DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the amendment filed on 12/29/2025.
Claims 1, 4, 8, 11, 15, and 17 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
All references listed in the IDS filings dated 11/21/2025 and 1/08/2026 have been considered. Examiner notes for clarity that copies of EPO Extended European Search Reports for both 25183020.4 and 25182920.6 were attached with the IDS dated 11/21/2025 but not listed thereon; however, both were listed on the IDS dated 1/08/2026 with additional copies attached.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Double Patenting
The present Remarks acknowledge the provisional double patenting rejections of the claims, but provide no arguments against them, indication of an intent to file a terminal disclaimer, or other meaningful response to said rejections. Examiner finds that the present claims are amended in essentially identical fashion to the most recent amendments to the claims of co-pending Application 18749596, and thus maintains these provisional double patenting rejections.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Regarding Claims 4, 11, and 18, the present amendments correct the antecedent basis issues for the terms “the intellectual property rights enforcement data” and “the authenticated memorabilia data,” but fail to do so for the term “the item listing system data.” As such, the previous 112(b) rejection of these claims is modified in view of the present amendments and maintained.
Regarding the previous 112(b) rejections of Claims 6, 13, and 20, despite the present Remarks asserting that “[p]er the Office’s suggestions appropriate amendments have been made to remove the concerns identified,” these claims have not in fact been amended presently, either per the suggested language in the previous 112(b) rejections or otherwise. As such, this issue is not addressed and these rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 101 analysis have been considered and are unpersuasive.
Applicant asserts that the claims all fall within proper statutory categories as per Step 1 of the 101 subject matter eligibility analysis. This assertion is made absent any meaningful substantive discussion, and amounts to no more than an unsupported conclusory statement rather than a properly reasoned argument. While Applicant agrees that Claims 1-7 and 15-20 all properly fall within one of the enumerated statutory categories of Step 1, Examiner maintains the 101 signals per se-based rejections of Claims 8-14 issued in the Non-Final Rejection of 8/11/2025. Applicant makes no mention of these signals per se rejections in the present Remarks, and the present amendments to these claims fail to address these rejections.
None of the arguments presented by Applicant which are nominally regarding Step 2A, Prong One are indeed Step 2A, Prong One arguments. Rather, they are a string of Step 2A, Prong Two arguments, particularly regarding the consideration of an improvement to a technology. Even properly considering these arguments under the standards of Step 2A, Prong Two, none of these are persuasive arguments of technological improvements. Generally across each of these asserted improvements, Applicant fails to properly consider the distinction between judicial exceptions (here, abstract ideas) and additional elements. This is particularly important here as integration into a practical application (including by way of the improvement to a technology consideration) may only occur by way of any recited additional elements or the combination thereof (see, e.g., MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05).
Regarding the first assertion, merely specifying the content of the training data analyzed in the present invention, particularly when both as claimed and as described in the specification, this information is entirely abstract in nature, does not evidence an improvement to a technology. As articulated in the Summary of the Interview of 10/15/2025 in relation to similar argument, “Examiner finds nothing inherently technological about the dataset used for training the ML model, especially given the broad manner in which they are []claimed.”
Regarding the second assertion, and similar to the abstract nature of the input data discussed above in relation to Applicant’s first Prong One assertion, specifying such data as “heterogeneous across modalities (text, image, transactional, contextual)” does nothing to make such data non-abstract, especially given examples of what this data is intended to encompass as described in the specification. Further, while the newly claimed feature-fusion data embedding in the model training step represents a non-abstract additional element, this does not embody a “[r]epresentation learning improvement” as asserted. Particularly, as conveyed to Applicant regarding this functionality in the Interview of 10/15/2025, “[c]ombining embeddings via feature-fusion is a pre-existing technique as discussed above, and as such does not constitute an improvement to a technology (or appear to evidence integration by way of any other consideration).” As such, one of ordinary skill in the art could not reasonably conclude that the incorporation of such pre-existing feature-fusion techniques would be an improvement to a technology as per Applicant’s effective filing date. [Calibri font/0xA7] “[P]atents that do no more than claim the application of generic machine learning to new data environments, without disclosing improvements to the machine learning models to be applied, are patent ineligible under § 101." Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox. Corp., Fed Cir. No. 2023-2437 (Apr. 18, 2025) (slip op. at 18).
Regarding the third assertion, Applicant again fails to distinguish between abstract ideas and additional elements. While the training and use of a machine learning model constitute additional elements, the claimed data analysis and generation of results are abstract in nature. As explained to Applicant in the Interview of 10/15/2025 in response to similar arguments, the “high-level performance [of machine learning models and techniques] in proposed-amended Claim 1 does not show an improvement to a technology (such as machine learning), but rather uses a technology and pre-existing techniques associated therewith in a new environment or field of use, which is not sufficient to show subject matter eligibility.” Additionally, the “[i]nference-to-action” referenced in this argument remains abstract as claimed, as also explained to Applicant in the Interview of 10/15/2025.
Applicant’s single-sentence analogies to the Enfish and McRO cases, presented in conclusory manner absent any attempt at fact-to-fact or reasoning-to-reasoning analysis, does nothing to make the above-discussed arguments persuasive. Unlike the presently claimed invention and present arguments associated therewith, those inventions do improve a technology.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments both nominally and actually regarding Step 2A, Prong Two, these arguments suffer from some of the same failings discussed above, particularly claiming of standard machine learning techniques as somehow representing improvements to machine learning as it existed at Applicant’s date of filing, and a failure to recognize the distinction between judicial exceptions and additional elements.
Regarding the first Prong Two argument, the acquisition of multi-source inputs from authenticity verified domains as claimed is entirely abstract. While the construction of a ground-truth training set is a non-abstract additional element, this is an exceedingly standard and ubiquitous machine learning technique as of Applicant’s effective filing date, and as such does not represent an improvement to a technology or any other meaningful application of abstract ideas set forth in MPEP 2106.05(d).
