DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-16 and 18-21 are pending and have been examined in this application. As of the date of this application, the Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 10/02/2024 has/have been taken into account.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 05/07/2026, the following has occurred: Claims 1, 8-9, 11, and 13 have been amended; No claims have been canceled; Claim 21 has been added. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-16 and 18-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Additionally the amendments have overcome the objections and 112 rejection set forth in the previous action.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the prior art fails to explicitly disclose a stud, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
And regardless of the fact that a grounding stud is not a positively recited element, applicant’s argument that “Baek does not disclose or suggest the fastening holes 112 and 122 receiving a stud (e.g., a post or protrusion) of the connecting members 110 and 120” is not persuasive because the bolts disclosed by Baek can be interpreted as a grounding stud of a cable management system as it is a post or protrusion that helps establish electrical continuity. However, as this is not positively recited, a sidewall that has a slot which can receive a fastener reads on the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “a slot configured to receive a ground stud of a cable management system to electrically couple the plurality of sidewalls to the cable management system”. – It is unclear if the cable management system being referenced in this limitation is the first or second system claimed earlier or a separate system.
Claims 12-16 and 19-20 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-12, 14-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 2006-0057686) in view of Baek (KR 2015-0102277).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses a cable transition system comprising: a plurality of sidewalls (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; S1, S2) and a top wall (Lee: Fig. 1; 110) configured to couple to and extend between the plurality of sidewalls to: at least partially define a first volume (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; volume formed by P1 and P3) extending along a first plane and the first volume is configured to route a part of a cable along the first plane; at least partially define a second volume (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; volume formed by P2 and P4) extending along a second plane that is non-parallel to the first plane and the second volume is configured to route a part of the cable along the second plane; and at least partially define a transition volume (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; volume formed by B1 and B2) connected to the first volume and the second volume and the transition volume is configured to route a part of the cable between the first volume and the second volume to permit the cable to extend along the first plane and the second plane.
Lee fails to disclose the plurality of sidewalls defining a slot configured to receive a ground stud of a cable management system to electrically couple the plurality of the sidewalls to the cable management system. However, Baek teaches a plurality of sidewalls (Baek: Fig. 5a-5b; 111, 121) defining a slot (Baek: Fig. 5a-5b; 112, 122) configured to receive a ground stud of a cable management system to electrically couple the plurality of the sidewalls to the cable management system.
Lee and Baek are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. cable supports. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidewalls in Lee with the slots from Baek, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a means for firmly connecting ends of the sidewalls to separate cable tray extension such that it maintains grounding continuity without requiring a jumper (Baek: [0023], [0040]), thereby increasing the safety of the assembly.
Regarding Claim 2, Lee as modified, teaches the cable transition system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sidewalls (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; S1, S2) are configured to engage with a first surface extending along the first plane and to engage with a second surface extending along the second plane.
Regarding Claim 3, Lee as modified, teaches the cable transition system of claim 1, wherein the slot (Baek: Fig. 5a-5b; 112, 122) extends parallel to the first plane; and is configured to receive the ground stud of the cable management system to position the cable transition system relative to the cable management system to connect an internal volume of the cable management system and the first volume.
Regarding Claim 4, Lee as modified, teaches the cable transition system of claim 1, wherein: the plurality of sidewalls (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; S1, S2) and the top wall (Lee: Fig. 1; 110) at least partially define a first opening (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; end opening formed by P1 and P3) configured to receive the cable on the first plane; and the plurality of sidewalls and the top wall at least partially define a second opening (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; end opening formed by P2 and P4) configured to receive the cable on the7 second plane.
Regarding Claim 5, Lee as modified, teaches the cable transition system of claim 1, wherein the top wall (Lee: Fig. 1; 110) comprises: a first portion (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; P1) extending generally parallel to the first plane; a body portion (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; B1) connected to the first portion; and a second portion (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; P2) connected to the body portion and extending generally parallel to the second plane.
