DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10, 12 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nakata et al. (US 11,894,751 B2). Nakata discloses an electric drive assembly (fig. 2), comprising:
Re claim 1, a motor (2), comprising a stator oil passage (oil path shown adjacent to 25) and a rotor oil passage (oil path shown adjacent to 21) that are connected in series (fig. 2 shows oil flowing from the rotor oil passage then to the stator oil passage); a speed shifting mechanism (3) connected to the motor; and a cooling system (oil path shown as arrows) configured to supply lubricating oil to the motor and the speed shifting mechanism in sequence (fig. 2); wherein the cooling system comprises an oil supply passage (oil path shown as arrows), a flow diverting mechanism (321,524), and a flow guiding structure (525,526), the oil supply passage is configured to supply the lubricating oil to the motor, the flow diverting mechanism is configured to deliver the lubricating oil flowing out of the motor to the speed shifting mechanism (fig. 2 shows the flow diverting mechanism delivering oil in P to the 3, where P received oil from 2 via 519), and the flow guiding structure is configured to guide a part of the lubricating oil flowing out of the stator oil passage to the rotor oil passage (fig. 2: oil flows from 61 that includes the stator oil passage to 519, to P via 519, then diverted up to 524 via 321, then to 525, then to 3101, then to 220, then to the path adjacent to 21), and guide a part of the lubricating oil flowing out of the stator oil passage to the speed shifting mechanism (fig. 2: oil flows from 61 that includes the stator oil passage to 519, to P via 519, then diverted up to 524 via 321, then to 525, then to 342 of the speed shifting mechanism); wherein the motor includes a rotor shaft (22), the rotor oil passage has a first shaft hole (220) formed in the rotor shaft and extending in an axial direction of the rotor shaft (fig. 2), and the flow guiding structure is connected to the first shaft hole (connected via 310 and fluidically connected via 3101); and wherein the flow guiding structure is a nozzle structure (fig. 2: outlet opening at the right end of 526 is construed as a nozzle structure for injecting oil into 220) through which the lubricating oil is injected into the rotor oil passage.
Re claim 2, wherein the motor comprises a first heat generating portion (heat generated by stator 25) and a second heat generating portion (heat generated by rotor 21), and the cooling system is further configured to supply lubricating oil to the first heat generating portion and the second heat generating portion in sequence (fig. 2).
Re claim 3, wherein the first heat generating portion comprises a stator (25) and the oil passage is configured to cool the stator using the lubricating oil (fig. 2), and the cooling system is connected to the stator oil passage (fig. 2).
Re claim 4, wherein the second heat generating portion comprises a rotor (21) and the rotor oil passage is configured to cool the rotor using the lubricating oil (fig. 2 shows a passage from 220 flowing radially outward to the rotor 21), and the cooling system is connected to the rotor oil passage (fig. 2).
Re claim 7, wherein the speed shifting mechanism comprises an input shaft (310) coaxially connected to the rotor shaft, the input shaft has a second shaft hole (3101) formed in an axial direction of the input shaft, and the flow guiding structure is connected to the first shaft hole through the second shaft hole (fig. 2).
Re claim 8, wherein an end (fig. 2: left end) of the input shaft facing away from the rotor shaft is provided with a first bearing (342); the electric drive assembly further comprises a casing (52,53), the casing has an accommodating cavity (space inside of 52) configured to accommodate the speed shifting mechanism and a first bearing chamber (chamber of 52 defined adjacent to 526) configured for mounting of the first bearing; the first bearing chamber is connected to each of the accommodating cavity and the cooling system (fig. 2); and the flow guiding structure guides a part of lubricating oil in the first bearing chamber to the second shaft hole (fig. 2).
Re claim 9, wherein the motor further comprises a housing (53), the housing having an oil return channel (fig. 2: bottom horizontal passage between 26 and 511) connected to an end of the first shaft hole (fig. 2: left end hole of 220) facing away from the speed shifting mechanism; and the electric drive assembly further comprises an oil sump (61) connected to the oil return channel.
Re claim 10, wherein the housing of the motor has an oil return hole (519) that connects the oil return channel with the oil sump.
Re claim 12, wherein the speed shifting mechanism comprises an input shaft (310), the input shaft has a second shaft hole (3101) formed in the axial direction of the input shaft, and the flow guiding structure is connected to the second shaft hole (fig. 2).
Re claim 17, wherein the flow diverting mechanism has one end connected (fig. 2: bottom end of 321 where it is submerged in the oil) to an oil outlet end of the stator oil passage of the motor and another end (fig. 2: downstream end of 524 connecting with 525) connected to each of an oil inlet end of the rotor oil passage of the motor and the speed shifting mechanism (by inspection of the cyclic circulation of the oil path, oil guided by 525 is connected to the rotor oil passage and the speed shifting mechanism).
Re claim 18, wherein the oil supply passage comprises an oil pump (4) configured to pump the lubricating oil to the motor.
