and a labeling unit 17 for applying labels onto the packs, the transport device comprising a holder 10 with a depression, for receiving a pack with a product, and boundary surfaces on at least two sides of the depression, wherein the depression and the boundary surfaces are arranged such that the pack with the product can be arranged in the depression and a pack component of the pack on at least one of the boundary surfaces, and wherein the method comprises applying a label onto the pack while the product is arranged in the depression (Fig. 1).
Claims 11-14 and 16 are rejected for the same reasons as claims 2-5 and 7 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heide et al. (DE 102005010466) in view of House et al. (US 6073423).
As to claim 8, the apparatus of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Heide fails to specifically teach or disclose that the boundary surfaces/holders are connected in a detachable manner to the conveyor belt. House discloses that it is known and conventional in the art of conveying to use transport holders which are detachable from a conveyor (C3,L20-23). House further discloses that transport holders may also be not attachable from a conveyor (C6, L60-67). A person of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading House, would have recognized that detachable holders is one of a finite number of holders known to be useful for use with a conveyor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to try a detachable holder, as is known in the art as evidenced by House, in the apparatus of Heide because a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. “A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but or ordinary skill and common sense." KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 17, the method of claim 10 is taught as seen above. Claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 8 above.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Heide et al. (DE 102005010466).
As to claim 9, the apparatus of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Heidi appears to show that the individual holders 10 have a depression that is longer in the cross-direction relative to the machine/transport direction (Fig. 3 below). In the alternative, it would have been obvious to size and shape the depression of the holders as needed because claim limitations related to size and/or shape are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
As to claim 18, the method of claim 10 is taught as seen above. Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 9 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 6 and 10, the closest prior art of Heide et al. (DE 102005010466) fails to teach or disclose that the apparatus/method may include a pressing member for pressing a pack of product upstream of the labeling station in the labeling apparatus/method and it would not be obvious to modify the apparatus/method of Heide to include such a pressing member/step as recited in claims 6 and 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Capitani (US 10435186) discloses a device/method for packaging materials with labels and Young (US 3491504) discloses a device/method for vacuum skin packaging.
/CHRISTOPHER C CAILLOUET/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745