Regarding the second Prong Two argument, “transform[ing] heterogeneous signals with NLP/CV/transactional encoders” is not embodied in the claims as presently drafted, and as such is entirely irrelevant. Regarding the claimed feature-fusion techniques, this fails to show integration into a practical application for the same reasons discussed above and in the Interview of 10/15/2025.
Regarding the third Prong Two argument, “[p]erform[ing] listing-level inference to produce authenticity confidence and analytics output” is an entirely abstract step, and describing such outputs as “machine-interpretable,” particularly in the extremely high-level manner in which this might be considered embodied by the claims as presently drafted, does nothing to make this otherwise. It has long been established that mere performance of abstract steps (including myriad examples of data analysis) by way of computers does not render such steps non-abstract. See, e.g., the seminal Alice case and MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).
Regarding the fourth Prong Two argument, the generation and communication of a brand-focused security notification associated with the analytics and authenticity representations, even as vaguely claimed as being the basis for further remedial actions in Claim 6, are entirely abstract ideas. The vague and high-level claiming of such steps occurring via computer elements does nothing to make this otherwise. Again, see e.g., the seminal Alice case and MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).
Applicant’s vague and conclusory analogies to the DDR Holdings and Finjan cases are no more effective than the similarly asserted references to Enfish and McRO addressed above. Unlike those cases, the presently claimed invention merely claims the performance of an entirely abstract analysis based on entirely abstract data resulting in entirely abstract outputs at a high level as performed via computer elements (including machine learning models and standard techniques associated therewith).
Regarding Step 2B, Applicant’s assertions of non-conventional activity both misapprehends this standard as well as continues to fail to distinguish between abstract ideas and additional elements in similar manner as the arguments addressed above. Further, these arguments contain several purported distinctions unembodied by the claims as presently drafted (e.g., “not the routine unlabeled/weakly labeled web crawls typical of prior systems;” “generation of multi-dimensional authenticity representations;” “a structured, machine-actionable output”), which are therefore irrelevant regardless of the equal applicability of the failures of these arguments discussed below.
The well-understood, routine, and conventional consideration of Step 2B applies only to claim elements categorized as additional elements, and further sub-categorized as insignificant extra-solution activity (see, e.g., the Step 2B analyses of Example 46, Claim 1 of the October 2019 PEG Update, and of Example 47, Claim 2 and Example 48, Claim 1 of the July 2024 PEG Update). The majority of the features referenced in Applicant’s Step 2B arguments are not additional elements but rather abstract concepts (e.g., the gathering of multi-dimensional data, including data representing heterogeneous data attributes, from a variety of sources; the use of such data in pattern-recognition-type data analyses to learn authentic brand characteristics; using output security analytics to generate a security notification; potentially taking further enforcement actions based on the content of such a notification, at least in Claim 6), and whether abstract ideas are well-understood, routine, and conventional is entirely irrelevant. Rather, the only claim element found to recite insignificant extra-solution activity is the embedding of data through feature fusion during model training, yet as discussed above (and as evidenced by the low level of detail provided for this element in Applicant’s own specification – see updated 101 rejections below for more information), such feature-fusion techniques were perfectly well-known and conventional in machine learning arts at the time of Applicant’s effective filing date, and as such could not reasonably be called an “[u]nconventional ML training approach.”
Further, Applicant returns to the improvement to a technology consideration by asserting that the purportedly unconventional elements asserted above “provide a technical solution to a technical problem (robust, cross-modal authenticity detection and automated action),” purportedly resulting in “improved accuracy, robustness, and operational reliability of brand-security systems.” However, “robust, cross-modal authenticity detection and automated action” is an abstract concept rather than a technological one, and the high-level performance of such abstract detection and action by way of computer elements does not make this otherwise (again, see Alice; see also the various Examples of the July 2024 PEG Update). Further, as similarly explained to Applicant in the Interview of 10/15/2025, “improved accuracy, robustness, and operational reliability of brand-security” are abstract results rather than technological ones, and merely couching this as a narrower improvement to “brand-security systems” rather than its proper context as improving the abstract concept of brand security more broadly does not make this otherwise.
Nothing in Applicant’s proffered arguments or the various citations to the specification (even if the full details of which were properly embodied in the claims as presently drafted, a great many of which are not) properly evidence an improvement to a technology as asserted.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 103 analysis have been considered and are unpersuasive.
Applicant’s arguments in view of the present amendments are moot in view of the updated 103 rejections below; see updated 103 rejections for more information.
Regarding the content of Applicant’s 103 rejections, Examiner makes some observations. Firstly, Applicant’s assertions solely consider the Venkatraman and Chase references in isolation, failing to properly consider them as modifying one another as cited in the previous and present 103 rejections. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references (see In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986)). Secondly, many of Applicant’s arguments, in similar manner to several of the 101 arguments above and arguments presented in the Interview of 10/15/2025, assert a failure to disclose various features which are not embodied by the claims as presently drafted, and as such are irrelevant. For example, as stated in the Interview of 10/15/2025: “the amendments to the limitation for generating a brand-focused security notification do not narrow the content of that notification in the same way as argued (ie: ‘[t]he notification is not a generic report, but a computational output tied to model-based authenticity analytics’), but instead merely specify data which this [] notification is ‘based on’ and ‘associated with.’ Examiner does not find that this distinguishes the claim from the previously cited references.” Lastly, many of Applicant’s assertions of distinctions are simply untrue, even in view of the particular citations as provided in the previous Office Action. For example, regarding the assertion that “[n]o disclosure of a training dataset ‘generated from multiple authenticity-verified domains’ that provide ground truth inputs,” Venkatraman discloses the gathering of such data from a variety of third-party sources/subscriptions, and Chase discloses the gathering of such data from various manufacturers. Applicant is encouraged to take greater care in the future, both with consideration of what is actually embodied by the claim language and what is disclosed in the references cited against such language.
