DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of updating the first paragraph of the Specification with US Patent No. 12/057,147 issued from the parent application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carey et al. (US20070139826).
Regarding claim 1, Carey discloses a method of forming a thin film structure (paragraph 0042 and Fig. 2) comprising: performing one or more first repetitions to form a first template on a substrate, the first repetitions comprising: depositing a first thickness of a template material (the thickness of layer 226 before ion milling reads on a first thickness, paragraphs 0050 and 0059; Fig. 2; CoFe reads on a template material, paragraph 0055 and Fig. 2); and ion beam milling the template material at a first angle to the substrate to remove a second thickness less than the first thickness (the thickness of layer 226 removed by the ion milling reads on a second thickness, paragraphs 0059-0060 and 0062; Fig. 5A); and performing one or more second repetitions to form a second template on the first template, the second repetitions comprising: depositing a third thickness of the template material (the thickness of layer 220 before ion milling reads on a third thickness, paragraphs 0048 and 0059; Fig. 2); and ion beam milling the template material at second angle to the substrate different than the first angle to remove a fourth thickness less than the third thickness (the thickness of layer 220 removed by the ion milling reads on a forth thickness, paragraphs 0059-0060 and Fig. 5A), wherein one of the first and second angles is a channeling angle (paragraph 0060 and Fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 2, Carey discloses after the one or more first repetitions and the one or more second repetitions, depositing additional material on the second template, the additional material having a same crystalline microstructure as the template material (paragraph 0051).
Regarding claim 3, Carey discloses wherein depositing the first and third thicknesses of the template material comprises ion beam deposition and depositing the additional material comprises deposition without ion beam assistance (paragraph 0051).
Regarding claim 4, Carey discloses wherein the substrate comprises a flat surface on which the first template is formed to have an exposed flat surface, and wherein the ion beam milling the template material to remove the second thickness comprises removing a uniform thickness from the exposed flat surface (paragraph 0059 and Figs. 2 and 5A).
Regarding claim 5, Carey discloses wherein the thin film structure comprises a component of a recording head (magnetic write head, paragraph 0059).
Regarding claim 8, Carey discloses wherein the thin film structure comprises a first surface parallel to the substrate and a second surface orthogonal to the first surface, and wherein the channeling angle is selected to result in: a first majority of crystalline grains at the first surface being oriented at a first plane orientation to have a first surface energy at the first surface; and a second majority of crystalline grains at the second surface oriented at a second plane orientation to have a second surface energy (paragraph 0060 and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Carey discloses wherein the channeling angle is further selected to minimize the second surface energy (paragraph 0060 and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Carey discloses wherein the channeling angle is further selected to minimize a weighted combination of the first and second surface energies based on surface size of the thin film structure (paragraph 0060 and Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Carey et al. (US20070139826).
Regarding claim 6, Carey is silent about wherein another of the first and second angles is about 0°. However, Carey teaches that the angled ion milling is applied to induce desired anisotropic roughness or texture (paragraph 0059), and the angle condition depends on the type and characteristics of the ion source in use (paragraph 0061). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the angle condition based on the ion source characteristics to result in desired anisotropic roughness or texture. Additionally, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range by routine experimentation and there is no evidence of the criticality of the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Regarding claim 7, Carey discloses wherein the template material is an fcc metal (CoFe, paragraph 0055), and wherein the channeling angle is between 35° to 80° (paragraph 0061), which overlaps with the range recited in the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 11, the cited prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a method comprising: depositing a first thickness T1 of a template material; ion beam milling the template material at a first angle to the substrate to remove a second thickness T2; and ion beam milling the template material at second angle different to the substrate than the first angle to remove a third thickness T3, wherein T2+T3<T1, wherein one of the first and second angles is a channeling angle. The closest cited prior art of Carey fails to disclose ion beam milling the template material at second angle different to the substrate than the first angle to remove a third thickness T3. None of the cited prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, discloses or renders obvious a method comprising the missing limitation.
Regarding claims 12-20, they are dependent on claim 11.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JIONG-PING LU whose telephone number is (571) 270-1135. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 9:00am – 5:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joshua L Allen, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-3176. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JIONG-PING LU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713