Re claim 19, an electric device (fig. 2), comprising the electric drive assembly according to claim 1 (see claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakata et al. (US 11,894,751 B2) in view of Yanagihara et al. (US 2024/0175488 A1). Nakata discloses the electric drive assembly (fig. 2):
Re claim 20, two motors (2, Yanagihara below teaches 2) axially spaced apart from each other, each of the two motors comprising a stator oil passage (oil path shown adjacent to 25) configured to cool a stator (25) of the motor using lubricating oil and a rotor oil passage (oil path shown adjacent to 21) configured to cool a rotor (21) of the motor using lubricating oil; two speed shifting mechanisms (3, Yanagihara below teaches 2) respectively connected to the two motors; two oil supply passages configured to supply the lubricating oil to the two stator oil passages, respectively (oil path shown as arrows; the teaching of Yanagihara would position another supply passage on an opposite side of the shifting mechanism 3with respect to the motor 2); two flow diverting mechanisms (519; the teaching of Yanagihara would position another flow diverting mechanism between an interface wall of the shifting mechanism and the other motor) respectively connected to the two stator oil passages and configured to deliver a part of the lubricating oil flowing out of each of the stator oil passages to the speed shifting mechanisms (fig. 2).
Nakata does not disclose:
Re claim 13, wherein the electric drive assembly comprises two motors and two speed shifting mechanisms, one motor corresponds to one speed shifting mechanisms, respectively, the two motors are axially spaced apart from each other, and at least part of the two speed shifting mechanisms is located between the two motors.
Re claim 14, wherein the electric drive assembly further comprises a controller, at least part of the controller is located between the two motors, and the two speed shifting mechanisms and the controller are located at two sides of a central axis of the motors, respectively.
Re claim 15, wherein the two speed shifting mechanisms and the controller are arranged in a first direction, the first direction being perpendicular to each of a height direction of the electric drive assembly and an axial direction of the motor.
Re claim 20, two motors; two speed shifting mechanisms respectively connected to the two motors; a flow guiding structure configured to guide a part of the lubricating oil delivered by the two flow diverting mechanisms to the two stator oil passages, respectively, and guide a part of the lubricating oil flowing out of the two stator oil passages to the two rotor oil passages, respectively; wherein the motor includes a rotor shaft, each rotor oil passage has a first shaft hole formed in the rotor shaft and extending in an axial direction of the rotor shaft, and the flow guiding structure is connected to the first shaft hole; and wherein the flow guiding structure comprises a flowing guiding disc that is a structural member configured to guide the flow direction of the lubricating oil.
However, Yanagihara teaches the electric drive assembly (fig. 1):
Re claim 13, wherein the electric drive assembly comprises two motors (1A,1B) and two speed shifting mechanisms (T1,T2), one motor corresponds to one speed shifting mechanisms (fig. 2), respectively, the two motors are axially spaced apart from each other, and at least part of the two speed shifting mechanisms is located between the two motors (fig. 2).
Re claim 14, wherein the electric drive assembly further comprises a controller (91A,91B), at least part of the controller is located between the two motors (fig. 3), and the two speed shifting mechanisms and the controller are located at two sides of a central axis of the motors, respectively (fig. 2).
Re claim 15, wherein the two speed shifting mechanisms and the controller are arranged in a first direction, the first direction being perpendicular to each of a height direction of the electric drive assembly and an axial direction of the motor (fig. 2).
Re claim 20, two motors (1A,1B) axially spaced apart from each other, each of the two motors comprising a stator oil passage configured to cool a stator of the motor using lubricating oil and a rotor oil passage configured to cool a rotor of the motor using lubricating oil (par [0097] describes an oil path for cooling the rotor 12A,B from the respective rotor shaft 13A,B and an oil path for cooling the stator 11A,B from oil discharged from a hole of respective rotor); two speed shifting mechanisms (T1,T2) respectively connected to the two motors; two oil supply passages configured to supply the lubricating oil to the two stator oil passages, respectively (par [0097] passage defined by the hole in the rotor and the flow path around the stator at the col end section 15); and a flow guiding structure (44, 27C; when taught the flow guiding structure of Yanagihara would be positioned similar to 526 of Nakata so that oil is guided to both left and right shafts) configured to guide a part of the lubricating oil delivered by the two flow diverting mechanisms to the two stator oil passages, respectively, and guide a part of the lubricating oil flowing out of the two stator oil passages to the two rotor oil passages, respectively (Nakata discloses a closed lubrication circuit such that oil from the flow diverting mechanism would reach the stator oil passage and oil from the stator oil passage would reach the rotor oil passage); wherein the motor includes a rotor shaft (13A,B), each rotor oil passage has a first shaft hole (passages inside the respective rotor shaft) formed in the rotor shaft and extending in an axial direction of the rotor shaft (fig. 2), and the flow guiding structure is connected to the first shaft hole (fig. 2); and wherein the flow guiding structure comprises a flowing guiding disc (par [0044] describes 44 as wall shape extending along a plane, this is construed as disc-like) that is a structural member configured to guide the flow direction of the lubricating oil (oil is guided by 27c).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ two motors and two speed shifting mechanisms, as taught by Yanagihara, to provide additional power to the vehicle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 6-9 of the Remarks, Applicant argues the prior art(s) does not disclose the new limitations of claims 1 and 20.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Please see the rejection above for the details as to how the Office action has been amended to read on the claims. For claim 1, note that the flow guiding structure of Nakata now includes element 526, which has a nozzle opening at the right end thereof shown in fig. 2. For claim 20, Yanagihara now teaches element 44 as the flowing guiding disc.
Conclusion
/Minh Truong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654