Claim Interpretation
Independent Claims 1, 8, and 15 (as well as several dependent claims thereof) contain the term “brand-focused security data.” The disclosure of Paragraph 0094, while insufficient to create a special definition of "brand-focused security data" as per the exemplary verbiage thereof (e.g., "can be"), does make clear that this term is intended to indicate one or more item listings, potentially with different content regarding branding. Indeed, the original disclosure does not disclose any other potential or exemplary embodiments thereof. This term is interpreted accordingly, in large part leading to the presently given double patenting rejections (see below).
Claims 2, 9, and 16 contain the following limitation: “wherein the brand-focused machine learning model is integrated into a brand-focused security administrator tool of an item listing system to support generating the brand-focused security analytics results data.” In this limitation, the language “to support generating the brand-focused security analytics results data” as drafted is considered intended use, and as such is not given patentable weight.
Claim 4, which is a system claim, contains the following limitation: “wherein training the brand-focused machine learning model is based on machine learning techniques that fuse the brand multi-dimensional authenticity features that correspond to intellectual property rights enforcement data, authenticated memorabilia data, and the item listing system data.” This recited training step limitation, despite belonging to a claim explicitly drafted as falling within the statutory category of “machine,” appears to represent a method step which is entirely divorced from any structure which defines the system (e.g., it does not recite new structure or relate back to functionality already claimed as being performed by one or more computer processors of Claim 1, upon which Claim 4 depends). As such, these limitations are not part of the claimed system and are not given patentable weight. For the purposes of this examination, this limitation is interpreted as if it did have patentable weight (e.g., as if drafted as “the operations further comprising training the brand-focused machine learning model…).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 8-11, and 15-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-4, 8-11, and 15-17 of copending Application No. 18749596. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because what few distinctions in terminology are present may be interpreted identically. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Independent Claims 1, 8, and 15 of copending Application No. 18749596 are nearly identical to those of the present applications Claims 1, 8, and 15, only differing by replacing certain terms within the claimed functional limitations thereof. Regarding the term “brand-focused security data” of the present application, which replaces “item listing/item listing associated with an item listing system” of copending Application No. 18749596, the present application’s original disclosure makes clear that this “brand-focused security data” may be interpreted identically (see Interpretation Notes above for more information). Other related changes in terminology (e.g., “brand-focused security notification” versus “brand-focused security analytics results data”) may likewise be interpreted identically under the broadest reasonable interpretation standard.
The additional limitations of Claims 2 and 9 of copending Application No. 18749596 differ in terminology from Claims 2, 9, and 16 of the present application in the same way as explained as for Claims 1, 8, and 15 above. Additionally, there is a distinction in the “to support…” language of these claims, but as these limitations represent intended use and consequently are not given patentable weight, this does not cause a patentable distinction.
The additional limitations of Claims 3-4, 10-11, and 16-17 of copending Application No. 18749596 are identical to Claims 3-4, 10-11, and 17-18 of the present application.
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 8, and 15 of copending Application No. 18749596 in view of Venkatraman et al (PGPub 20160253679) and Chase et al (WO 2024173092, claiming the priority of US Provisional Application 63446554). Copending Application No. 18749596 discloses Claims 1, 8, and 15 of the present invention as described above, and each of the additional limitations of Claims 5, 12, and 19 are further disclosed by the combination of Venkatraman and Chase (see 103 rejections below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to include the machine learning-based brand security system of Venkatraman with the machine learning-based brand security system of copending Application No. 18749596 because Venkatraman teaches to do so (see KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421 (2007) and MPEP 2143). In at least the Abstract and ¶ 0011, the invention of Venkatraman is disclosed for use in a brand abuse analysis and protection system such as that of copending Application No. 18749596. It would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to include the machine learning-based brand authentication techniques of Chase with the machine learning-based brand authentication system of Application No. 18749596 and Venkatraman because the combination merely applies a known technique to a known device/method/product ready for improvement to yield predictable results (see KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421 (2007) and MPEP 2143). The known techniques of Chase are applicable to the base device (Application No. 18749596 and Venkatraman), the technical ability existed to improve the base device in the same way, and the results of the combination are predictable because the function of each piece (as well as the problems in the art which they address) are unchanged when combined.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 8, and 15 of copending Application No. 18749596 in view of Keren et al (PGPub 20210248624). Copending Application No. 18749596 discloses Claims 1, 8, and 15 of the present invention as described above, and each of the additional limitations of Claims 6, 13, and 20 are further disclosed by Keren (see 103 rejections below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to include the brand security analysis request techniques of Keren with the machine learning-based brand security system of copending Application No. 18749596 because the combination merely applies a known technique to a known device/method/product ready for improvement to yield predictable results (see KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421 (2007) and MPEP 2143). The known techniques of Keren are applicable to the base device (copending Application No. 18749596), the technical ability existed to improve the base device in the same way, and the results of the combination are predictable because the function of each piece (as well as the problems in the art which they address) are unchanged when combined.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 7 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 1, 8, and 15 of copending Application No. 18749596 in view of Keren et al (PGPub 20210248624). Copending Application No. 18749596 discloses Claims 1, 8, and 15 of the present invention as described above, and each of the additional limitations of Claims 7 and 14 are further disclosed by Keren (see 103 rejections below).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the brand security enforcement planning and execution techniques of Keren with the machine learning-based brand security system of copending Application No. 18749596 to enhance enforcement strategies, e.g., taking down bad actors and brand abuse, a goal set forth in at least Paragraphs 0009 and 0029 of Venkatraman.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 6, 11, 13, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 each contain the term “the item listing system data.” These terms lack antecedent basis, as they are not previously disclosed within the respective claim strings. Examiner notes that first instances of this termis present in Claims 3, 10, and 17; however, as Claims 4, 11, and 18 do not depend upon any of these claims, these instances cannot provide antecedent basis here. For the purposes of this examination, this term is interpreted as “item listing system data.”
