N O N - F I N A L A C T I O N
Response to Arguments
(pages 7-8 made by Applicant’s Representative – filed 12/11/25)
Applicant’s arguments regarding the specification objection due to an undescriptive invention title are persuasive in view of the recent amendment. Therefore, this objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments (page 7-8) regarding the 35 USC 102 rejection to independent claims (8 & 9) – are persuasive in view of the recent claim amendments. Therefore, this rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon new prior art findings during an updated search AND further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the teachings of new prior art discovery: FUJINAMI (US 20160150140) when applied under 35 USC 103 as a secondary art reference in combination with the previous applied primary art reference KIKUCHI (US 20090180021). Therefore, this Office Action is made Non-Final.
The status of pending claims 1-9 are as follows:
Claims 1-7 remain allowed as previously noted per the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 9/24/25.
Claims 8-9 are rejected over KIKUCHI in view of FUJINAMI. Please see the 35 USC § 103 rejection below.
Closest Prior Art
The prior art (cited on PTO-892) is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Among these, the following references are considered to be the closest, collectively disclosing the state of the art concerned with a camera module manufacturing method for adjustably installing (i.e. position and angle of) an image sensor to be in-focus optical alignment with a lens.
KIKUCHI (US 20090180021) – applied to 35 USC 103 rejection, see Abstract, Fig. 5-6, 10-11, Fig. 12-29, and Para [0023-0120, 0145-0149].
FUJINAMI (US 20160150140) – applied to 35 USC 103 rejection, see Abstract, Fig. 5-6, Fig. 9, and Para [0123, 0134, 0184-187, 0188, 0189-194].
OH (US 20210318507) – see Abstract, Para [0013, 0020, 0067-68], discloses 6-axis optical alignment is performed through fine translation in the X, Y, and Z directions, and fine rotation around the X, Y, and Z axes (for example, roll, yaw, and pitch). Further discloses the 6-axis optical alignment may include, for example, disposing of the lens 10 front side down to face the lower portion of the optical alignment platform, arranging a master chart including a test pattern for calibration in front of the lens 10, analyzing the image obtained from the image sensor 40 mounted on the circuit board 30 to calculate the amount of positional correction, and accordingly moving the circuit board 30 by six axes into a corrected position.
HIRATA (JP 2007333987 A) – (English translation provided by Applicant), see Para [0003-0005].
KOIWAI (JP 2002267923 A) – (English translation provided by Applicant), see Abstract, Fig. 1, and Para [0035-0046].
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIKUCHI (US 20090180021) in view of FUJINAMI (US 20160150140) -- hereafter, termed as shown “underlined”.
As per INDEPENDENT CLAIM 8, KIKUCHI teaches a focus adjustment method for a camera module equipped with an optical system, an image sensor, and a camera substrate to which the image sensor is mounted (Fig. 2 in view of optical alignment manufacturing device in Fig. 5: camera module 2, lens unit 15, image sensor unit 12/16), comprising:
an in-focus state identification step of causing the image sensor to image a chart image disposed at a predefined position through the optical system and analyzing imaging data to identify an assembly state of the image sensor that is in-focus (See chart unit 41 with chart per Fig. 5-6, para [0107], and image sensor imaging chart in Fig. 9 to identify in-focus state and assembly state by obtaining focus evaluation values per step S3 per Fig. 10 in view of step S3 per Fig. 11, 23, 26, 29, wherein focus evaluation values may be MTF values (para [0145]) rather than CTF values shown in Figures 12-21. Also see para [0023-27, 0033]);
an adjustment step of adjusting a position and an angle of the camera substrate relative to the optical system so that the image sensor is in the assembly state identified in the in-focus state identification step (See steps S5-S7 per Fig. 10 and feedback loop at end of step S8 back to step S3. Also see para [0023-27, 0100, 0115, 0120, 0149]).
