Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4-03-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Huang does disclose specifically hitting manholes to generate sound and using that sound to determine the layout route of an optical fiber. However, the examiner disagrees with this line of reasoning. As the applicant states Huang does disclose hitting “close to a manhole cover,” and further Huang discloses in the same paragraph “Usually, determining locations of manholes (302) and/or poles (303) is easier than determining locations of optical fiber cable”. In other words, the exact location of a manhole on the surface is relatively easy to discover and using such location to then locate the position of the fiber cable is by extension ideal. Further, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “close to a manhole cover” would also include hitting the manhole cover since one cannot get much closer than that. Therefore, the examiner disagrees with the applicant’s arguments and will maintain the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al (PGPub 2023/0028676) (Huang).
Regarding Claims 1, 6, & 11, Huang discloses an optical fiber sensing system (Figs. 2 & 8) comprising:
an optical fiber configured to be buried in the ground and detect a hitting sound at a time when each of a plurality of manholes is hit in order (Paragraph 43). As disclosed a vibrator is used to create a noise and that the noise can be used close to locations at manholes. The vibrator would create said “hitting sound”;
at least one memory configured to store an instruction group. Since the instructions are disclosed as being run this would be inherent since some form of memory would be used to store them; and
at least one processor configured to execute the instruction group in such a way as to control a communication unit (DFOS system, 101) in such a way as to transmit pulsed light to the optical fiber, and also receive an optical signal from the optical fiber (Paragraphs 33-35);
extract, for each of the plurality of manholes, a detection result of the hitting sound by the optical fiber at a time when the manhole is hit, based on the pulsed light and the optical signa (Paragraph 44). By pairing the time stamps and the DFOS system data this limitation is being met;
decide, for each of the plurality of manholes, whether the manhole is located on a laying route of the optical fiber, based on the detection result (Paragraph 60) by pairing the acoustic signals and vibration signals the system is determining whether the manhole is located on the laying route of the optical fiber; and
determine, for each manhole located on the laying route of the optical fiber, a distance of the optical fiber from a location of the communication unit to a location of the manhole, based on the detection result, and determine the laying route of the optical fiber based on the distance of the optical fiber (Paragraphs 61 & 66, Last two steps of fig. 8).
The limitations of claims 6 & 11 are also met by this disclosure.
Regarding Claims 2, 7, & 12, Huang discloses the aforementioned. Further, Huang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instruction group in such a way as to determine a laying route of the optical fiber, based on a relative magnitude relationship of a distance of the optical fiber between manholes on a laying route of the optical fiber (Paragraphs 48-52, & 65). The pairing of the acoustic signals with the vibration signals one is determining a magnitude relationship (peak matching) between them. Further, since the signal is being detected on some portion of the fiber and that portion can be between two manholes the limitation is met.
Regarding Claims 3, 8, & 13, Huang discloses the aforementioned. Further, Huang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instruction group in such a way as to extract, as a detection result of the hitting sound, an acoustic characteristic indicating intensity of the hitting sound detected by the optical fiber at each distance of the optical fiber from a location of the communication unit to a location where the hitting sound is detected by the optical fiber (Paragraph 66, Fig. 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 9, 10, 14, & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang.
Regarding Claims 4, 9, & 14, Huang discloses the aforementioned. Further, Huang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instruction group in such a way as to acquire in advance global positioning system (GPS) position information of each of the plurality of manholes, and map the laying route of the optical fiber on a map, based on GPS position information of each of the plurality of manholes (Paragraphs 44 & 61);
Huang fails to explicitly disclose the processor is configured to cause a display unit to display the laying route of the optical fiber mapped on the map;
However, the examiner takes official notice that this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing;
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was filed to modify Huang with the processor is configured to cause a display unit to display the laying route of the optical fiber mapped on the map because this is common sense and allows a user in the field to immediately see where the fiber is located quickly which is of critical importance (Huang, Paragraph 4).
Regarding Claims 5, 10, & 15, Huang discloses the aforementioned. Further, Huang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instruction group in such a way as to map the laying route of the optical fiber and the plurality of manholes on a map, based on GPS position information of each of the plurality of manholes (Paragraphs 44 & 61);
Huang fails to explicitly disclose the processor is configured to cause the display unit to display the laying route of the optical fiber and the plurality of manholes mapped on the map;
However, the examiner takes official notice that this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing;
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was filed to modify Huang with the processor is configured to cause the display unit to display the laying route of the optical fiber and the plurality of manholes mapped on the map because this is common sense and allows a user in the field to immediately see where the fiber is located quickly which is of critical importance (Huang, Paragraph 4).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHON COOK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 June 8, 2026
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877