Claims 6, 13, and 20 contain the following limitation: “wherein accessing brand-focused security data is based on…” It is unclear as drafted whether this language is intended to recite a new step for accessing brand-focused security data” or whether this limitation is intended to further narrow the limitation “accessing brand-focused security data” of Claims 1, 8, and 15 (upon which Claims 6, 13, and 20 respectively depend). For the purposes of this examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “wherein the accessing of the brand-focused security data is based on…”
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Claims 1, 8, and 15, the limitations of accessing brand-focused security data; analyzing the brand-focused security data using a brand-focused model that is trained based on a multi-dimensional authenticity analysis dataset and brand multi-dimensional authenticity features, wherein the multi-dimensional authenticity analysis dataset is generated from multiple authenticity-verified domains; wherein the brand multi-dimensional authenticity features comprise heterogeneous data attributes representing brand authenticity across multiple modalities, the heterogeneous data attributes are associated to represent authentic characteristics of a brand; based on analyzing the brand-focused security data using the brand-focused machine learning model, generating brand-focused security analytics results data, wherein the brand-focused security analytics result data is associated with multi-dimensional authenticity representations generated by the brand-focused machine-learning model to indicate brand authenticity confidence; and communicating the brand-focused security analytics results data to cause display of one or more visualizations based on the brand-focused security analytics results data, as drafted, are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover certain methods of organizing human activity. For example, these limitations fall at least within the enumerated categories of commercial or legal interactions and/or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)).
Additionally, the limitations of accessing brand-focused security data; analyzing the brand-focused security data using a brand-focused model that is trained based on a multi-dimensional authenticity analysis dataset and brand multi-dimensional authenticity features, wherein the multi-dimensional authenticity analysis dataset is generated from multiple authenticity-verified domains; wherein the brand multi-dimensional authenticity features comprise heterogeneous data attributes representing brand authenticity across multiple modalities, the heterogeneous data attributes are associated to represent authentic characteristics of a brand; based on analyzing the brand-focused security data using the brand-focused machine learning model, generating brand-focused security analytics results data, wherein the brand-focused security analytics result data is associated with multi-dimensional authenticity representations generated by the brand-focused machine-learning model to indicate brand authenticity confidence; and communicating the brand-focused security analytics results data to cause display of one or more visualizations based on the brand-focused security analytics results data, as drafted, are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes. For example, these limitations recite activity comprising observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
Additionally, the limitation of analyzing the brand-focused security data using a brand-focused model that is trained based on a multi-dimensional authenticity analysis dataset and brand multi-dimensional authenticity features, wherein the multi-dimensional authenticity analysis dataset is generated from multiple authenticity-verified domains, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers mathematical concepts. For example, these limitations recite mathematical relationships and/or calculations (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)).
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers fundamental economic principles or practices, commercial or legal interactions, managing personal behavior or relationships, or managing interactions between people, it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with the aid of pen and paper but for recitation of generic computer components, it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers mathematical relationships, mathematical formulae or equations, or mathematical calculations, it falls within the “Mathematical Concepts” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of one or more computer-storage media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon that are executable by a processor, one or more computer processors, computer memory storing computer-useable instructions that executable by the one or more computer processors, a brand-focused machine learning model, providing ground-truth inputs for training the brand-focused machine learning model, and embedding data through feature-fusion during model training. One or more computer-storage media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon that are executable by a processor, one or more computer processors, computer memory storing computer-useable instructions that executable by the one or more computer processors, a brand-focused machine learning model, and providing ground-truth inputs for training the brand-focused machine learning model, in the context of the claims as a whole, amount to no more than mere instructions to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Embedding data through feature-fusion during model training, in the context of the claims as a whole, amounts to no more than insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application because they do not, individually or in combination, impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract ideas. The claims are therefore directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply a judicial exception, and insignificant extra-solution activity for the same reasons as discussed above in relation to integration into a practical application. The limitation found to recite insignificant extra-solution activity is further found to be well-understood, routine, and conventional in view of the standards of 112(a) as the high-level description of this functionality in the original disclosure (see at least Paragraphs 0065-0073 as filed) would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to indicate well-understood, routine, and conventional activity. These cannot provide an inventive concept. Therefore, when considering the additional elements alone and in combination, there is no inventive concept in the claims, and thus the claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20, describing various additional limitations to the system of Claim 1, product of Claim 8, or method of Claim 15, amount to substantially the same unintegrated abstract idea as Claims 1, 8, and 15 (upon which these claims depend, directly or indirectly) and are rejected for substantially the same reasons.
Claims 2, 9, and 16 disclose wherein the brand-focused machine learning model is integrated into a brand-focused security administrator tool (mere instructions to apply a judicial exception) of an item listing system (mere instructions to apply a judicial exception) to support generating the brand-focused security analytics results data (an abstract idea in the form of a certain method of organizing human activity and a mental process), which does not integrate the claims into a practical application.
Claims 3, 10, and 17 disclose wherein the multi-dimensional authenticity analysis dataset comprises intellectual property rights enforcement data, authenticated memorabilia data, and item listing system data that provide ground truth labeling and annotations associated with model training (further defining the abstract ideas already set forth in Claims 1, 8, and 15), which does not integrate the claims into a practical application.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 disclose wherein training the brand-focused machine learning model is based on machine learning techniques that fuse the brand multi-dimensional authenticity features that correspond to intellectual property rights enforcement data, authenticated memorabilia data, and the item listing system data (an abstract idea in the form of a certain method of organizing human activity, a mental process, and a mathematical concept), which does not integrate the claims into a practical application.
