DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2024/0222402).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses an image sensing structure (image sensing device [0021] Fig 3), comprising:
a first pixel (PX_Gb [0032] Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2), including a first photodiode (photoelectric conversion region 114 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb shown in annotated Fig 2),
a second photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gb shown in annotated Fig 2), and
a first isolation member (pixel isolation layer 116 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb in the horizontal x direction shown in annotated Fig 2),
the first isolation member (116 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb in the horizontal x direction shown in annotated Fig 2) disposed between the first photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gb shown in annotated Fig 2) and the second photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gb shown in annotated Fig 2) and extending along a first direction (horizontal x direction Fig 2); and
a second pixel (PX_Gb Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2), disposed adjacent to the first pixel (PX_Gb Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2) and including a third photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gb shown in annotated Fig 2), a fourth photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gb shown in annotated Fig 2), and a second isolation member (116 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb in the vertical y direction shown in annotated Fig 2),
the second isolation member (116 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb in the vertical y direction shown in annotated Fig 2) disposed between the third photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gb shown in annotated Fig 2) and the fourth photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gb shown in annotated Fig 2) and extending along a second direction (vertical y direction Fig 2) substantially perpendicular to the first direction (horizontal x direction Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above. Lee further discloses
wherein the first pixel (PX_Gb] Fig 3 shown above in annotated Fig 2) includes a first color filter (color filter layer 130 [0049]) disposed over the first photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gb shown above in annotated Fig 2), the second photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gb shown above in annotated Fig 2), and the first isolation member (116 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb in the horizontal x direction shown above in annotated Fig 2), and
the second pixel (PX_Gb Fig 3 shown above in annotated Fig 2) includes a second color filter (color filter 130 [0049]) disposed over the third photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gb shown above in annotated Fig 2), the fourth photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gb shown above in annotated Fig 2), and the second isolation member (116 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb in the vertical y direction shown above in annotated Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above. Lee further discloses
further comprising a third isolation member (grid structures 140 which include a double layer isolation structure [0035] Fig 2-4) disposed between the first pixel (PX_Gb Fig 3 shown above in annotated Fig 2) and the second pixel (PX_Gb Fig 3 shown above in annotated Fig 2) and extending along the second direction (vertical y direction Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 6 as explained above. Lee further discloses
wherein the third isolation member (140 Fig 2-4) is disposed between the first photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gb shown above in annotated Fig 2) and the third photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gb shown above in annotated Fig 2), and between the first photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gb shown above in annotated Fig 2) and the fourth photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gb shown above in annotated Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 6 as explained above. Lee further discloses
wherein a thickness (shown in the combination of Fig 2 and Fig 3) of the first isolation member (116 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb in the vertical y direction shown above in annotated Fig 2) and a thickness of the second isolation member (116 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb in the vertical y direction shown above in annotated Fig 2) are respectively less than a thickness (shown in the combination of Fig 2 and Fig 3) of the third isolation member (140 Fig 2-4).