Regarding Claim 6, Lee as modified, teaches the cable transition system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sidewalls (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; S1, S2) comprise: a first sidewall portion (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; P3) extending along the first plane; a second sidewall portion (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; P4) extending along the second plane; and a body sidewall portion (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; B2) connected to the first sidewall portion and the second sidewall portion, the body sidewall portion extending along the first plane and the second plane.
Regarding Claim 7, Lee as modified, teaches the cable transition system of claim 1, wherein: the plurality of sidewalls (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; S1, S2) comprise a first edge comprising a first interlocking portion (Lee: Fig. 1; 200, 300 400a, 500a); and the top wall (Lee: Fig. 1; 110) comprises a second edge comprising a second interlocking portion (Lee: Fig. 1; 200a, 300a, 400) configured to mate with the first interlocking portion to position the top wall relative to the plurality of sidewalls such that ends of the plurality of sidewalls are flush with ends of the top wall.
Regarding Claim 10, Lee as modified, teaches the cable transition system of claim 1, wherein the second plane is generally orthogonal to the first plane (Lee: Fig. 1; shows a generally orthogonal structure).
Regarding Claim 11, Lee discloses a system comprising: a cable transition system configured to be coupled to a first cable management system extending along a first plane and defining a first volume and a second cable management system extending along a second plane that is non-parallel to the first plane and defining a second volume,, the cable transition system comprising: a plurality of sidewalls (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; S1, S2) comprising a first edge comprising a first tongue and groove interlocking portion (Lee: Fig. 1; 200, 300, 400a, 500a) that extends along an entire length of the first edge; and a top wall (Lee: Fig. 1; 110) comprising a second edge comprising a second tongue and groove interlocking portion (Lee: Fig. 1; 200a, 300a, 400, 500) that extends along an entire length of the second edge, the second tongue and groove interlocking portion is configured to mate with the first tongue and groove interlocking portion to couple the top wall to the first edge, the top wall configured to couple to and extend between the plurality of sidewalls to: at least partially define a third volume (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; volume formed by P1 and P3) extending along the first plane and the third volume is configured to receive a cable from a first volume of the first cable management system and to route a part of the cable along the first plane; at least partially define a fourth volume (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; volume formed by P2 and P4) extending along the second plane and the fourth volume is configured to provide the cable to the second volume of the second cable management system and to route a part of the cable along the second plane; and at least partially define a transition volume connected to the third volume and the fourth volume and the transition volume (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; volume formed by B1 and B2) is configured to route a part of the cable between the third volume and the fourth volume to permit the cable to extend along the first plane and the second plane.
Lee fails to disclose a first cable management system extending along a first plane and defining a first volume; a second cable management system extending along a second plane that is non-parallel to the first plane and defining a second volume; and a plurality of sidewalls defining a slot configured to receive a ground stud of a cable management system to electrically couple the plurality of the sidewalls to the cable management system. However, Baek teaches a first cable management system (Baek: Fig. 5a-5b; 10a, [0052] – bolts and washers) extending along a first plane and defining a first volume; a second cable management system (Baek: Fig. 5a-5b; 10b, [0052] – bolts and washers) extending along a second plane that is non-parallel to the first plane and defining a second volume; and a plurality of sidewalls (Baek: Fig. 5a-5b; 111, 121) defining a slot (Baek: Fig. 5a-5b; 112, 122) configured to receive a ground stud of a cable management system to electrically couple the plurality of the sidewalls to the cable management system.
Lee and Baek are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. cable supports. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Lee with the first and second systems and slots from Baek, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a system that supports the entire length of cables when they are arranged along surfaces while also firmly connecting ends of the sidewalls to separate cable tray extensions such that it maintains grounding continuity without requiring a jumper, thereby increasing the safety of the assembly and not disturbing the aesthetic appearance of a location (Baek: [0002], [0023], [0040]).
