DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 6, 8 and 12 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, line 1, recites “RMP error to torque proportional derivative module configured to…” but should recite – RPM error to torque proportional derivative module configured to… –; Claim 12 is objected to for similar reasoning.
Claim 6, lines 2-3, recites “RMP difference value” but should recite – RPM difference value –; Claim 12 is objected to for similar reasoning.
Claim 8, line 11, recites “generate to a motor torque command” but should recite – generate a motor torque command –
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “propulsion assembly configured to…” in claim 1, 5, 8 and 11, “lead/lag filter configured to…” in claim 3 and 9, “torque to collective blade pitch lead module receives…” in claim 4 and 10 and “rmp error to torque proportional derivative module configured to…” in claims 6 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 8-9, recites “determine a configuration of the propulsion assembly to cause the command to be executed”. It is unclear to the Examiner what “configuration” is referring to in the claims. In other words, configuration could be referring to modes (i.e., operating states such as takeoff, cruise and descent) of the propulsion assembly, it could be referring to particular settings of the electric motor and blades (i.e., torque, RPM and etc.), or it could be referring to a particular arrangement or positioning including blade pitch. The claim does not specify which operational parameters or states constitute the configuration, nor which parameters must be determined (i.e., none of the parameters are tied to the term). The specification does not provide additional details as to what constitutes a configuration. Therefore, claim 1 is indefinite. Claims 8 and 14 are rejected for similar reasoning. For purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets configuration to be a commanded torque or blade pitch. Claims 2-7, 9-13 and 15-20 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim 2, line 1, recites “further comprising a lead/lag filter”. Claim 1, lines 1-2, recites “An aircraft comprising:…” and “a propulsion assembly comprising:…”. It is unclear to the Examiner whether the lead/lag filter is supposed to be part of the aircraft or part of the propulsion assembly. In other words, it is unclear what is further comprising a lead/lag filter, it can be the aircraft or the propulsion assembly. Therefore, claim 2 is indefinite. Claims 6-7 are rejected for similar reasoning. For purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets the lead/lag filter to be part of the aircraft. Claim 3 is rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 10-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 20230026233 A1) in view of de Magalhães (US 20210276693 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 14, Kang teaches an aircraft comprising: a propulsion assembly comprising: an electric motor (¶[0029] “motors”); and a propeller having blades with a variable pitch and blade actuators (¶[0033] “plurality of propellers” “angle adjustment”); and a flight controller (¶[0027] “automatic controller”) configured to: receive a command associated with the aircraft (¶[0008] “command”); determine a configuration of the propulsion assembly to cause the command to be executed (¶[0027] “generating a collective pitch angle command upon receiving a thrust control command”); create a torque command (¶[0027]-[0028] “thrust control command”, i.e., thrust generates and/or is the reactive effect of torque) and a revolutions per minute (RPM) command associated with the configuration (¶[0027]-[0028] “electronic speed control (ESC) command for compensating for a revolution per minute (RPM) error”); and communicate the torque command and the RPM command to the propulsion assembly (¶[0027]-[0028] “thrust control command”, i.e., thrust generates and/or is the reactive effect of torque, and “electronic speed control (ESC) command for compensating for a revolution per minute (RPM) error”; ¶[0018] “transmit command to ESC controller”).
Kang does not explicitly teach wherein the propulsion assembly is configured to: generate a motor torque command based on the torque command and the RPM command; generate a current command based on the motor torque command; create a blade pitch command based on the torque command and the RPM command; and communicate the blade pitch command to the blade actuators to control a pitch of the blade, wherein the current command and the blade pitch command cause the blades to rotate at a revolutions per minute (RPM) associated with the configuration. However, de Magalhães discloses a propeller governor for electric synchronous thrust and teaches wherein the propulsion assembly is configured to: generate a motor torque command based on the torque command and the RPM command (¶[0011] “current adjustment for an electric motor associated with a power command” and [0017] “current dependent on the rotational speed”); generate a current command based on the motor torque command (¶[0011] “current adjustment associated with a power command” and [0017] “current dependent on the rotational speed”); create a blade pitch command based on the torque command and the RPM command (¶[0011] “propeller pitch is controlled as a function of electric current” “current is associated with power command”; ¶[0009] “speed of rotation is controlled by the frequency of the alternator”, i.e., when current is adjusted based on power command, rotation speed increases and blade pitch is adjusted); and communicate the blade pitch command to the blade actuators to control a pitch of the blade ¶[0011] “propeller pitch is controlled as a function of electric current”, wherein the current command and the blade pitch command cause the blades to rotate at a revolutions per minute (RPM) associated with the configuration (¶[0009] “speed of rotation is controlled by the frequency of the alternator”, i.e., when current is adjusted based on power command, rotation speed increases and blade pitch is adjusted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for controlling propeller and RPM of an aerial vehicle having multiple power devices of Kang to provide, with a reasonable expectation of success, wherein the propulsion assembly is configured to: generate a motor torque command based on the torque command and the RPM command; generate a current command based on the motor torque command; create a blade pitch command based on the torque command and the RPM command; and communicate the blade pitch command to the blade actuators to control a pitch of the blade, wherein the current command and the blade pitch command cause the blades to rotate at a revolutions per minute (RPM) associated with the configuration, as taught by de Magalhães, to provide finding the propeller pitch which produces a desired setup electric current. (de Magalhães at ¶[0014])
Regarding claims 4, 10 and 17, Kang teaches the aircraft of claim 1, wherein a torque to collective blade pitch lead module receives the torque command and applies a correction based on a change of torque that the torque command will cause to the electric motor (¶[0027]-[0031] “collective pitch angle command generating unit 100 generating a collective pitch angle command upon receiving a thrust control command”).
