DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment of claims 1, 8 and 15 filed on January 29, 2026 has been entered and considered by examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9, 11, 12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0225160; already of record) in view of Lee et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0012381; already of record) and in view of Cho et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0061875; hereinafter referenced as Cho’875).
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses a display device (1), (fig. 1, [0058]), comprising:
a first pixel (PX2) including a first organic light emitting diode (OLED);
a second pixel (PX1) including a second organic light emitting diode (OLED);
a third pixel (PX3) including a third organic light emitting diode (OLED), (fig. 27, [0145]);
an initialization voltage generator (display driver 32 and transistors TB) configured to generate a first initialization voltage (Vaint1) and a second initialization voltage (Vaint2), supply the first initialization voltage (Vaint1) to the first organic light emitting diode (i.e. OLED of pixel PX2), supply the second initialization voltage (Vaint2) to the third organic light emitting diode (i.e. OLED of pixel PX3) and supply one of the second initialization voltage (Vaint2) to the second organic light emitting diode (i.e. OLED of pixel PX1), in response to a select signal (i.e. scan signals GB controls initialization transistor TB for transmitting initialization voltages Vaint1 or Vaint2 to the pixels PX1-PX3), (figs. 2 and 27, [0073, 0084 and 0145]),
wherein the initialization voltage generator includes:
a first transistor (transistor TB of PX2) connected to a first anode of the first organic light emitting diode (OLED of PX2); and
a second transistor (transistor TB of PX1) connected between the second anode (i.e. anode of OLED of PX1) and a third anode of the third organic light emitting diode (i.e. anode of OLED of PX3) through transistor TB of PX3, (fig. 27, [0145]).
However, Cho does not mention a first transistor connected between a first anode of the first organic light emitting diode and a second anode of the second organic light emitting diode.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee teaches the initialization voltage generator (voltage generating circuit VXC and switch elements M02) includes:
a first transistor (i.e. switch element M02 of middle pixel) connected between a first anode of the first organic light emitting diode (i.e. anode of middle EL) and a second anode of the second organic light emitting diode (i.e. anode of left EL) through transistor M02 of left pixel; and
a second transistor (i.e. switch element M02 of left pixel) connected between the second anode (i.e. anode of left EL) and a third anode of the third organic light emitting diode (i.e. anode of right EL) through transistor M02 of the right pixel, (fig. 8, [0075, 0078 and 0106]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cho, by specifically providing the first transistor connected between the first and second EL, as taught by Lee, for the purpose of preventing image quality deterioration due to a ripple of a pixel ground voltage supply voltage, [0008].
However, Cho in view of Lee does not mention wherein the first transistor and the second transistor are complementary transistors that cooperate to selectively connect the second anode to the first initialization voltage or the second initialization voltage.
In a similar field of endeavor, Cho’875 teaches wherein the initialization voltage generator (160) includes: wherein the first transistor (MS1) and the second transistor (MS2) are complementary transistors that cooperate to selectively connect the second anode (i.e. anode of the OLED of pixel 140) to the first initialization voltage (Vint1) or the second initialization voltage (Vint2) through transistor M7, (figs. 2-3, [0072, 0079 and 0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cho in view of Lee, by specifically providing the first and second transistor are complementary transistors that cooperate to selectively connect the anode of the OLED to the first or second initialization voltage, as taught by Cho’875 for the purpose of improving display quality, [0011].
Regarding claim 8, Cho discloses a display device (1), (fig. 1, [0058]), comprising:
a display unit (10), (fig. 2, [0058]), including,
a first pixel (PX2) including a first organic light emitting diode (OLED);
a second pixel (PX1) including a second organic light emitting diode (OLED);
a third pixel (PX3) including a third organic light emitting diode (OLED), (fig. 28, [0146]); and
a switching circuit (transistors TB of PX2 and PX1) configured to supply one of a first initialization voltage (Vaint2) to a first anode of the first organic light emitting diode of the first pixel (OLED of pixel PX2), in response to a select signal (i.e. scan signals GB controls initialization transistor TB for transmitting initialization voltage Vaint2 to the pixel PX2), (fig. 28, [0084 and 0146]); and
an initialization voltage generator (display driver 32) configured to generate the first initialization voltage (Vaint2) and the second initialization voltage (Vaint1), (fig. 2, [0073]),
wherein the switching circuit comprises:
a first transistor (i.e. transistor TB of PX2) connected between a first anode of the first organic light emitting diode (i.e. anode of OLED of PX2) and a second anode of the second organic light emitting diode (i.e. anode of OLED of PX1) through transistor TB of PX1; and
a second transistor (i.e. transistor TB of PX1) connected to the second anode (i.e. anode of OLED of PX1), (fig. 28, [0146]).