Regarding underlined limitation (with emphasis in bold): “an assembly step of assembling the camera substrate to the optical system, wherein the in-focus state identification step includes acquiring a plurality of pieces of imaging data by causing the image sensor to image the chart image while continuously moving the camera substrate without stopping movement of the camera substrate, and then analyzing the plurality of pieces of imaging data”,
KIKUCHI’s (Fig. 10: step S3 and the feedback loop between steps S3-S8 until check step finished S4, yes), para [0023-27, 0100, 0115, 0120, 0149], AND para [0033] discloses all the steps from obtaining the in-focus coordinate value of each imaging position on an imaging surface of the image sensor, calculating the approximate imaging plane based on the in-focus coordinate values, and calculating the adjustment value used for overlapping the imaging surface with the approximate imaging plane are automated AND focus adjustment and tilt adjustment are completed simultaneously for motivated reasons (last two sentences of para [0033]) to adjust the position of the image sensor in a short time…has a significant effect on manufacture of the mass-production camera modules, and enables manufacturing a number of camera modules beyond a certain quality in a short time.
KIKUCHI’s para [0100] also discloses controller 48 moves the sensor unit 16 sequentially to the measurement positions established along the Z axis direction and captures the chart image of the measurement chart 52 at each measurement position, wherein the focus evaluation value (CTF or MTF) for each position is calculated, and an approximate imaging plane is derived based on those discrete measurements.
KIKUCHI’s teachings may differ from Applicant’s invention in that the Z position of the camera substrate (or image sensor) is changed stepwise “sequentially” and an image is captured at each discrete position, rather than Applicant’s claimed invention per the limitation (with emphasis in bold) “…causing the image sensor to image the chart image while continuously moving the camera substrate without stopping movement of the camera substrate”.
However, this difference between the prior art KIKUCHI and Applicant’s claimed invention would have been an obvious variation recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art. For example, related prior art FUJINAMI, recognizes both sequential and continuous methods may be used – see Abstract, Fig. 5 (apparatus), Fig. 6 (measurement chart), Fig. 9 (method), in view of para [0123, 0134, 0184-194]).
FUJINAMI discloses a manufacture method of aligning an image sensor with a lens which changes a z direction position of the image pickup element unit 20 with respect to the lens unit 10, while holding an x-direction position of a lens group 12 at a predetermined position, to pick up an image of a measurement chart 89; and adjusts a position and a tilt of the image pickup element unit 20 with respect to the lens unit 10 on the basis of image pickup signals.
Furthermore, FUJINAMI’s para [0188] states – “in the description of FIG. 9, a plurality of measurement positions have been realized by changing the relative positions and the image of the measurement chart has been picked up at each measurement position. --- However, the image of the measurement chart may be continuously picked up (that is, a moving image may be taken), and the relative position may be changed to each measurement position while the image is picked up”.
Thus, when considering the collective knowledge bestowed by each applied prior art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to COMBINE the teachings of FUJINAMI into suitable modification with the teachings of KIKUCHI to produce Applicant’s claimed invention with the method stated in said underlined limitation for the MOTIVATED REASON of shortening the manufacture time to produce a camera module in the analogous art of a manufacturing method for a digital camera module.
As per INDEPENDENT CLAIM 9, KIKUCHI teaches a focus adjustment method for a camera module equipped with an optical system, an image sensor, and a camera substrate to which the image sensor is mounted (Fig. 2 in view of optical alignment manufacturing device in Fig. 5: camera module 2, lens unit 15, image sensor unit 12/16), comprising:
an in-focus state identification step of causing the image sensor to image a chart image disposed at a predefined position through the optical system and analyzing imaging data to identify an assembly state of the image sensor that is in-focus (See chart unit 41 with chart per Fig. 5-6, para [0107], and image sensor imaging chart in Fig. 9 to identify in-focus state and assembly state by obtaining focus evaluation values per step S3 per Fig. 10 in view of step S3 per Fig. 11, 23, 26, 29, wherein focus evaluation values may be MTF values (para [0145]) rather than CTF values shown in Figures 12-21. Also see para [0023-27, 0033]);
an adjustment step of adjusting a position and an angle of the camera substrate relative to the optical system so that the image sensor is in the assembly state identified in the in-focus state identification step (See steps S5-S7 per Fig. 10 and feedback loop at end of step S8 back to step S3. Also see para [0023-27, 0100, 0115, 0120, 0149]); and
Regarding underlined limitation (with emphasis in bold): “an assembly step of assembling the camera substrate to the optical system, wherein the in-focus state identification step includes acquiring a plurality of pieces of imaging data by causing the image sensor to image the chart image while continuously moving the camera substrate without stopping movement of the camera substrate, and then analyzing the plurality of pieces of imaging data in parallel with acquisition of the imaging data”,
KIKUCHI’s (Fig. 10: step S3 and the feedback loop between steps S3-S8 until check step finished S4, yes), para [0023-27, 0100, 0115, 0120, 0149], AND para [0033] discloses all the steps from obtaining the in-focus coordinate value of each imaging position on an imaging surface of the image sensor, calculating the approximate imaging plane based on the in-focus coordinate values, and calculating the adjustment value used for overlapping the imaging surface with the approximate imaging plane are automated AND focus adjustment and tilt adjustment are completed simultaneously for motivated reasons (last two sentences of para [0033]) to adjust the position of the image sensor in a short time…has a significant effect on manufacture of the mass-production camera modules, and enables manufacturing a number of camera modules beyond a certain quality in a short time.
