DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishikawa et al. (US 20110182694 A1, “Nishikawa”).
Regarding claim 1, Nishikawa discloses (Fig. 1, 2) a connector comprising: a casing (11) including a cylindrical section that holds, on an inside, a terminal (10A) provided at an end of an electric wire (10) and is fitted with a mating connector (12) of a connection target in a fitting direction; a packing (8) that seals an annular space between an outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical section and the mating connector (para [0045] – [0046]); a fastening member (6) that is attached to penetrate the inside of the cylindrical section in the fitting direction from a through-hole (5) formed in one end face in the fitting direction of the casing (11), and is fixed to a fixed wall surface of the connection target in a state in which the cylindrical section and the mating connector (12) are fitted with each other; and a seal member (7) that seals an annular gap between an outer peripheral surface of the fastening member and an inner surface of the through-hole (para [0031]).
Regarding claim 5, Nishikawa discloses (Fig. 1, 2) a wire harness comprising: an electric wire (10) having conductivity; and a connector (12) provided at an end of the electric wire, wherein the connector includes: a casing (11) including a cylindrical section that holds, on an inside, a terminal (10A and 19A) provided at the end of the electric wire and is fitted with a mating connector (12) of a connection target in a fitting direction; a packing (8) that seals an annular space between an outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical section and the mating connector (para [0045] – [0046]); a fastening member (6) that is attached to penetrate the inside of the cylindrical section in the fitting direction from a through-hole (5) formed in one end face in the fitting direction of the casing (11), and is fixed to a fixed wall surface of the connection target in a state in which the cylindrical section and the mating connector (12) are fitted with each other; and a seal member (7) that seals an annular gap between an outer peripheral surface of the fastening member and an inner surface of the through-hole (para [0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa et al. (US 20110182694 A1, “Nishikawa”) in view of Kondo (US 20210367377 A1, “Kondo”).
Regarding claim 2, Nishikawa discloses the connector according to claim 1, wherein the fastening member includes: a bolt (para [0037] – [0039]) inserted through the through-hole (5); and a waterproof washer (7) including an annular washer main body interposed between a head of the bolt and a peripheral edge portion of the through-hole (para [0044], [0071] – [0073]), and
Nishikawa is silent on an annular water cutoff rubber interposed between an inner surface of the washer main body and a shaft section of the bolt and adjacent to the seal member in the fitting direction.
However, Kondo discloses (Fig. 11, 12, 14) an annular water cutoff rubber (642) interposed between an inner surface of the washer main body and a shaft section of the bolt and adjacent to the seal member in the fitting direction (See para [0107] – [108).
Nishikawa and Kondo are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of Connector Device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nishikawa to incorporate the teachings of Kondo and provide an annular water cutoff rubber (642) interposed between an inner surface of the washer main body and a shaft section of the bolt and adjacent to the seal member in the fitting direction (See para [0107] – [108). Doing so would create a waterproof or oil-proof barrier (See para [0107] and [0113]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa et al. (US 20110182694 A1, “Nishikawa”) in view of MIYAMOTO (US 20210104829 A1, “MIYAMOTO”).
Regarding claim 3, Nishikawa discloses the connector according to claim 1,
Nishikawa is silent on wherein the electric wire is drawn out in a height direction intersecting the fitting direction with respect to the casing.
However, MIYAMOTO discloses (Fig. 2) wherein the electric wire (22) is drawn out in a height direction intersecting the fitting direction with respect to the casing (24) (See Fig. 2).
Since having the electric wire drawn out in a height direction intersecting the fitting direction with respect to the casing is a design choice, therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nishikawa to incorporate the teachings of MIYAMOTO and provide wherein the electric wire (22) is drawn out in a height direction intersecting the fitting direction with respect to the casing (24) (See Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa et al. (US 20110182694 A1, “Nishikawa”) in view of Kondo (US 20210367377 A1, “Kondo”) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of MIYAMOTO (US 20210104829 A1, “MIYAMOTO”).
Regarding claim 4, Nishikawa in view of Kondo discloses the connector according to claim 2,
Nishikawa in view of Kondo is silent on wherein the electric wire is drawn out in a height direction intersecting the fitting direction with respect to the casing.
However, MIYAMOTO discloses (Fig. 2) wherein the electric wire (22) is drawn out in a height direction intersecting the fitting direction with respect to the casing (24) (See Fig. 2).
Since having the electric wire drawn out in a height direction intersecting the fitting direction with respect to the casing is a design choice, therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nishikawa in view of Kondo to incorporate the teachings of MIYAMOTO and provide wherein the electric wire (22) is drawn out in a height direction intersecting the fitting direction with respect to the casing (24) (See Fig. 2).
Conclusion
/SIDI M MAIGA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847