However, Cho does not mention the second transistor connected between the second anode and a third anode of the third organic light emitting diode.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee teaches the switching circuit comprises:
a first transistor (i.e. switch element M02 of middle pixel) connected between a first anode of the first organic light emitting diode (i.e. anode of middle EL) and a second anode of the second organic light emitting diode (i.e. anode of left EL) through transistor M02 of left pixel; and
a second transistor (i.e. switch element M02 of left pixel) connected between the second anode (i.e. anode of left EL) and a third anode of the third organic light emitting diode (i.e. anode of right EL) through transistor M02 of the right pixel, (fig. 8, [0075, 0078 and 0106]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cho, by specifically providing the first transistor connected between the first and second EL, as taught by Lee, for the purpose of preventing image quality deterioration due to a ripple of a pixel ground voltage supply voltage, [0008].
However, Cho in view of Lee does not mention wherein the first transistor and the second transistor are complementary transistors that cooperate to selectively connect the second anode to the first initialization voltage or the second initialization voltage.
In a similar field of endeavor, Cho’875 teaches wherein the initialization voltage generator (160) includes: wherein the first transistor (MS1) and the second transistor (MS2) are complementary transistors that cooperate to selectively connect the second anode (i.e. anode of the OLED of pixel 140) to the first initialization voltage (Vint1) or the second initialization voltage (Vint2) through transistor M7, (figs. 2-3, [0072, 0079 and 0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cho in view of Lee, by specifically providing the first and second transistor are complementary transistors that cooperate to selectively connect the anode of the OLED to the first or second initialization voltage, as taught by Cho’875 for the purpose of improving display quality, [0011].
Regarding claim 9, Cho discloses wherein the initialization voltage generator (32):
supplies the first initialization voltage (Vaint2) to the second anode of the second organic light emitting diode (i.e. anode of OLED of PX1); and
supplies the second initialization voltage (Vaint1) to the third anode of the third organic light emitting diode (i.e. anode of OLED of PX3), (fig. 28, [0084 and 0146]).
Regarding claim 11, Cho discloses
the first transistor (transistor TB of PX2) operates in response to the select signal (GB); and
the second transistor (transistor TB of PX1) operates in response to the select signal (GB), (i.e. scan signals GB controls initialization transistors TB of pixels PX1-PX3 for transmitting initialization voltages Vaint1 or Vaint2), (fig. 28, [0084 and 0146]).
Regarding claim 12, Cho discloses wherein the first transistor is a P- type transistor (i.e. transistor TB of PX2 is p-type), (fig. 28, [0158]).
However, Cho does not mention the second transistor is an N-type transistor.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee teaches the second transistor (i.e. switch element M02 of left pixel) is an N-type transistor (n-channel oxide TFTs), (fig. 8, [0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cho, by specifically providing the first transistor connected between the first and second EL, as taught by Lee, for the purpose of preventing image quality deterioration due to a ripple of a pixel ground voltage supply voltage, [0008].
Regarding claim 14, Cho discloses wherein the first pixel (PX2) is a green pixel (G), the second pixel (PX1) is a red pixel (R), and the third pixel (PX3) is a blue pixel (B), (fig. 28, [0146]).