Regarding Claim 9, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above. Lee further discloses
wherein a second image sensing structure (structure corresponding to Gr Fig 2) is bonded to the image sensing structure (structure corresponding to Gb Fig 2), the image sensing structure (structure corresponding to Gb Fig 2) includes a first transistor (pixel transistor (not shown) corresponding to Gb Fig 2), and the second image sensing structure (structure corresponding to Gr Fig 2) includes a second transistor (pixel transistor (not shown) corresponding to Gr Fig 2) electrically connected to the first transistor (pixel transistor (not shown) corresponding to Gb Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 11, Lee discloses an image sensing structure (image sensing device [0021] Fig 3), comprising:
a first sensing member (shown in annotated Fig 2) including a plurality of first pixels (PX_Gb [0032] Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2) adjacent to and separated from each other,
wherein each of the plurality of first pixels (PX_Gb Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2) includes a first photodiode (photoelectric conversion region 114 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb shown in annotated Fig 2), a second photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gb shown in annotated Fig 2), and
a first isolation member (pixel isolation layer 116 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb in the horizontal x direction shown in annotated Fig 2),
the first isolation member (116 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb in the horizontal x direction shown in annotated Fig 2) disposed between the first photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gb shown in annotated Fig 2) and the second photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gb shown in annotated Fig 2); and
a second sensing member (shown in annotated Fig 2), adjacent to the first sensing member (shown in annotated Fig 2) and
including a plurality of second pixels (PX_Gr [0032] Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2) adjacent to and separated from each other,
wherein each of the plurality of second pixels (PX_Gr Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2) includes a third photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gr shown in annotated Fig 2), a fourth photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gr shown in annotated Fig 2), and
a second isolation member (116 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gr in the vertical y direction shown in annotated Fig 2),
the second isolation member (116 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gr in the vertical y direction shown in annotated Fig 2) disposed between the third photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gr shown in annotated Fig 2) and the fourth photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gr shown in annotated Fig 2),
wherein at least one of the first isolation members (116 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb in the horizontal x direction shown in annotated Fig 2) extends along a first direction (horizontal x direction Fig 2), and
at least one of the second isolation members (116 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gr in the vertical y direction shown in annotated Fig 2) extends along a second direction (vertical y direction Fig 2) substantially perpendicular to the first direction (horizontal x direction Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 12, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above. Lee further discloses
wherein all of the first isolation members (116 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb in the horizontal x direction shown above in annotated Fig 2) extend along the first direction (horizontal x direction Fig 2), and all of the second isolation members (116 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gr in the vertical y direction shown above in annotated Fig 2) extend along the second direction (vertical y direction Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 16, Lee discloses a method (method [0017]) of forming an image sensing structure (image sensing device [0021] Fig 3), comprising:
providing a substrate (substrate 112 [0047] Fig 3) having a first surface (bottom surface) and a second surface (top surface) opposite to the first surface (bottom surface);
forming a first photodiode (photoelectric conversion region 114 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb shown in annotated Fig 2) and a second photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb shown in annotated Fig 2) in the substrate (112 Fig 3);
forming a third photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb shown in annotated Fig 2) and a fourth photodiode (photoelectric conversion region 114 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb shown in annotated Fig 2) in the substrate (112 Fig 3);
forming a first isolation member (pixel isolation layer 116 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb in the horizontal x direction shown in annotated Fig 2) extending within the substrate (112 Fig 3) and between the first photodiode (photoelectric conversion region 114 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb shown in annotated Fig 2) and the second photodiode (photoelectric conversion region 114 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb shown in annotated Fig 2); and
forming a second isolation member (116 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb in the vertical y direction shown in annotated Fig 2) adjacent to the first isolation member (116 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb in the horizontal x direction shown in annotated Fig 2) and extending within the substrate (112 Fig 3) and between the third photodiode (photoelectric conversion region 114 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb shown in annotated Fig 2) and the fourth photodiode (photoelectric conversion region 114 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb shown in annotated Fig 2),
wherein the first isolation member (116 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb in the horizontal x direction shown in annotated Fig 2) extends along a first direction (horizontal x direction Fig 2), and
the second isolation member (116 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb in the vertical y direction shown in annotated Fig 2) extends along a second direction (vertical y direction Fig 2) substantially perpendicular to the first direction (horizontal x direction Fig 2).