Claims 5, 12, and 19 disclose identifying a predicted brand for an item listing, wherein the item listing does not include a brand input (an abstract idea in the form of a certain method of organizing human activity and a mental process); extracting item listing information associated with the item listing (an abstract idea in the form of a certain method of organizing human activity and a mental process); and updating existing brand-focused security analytics results data for the predicted brand based on the extracted item listing information (an abstract idea in the form of a certain method of organizing human activity and a mental process), which do not integrate the claims into a practical application.
Claims 6, 13, and 20 disclose wherein accessing brand-focused security data is based on a request from a security administrator for brand-focused security analytics results data associated with a brand identifier in the request (an abstract idea in the form of a certain method of organizing human activity and a mental process), which does not integrate the claims into a practical application.
Claims 7 and 14 disclose the method further comprising generating a brand security strategy based on the brand-focused security analytics results data (an abstract idea in the form of a certain method of organizing human activity and a mental process), which does not integrate the claims into a practical application.
Claims 8-14 are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, Claims 8-14 encompass transitory forms of signal transmission, or signals per se (see In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 84 USPQ2d 1495 (Fed. Cir. 2007) and MPEP 2106.03). In order to overcome these rejections, Examiner suggests amending “One or more computer-storage media having…” to read “One or more non-transitory computer-storage media having…”
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkatraman et al (PGPub 20160253679) (hereafter, “Venkatraman”) in view of Chase et al (WO 2024173092, claiming priority to US Provisional Application 63446554, filed 2/17/2023) (hereafter, “Chase”) and Chen et al (CN 114863230) (hereafter, “Chen”).
Regarding Claims 1, 8, and 15, Venkatraman discloses:
One or more computer-storage media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon executable by a processor (¶ 0025, 0032; Figs. 1-2; server includes a processor that executes computer readable medium and instructions stored on the server (or elsewhere) to perform functions of the BAMS system; memory stores code (machine-readable or executable instructions) for an operating system);
one or more computer processors (¶ 0025; Figs. 1-2; server includes a processor that executes computer readable medium and instructions stored on the server (or elsewhere) to perform functions of the BAMS system);
computer memory storing computer-useable instructions executable by the one or more computer processors (¶ 0025, 0032; Figs. 1-2; server includes a processor that executes computer readable medium and instructions stored on the server (or elsewhere) to perform functions of the BAMS system; memory stores code (machine-readable or executable instructions) for an operating system);
accessing brand-focused security data (¶ 0014, 0040, 0061, 0063; Figs. 3-4; data collection and brand abuse reporting system (DBAR) includes an input section comprising one or more collection engines adapted to harvest and crawl to obtain information available over internet websites and potentially other sources; collected detection data sets include marketplace listings, ecommerce websites, etc.);
based on analyzing the brand-focused security data using the brand-focused machine learning model, generating brand-focused security analytics results data, wherein the brand-focused security analytics result data is associated with multi-dimensional authenticity representations generated by the brand-focused machine-learning model to indicate brand authenticity confidence (¶ 0029, 0035, 0052-0055, 0060, 0063-0064, 0066; Figs. 3-4, 6; BAMS system generates aggregated abuser lists and similarity scoring; a representative BAMS adapted to receive and process a received document having text content, image content, HTML content, and price content; image data or file is received by Image Matching module which may compare the received image with images stored in and accessed from image clusters storage or DB; text from document may be represented as a date file that is delivered to text match module, which may compare the text file, directly or after natural language processing and other steps are performed, with text strings or linguistic patterns stored in database or storage; document classifier processes document and key receives event ID data from element and is connected via nodes to matching module, document classifier, regular expression parser and text match module; the IDE matches the key attributes of threat vectors, enablers, and bad actors to the abuse database to see if there are matches; if a match is found the database is augmented with the relationships between the incident, the existing enablers, threat vectors, and bad actors; if a match is not found new entries are inserted into the database to capture the relationships between the incident, the enablers, threat vectors, and bad actors; a score is generated for bad actors based on the volume and breadth of incidents to indicate the level of online brand abuse they have conducted; data sets from the Attribute Matching module are delivered to Scoring Engine for further processing, including scoring; a High Value Target ID module receives a scored set of attribute matching datasets post-scoring from scoring engine for reporting by reporting module; the methods and systems of the present invention, described in detail hereafter, may be employed in providing remote users access to searchable databases and tools for setting up and receiving reports concerning brand monitoring and abuse or infringement detection; a report is generated listing the high value targets for a given brand; reporting by the reporting module, which may include particular user-defined or selected reporting formats; the reporting data set is delivered to user portal for presentation to a user such as by way of a connection of a client remote device); and
communicating the brand-focused security analytics results data to cause display of one or more visualizations based on the brand-focused security analytics results data (¶ 0029, 0035, 0060, 0064; Figs. 3-4; BAMS system generates aggregated abuser lists and similarity scoring; the methods and systems of the present invention, described in detail hereafter, may be employed in providing remote users access to searchable databases and tools for setting up and receiving reports concerning brand monitoring and abuse or infringement detection; a report is generated listing the high value targets for a given brand; reporting by the reporting module, which may include particular user-defined or selected reporting formats; the reporting data set is delivered to user portal for presentation to a user such as by way of a connection of a client remote device).
