DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Und (DE 202008013119 U1)(English Translated).
In Regards to Claim 1:
Und teaches a connector cap (1) comprising:
a socket portion (See Reproduced Drawing 1) at least partially defining a first recess (See Reproduced Drawing 1), the socket portion (See Reproduced Drawing 1) configured to interlock with a plug end (See Reproduced Drawing 2) of a first device to position at least part of the plug end (See Reproduced Drawing 2) of the first device within the first recess (See Reproduced Drawing 1); a plug portion (38) configured to mate with a socket end (76) of a second device to interlock the plug portion (38) and the socket end (76) of the second device and to position at least part of the plug portion (38) within an inner volume of the socket end (76) of the second device; and a wall (See Reproduced Drawing 1) connected to the socket portion (See Reproduced Drawing 1) and the plug portion (38), the wall further defining the first recess (See Reproduced Drawing 1), wherein the wall (See Reproduced Drawing 1), the socket portion (See Reproduced Drawing 1), and the plug portion (38) are configured to electrically isolate the plug end (See Reproduced Drawing 2) of the first device from the socket end (76) of the second device when the first device and the second device are interlocked with the connector cap (1). (Description, solar panels will be installed on rooftops or specially designed ones shallow Holding racks arranged for first and second device)
In Regards to Claim 2:
Und teaches the connector cap of claim 1 further comprising a plurality of projections (See Reproduced Drawing 1) sized and positioned so as to interlock the plug end (See Reproduced Drawing 2) of the first device and the socket portion (See Reproduced Drawing 1) to prevent the plug end (See Reproduced Drawing 2) of the first device from unintentionally disconnecting from the connector cap (1).
In Regards to Claim 3:
Und teaches the connector cap of claim 2, wherein the plurality of projections (See Reproduced Drawing 1) define a plurality of hook openings (See Reproduced Drawing 1) configured to receive hook portions (36a) of the plug end (See Reproduced Drawing 2) of the first device.
In Regards to Claim 4:
Und teaches the connector cap of claim 1, wherein a diameter of the first recess (See Reproduced Drawing 1) decreases as the first recess (See Reproduced Drawing 1) extends towards the wall (See Reproduced Drawing 1).
In Regards to Claim 5:
Und teaches the connector cap of claim 1, wherein the plug portion (38) defines a second recess (See Reproduced Drawing 1) comprising a uniform diameter along a length of the second recess (See Reproduced Drawing 1).
In Regards to Claim 6:
Und teaches the connector cap of claim 5, wherein the second recess (See Reproduced Drawing 1) is sized and positioned to connect to the inner volume of the socket end (76) of the second device to form a contiguous volume.
In Regards to Claim 7:
Und teaches the connector cap of claim 1, wherein the plug portion (38) defines a ring recess configured to receive an O-ring (42) such that the O-ring contacts an inner surface of the socket end (76) of the second device to prevent exposure of the inner volume of the socket end (76) of the second device to dirt or other environmental elements.
In Regards to Claim 8:
Und teaches the connector cap of claim 1, wherein the plug portion (38) comprises a protrusion (same as second recess) and a plurality of prongs (36) extending from the wall (See Reproduced Drawing 1), the plurality of prongs (36) configured to interlock with the socket end (76) of the second device.
In Regards to Claim 9:
Und teaches the connector cap of claim 1, wherein the socket portion (See Reproduced Drawing 1), the plug portion (38), and the wall (See Reproduced Drawing 1) comprise a single unitary piece of material.
In Regards to Claim 11:
Und teaches a system (Fig. 1) comprising:
a first device comprising a plug end (See Reproduced Drawing 2); a second device comprising a socket end (76); and a connector cap (1) comprising:
a socket portion (See Reproduced Drawing 1) at least partially defining a first recess (See Reproduced Drawing 1), the socket portion (See Reproduced Drawing 1) configured to interlock with a plug end (See Reproduced Drawing 2) of a first device to position at least part of the plug end (See Reproduced Drawing 2) of the first device within the first recess (See Reproduced Drawing 1); a plug portion (38) configured to mate with a socket end (76) of a second device to interlock the plug portion (38) and the socket end (76) of the second device and to position at least part of the plug portion (38) within an inner volume of the socket end (76) of the second device; and a wall (See Reproduced Drawing 1) connected to the socket portion (See Reproduced Drawing 1) and the plug portion (38), the wall (See Reproduced Drawing 1) further defining the first recess (See Reproduced Drawing 1), wherein the wall (See Reproduced Drawing 1), the socket portion (See Reproduced Drawing 1), and the plug portion (38) are configured to electrically isolate the plug end (See Reproduced Drawing 2) of the first device from the socket end (76) of the second device when the first device and the second device are interlocked with the connector cap (1).