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2024/0222402) (the examiner notes that claim 1 is rejected with a different interpretation in order to reject dependent claims 2 and 5).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses an image sensing structure (image sensing device [0021] Fig 3), comprising:
a first pixel (PX_R [0032] Fig 4 shown in annotated Fig 2), including a first photodiode (photoelectric conversion region 114 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_R shown in annotated Fig 2),
a second photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-R shown in annotated Fig 2), and
a first isolation member (pixel isolation layer 116 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_R in the horizontal x direction shown in annotated Fig 2),
the first isolation member (116 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_R in the horizontal x direction shown in annotated Fig 2) disposed between the first photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-R shown in annotated Fig 2) and the second photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-R shown in annotated Fig 2) and extending along a first direction (horizontal x direction Fig 2); and
a second pixel (PX_R Fig 4 shown in annotated Fig 2), disposed adjacent to the first pixel (PX_R Fig 4 shown in annotated Fig 2) and including a third photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-R shown in annotated Fig 2), a fourth photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-R shown in annotated Fig 2), and a second isolation member (116 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_R in the vertical y direction shown in annotated Fig 2),
the second isolation member (116 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_R in the vertical y direction shown in annotated Fig 2) disposed between the third photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-R shown in annotated Fig 2) and the fourth photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-R shown in annotated Fig 2) and extending along a second direction (vertical y direction Fig 2) substantially perpendicular to the first direction (horizontal x direction Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above. Lee further discloses
wherein the first pixel (PX_R] Fig 4 shown above in annotated Fig 2) includes a first color filter (color filter layer 130 [0049]) disposed over the first photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-R shown above in annotated Fig 2), the second photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-R shown above in annotated Fig 2), and the first isolation member (116 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_R in the horizontal x direction shown above in annotated Fig 2), and
the second pixel (PX_R Fig 3 shown above in annotated Fig 2) includes a second color filter (color filter 130 [0049]) disposed over the third photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-R shown above in annotated Fig 2), the fourth photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-R shown above in annotated Fig 2), and the second isolation member (116 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_R in the vertical y direction shown above in annotated Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 2 as explained above. Lee further discloses
wherein the first color filter (130 Fig 4) and the second color filter (130 Fig 4) are red filters (R).
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2024/0222402) (the examiner notes that claim 1 is rejected with a different interpretation in order to reject dependent claims 2-4).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses an image sensing structure (image sensing device [0021] Fig 3), comprising:
a first pixel (PX_R [0032] Fig 4 shown in annotated Fig 2), including a first photodiode (photoelectric conversion region 114 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_R shown in annotated Fig 2),
a second photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-R shown in annotated Fig 2), and
a first isolation member (pixel isolation layer 116 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_R in the horizontal x direction shown in annotated Fig 2),
the first isolation member (116 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_R in the horizontal x direction shown in annotated Fig 2) disposed between the first photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-R shown in annotated Fig 2) and the second photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-R shown in annotated Fig 2) and extending along a first direction (horizontal x direction Fig 2); and
a second pixel (PX_Gr Fig 4 shown in annotated Fig 2), disposed adjacent to the first pixel (PX_Gr Fig 4 shown in annotated Fig 2) and including a third photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gr shown in annotated Fig 2), a fourth photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gr shown in annotated Fig 2), and a second isolation member (116 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gr in the vertical y direction shown in annotated Fig 2),
the second isolation member (116 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gr in the vertical y direction shown in annotated Fig 2) disposed between the third photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-R shown in annotated Fig 2) and the fourth photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-R shown in annotated Fig 2) and extending along a second direction (vertical y direction Fig 2) substantially perpendicular to the first direction (horizontal x direction Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above. Lee further discloses
wherein the first pixel (PX_R] Fig 4 shown above in annotated Fig 2) includes a first color filter (color filter layer 130 [0049]) disposed over the first photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-R shown above in annotated Fig 2), the second photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-R shown above in annotated Fig 2), and the first isolation member (116 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_R in the horizontal x direction shown above in annotated Fig 2), and
the second pixel (PX_Gr Fig 3 shown above in annotated Fig 2) includes a second color filter (color filter 130 [0049]) disposed over the third photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gr shown above in annotated Fig 2), the fourth photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gr shown above in annotated Fig 2), and the second isolation member (116 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gr in the vertical y direction shown above in annotated Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 3, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 2 as explained above. Lee further discloses
wherein the first color filter (130 Fig 4) is a red filter ®, and the second color filter (130 Fig 4) is a green filter (Gr) or blue filter.
