DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Transport device in claim 1, disclosed as a conveyor belt 101 in Fig. 1;
Labeling unit in claim 1, disclosed as a label dispenser 105 in Fig 1 and ¶ 34-35.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heide et al. (DE 102005010466).
As to claim 19, Heide discloses an apparatus for labeling packs filled with a product. Heide discloses that the apparatus comprises of: a transport device 7 with a holder 10 that has a depression placing an object/pack, wherein the holder has boundary surfaces on at least two sides of the depression, and a labeling unit/dispenser 17 capable of placing a label upon an object in said depression in a direction parallel to the direction of transport (Fig. 2 below). Heide discloses that the boundary surfaces are arranged in a transverse direction relative to the direction of transport of the transport device (Id). Heide discloses that the transport device comprises of a plurality of holders, said holders having respective depressions and boundary surfaces (Fig. 2).
Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969).
A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Here, the apparatus of Heide contains all of the structural limitations of claim 19.
As to claim 20, the apparatus of claim 19 is taught as seen above. Heide discloses that the transport device comprises of a plurality of holders, said holders having respective depressions and boundary surfaces (Fig. 2).
As to claim 21, the apparatus of claim 20 is taught as seen above. Heide discloses that adjacent depressions are separated by boundary surfaces (Id).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5, 7-14 and 16-18 are allowed.
Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As to claims 1 and 10, the closest prior art of Heide et al. (DE 102005010466) fails to teach or disclose that the apparatus/method may include a pressing member for pressing a pack of product upstream of the labeling station in the labeling apparatus/method and it would not be obvious to modify the apparatus/method of Heide to include such a pressing member/step as recited in claims 1 and 10.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 21, the closest prior art of Heide et al. (DE 102005010466) fails to teach or disclose that the apparatus/method may include a pressing member for pressing a pack of product upstream of the labeling station in the labeling apparatus/method and it would not be obvious to modify the apparatus/method of Heide to include such a pressing member/step as recited in claims 6 and 10.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 7-8 that Heide fails to teach or disclose that the labeling unit is configured to apply labels in a direction parallel to the direction of transport as currently claimed. This argument is not persuasive since, as seen in the rejection above, Heide discloses that a label may be moved in a direction parallel to the transport direction to be placed in the path of a material/package being transported. As stated in the rejection above, materials worked upon and a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER C CAILLOUET/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745