Claims 12, 14-16, and 20 are rejected, as set forth in the rejection of claims 2, 4-6, 8, and 10, respectively.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 2006-0057686) in view of Baek (KR 2015-0102277) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Garassino et al. (EP 1 207 604).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee as modified, teaches the cable transition system of claim 1,but fails to disclose the plurality of sidewalls comprise: a first sidewall portion that at least partially defines the first volume; a first transition portion connected to the first sidewall portion; a body sidewall portion connected to the first transition portion, the body sidewall portion at least partially defining the transition volume; a second transition portion connected to the body sidewall portion; and a second sidewall portion connected to the second transition portion, the second sidewall portion at least partially defining the second volume; the first transition portion is configured to interface with an end of the first cable management system; and the second transition portion is configured to interface with an end of a second cable management system.
However, Garassino teaches a plurality of sidewalls comprise: a first sidewall portion (Garassino: Annotated Fig. 5; S) that at least partially defines the first volume; a first transition portion (Garassino: Annotated Fig. 5; T) connected to the first sidewall portion; a body sidewall portion (Garassino: Annotated Fig. 5; B) connected to the first transition portion, the body sidewall portion at least partially defining the transition volume; a second transition portion (Garassino: Annotated Fig. 5; T – equivalent section of upper end of portion 17a) connected to the body sidewall portion; and a second sidewall portion (Garassino: Annotated Fig. 5; S – equivalent section of upper end of portion 17a) connected to the second transition portion, the second sidewall portion at least partially defining the second volume; the first transition portion is configured to interface with an end of the first cable management system; and the second transition portion is configured to interface with an end of a second cable management system.
Lee and Garassino are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. cable supports. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ends of the sidewalls in Lee with the transition and sidewall portions as taught by Garassino, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide an end structure that allows the transition to fit within straight portions of a cable management system (Garassino: Annotated Fig. 5; shows ends within the straight portions), thereby providing a more fully enclosed environment for the cables so as to better protect them from the external environment.
Regarding Claim 18, Lee as modified, teaches the cable transition system of claim 11, but fails to disclose the plurality of sidewalls comprise: a first sidewall portion that at least partially defines the third volume; a first transition portion connected to the first sidewall portion; a body sidewall portion connected to the first transition portion, the body sidewall portion at least partially defining the transition volume; a second transition portion connected to the body sidewall portion; and a second sidewall portion connected to the second transition portion, the second sidewall portion at least partially defining the fourth volume; the first transition portion is configured to interface with an end of the first cable management system; and the second transition portion is configured to interface with an end of the second cable management system.
However, Garassino teaches a plurality of sidewalls comprise: a first sidewall portion (Garassino: Annotated Fig. 5; S) that at least partially defines the third volume; a first transition portion (Garassino: Annotated Fig. 5; T) connected to the first sidewall portion; a body sidewall portion (Garassino: Annotated Fig. 5; B) connected to the first transition portion, the body sidewall portion at least partially defining the transition volume; a second transition portion (Garassino: Annotated Fig. 5; T – equivalent section of upper end of portion 17a) connected to the body sidewall portion; and a second sidewall portion (Garassino: Annotated Fig. 5; S – equivalent section of upper end of portion 17a) connected to the second transition portion, the second sidewall portion at least partially defining the fourth volume; the first transition portion is configured to interface with an end of the first cable management system; and the second transition portion is configured to interface with an end of a second cable management system.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 2006-0057686) in view of Baek (KR 2015-0102277) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Benito-Navazo (US 6,156,977).
Regarding Claim 9, Lee discloses the cable transition system of claim 1, but fails to disclose a top wall that comprises: a first portion that at least partially defines the first volume; a first transition portion connected to the first portion; a body portion extending diagonally from the first transition portion, the body portion at least partially defining the transition volume; a second transition portion connected to the body portion; and a second portion connected to the second transition portion, the second portion at least partially defining the second volume; the first transition portion is configured to interface with an end of a first cable management system; and the second transition portion is configured to interface with an end of a second cable management system.
