Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tseng et al. (hereinafter Tseng, US 9,853,215).
In regards to independent claim 1, Tseng teaches an electronic device including a stack including, in order from the top face of a substrate, a first electrode (13), a layer of 2D material (16), and a second electrode (18),
wherein the top surface and flanks of the layer of 2D material are entirely covered by an encapsulation layer comprising at least the second electrode (Fig. 3A, 16 vs 18).
In regards to dependent claim 3, Tseng teaches wherein the encapsulation layer consists only of the second electrode (Fig. 3A, 18).
In regards to dependent claim 4, Tseng teaches between the layer of 2D material and the first electrode, an insulating layer (11), and a conductive via passing through the insulating layer, the conductive via being in contact by a first face with said layer made of 2D material and by a second face, opposite the first face, with the first electrode (Column 4 Lins 16-25, Fig. 1)).
In regards to dependent claim 5, Tseng teaches wherein the encapsulation layer comprises an insulating layer on, and in contact with, at least part of the flanks of the layer made of the 2D material (15).
In regards to dependent claim 6, Tseng teaches wherein the layer made of 2D material is in contact by a first face with the encapsulation layer, and with the first electrode by a second face opposite the first face (16, 18, 13).
In regards to dependent claim 7, Tseng teaches wherein the second electrode is in contact with only part of the layer made of 2D material (16, 18).
In regards to independent claim 13, Tseng teaches a method of manufacturing an electronic device including forming a stack including the following consecutive steps:
forming a first electrode on the top face of a substrate (Fig. 2a-2e);
forming a layer made of a 2D material on the top face of the first electrode (Fig. 2g);; and
forming a second electrode on the top face of the layer made of 2D material, so that the top face and flanks of the layer made of 2D material are entirely covered by an encapsulation layer comprising at least the second electrode (Fig. 2H-1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng in view of Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee, US 2020/0395540)
In regards to dependent claim 8, Tseng teaches the device according to claim 1. Tseng fails to teach wherein the 2D material is semiconducting. Lee teaches wherein the 2D material is semiconducting (Lee, [0085]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tseng and Lee before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the ReRAM device taught by Tseng to include the 2D layer material makeup of Lee in order to obtain ReRAM with various semiconductor material 2D layer. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it enables the designer to customize device performance by change the type of material of the switching layer.
In regards to dependent claim 9, Tseng teaches the device according to claim 1. Tseng fails to teach wherein the 2D material is based on a transition metal dichalcogenide. Lee teaches wherein the 2D material is based on a transition metal dichalcogenide (Lee, [0085]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tseng and Lee before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the ReRAM device taught by Tseng to include the 2D layer material makeup of Lee in order to obtain ReRAM with various semiconductor material 2D layer. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it enables the designer to customize device performance by change the type of material of the switching layer.
In regards to dependent claim 10, Tseng teaches the device according to claim 9. Tseng fails to teach wherein the 2D material is based on molybdenum disulfide. Lee teaches wherein the 2D material is based on molybdenum disulfide (Lee, [0084]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tseng and Lee before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the ReRAM device taught by Tseng to include the 2D layer material makeup of Lee in order to obtain ReRAM with various semiconductor material 2D layer. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it enables the designer to customize device performance by change the type of material of the switching layer.
In regards to dependent claim 11, Tseng teaches the device according to claim 1. Tseng fails to teach wherein the layer made of 2D material is a stack of several monolayers of molybdenum disulfide and graphene. Lee teaches wherein the layer made of 2D material is a stack of several monolayers of molybdenum disulfide and graphene (Lee, [0093-0094]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tseng and Lee before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the ReRAM device taught by Tseng to include the 2D layer material makeup of Lee in order to obtain ReRAM with various semiconductor material 2D layer. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it enables the designer to customize device performance by change the type of material of the switching layer.
In regards to dependent claim 12, Tseng teaches the device according to claim 1. Tseng fails to teach wherein the 2D material is based on hexagonal boron nitride. Lee teaches wherein the 2D material is based on hexagonal boron nitride (Lee, [0084]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Tseng and Lee before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the ReRAM device taught by Tseng to include the 2D layer material makeup of Lee in order to obtain ReRAM with various semiconductor material 2D layer. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it enables the designer to customize device performance by change the type of material of the switching layer.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The preior art fails to teach “wherein the encapsulation layer has a bottom face coplanar with a bottom face of the 2D material layer”
.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM C TRAPANESE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812