Regarding Claim 4, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 2 as explained above. Lee further discloses
wherein the first color filter (130 Fig 4) is a red filter (R) or blue filter, and the second color filter (130 Fig 4) is a green filter (Gr).
Claims 11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2024/0222402) (the examiner notes that claim 11 is rejected with a different interpretation in order to reject dependent claims 13-14).
Regarding Claim 11, Lee discloses an image sensing structure (image sensing device [0021] Fig 3), comprising:
a first sensing member (shown in annotated Fig 2) including a plurality of first pixels (PX_R and PX_Gr [0032] Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2) adjacent to and separated from each other,
wherein each of the plurality of first pixels (PX_R Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2) includes a first photodiode (photoelectric conversion region 114 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_R shown in annotated Fig 2), a second photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-R shown in annotated Fig 2), and
a first isolation member (pixel isolation layer 116 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_R in the horizontal x direction shown in annotated Fig 2),
the first isolation member (116 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_R in the horizontal x direction shown in annotated Fig 2) disposed between the first photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-R shown in annotated Fig 2) and the second photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-R shown in annotated Fig 2); and
a second sensing member (shown in annotated Fig 2), adjacent to the first sensing member (shown in annotated Fig 2) and
including a plurality of second pixels (PX_Gr [0032] Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2) adjacent to and separated from each other,
wherein each of the plurality of second pixels (PX_Gr Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2) includes a third photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gr shown in annotated Fig 2), a fourth photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gr shown in annotated Fig 2), and
a second isolation member (116 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gr in the vertical y direction shown in annotated Fig 2),
the second isolation member (116 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gr in the vertical y direction shown in annotated Fig 2) disposed between the third photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gr shown in annotated Fig 2) and the fourth photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX-Gr shown in annotated Fig 2),
wherein at least one of the first isolation members (116 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_R in the horizontal x direction shown in annotated Fig 2) extends along a first direction (horizontal x direction Fig 2), and
at least one of the second isolation members (116 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gr in the vertical y direction shown in annotated Fig 2) extends along a second direction (vertical y direction Fig 2) substantially perpendicular to the first direction (horizontal x direction Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 13, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 11 as explained above. Lee further discloses
wherein each of the plurality of first pixels (shown above in annotated Fig 11) is a red pixel (R), and each of the plurality of second pixels (shown above in annotated Fig 11) is a green pixel (Gr) or a blue pixel.
Regarding Claim 14, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 11 as explained above. Lee further discloses
wherein each of the plurality of first pixels (shown above in annotated Fig 11) is a red pixel (R) or a blue pixel, and each of the plurality of second pixels (shown above in annotated Fig 11) is a green pixel (Gr).
Claims 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2024/0222402) (the examiner notes that claim 11 is rejected with a different interpretation in order to reject dependent claim 15).
Regarding Claim 11, Lee discloses an image sensing structure (image sensing device [0021] Fig 3), comprising:
a first sensing member (shown in annotated Fig 2) including a plurality of first pixels (PX_R, PX_Gr, PX_Gb, and PX_B [0032] Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2) adjacent to and separated from each other,
wherein each of the plurality of first pixels (PX_R, PX_Gr, PX_Gb, and PX_B [0032] Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2) includes a first photodiode (photoelectric conversion region 114 [0047] Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2), a second photodiode (114 Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2), and
a first isolation member (pixel isolation layer 116 [0047] Fig 3 in the horizontal x direction shown in annotated Fig 2),
the first isolation member (116 [0047] Fig 3 in the horizontal x direction shown in annotated Fig 2) disposed between the first photodiode (114 Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2) and the second photodiode (114 Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2); and
a second sensing member (shown in annotated Fig 2), adjacent to the first sensing member (shown in annotated Fig 2) and
including a plurality of second pixels (PX_R, PX_Gr, PX_Gb, and PX_B [0032] Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2) adjacent to and separated from each other,
wherein each of the plurality of second pixels (PX_R, PX_Gr, PX_Gb, and PX_B [0032] Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2) includes a third photodiode (114 Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2), a fourth photodiode (114 Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2), and
a second isolation member (116 [0047] Fig 3 in the vertical y direction shown in annotated Fig 2),
the second isolation member (116 [0047] Fig 3 in the vertical y direction shown in annotated Fig 2) disposed between the third photodiode (114 Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2) and the fourth photodiode (114 Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2),
wherein at least one of the first isolation members (116 Fig 3 in the horizontal x direction shown in annotated Fig 2) extends along a first direction (horizontal x direction Fig 2), and
at least one of the second isolation members (116 Fig 3 in the vertical y direction shown in annotated Fig 2) extends along a second direction (vertical y direction Fig 2) substantially perpendicular to the first direction (horizontal x direction Fig 2).