Regarding claim 15, Cho discloses a display device (1), (fig. 1, [0058]), comprising:
a first pixel (PX2) including a first organic light emitting diode (OLED) receiving a first initialization voltage (Vaint1);
a second pixel (PX1) including a second organic light emitting diode (OLED);
a third pixel (PX3) including a third organic light emitting diode (OLED) receiving a second initialization voltage (Vaint2), (fig. 27, [0073 and 0145]); and
a switching circuit (transistors TB of PIX2 and PX1) configured to apply one of the second initialization voltage (Vaint2) to the second organic light emitting diode (OLED of PX1), in response to a select signal (i.e. scan signals GB controls initialization transistor TB for transmitting initialization voltage Vaint2 to the pixel PX1), (fig. 27, [0084 and 0145]),
wherein the switching circuit comprises:
a first transistor (transistor TB of PX2) connected to a first anode of the first organic light emitting diode (i.e. anode of OLED of PX2); and
a second transistor (transistor TB of PX1) connected between the second anode (i.e. anode of OLED of PX1) and a third anode of the third organic light emitting diode (i.e. anode of OLED of PX3) through transistor TB of PX3), (fig. 27, [0145]).
However, Cho does not mention a first transistor connected between a first anode of the first organic light emitting diode and a second anode of the second organic light emitting diode.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee teaches the switching circuit comprises:
a first transistor (i.e. switch element M02 of middle pixel) connected between a first anode of the first organic light emitting diode (i.e. anode of middle EL) and a second anode of the second organic light emitting diode (i.e. anode of left EL) through transistor M02 of left pixel; and
a second transistor (i.e. switch element M02 of left pixel) connected between the second anode (i.e. anode of left EL) and a third anode of the third organic light emitting diode (i.e. anode of right EL) through transistor M02 of the right pixel, (fig. 8, [0075, 0078 and 0106]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cho, by specifically providing the first transistor connected between the first and second EL, as taught by Lee, for the purpose of preventing image quality deterioration due to a ripple of a pixel ground voltage supply voltage, [0008].
However, Cho in view of Lee does not mention wherein the first transistor and the second transistor are complementary transistors that cooperate to selectively connect the second anode to the first initialization voltage or the second initialization voltage.
In a similar field of endeavor, Cho’875 teaches wherein the initialization voltage generator (160) includes: wherein the first transistor (MS1) and the second transistor (MS2) are complementary transistors that cooperate to selectively connect the second anode (i.e. anode of the OLED of pixel 140) to the first initialization voltage (Vint1) or the second initialization voltage (Vint2) through transistor M7, (figs. 2-3, [0072, 0079 and 0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cho in view of Lee, by specifically providing the first and second transistor are complementary transistors that cooperate to selectively connect the anode of the OLED to the first or second initialization voltage, as taught by Cho’875 for the purpose of improving display quality, [0011].
Claim(s) 2, 7 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Lee in view of Cho’875 and in view of Kim et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0174525; already of record).
Regarding claim 2, Cho discloses further comprising:
wherein the initialization voltage generator (32 and TB), (fig. 2, [0073]):
supplies the first initialization voltage (Vaint1) to the first anode of the first organic light emitting diode (i.e. anode of OLED of pixel PX2), (fig. 27, [0145]);
supplies one of the second initialization voltage (Vaint2) to the second anode of the second organic light emitting diode (i.e. anode of OLED of pixel PX1); and
supplies the second initialization voltage (Vaint2) to the third anode of the third organic light emitting diode (i.e. anode of OLED of pixel PX3), (fig. 27, [0145]).
However, Cho in view of Lee and in view of Cho’875 does not mention supplies one of the first initialization voltage and the second initialization voltage to the second anode of the second organic light emitting diode.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kim teaches
wherein the initialization voltage generator (300):
supplies one of the first initialization voltage (V1) and the second initialization voltage (V2) to the second anode of the second organic light emitting diode (i.e. OLED of PXL1), (figs. 12, 13 and 15, [0154-0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cho in view of Lee and Cho’875, by specifically providing the supply of the first initialization voltage and the second initialization voltage to the second anode of the second organic light emitting diode, as taught by Kim, for the purpose of improving display quality, [0005].
Regarding claim 7, Cho discloses wherein the first pixel (PX2) is a green pixel (G), the second pixel (PX1) is a red pixel (R), and the third pixel (PX3) is a blue pixel (B), (fig. 27, [0145]).
Regarding claim 18, Cho discloses wherein the first anode of the first organic light emitting diode (i.e. anode of OLED of PX2) receives a first supply voltage (Vaint1), and the third anode of the third organic light emitting diode (i.e. anode of OLED of PX3) receives a second supply voltage (Vaint2), (fig. 27, [0145]).