However, Benito-Navazo teaches a top wall (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 9b) that comprises: a first cable management system (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 1); a first portion (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 11b) that at least partially defines the first volume; a first transition portion (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 20, 12b) connected to the first portion; a body portion (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 17b) extending diagonally from the first transition portion, the body portion at least partially defining the transition volume; a second transition portion (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 12b, 20 – lower end) connected to the body portion; and a second portion (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 11b) connected to the second transition portion, the second portion at least partially defining the second volume; the first transition portion is configured to interface with an end of a first cable management system; and the second transition portion is configured to interface with an end of a second cable management system.
Lee and Benito-Navazo are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. cable supports. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the top wall in Lee with the transition portions from Benito-Navazo, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a wall portion that can be overlapped by an adjoining system (Benito-Navazo: Col. 4, Ln. 31-47), lowering the number of exposed gaps and thereby better protecting the cables.
Regarding Claim 19, Lee discloses the cable transition system of claim 11, but fails to disclose a top wall that comprises: a first portion that at least partially defines the third volume; a first transition portion connected to the first portion; a body portion extending diagonally from the first transition portion, the body portion at least partially defining the transition volume; a second transition portion connected to the body portion; and a second portion connected to the second transition portion, the second portion at least partially defining the fourth volume; the first transition portion is configured to interface with an end of the first cable management system; and the second transition portion is configured to interface with an end of the second cable management system.
However, Benito-Navazo teaches a top wall (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 9b) that comprises: a first cable management system (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 1); a first portion (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 11b) that at least partially defines the third volume; a first transition portion (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 20, 12b) connected to the first portion; a body portion (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 17b) extending diagonally from the first transition portion, the body portion at least partially defining the transition volume; a second transition portion (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 12b, 20 – lower end) connected to the body portion; and a second portion (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 11b) connected to the second transition portion, the second portion at least partially defining the fourth volume; the first transition portion is configured to interface with an end of a first cable management system; and the second transition portion is configured to interface with an end of a second cable management system.
Claims 1-7, 10-13, 14-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 2006-0057686) in view of Wurzer et al. (US 8,979,037).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses a cable transition system comprising: a plurality of sidewalls (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; S1, S2) and a top wall (Lee: Fig. 1; 110) configured to couple to and extend between the plurality of sidewalls to: at least partially define a first volume (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; volume formed by P1 and P3) extending along a first plane and the first volume is configured to route a part of a cable along the first plane; at least partially define a second volume (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; volume formed by P2 and P4) extending along a second plane that is non-parallel to the first plane and the second volume is configured to route a part of the cable along the second plane; and at least partially define a transition volume (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; volume formed by B1 and B2) connected to the first volume and the second volume and the transition volume is configured to route a part of the cable between the first volume and the second volume to permit the cable to extend along the first plane and the second plane.
Lee fails to disclose the plurality of sidewalls defining a slot configured to receive a ground stud of a cable management system to electrically couple the plurality of the sidewalls to the cable management system. However, Wurzer teaches a plurality of sidewalls (Wurzer: Fig. 5; 22, 32) defining a slot (Wurzer: Fig. 5; 40, 41, 52, 54, 68, 70) configured to receive a ground stud of a cable management system to electrically couple the plurality of the sidewalls to the cable management system.
Lee and Wurzer are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. cable supports. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidewalls in Lee with the slots from Wurzer, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a means for the transition system to adjustably accommodate elements of cable management systems such that the systems are able to be relatively adjusted, allowing the system to receive components of cable systems such that they can better correspond to their surroundings, thereby improving the support and guidance of contained cables (Wurzer: Col. 1, Ln. 44-49; Col. 5, Ln. 50-56).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee as modified, teaches the cable transition system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sidewalls (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; S1, S2) are configured to engage with a first surface extending along the first plane and to engage with a second surface extending along the second plane.