Regarding 15, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 11 as explained above. Lee further discloses
wherein the plurality of first pixels (PX_R, PX_Gr, PX_Gb, and PX_B [0032] Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2) include a first red pixel (PX_R), a first green pixel (PX_G), and a first blue pixel (PX_B), and the plurality of second pixels (PX_R, PX_Gr, PX_Gb, and PX_B [0032] Fig 3 shown in annotated Fig 2) include a second red pixel (PX_R), a second green pixel (PX_Gr), and a second blue pixel (PX_B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2024/0222402) in view of Jang et al (US 2019/0259795).
Regarding Claim 10, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 9 as explained above. Lee does not directly disclose
wherein the first transistor includes a transfer transistor, and
the second transistor includes a reset transistor, a source follower transistor or a row selection transistor.
Jang et al, in the related art of semiconductor devices that include image sensors, discloses
wherein the first transistor (additional circuitry may be included in each imaging pixel [0026]) includes a transfer transistor (a transfer transistor [0026]), and
the second transistor (additional circuitry may be included in each imaging pixel [0026]) includes a reset transistor (resent circuitry [0026]), a source follower transistor or a row selection transistor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to include a transfer transistor and a reset transistor as taught by Jang et al in order to facilitate the transferring of the photo-generate charges from the photosensor to the storage region and the resetting of the charges in the charge storage region after a readout [0026]. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that having a transfer transistor and a reset transistor would optimize the electrical function capability of the device by expanding the type of functions that the transistor may accomplish (see MPEP 2143.I(D)).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2024/0222402) in view of Kwag et al (US 2021/0242251).
Regarding Claim 17, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 16 as explained above. Lee further discloses
wherein the first photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb shown above in annotated Fig 2) and the second photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb shown above in annotated Fig 2) extend along the first direction (horizontal x direction Fig 2), and the third photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb shown above in annotated Fig 2) and the fourth photodiode (114 Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb shown above in annotated Fig 2) extend along the second direction (vertical y direction Fig 2).
Lee does not directly disclose
the first photodiode, the second photodiode, the third photodiode, and the fourth photodiode are formed by ion implantation operation.
Kwag et al, in the related art of semiconductor devices that include dual photodiode image sensors, discloses
wherein the photodiode may be formed by ion implantation [0062].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to include wherein the first photodiode, the second photodiode, the third photodiode, and the fourth photodiode are formed by ion implantation operation as taught by Kwag et al in order to have a doped region with impurities to form the photodiode [0062]. Further, a
person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that using ion implantation would be a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143.I(B)) (suitable alternate).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2024/0222402) in view of Satake et al (US 2024/0379691).
Regarding Claim 18, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 16 as explained above. Lee does not directly disclose
wherein the formation of the first photodiode and the second photodiode and the formation of the third photodiode and the fourth photodiode are performed prior to the formation of the first isolation member and prior to the formation of the second isolation member.