However, Cho in view of Lee and in view of Cho’ 875 does not mention the switching circuit applies one of the first initialization voltage and the second initialization voltage to the second anode of the second organic light emitting diode, in response to the select signal.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kim teaches the switching circuit (300) applies one of the first initialization voltage (V1) and the second initialization voltage (V2) to the second anode of the second organic light emitting diode (i.e. OLED of pixel PXL1), in response to the select signal (i.e. mode signal output from the timing controller 500 to the power supplier 300 to switch modes), (figs. 12, 13 and 15, [0154-0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cho in view of Lee and in view of Cho’875, by specifically providing the supply of the first initialization voltage and the second initialization voltage to the second organic light emitting diode, as taught by Kim, for the purpose of improving display quality, [0005].
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Lee in view of in view of Cho’875 in view of Kim and in view of Kim (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0025117; already of record; hereinafter referenced as Kim’117).
Regarding claim 3, Cho discloses wherein the initialization voltage generator (32 and TB) includes:
the display driver (32) configured to generate the first initialization voltage (Vaint1);
the display driver (32) configured to generate the second initialization voltage (Vaint2), (figs. 2 and 27, [0073]); and
a switching circuit including the first and second transistors (i.e. transistor TB of PX2 and transistor TB of PX1), the switching circuit configured to supply one of the second initialization voltage (Vaint2) to the second anode of the second organic light emitting diode (i.e. OLED of pixel PX1), in response to the select signal (i.e. scan signals GB controls initialization transistor TB for transmitting initialization voltage Vaint2 to the pixels PX1), (figs. 2 and 27, [0073, 0084 and 0145]).
However, Cho in view of Lee and in view of Cho’875 does not mention the switching circuit configured to supply one of the first initialization voltage and the second initialization voltage to the second anode of the second organic light emitting diode, in response to the select signal.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kim teaches
the switching circuit (300) configured to supply one of the first initialization voltage (V1) and the second initialization voltage (V2) to the second anode of the second organic light emitting diode (i.e. OLED of pixel PXL1), in response to the select signal (i.e. mode signal output from the timing controller 500 to the power supplier 300 to switch modes), (figs. 12, 13 and 15, [0154-0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cho in view of Lee in view of Cho’875, by specifically providing the supply of the first initialization voltage and the second initialization voltage to the second organic light emitting diode, as taught by Kim, for the purpose of improving display quality, [0005].
However, Cho in view of Lee in view of Cho’875 and in view of Kim does not mention a first low-dropout regulator.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kim’117 teaches wherein the initialization voltage generator includes:
a first Low-Dropout regulator (LDO) (320b) configured to generate the first initialization voltage (VINT);
a second LDO (320c) configured to generate the second initialization voltage (AVINT), (fig. 7, [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cho in view of Lee in view of Cho875 and in view of Kim, by specifically providing the low-dropout regulator, as taught by Kim’117, for the purpose of generating a stable operating voltage when a load current increases, [0007].
Regarding claim 4, Cho discloses
the first transistor (transistor TB of PX2) operates in response to the select signal (GB); and
the second transistor (transistor TB of PX1) operates in response to the select signal (GB), (i.e. scan signals GB controls initialization transistors TB of pixels PX1-PX3 for transmitting initialization voltages Vaint1 or Vaint2), (fig. 27, [0084 and 0145]).
Regarding claim 5, Cho discloses wherein the first transistor is a P- type transistor (i.e. transistor TB of PX2 is p-type), (fig. 27, [0158]).
However, Cho does not mention the second transistor is an N-type transistor.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee teaches the second transistor (i.e. switch element M02 of left pixel) is an N-type transistor (n-channel oxide TFTs), (fig. 8, [0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cho, by specifically providing the first transistor connected between the first and second EL, as taught by Lee, for the purpose of preventing image quality deterioration due to a ripple of a pixel ground voltage supply voltage, [0008].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Lee in view of Cho’875 in view of Kim in view of Kim’117 and in view of Zhu et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0130330; already of record).
Regarding claim 6, Cho discloses
wherein, when the select signal (GB) turns on the first transistor (transistor TB of PX2), the first initialization voltage (Vaint1) is supplied to the first anode of the first organic light emitting diode (OLED of PX2), (i.e. scan signals GB controls initialization transistor TB for transmitting initialization voltage Vaint1 pixel PX2), (fig. 27, [0084 and 0145]).