Regarding Claim 3, Lee as modified, teaches the cable transition system of claim 1, wherein the slot (Wurzer: Fig. 5; 40, 41, 52, 54, 68, 70) extends parallel to the first plane; and is configured to receive the ground stud of the cable management system to position the cable transition system relative to the cable management system to connect an internal volume of the cable management system and the first volume.
Regarding Claim 4, Lee as modified, teaches the cable transition system of claim 1, wherein: the plurality of sidewalls (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; S1, S2) and the top wall (Lee: Fig. 1; 110) at least partially define a first opening (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; end opening formed by P1 and P3) configured to receive the cable on the first plane; and the plurality of sidewalls and the top wall at least partially define a second opening (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; end opening formed by P2 and P4) configured to receive the cable on the7 second plane.
Regarding Claim 5, Lee as modified, teaches the cable transition system of claim 1, wherein the top wall (Lee: Fig. 1; 110) comprises: a first portion (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; P1) extending generally parallel to the first plane; a body portion (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; B1) connected to the first portion; and a second portion (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; P2) connected to the body portion and extending generally parallel to the second plane.
Regarding Claim 6, Lee as modified, teaches the cable transition system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sidewalls (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; S1, S2) comprise: a first sidewall portion (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; P3) extending along the first plane; a second sidewall portion (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; P4) extending along the second plane; and a body sidewall portion (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; B2) connected to the first sidewall portion and the second sidewall portion, the body sidewall portion extending along the first plane and the second plane.
Regarding Claim 7, Lee as modified, teaches the cable transition system of claim 1, wherein: the plurality of sidewalls (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; S1, S2) comprise a first edge comprising a first interlocking portion (Lee: Fig. 1; 200, 300 400a, 500a); and the top wall (Lee: Fig. 1; 110) comprises a second edge comprising a second interlocking portion (Lee: Fig. 1; 200a, 300a, 400) configured to mate with the first interlocking portion to position the top wall relative to the plurality of sidewalls such that ends of the plurality of sidewalls are flush with ends of the top wall.
Regarding Claim 10, Lee as modified, teaches the cable transition system of claim 1, wherein the second plane is generally orthogonal to the first plane (Lee: Fig. 1; shows a generally orthogonal structure).
Regarding Claim 21, Lee as modified, teaches the cable transition system of claim 1, wherein the slot (Wurzer: Fig. 5; 40, 41, 52, 54, 68, 70) extends from an edge of a respective sidewall of the plurality of sidewalls.
Regarding Claim 11, Lee discloses a system comprising: a cable transition system configured to be coupled to a first cable management system extending along a first plane and defining a first volume and a second cable management system extending along a second plane that is non-parallel to the first plane and defining a second volume, the cable transition system comprising: a plurality of sidewalls (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; S1, S2) comprising a first edge comprising a first tongue and groove interlocking portion (Lee: Fig. 1; 200, 300, 400a, 500a) that extends along an entire length of the first edge; and a top wall (Lee: Fig. 1; 110) comprising a second edge comprising a second tongue and groove interlocking portion (Lee: Fig. 1; 200a, 300a, 400, 500) that extends along an entire length of the second edge, the second tongue and groove interlocking portion is configured to mate with the first tongue and groove interlocking portion to couple the top wall to the first edge, the top wall configured to couple to and extend between the plurality of sidewalls to: at least partially define a third volume (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; volume formed by P1 and P3) extending along the first plane and the third volume is configured to receive a cable from a first volume of the first cable management system and to route a part of the cable along the first plane; at least partially define a fourth volume (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; volume formed by P2 and P4) extending along the second plane and the fourth volume is configured to provide the cable to the second volume of the second cable management system and to route a part of the cable along the second plane; and at least partially define a transition volume connected to the third volume and the fourth volume and the transition volume (Lee: Annotated Fig. 1; volume formed by B1 and B2) is configured to route a part of the cable between the third volume and the fourth volume to permit the cable to extend along the first plane and the second plane.