Satake et al, in the related art of semiconductor devices that include image sensors with dual photodiode structures, discloses
wherein the first photodiode (photoelectric conversion section 302 [0114] (left) Fig 18) and the second photodiode (photoelectric conversion section 302 [0114] (right) Fig 18) are formed prior to the formation of the isolation member (diffusion region 306, separation region 304, and element separation wall 310 [0114] Fig 17).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to include wherein the formation of the first photodiode and the second photodiode and the formation of the third photodiode and the fourth photodiode are performed prior to the formation of the first isolation member and prior to the formation of the second isolation member as taught by Satake et al in order to suppress the occurrence of color mixing and improve the accuracy of the phase difference detection [0121]. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that forming the photodiode first before the isolation member would be advantageous in optimizing the efficiency and cost effectiveness of the manufacturing process (see MPEP 2143.I(D)).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2024/0222402) in view of Satake et al (US 2024/0379691), and in further view of Wober (US 2010/00163714).
Regarding Claim 19, Lee discloses the limitations of claim 16 as explained above. Lee does not directly disclose
wherein the formation of the first isolation member includes removing a first portion of the substrate from the first surface toward the second surface to form a first trench and filling the first trench by a dielectric material,
the formation of the second isolation member includes removing a second portion of the substrate from the first surface toward the second surface to form a second trench and filling the second trench by the dielectric material.
Satake et al, in the related art of semiconductor devices that include image sensors with dual photodiode structures, discloses
wherein the formation of the first isolation member (diffusion region 306, separation region 304, and element separation wall 310 [0114] (left) Fig 17) includes removing a first portion of the substrate (substrate 10 [0140] Fig 18) from the first surface toward the second surface to form a first trench (shown in Fig 18),
the formation of the second isolation member (diffusion region 306, separation region 304, and element separation wall 310 [0114] (right) Fig 17) includes removing a second portion of the substrate (substrate 10 [0140] Fig 18) from the first surface toward the second surface to form a second trench (shown in figure 18).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to include wherein the formation of the first photodiode and the second photodiode and the formation of the third photodiode and the fourth photodiode are performed prior to the formation of the first isolation member and prior to the formation of the second isolation member, which would require the trenches to be formed first prior to filling the isolation member, as taught by Satake et al in order to suppress the occurrence of color mixing and improve the accuracy of the phase difference detection [0121]. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that forming the photodiode first before the isolation member would be advantageous in optimizing the efficiency and cost effectiveness of the manufacturing process (see MPEP 2143.I(D)).
The combination of Lee and Satake et al does not directly disclose
filling the first trench by a dielectric material; and
filling the second trench by the dielectric material.
Wober, in the related art of semiconductor devices that include image sensors with dual photodiode structures, discloses
wherein the isolation regions may comprise dielectric materials [0066].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Lee and Satake et al to include filling the first trench by a dielectric material and filling the second trench by the dielectric material as taught by Wober in order to and isolation structure that prevents optical crosstalk as refereed to by Lee [0057]. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that having a dielectric material for the isolation members would be a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143.I(B)) (suitable alternate).
The combination of Lee, Satake et al, and Wober now discloses
filling the first trench (shown in Fig 18 Satake et al) by a dielectric material (dielectric material [0066] Wober); and
filling the second trench (shown in Fig 18 Satake et al) by the dielectric material (dielectric material [0066] Wober).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Lee, Satake et al, and Wober discloses the limitations of claim 19 as explained above. The combination of Lee, Satake et al, and Wober further discloses
wherein the first trench (pixel isolation layer 116 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb in the horizontal x direction shown above in annotated Fig 2 Lee) is substantially perpendicular to the second trench (116 [0047] Fig 3 corresponding to PX_Gb in the vertical y direction shown above in annotated Fig 2 Lee).
Related Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hishiki et al (US 2009/0221105) which discloses an n-channel MISFET [0020], and Kim et al (US 2023/0131769) which discloses an image sensor including a plurality of pixel regions [0004].
Conclusion
/D.P.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812