KIKUCHI’s para [0100] also discloses controller 48 moves the sensor unit 16 sequentially to the measurement positions established along the Z axis direction and captures the chart image of the measurement chart 52 at each measurement position, wherein the focus evaluation value (CTF or MTF) for each position is calculated, and an approximate imaging plane is derived based on those discrete measurements.
KIKUCHI’s teachings may differ from Applicant’s invention in that the Z position of the camera substrate (or image sensor) is changed stepwise “sequentially” and an image is captured at each discrete position, rather than Applicant’s claimed invention per the limitation (with emphasis in bold) “…causing the image sensor to image the chart image while continuously moving the camera substrate without stopping movement of the camera substrate, and then analyzing the plurality of pieces of imaging data in parallel with acquisition of the imaging data”.
However, this difference between the prior art KIKUCHI and Applicant’s claimed invention would have been an obvious variation recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art. For example, related prior art FUJINAMI, recognizes both sequential and continuous methods may be used – see Abstract, Fig. 5 (apparatus), Fig. 6 (measurement chart), Fig. 9 (method), in view of para [0123, 0134, 0184-194]).
FUJINAMI discloses a manufacture method of aligning an image sensor with a lens which changes a z direction position of the image pickup element unit 20 with respect to the lens unit 10, while holding an x-direction position of a lens group 12 at a predetermined position, to pick up an image of a measurement chart 89; and adjusts a position and a tilt of the image pickup element unit 20 with respect to the lens unit 10 on the basis of image pickup signals.
Furthermore, FUJINAMI’s para [0188] states – “in the description of FIG. 9, a plurality of measurement positions have been realized by changing the relative positions and the image of the measurement chart has been picked up at each measurement position. --- However, the image of the measurement chart may be continuously picked up (that is, a moving image may be taken), and the relative position may be changed to each measurement position while the image is picked up”.
Thus, when considering the collective knowledge bestowed by each applied prior art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to COMBINE the teachings of FUJINAMI into suitable modification with the teachings of KIKUCHI to produce Applicant’s claimed invention with the method stated in said underlined limitation for the MOTIVATED REASON of shortening the manufacture time to produce a camera module in the analogous art of a manufacturing method for a digital camera module.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowable subject matter:
The closest/related prior art (cited/discussed in this Office Action), when taken alone or in reasonable combination, does not teach the entirety of Applicant’s claimed invention as recited in independent claim 1. Specifically, the prior art does not teach the following limitations (with emphasis in bold):
“A focus adjustment method for a camera module equipped with an optical system, an image sensor, and a camera substrate to which said image sensor is mounted, comprising:
a measurement step of measuring an installation position and an installation angle of the image sensor on the camera substrate by means of a ranging sensor;
an adjustment step of adjusting a position and an angle of the camera substrate relative to the optical system; and
an assembly step of assembling the camera substrate to the optical system after adjusting the position and angle of the camera substrate in the adjustment step, wherein the adjustment step includes adjusting the position and angle of the camera substrate based on the installation position and installation angle of the image sensor as measured in the measurement step so that a position and an angle of the image sensor relative to the optical system become a set position and a set angle predefined according to the optical system”.
Claims 2-7 are allowed for depending from allowable claim 1.
Contact Information
Interviews with the examiner are available via telephone AND video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant may contact the examiner via telephone OR use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR), which can be found at: http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/AKSHAY TREHAN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2639
/TWYLER L HASKINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2639