Lee fails to disclose a first cable management system extending along a first plane and defining a first volume; a second cable management system extending along a second plane that is non-parallel to the first plane and defining a second volume; and a plurality of sidewalls defining a slot configured to receive a ground stud of a cable management system to electrically couple the plurality of the sidewalls to the cable management system. However, Wurzer teaches a first cable management system (Wurzer: Fig. 10-11; 12 – left, 124; Col. 4, Ln. 13-29, bolts) extending along a first plane and defining a first volume; a second cable management system (Wurzer: Fig. 10-11; 12 – right, 124; Col. 4, Ln. 13-29, bolts) extending along a second plane that is non-parallel to the first plane and defining a second volume; and a plurality of sidewalls (Wurzer: Fig. 5; 22, 32) defining a slot (Wurzer: Fig. 5; 40, 41, 52, 54, 68, 70) configured to receive a ground stud of a cable management system to electrically couple the plurality of the sidewalls to the cable management system.
Lee and Wurzer are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. cable supports. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Lee with the cable management systems and wall slots from Wurzer, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a means for the transition system to adjustably accommodate elements of cable management systems such that the systems are able to be relatively adjusted, allowing the system to receive components of cable systems such that they can better correspond to their surroundings, thereby improving the support and guidance of contained cables (Wurzer: Col. 1, Ln. 44-49; Col. 5, Ln. 50-56).
Claims 12, 14-16, and 20 are rejected, as set forth in the rejection of claims 2, 4-6, 8, and 10, respectively.
Regarding Claim 13, Lee as modified, teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the slot (Wurzer: Fig. 5; 40, 41, 52, 54, 68, 70) extends from an edge of a respective sidewall of the plurality of sidewalls parallel to the first plane; and is configured to receive a part of the first cable management system (Wurzer: Fig. 10-11; 12 – left, 124; Col. 4, Ln. 13-29, bolts) to position the cable transition system relative to the first cable management system.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 2006-0057686) in view of Wurzer et al. (US 8,979,037) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Garassino et al. (EP 1 207 604).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee as modified, teaches the cable transition system of claim 1, but fails to disclose the plurality of sidewalls comprise: a first sidewall portion that at least partially defines the first volume; a first transition portion connected to the first sidewall portion; a body sidewall portion connected to the first transition portion, the body sidewall portion at least partially defining the transition volume; a second transition portion connected to the body sidewall portion; and a second sidewall portion connected to the second transition portion, the second sidewall portion at least partially defining the second volume; the first transition portion is configured to interface with an end of the first cable management system; and the second transition portion is configured to interface with an end of a second cable management system.
However, Garassino teaches a plurality of sidewalls comprise: a first sidewall portion (Garassino: Annotated Fig. 5; S) that at least partially defines the first volume; a first transition portion (Garassino: Annotated Fig. 5; T) connected to the first sidewall portion; a body sidewall portion (Garassino: Annotated Fig. 5; B) connected to the first transition portion, the body sidewall portion at least partially defining the transition volume; a second transition portion (Garassino: Annotated Fig. 5; T – equivalent section of upper end of portion 17a) connected to the body sidewall portion; and a second sidewall portion (Garassino: Annotated Fig. 5; S – equivalent section of upper end of portion 17a) connected to the second transition portion, the second sidewall portion at least partially defining the second volume; the first transition portion is configured to interface with an end of the first cable management system; and the second transition portion is configured to interface with an end of a second cable management system.
Lee and Garassino are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. cable supports. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ends of the sidewalls in Lee with the transition and sidewall portions as taught by Garassino, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide an end structure that allows the transition to fit within straight portions of a cable management system (Garassino: Annotated Fig. 5; shows ends within the straight portions), thereby providing a more fully enclosed environment for the cables so as to better protect them from the external environment.