However, Cho in view of Lee in view of Cho’875 in view of Kim and in view of Kim’117 does not mention when the select signal turns on the second transistor, the second initialization voltage is supplied to the first anode of the first organic light emitting diode.
In a similar field of endeavor, Zhu teaches
wherein, when the select signal (RE and EM) turns on the first transistor (M2), the first initialization voltage (VDD) is supplied to the first anode of the first organic light emitting diode (i.e. OLED of left pixel driving circuit 103) through transistor M0, and
wherein, when the select signal (RE and EM) turns on the second transistor (M1), the second initialization voltage (Vinit) is supplied to the first anode of the first organic light emitting diode (i.e. OLED of left pixel driving circuit 103) through transistor M0, (fig. 6, [0070 and 0074-0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cho in view of Lee in view of Cho’875 in view of Kim and in view of Kim’117, by specifically providing the first and second transistor outputting voltages to the first OLED, as taught by Zhu, for the purpose of having low power consumption, [0053].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Lee in view of Cho’875 and in view of Kim’117.
Regarding claim 10, Cho discloses everything as specified above in claim 9. However, Cho in view of Lee and in view of Cho’875 does not mention a first low-dropout regulator.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kim’117 teaches wherein the initialization voltage generator includes:
a first Low-Dropout regulator (LDO) (320b) configured to generate the first initialization voltage (VINT); and
a second LDO (320c) configured to generate the second initialization voltage (AVINT), (fig. 7, [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cho in view of Lee and in view of Cho’875, by specifically providing the low-dropout regulator, as taught by Kim’117, for the purpose of generating a stable operating voltage when a load current increases, [0007].
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Lee in view of Cho’875 and in view of Zhu.
Regarding claim 13, Cho discloses
wherein, when the select signal (GB) turns on the first transistor (transistor TB of PX2), the first initialization voltage (Vaint2) is supplied to the first anode of the first organic light emitting diode (anode of OLED of PX2), (i.e. scan signals GB controls initialization transistor TB for transmitting initialization voltage Vaint2 to pixel PX2), (fig. 28, [0084 and 0146]).
However, Cho in view of Lee and in view of Cho’875 does not mention when the select signal turns on the second transistor, the second initialization voltage is supplied to the first anode.
In a similar field of endeavor, Zhu teaches
wherein, when the select signal (RE and EM) turns on the first transistor (M2), the first initialization voltage (VDD) is supplied to the first anode (i.e. anode of OLED of left pixel driving circuit 103) through transistor M0, and
wherein, when the select signal (RE and EM) turns on the second transistor (M1), the second initialization voltage (Vinit) is supplied to the first anode (i.e. anode of OLED of left pixel driving circuit 103) through transistor M0, (fig. 6, [0070 and 0074-0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cho in view of Lee and in view of Cho’875, by specifically providing the first and second transistor outputting voltages to the first OLED, as taught by Zhu, for the purpose of having low power consumption, [0053].
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Lee in view of Cho’875 and in view of Liu et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0142259; already of record).
Regarding claim 16, Cho in view of Lee and in view of Cho’875 discloses everything as specified above in claim 15. However, Cho in view of Lee and in view of Cho’875 does not mention the first transistor is activated in response to a first level of the select signal and the second transistor is activated in response to a second level of the select signal.
In a similar field of endeavor, Liu teaches wherein the first transistor (Ms1) is activated in response to a first level of the select signal (EM) and a second transistor (Ms2) that is activated in response to a second level of the select signal (i.e. phase inverted signal XEM of the control signal EM), (fig. 8b, [0114-0118]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cho in view of Lee and in view of Cho’875, by specifically providing the first and second transistors, as taught by Liu, for the purpose of reducing a probability of a display flicker, [0004].
Regarding claim 17, Liu discloses wherein the first transistor (Ms1) is connected to a first initialization voltage line (Vinit1), and the second transistor (Ms2) is connected to a second initialization voltage line (Vinit2), (fig. 8b, [0114-0116]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cho in view of Lee and in view of Cho’875, by specifically providing the first and second transistors, as taught by Liu, for the purpose of reducing a probability of a display flicker, [0004].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In view of amendment, the reference of Cho’875 has been added for new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/LONG D PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623