Venkatraman additionally discloses analyzing the brand-focused security data using a brand-focused machine learning model that is trained based on a multi-dimensional authenticity analysis dataset, wherein the multi-dimensional authenticity analysis dataset is generated from multiple authenticity-verified domains (¶ 0014, 0025-0026, 0029, 0033, 0035, 0038-0039, 0041, 0055-0056, 0060; Figs. 1, 3-4; training/learning module; the entity identification module establishes an entity resolution layer and includes natural language processing, machine learning and image matching techniques to identify fields and patterns in collected data and categorize them using an ontology of entities relevant to brand protection; entity resolution layer—using data fusion, machine learning and image matching techniques, identifies fields and patterns in the data and classify and categorize them using an ontology of entities relevant to brand protection; the BAMS may be operated by a traditional professional services company, e.g., Thomson Reuters, wherein BAMS database corpus or set includes internal service or databases or sources of content such as TR Feeds; in addition, BAMS database set may be supplemented with external sources, freely available or subscription-based, as additional data considered by the IDE; news database or source may be a source for confirmed facts; also, government/regulatory filings database or source, USPTO, as well as other sources, provide data to the BAMS system for generating aggregated abuser lists and similarity scoring; an online information-retrieval system, such as offerings from Thomson Reuters Financial, Thomson IP, Westlaw, MarkMonitor, and other systems). Venkatraman does not explicitly disclose but Chase does disclose analyzing the item information using a brand-focused machine learning model that is trained based on a multi-dimensional authenticity analysis dataset and brand multi-dimensional authenticity features; wherein the multi-dimensional authenticity dataset is generated to provide ground-truth inputs for training the brand-focused machine learning model (¶ 0006, 0029, 0048-0049, 0056-0057, 0077, 0080, 0094, 0110; an identification algorithm of the one or more identification algorithms may be trained using a dataset of a plurality of images of golfballs, the dataset including one or more tags for each of the plurality of images, the one or more tags including at least one of a brand, a model, and a logo; one or more models may be trained using — or may otherwise retrieve this information for a condition analysis — one or more of: a plurality of images and/or scans of golfballs, which may be of different types, and which may include different conditions for comparison for identification by a model; data retrieved from manufacturer specifications and the like (such as data that indicates coloring, markings, shape, features, dimple properties, size, tolerances, material properties, and/or the like); and the like; one or more scans (and/or images) of a golf ball may be processed to identify (e.g., via machine learning models trained on voluminous images of similar objects having various attributes and features) attributes and features thereof, such as manufacturer, brand, model, damage, condition, cleanliness, advantages, disadvantages, third-party information, and so on; the database may be a golfball database including data such as a plurality of play-based attributes for each of a plurality of golfballs; such data may be created, added, removed, and/or revised in any of a number of ways, including automatically by data scraping from information provided by manufacturers or the like (e.g., web scraping to extract information from websites using automated tools or scripts to gather data from web pages), and/or manually by administrators, and so on).
Venkatraman additionally discloses wherein the brand multi-dimensional authenticity features comprise heterogeneous data attributes representing brand authenticity across multiple modalities, the heterogeneous data attributes are embedded through data-fusion during model training to represent authentic characteristics of a brand (¶ 0014, 0025-0026, 0038-0039, 0041, 0047, 0055-0056, 0060; Figs. 1, 3-4; training/learning module; the entity resolution layer uses natural language processing, machine learning and image matching techniques to identify fields and patterns in the data and categorize them using an ontology of entities relevant to brand protection; the resolution layer parses entities from unstructured text using text pattern matching techniques; this kind of entity may be resolved using supervised or unsupervised document classification techniques after transforming the text documents into numeric vectors: using multiple string fuzzy text pattern matching algorithms such as fuzzy Aho-Corasick; and using topic models such as Latent Dirichlet Allocation (LDA) and Hierarchical Dirichlet Processes (HDP); some entities represent a set of similar images, such as several variations (cropping, scaling, rotation, blur and other transformations used by infringers) of the same product picture; first, a matching algorithm computes a distance metric between any two images; second, a hierarchical clustering algorithm clusters the images in the leaves of a trie (prefix tree); each node is represented by the average of the feature vectors of all images in the children branches; a new image is matched to a cluster (leaf) by computing the distance of the new image to nodes starting by the root of the tree and going always towards the child with the smallest distance; the entity identification module establishes an entity resolution layer and includes natural language processing, machine learning and image matching techniques to identify fields and patterns in collected data and categorize them using an ontology of entities relevant to brand protection; entity resolution layer—using data fusion, machine learning and image matching techniques, identifies fields and patterns in the data and classify and categorize them using an ontology of entities relevant to brand protection). Venkatraman does not explicitly disclose but Chen does disclose wherein embedding data through data-fusion during model training is embedding data through feature-fusion (Abstract; pgs. 8-9, 14; an image processing method, false goods identification method and electronic device; because the target splicing feature is spliced by multiple independent features, in order to improve the identification rate, the plurality of independent features can be fused, so that the correlation between each independent feature in the feature after fusion is represented; therefore, before identifying the object to be identified, firstly the target splicing characteristic fusion, namely the target splicing characteristic in the mutually independent existing processing characteristic and processing characteristic to be combined into a characteristic form, so as to identify whether the object to be identified is a target object based on the fusion characteristic; the target splicing feature fusion step; can pre-train a fusion layer model, the fusion layer model may include one or more fusion layer and a full connection layer, each fusion layer can use linear rectification function ReLu as the activation function).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to include the machine learning-based brand authentication techniques of Chase with the machine learning-based brand authentication system of Venkatraman because the combination merely applies a known technique to a known device/method/product ready for improvement to yield predictable results (see KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421 (2007) and MPEP 2143). The known techniques of Chase are applicable to the base device (Venkatraman), the technical ability existed to improve the base device in the same way, and the results of the combination are predictable because the function of each piece (as well as the problems in the art which they address) are unchanged when combined. It would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to include the machine learning-based brand authentication techniques of Chen with the machine learning-based brand authentication system of Venkatraman and Chase because the combination merely applies a known technique to a known device/method/product ready for improvement to yield predictable results (see KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421 (2007) and MPEP 2143). The known techniques of Chen are applicable to the base device (Venkatraman and Chase), the technical ability existed to improve the base device in the same way, and the results of the combination are predictable because the function of each piece (as well as the problems in the art which they address) are unchanged when combined.