Regarding Claim 18, Lee as modified, teaches the cable transition system of claim 11, but fails to disclose the plurality of sidewalls comprise: a first sidewall portion that at least partially defines the third volume; a first transition portion connected to the first sidewall portion; a body sidewall portion connected to the first transition portion, the body sidewall portion at least partially defining the transition volume; a second transition portion connected to the body sidewall portion; and a second sidewall portion connected to the second transition portion, the second sidewall portion at least partially defining the fourth volume; the first transition portion is configured to interface with an end of the first cable management system; and the second transition portion is configured to interface with an end of the second cable management system.
However, Garassino teaches a plurality of sidewalls comprise: a first sidewall portion (Garassino: Annotated Fig. 5; S) that at least partially defines the third volume; a first transition portion (Garassino: Annotated Fig. 5; T) connected to the first sidewall portion; a body sidewall portion (Garassino: Annotated Fig. 5; B) connected to the first transition portion, the body sidewall portion at least partially defining the transition volume; a second transition portion (Garassino: Annotated Fig. 5; T – equivalent section of upper end of portion 17a) connected to the body sidewall portion; and a second sidewall portion (Garassino: Annotated Fig. 5; S – equivalent section of upper end of portion 17a) connected to the second transition portion, the second sidewall portion at least partially defining the fourth volume; the first transition portion is configured to interface with an end of the first cable management system; and the second transition portion is configured to interface with an end of a second cable management system.
Claims 9 and 19 are is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 2006-0057686) in view of Wurzer et al. (US 8,979,037) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Benito-Navazo (US 6,156,977).
Regarding Claim 9, Lee discloses the cable transition system of claim 1, but fails to disclose a top wall that comprises: a first portion that at least partially defines the first volume; a first transition portion connected to the first portion; a body portion extending diagonally from the first transition portion, the body portion at least partially defining the transition volume; a second transition portion connected to the body portion; and a second portion connected to the second transition portion, the second portion at least partially defining the second volume; the first transition portion is configured to interface with an end of a first cable management system; and the second transition portion is configured to interface with an end of a second cable management system.
However, Benito-Navazo teaches a top wall (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 9b) that comprises: a first cable management system (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 1); a first portion (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 11b) that at least partially defines the first volume; a first transition portion (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 20, 12b) connected to the first portion; a body portion (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 17b) extending diagonally from the first transition portion, the body portion at least partially defining the transition volume; a second transition portion (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 12b, 20 – lower end) connected to the body portion; and a second portion (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 11b) connected to the second transition portion, the second portion at least partially defining the second volume; the first transition portion is configured to interface with an end of a first cable management system; and the second transition portion is configured to interface with an end of a second cable management system.
Lee and Benito-Navazo are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. cable supports. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the top wall in Lee with the transition portions from Benito-Navazo, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a wall portion that can be overlapped by an adjoining system (Benito-Navazo: Col. 4, Ln. 31-47), lowering the number of exposed gaps and thereby better protecting the cables.
Regarding Claim 19, Lee discloses the cable transition system of claim 11, but fails to disclose a top wall that comprises: a first portion that at least partially defines the third volume; a first transition portion connected to the first portion; a body portion extending diagonally from the first transition portion, the body portion at least partially defining the transition volume; a second transition portion connected to the body portion; and a second portion connected to the second transition portion, the second portion at least partially defining the fourth volume; the first transition portion is configured to interface with an end of the first cable management system; and the second transition portion is configured to interface with an end of the second cable management system.
However, Benito-Navazo teaches a top wall (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 9b) that comprises: a first cable management system (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 1); a first portion (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 11b) that at least partially defines the third volume; a first transition portion (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 20, 12b) connected to the first portion; a body portion (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 17b) extending diagonally from the first transition portion, the body portion at least partially defining the transition volume; a second transition portion (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 12b, 20 – lower end) connected to the body portion; and a second portion (Benito-Navazo: Fig. 4; 11b) connected to the second transition portion, the second portion at least partially defining the fourth volume; the first transition portion is configured to interface with an end of a first cable management system; and the second transition portion is configured to interface with an end of a second cable management system.
Annotated Figures
I: Lee; Fig. 1
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for cited references.
/Taylor Morris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631