In Regards to Claim 12:
Und teaches the system of claim 11 further comprising a plurality of projections (See Reproduced Drawing 1) sized and positioned so as to interlock the plug end (See Reproduced Drawing 2) of the first device and the socket portion (See Reproduced Drawing 1) to prevent the plug end (See Reproduced Drawing 2) of the first device from unintentionally disconnecting from the connector cap (1).
In Regards to Claim 13:
Und teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the plurality of projections (See Reproduced Drawing 1) define a plurality of hook openings (See Reproduced Drawing 1) configured to receive hook portions (36a) of the plug end (See Reproduced Drawing 2) of the first device.
In Regards to Claim 14:
Und teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the plug portion defines a second recess (See Reproduced Drawing 1) comprising a uniform diameter along a length of the second recess (See Reproduced Drawing 1).
In Regards to Claim 15:
Und teaches the system of claim 14, wherein the second recess (See Reproduced Drawing 1) is sized and positioned to connect to the inner volume of the second device to form a contiguous volume.
In Regards to Claim 16:
Und teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the plug portion (38) defines a ring recess configured to receive an O-ring (42) such that the O-ring contacts an inner surface of the socket end (76) of the second device to prevent exposure of the inner volume of the socket end (76) of the second device to dirt or other environmental elements.
In Regards to Claim 17:
Und teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the plug portion (38) comprises a protrusion and a plurality of prongs (36) extending from the wall (See Reproduced Drawing 1), the plurality of prongs (36) configured to interlock with the socket end (76) of the second device.
In Regards to Claim 18:
Und teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the socket portion (See Reproduced Drawing 1), the plug portion (38), and the wall (See Reproduced Drawing 1) comprise a single unitary piece of material.
In Regards to Claim 19:
Und teaches the system of claim 11, wherein a depth of the first recess (See Reproduced Drawing 1) is sized such that a conductor of the plug end (See Reproduced Drawing 2) of the first device is at least partially positioned within the first recess (See Reproduced Drawing 1) when the first device is interlocked with the connector cap (1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Und (DE 202008013119 U1)(English Translated).
In Regards to Claim 10:
All claim limitations are discussed with respect to Claim 1, Und does not teach wherein the connector cap is compatible with Multi-Contact (MC) 4 connectors.
Becavin teaches wherein the connector cap (Fig. 1) is compatible with Multi-Contact (MC) 4 connectors (2 and 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use Becavin's teaching of the use of the multi-contact as a modification in the connector in order to improve a connection assembly comprising two complementary connectors, in particular multi-contact connectors, such as the assembly sold under the trade name Amphenol-Air LB--Series 1900, in particular in order to fit it with a cap for locking the connectors together and with a polarizing system at only one lateral end, but with the possibility of coding on a large number of combinations. (Becavin, Paragraph 05).
In Regards to Claim 20:
All claim limitations are discussed with respect to Claim 11, Und does not teach wherein the connector cap is compatible with Multi-Contact (MC) 4 connectors.
Becavin teaches wherein the connector cap (Fig. 1) is compatible with Multi-Contact (MC) 4 connectors (2 and 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use Becavin's teaching of the use of the multi-contact as a modification in the connector in order to improve a connection assembly comprising two complementary connectors, in particular multi-contact connectors, such as the assembly sold under the trade name Amphenol-Air LB--Series 1900, in particular in order to fit it with a cap for locking the connectors together and with a polarizing system at only one lateral end, but with the possibility of coding on a large number of combinations. (Becavin, Paragraph 05).
Conclusion
/NADER J ALHAWAMDEH/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831