DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 11-15, 18-20, and 23-24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A, prong 1) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) “obtaining … data”, “fitting a … model”, “simulating a preform”, “calculating”, and “determining”, which are all steps that can be performed mentally.
(Step 2A, prong 2)This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because none of the abstract steps limit the function of the apparatus claimed.
(Step 2B)The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because ENGELBART et al. (US 2016/0097728) teaches a tape laying machine, inspection system, and an autoclave (paras. 22, 24, and 42), which are all well-known apparatus components in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-15, 18-20, and 23-24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “the measurements” in line 15, but does not define whether this refers to “respective gap measurement” or “anomaly data measurements”.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the prior preform lay-up process" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 23 depends from claim 17, which has been cancelled. For the purposes of this action, this will be interpreted as depending from claim 11.
Claim 24 depends from claim 17, which has been cancelled. For the purposes of this action, this will be interpreted as depending from claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ENGELBART in view of KISCH (US 2009/0199948).
Regarding claims 11-13 and 24, ENGELBART teaches a tape laying machine, inspection system, and an autoclave (paras. 22, 24, and 42), wherein a laminate produced thereby could be functionally utilized in an aircraft (para. 2). A MATERIAL OR ARTICLE WORKED UPON DOES NOT LIMIT APPARATUS CLAIMS. Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, “[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). It is noted that the claims are directed to an apparatus which just comprises a tape laying machine with a lamination head, an inspection system and an autoclave. Applicant is not claiming a method. The whiskers are clearly material worked upon which does not distinguish the apparatus ENGELBART does not teach the inspection system includes a determination of whisker measurements remaining attached to the back wheel, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize such a processor because applicant does not utilize the controller determination to perform any function in the method. ENGELBART does not teach an optical sensor. KISCH teaches another apparatus for tape laying comprising an optical sensor, wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include such a sensor in the apparatus of ENGELBART in order to allow correcting of tape misplacements (KISCH; para. 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues on 4/6/2026 that “tape laying machine” and “inspection system” should not be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because they are amended to require a lamination head and optical sensor, respectively. Examiner agrees that the structures amended are sufficient to define the structures for performing the function claimed.
Applicant's argument that the prior art does not teach measurement of whiskers has been fully considered but is not persuasive. While such a such a measurement is not described in the provided art, applicant’s claims do not relate to utilizing this measurement, so the claims are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICKOLAS R HARM/ Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745