Regarding claims 5, 11 and 18, Kang teaches the aircraft of claim 1, wherein the propulsion assembly is configured to subtract a determined current RPM measurement of the blades to create an RPM difference value (¶[0015] “a difference between the RPM of the RPM limiting signal generated by the rotation speed change rate limiting unit and the RPM of the information on the real-time RPM measured by the current rotation speed checking unit”).
Regarding the further limitation in claim 18, Kang teaches determining a current RM of the blades (¶[0015] “real-time RPM measured by the current rotation speed checking unit”).
Regarding claims 6, 12 and 19, Kang teaches the aircraft of claim 5, further comprising an RMP error to torque proportional derivative module configured to receive the RPM difference value and modify the RMP difference value to increase a bandwidth of the flight controller by adding an adjustment to the RPM difference value (¶[0036] “RPM compensation from a difference between an RPM limiting signal derived through the rotation speed change rate limiting unit 230 and the current RPM measured by the current rotation speed checking unit 220”).
Regarding claims 7, 13 and 20, Kang teaches the aircraft of claim 5, further comprising an RPM governor proportional integral derivative controller configured to receive the RPM difference value and apply proportional, integral, and derivative actions to the RPM difference value (¶[0036] and [0039]-[0040] “proportional-integral (PI) control of the RPM compensation ESC command generating unit”).
Regarding claim 16, Kang teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising determining a current RPM of the blades (¶[0015] “real-time RPM measured by the current rotation speed checking unit”), wherein the blade pitch command is based at least partially on the determined current RPM of the blades (abstract and ¶[0027] “generating the collective pitch angle command by the collective pitch angle command generating unit and the RPM compensation ESC command”).
Claim(s) 2-3, 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 20230026233 A1) in view of de Magalhães (US 20210276693 A1), as applied to claims 1, 8 and 14 above, and in further view of Cameron (US 20120078446 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kang and de Magalhães does not explicitly teach the aircraft of claim 1, further comprising a lead/lag filter. However, Cameron discloses filtering for a multi-rate controller for an electro-mechanical flight actuation system and teaches the aircraft of claim 1, further comprising a lead/lag filter (¶[0029] “lead-lag filter 204”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for controlling propeller and RPM of an aerial vehicle having multiple power devices of Kang as modified by de Magalhães to provide, with a reasonable expectation of success, further comprising a lead/lag filter, as taught by de Magalhães, to provide producing a feed forward rate command that reduces phase loss at low frequencies. (de Magalhães at ¶[0029])
Regarding claims 3, 9 and 15, the combination of Kang and de Magalhães does not explicitly teach the aircraft of claim 2, wherein the lead/lag filter is configured to receive the torque command and apply forward path shaping to a bandwidth and a crossover frequency of the torque command. However, Cameron discloses filtering for a multi-rate controller for an electro-mechanical flight actuation system and teaches the aircraft of claim 2, wherein the lead/lag filter is configured to receive the torque command and apply forward path shaping to a bandwidth and a crossover frequency of the torque command (abstract and ¶[0025] and [0029] “lead-lag filter for filtering the limited incremental command to attenuate high frequencies, and a feed forward path for reducing phase loss in rate output signal at low frequencies”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for controlling propeller and RPM of an aerial vehicle having multiple power devices of Kang as modified by de Magalhães to provide, with a reasonable expectation of success, wherein the lead/lag filter is configured to receive the torque command and apply forward path shaping to a bandwidth and a crossover frequency of the torque command, as taught by de Magalhães, to provide producing a feed forward rate command that reduces phase loss at low frequencies. (de Magalhães at ¶[0029])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kastiel (US 20240002078 A1) is pertinent because it is a rotorcraft including three rotor system arms each having a rotor system. Each rotor system includes a mast having at least two rotor blades and an electric rotor motor. A flight control system continuously controls the at least three electric rotor motors and the floating masts cyclic rotor blade pitch in response to a desired input maneuver and its mast tilt feedback signal.
Tao (US 11505314 B2) is pertinent because it is a vertical takeoff and landing aircraft with tiltable rotors.
Chahal et al. (US 11408357 B2) is pertinent because it is an engine and propeller control system.
Kunii et al. (US 20210001974 A1) is pertinent because it is an unmanned aerial vehicle that eliminates or minimizes the laboriousness involved in optimal pitch adjustment of propellers while eliminating or minimizing complexity and instability in airframe structure and/or flight programs.
Gillett (US 20200290733 A1) is pertinent because it is a system and method for rotorcraft autorotation entry assist.
Kaufman et al. (US 20190291856 A1) is pertinent because it relates to systems and methods for reducing propeller noise.
White et al. (US 20180231986 A1) is pertinent because it relates to an aircraft with speed or acceleration command.
Kobayashi et al. (US 20170190435 A1) is pertinent because it is a motorized aircraft that is controlled by a drive control means that rotationally drives a propulsion system propeller. The propulsion system propeller is driven by a plurality of electric motors.
/C.L.K/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666