Regarding Claims 2, 9, and 16, Venkatraman in view of Chase and Chen discloses the limitations of Claims 1, 8, and 15. Venkatraman additionally discloses wherein the brand-focused machine learning model is integrated into a brand-focused security administrator tool of an item listing system to support generating the brand-focused security analytics results data (¶ 0014, 0025-0026, 0032, 0035, 0038-0039, 0041, 0060; Figs. 1, 3-4; training/learning module; the entity identification module establishes an entity resolution layer and includes natural language processing, machine learning and image matching techniques to identify fields and patterns in collected data and categorize them using an ontology of entities relevant to brand protection; entity resolution layer—using data fusion, machine learning and image matching techniques, identifies fields and patterns in the data and classify and categorize them using an ontology of entities relevant to brand protection; access device, such as a client device, includes interface tools to provide user access to the infringement detection engine interface as in Fig. 1).
Regarding Claims 3, 10, and 17, Venkatraman in view of Chase and Chen discloses the limitations of Claims 1, 8, and 15. Venkatraman does not explicitly disclose but Chase does disclose wherein the multi-dimensional authenticity analysis dataset comprises intellectual property rights enforcement data and authenticated memorabilia data, that provide ground truth labeling and annotations associated with model training (¶ 0006, 0029, 0048, 0056-0057, 0080, 0094, 0110; an identification algorithm of the one or more identification algorithms may be trained using a dataset of a plurality of images of golfballs, the dataset including one or more tags for each of the plurality of images, the one or more tags including at least one of a brand, a model, and a logo; one or more models may be trained using — or may otherwise retrieve this information for a condition analysis — one or more of: a plurality of images and/or scans of golfballs, which may be of different types, and which may include different conditions for comparison for identification by a model; data retrieved from manufacturer specifications and the like (such as data that indicates coloring, markings, shape, features, dimple properties, size, tolerances, material properties, and/or the like); and the like; one or more scans (and/or images) of a golf ball may be processed to identify (e.g., via machine learning models trained on voluminous images of similar objects having various attributes and features) attributes and features thereof, such as manufacturer, brand, model, damage, condition, cleanliness, advantages, disadvantages, third-party information, and so on; supervised machine learning may find an association between data (e.g., feature vectors X) and a corresponding label (y, which can be categorical or continuous) so that the computer can learn an algorithm that maps the input to the output). Venkatraman additionally discloses wherein the multi-dimensional authenticity analysis dataset comprises intellectual property rights enforcement data and item listing system data (¶ 0014, 0025-0026, 0038-0039, 0041, 0055-0056, 0060; Figs. 1, 3-4; training/learning module; the entity identification module establishes an entity resolution layer and includes natural language processing, machine learning and image matching techniques to identify fields and patterns in collected data and categorize them using an ontology of entities relevant to brand protection; entity resolution layer—using data fusion, machine learning and image matching techniques, identifies fields and patterns in the data and classify and categorize them using an ontology of entities relevant to brand protection; the entity identification module establishes an entity resolution layer and includes natural language processing, machine learning and image matching techniques to identify fields and patterns in collected data and categorize them using an ontology of entities relevant to brand protection; collected data includes marketplace listings and intellectual property rights enforcement data).
The rationale to combine remains the same as for Claim 1.
Regarding Claims 4, 11, and 18, Venkatraman in view of Chase and Chen discloses the limitations of Claims 1, 8, and 15. Venkatraman additionally discloses wherein training the brand-focused machine learning model is based on machine learning techniques that fuse the collected data that corresponds with intellectual property rights enforcement data and item listing system data (¶ 0014, 0025-0026, 0038-0039, 0041, 0055-0056, 0060; Figs. 1, 3-4; training/learning module; the entity identification module establishes an entity resolution layer and includes natural language processing, machine learning and image matching techniques to identify fields and patterns in collected data and categorize them using an ontology of entities relevant to brand protection; entity resolution layer—using data fusion, machine learning and image matching techniques, identifies fields and patterns in the data and classify and categorize them using an ontology of entities relevant to brand protection; the entity identification module establishes an entity resolution layer and includes natural language processing, machine learning and image matching techniques to identify fields and patterns in collected data and categorize them using an ontology of entities relevant to brand protection; collected data includes marketplace listings and intellectual property rights enforcement data). Venkatraman does not explicitly disclose but Chase does disclose wherein training the brand-focused machine learning model is based on machine learning techniques that fuse the brand multi-dimensional authenticity features that correspond to the collected data which includes intellectual property rights enforcement data and the authenticated memorabilia data (¶ 0006, 0029, 0048, 0056-0057, 0080, 0094, 0110; an identification algorithm of the one or more identification algorithms may be trained using a dataset of a plurality of images of golfballs, the dataset including one or more tags for each of the plurality of images, the one or more tags including at least one of a brand, a model, and a logo; one or more models may be trained using — or may otherwise retrieve this information for a condition analysis — one or more of: a plurality of images and/or scans of golfballs, which may be of different types, and which may include different conditions for comparison for identification by a model; data retrieved from manufacturer specifications and the like (such as data that indicates coloring, markings, shape, features, dimple properties, size, tolerances, material properties, and/or the like); and the like; one or more scans (and/or images) of a golf ball may be processed to identify (e.g., via machine learning models trained on voluminous images of similar objects having various attributes and features) attributes and features thereof, such as manufacturer, brand, model, damage, condition, cleanliness, advantages, disadvantages, third-party information, and so on; supervised machine learning may find an association between data (e.g., feature vectors X) and a corresponding label (y, which can be categorical or continuous) so that the computer can learn an algorithm that maps the input to the output).
The rationale to combine remains the same as for Claim 1.
Regarding Claims 5, 12, and 18, Venkatraman in view of Chase and Chen discloses the limitations of Claims 1, 8, and 15. Venkatraman does not explicitly disclose but Chase does disclose identifying a predicted brand for the item information, wherein the item information does not include a brand input (¶ 0104, 0129-0131; Figs. 5, 8; a user scans a golfball, e.g., without any identification; a first screen may be displayed once a scan of a golfball has been processed, including the identified brand name/manufacturer thereof). Venkatraman additionally discloses wherein the item information comes from an item listing (¶ 0014, 0040, 0061, 0063; Figs. 3-4; data collection and brand abuse reporting system (DBAR) includes an input section comprising one or more collection engines adapted to harvest and crawl to obtain information available over internet websites and potentially other sources; collected detection data sets include marketplace listings, ecommerce websites, etc.).
Venkatraman additionally discloses extracting item listing information associated with the item listing (¶ 0014, 0040, 0061, 0063; Figs. 3-4; data collection and brand abuse reporting system (DBAR) includes an input section comprising one or more collection engines adapted to harvest and crawl to obtain information available over internet websites and potentially other sources; collected detection data sets include marketplace listings, ecommerce websites, etc.).
Venkatraman additionally discloses updating existing brand-focused security analytics results data for the brand based on the extracted item listing information (¶ 0062-0063; the method and system operate by examining large volumes of incidents of online brand abuse; for each incident, key attributes of the associated threat vectors, enablers, and bad actors are extracted these are compared to entries stored in a non-transitory database of online brand abuse; the abuse database includes instances of past online brand abuse and is constantly updated as new incidents are identified). Venkatraman does not explicitly disclose but Chase does disclose wherein the brand is the predicted brand (¶ 0104, 0129-0131; Figs. 5, 8; a user scans a golfball, e.g., without any identification; a first screen may be displayed once a scan of a golfball has been processed, including the identified brand name/manufacturer thereof).
The rationale to combine remains the same as for Claim 1.
Claims 6-7, 13-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkatraman in view of Chase, Chen, and Keren et al (PGPub 20210248624) (hereafter, “Keren”).
Regarding Claims 6, 13, and 20, Venkatraman in view of Chase and Chen discloses the limitations of Claims 1, 8, and 15. Venkatraman does not explicitly disclose but Keren does disclose wherein accessing brand-focused security data is based on a request from a security administrator for brand-focused security analytics results data associated with a brand identifier in the request (Abstract; ¶ 0137, 0177, 0312-0313, 0395-0396; a system for protecting a brand-name of a brand owner; the system can allow the user (e.g., the brand owner or brand manager) to enter data in order to request a search and/or identification of brand-abusing websites, in order to determine risks and/or opportunities, or the like).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to include the brand security analysis request techniques of Keren with the machine learning-based brand security system of Venkatraman, Chase, and Chen because the combination merely applies a known technique to a known device/method/product ready for improvement to yield predictable results (see KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421 (2007) and MPEP 2143). The known techniques of Keren are applicable to the base device (Venkatraman, Chase, and Chen), the technical ability existed to improve the base device in the same way, and the results of the combination are predictable because the function of each piece (as well as the problems in the art which they address) are unchanged when combined.
Regarding Claims 7 and 14, Venkatraman in view of Chase and Chen discloses the limitations of Claims 1, 8, and 15. Venkatraman does not explicitly disclose but Keren does disclose the method further comprising generating a brand security strategy based on the brand-focused security analytics results data (¶ 0101, 0116, 0201, 0265, 0268, 0291, 0327-0328; the process of “Make ROA based decisions” may support the user in making decisions regarding his portfolio, specific brand and its related domain names and start the relevant processes; a precondition may be that the ROA is done or updated; the process may, for example: (a) Prioritize taken domains, websites or webpages by how much they risk the brand; (b) generate automatic alerts of high-risk violations; (c) prioritize the available domains by their potential risk or value; (d) display the use (current use and/or historical use) and investment index of each domain name—this helps predicting how easy it will be to purchase the domain; (e) provide necessary data and documentation regarding brand violation; (f) help decide against which domain names, websites or webpages to take legal action next, by finding groups of violating domain names, websites or webpages that show common behavior (e.g., with the process “fight violating websites”); (g) locate main cyber-squatters against whom additional investigation or legal actions should be taken; (h) Display information regarding available actions and other guiding information; (i) activate or trigger legal actions, such as a Cease and Desist notification, by presenting a standard letter or template, filled with the details of the relevant domain, website or webpage details and once approved sent to all relevant entities).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the brand security enforcement planning and execution techniques of Keren with the machine learning-based brand security system of Venkatraman, Chase, and Chen to enhance enforcement strategies, e.g., taking down bad actors and brand abuse, a goal set forth in at least Paragraphs 0009 and 0029 of Venkatraman.
Discussion of Prior Art Cited but Not Applied
For additional information on the state of the art regarding the claims of the present application, please see the following documents not applied in this Office Action (all of which are prior art to the present application):
PGPub 20170206574 – “Method of, and System for, Preventing Unauthorized Products from Being Sold on Online Sites,” Sharma et al, disclosing a system for determining authenticity of products listed for sale in online marketplaces
PGPub 20240185079 – “Semi-Supervised Similarity-Based Clustering in Resource Evaluation,” Singh et al, disclosing a system for utilizing machine learning to determine authenticity of products for sale
Gunawardhana et al, Effectiveness of Machine Learning Algorithms on Battling Counterfeit Items in E-commerce Marketplaces, IEEE 2023 Int’l Research Conference on Smart Computing and Systems Engineering (SCSE), Vol. 6, pgs. 1-7 (published 8/18/2023)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK C CLARE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3628
/MICHAEL P HARRINGTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628