DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 15-27 are cancelled.
Claims 28-29 are newly added.
In view of the amendment, filed on 04/21/2026, the following objections / rejections are withdrawn from the previous office action, mailed on 10/22/2025.
Objections to claims 5 and 9
Rejection of claims 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
- In view of the amendment, the following new grounds of the rejections are necessitated:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Amended claim 1 recites “powder layers of powder material” which renders the claim indefinite. The phrase of “powder layers of powder material” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the scope of such terminology, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
- The following rejections are maintained for the reason of records as given in the previous office action. The bases of these rejections are the same as given in the office action, mailed on 10/22/2025:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruth et al. (US 2009/0206065) in view of Chung et al. (US 6,815,636)
Kruth et al. (US ‘065) disclose a Selective Laser Powder Processing apparatus comprising (see page 10, 1st col., claim 1):
a. a building platform which can comprise a powder bed;
b. a powder deposition system for providing a powder surface on said building platform;
c. laser beam means for providing a focused laser beam incident on said powder surface allowing to partially or fully melt the powder within a melt zone;
d. scanning means for scanning said laser beam across said powder surface;
e. a detector for capturing electromagnetic radiation emitted from or reflected by a moving observation zone on the powder surface, said moving observation zone comprising at least the incident point of the laser beam on the powder surface and having an area of at least 16 times the minimal laser spot area of said laser beam;
f. an optical system that follows the laser beam for transmitting said radiation towards said detector; and
g. control means responsive to said detection signal for controlling said laser beam means or said scanning means. (See page 10, 1st col., claim 1)
As to claim 1, Kruth et al. (US ‘065) teach a selective laser melting apparatus for building an object using a selective laser melting process in which the object is built in a layer-wise manner (¶ [0016] – page 10, left col., clm. 1), the selective laser melting apparatus comprising a build platform (¶ [0017]), a powder depositing device (¶ [0018]) for depositing layers of powder material on the build platform, an optical system (a laser apparatus, ¶ [0019]) configured to direct a laser beam to selectively melt areas of each powder and to form a periodic light pattern by a projector (a scanner 2, ¶ [0020]) on at least one of the powder layers and a camera (a detector 8, ¶ [0036] and ¶ [0037]) configured to capture an image of the periodic light pattern on the at least one powder layer.
Kruth et al. (US ‘065) discloses all the structural limitations of a selective laser melting comprising a build platform (¶ [0017]), however, is silent on disclosing that the build platform is positioned within a build chamber, as claimed in claim 1.
In the analogous art, Chung et al. (US ‘636) disclose a selective laser sintering system comprising a process chamber (102, col. 4, lines 28-30) that includes a powder bed (132) having a target area (110, col. 4, lines 37-41) at which an additive process is performed; a means (a counter-rotating leveling roller 130, col. 4, line 30) for depositing and leveling a layer of powder on the target area (110, col. 4, lines 38-39); a means (a scanning system 114, col. 4, lines 26-28) for fusing selected portions of a layer of the powder at the target area (110).
Therefore, as to claim 1, Chung et al. (US ‘636) disclose a selective laser melting apparatus comprising a build chamber (a process chamber 102, col. 4, lines 28-30) containing a build platform (a powder bed 132, col. 4, line 28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the time of applicant’s invention, to modify the positioning of the build platform, as taught by Kruth et al. (US ‘065), to be positioned within a build chamber in order to have a more uniform temperature across the entire target surface area within the build platform so the powder layer temperatures can be estimated and used to produce three-dimensional objects with reduced distortion and curl and further the overall temperature control in the top layers of powder in the powder bed are improved, as suggested by Chung et al. (US ‘636): col. 2, lines 60-63; col. 3, lines 8-14)
As to claim 2, Kruth et al. (US ‘065) disclose a processor configured to use the captured image to determine a geometric property of the selective laser melting process. (See page 11, left col., claims 23-24 and ¶ [0034]: the images are processed by an image processor for generating a geometric quantity of the melt zone.)
As o claim 3, Kruth et al. (US ‘065) teach the geometric property is determined from the locations of the light pattern on the at least one powder layer. (See ¶ [0133]: to identify the geometric properties of these distinct areas or the number of distinct molten areas)
As to claim 4, Kruth et al. (US ‘065) disclose the geometric property is a geometric property of the object. (See ¶ [0133]: to identify the geometric properties of these distinct areas or the number of distinct molten areas and ¶ [0134]: the obtained 2D images are further processed by image processing in order to determine a geometric quantity of the melt zone which can be used on the feedback loop)
As to claim 5, Kruth et al. (US ‘065) teach the processor is configured to compare the geometric property to input geometric data on which the build is based to identify differences between the object built and an object intended to be built. (see ¶ [0086]: comparison of the resulting overhang geometries after parallel scanning for the case of fixed scanning parameters and proportional control of the laser power, and further, the detector is a spatially resolved detector for providing 2D images of the observation zone and wherein said detector further comprises image processing means for determining a geometric quantity of the melt zone from said 2D images for providing a control signal for controlling said laser beam means (page 10, right column: claim 5)
As to claim 6, Kruth et al. (US ‘065) disclose a processor configured to analyse the image and change the build based on the analysis. (¶ [0034]: the 2D images are processed by an image processor for generating a geometric quantity of the melt zone. This signal reflecting a geometric quantity of the melt zone is then fed to the control system which controls the processing parameters of the laser beam or the scanning means of the laser beam.)
As to claim 7, Kruth et al. (US ‘065) teach the optical system (scanner 2) and camera (detector 8) is configured to form the periodic light pattern on the at least one powder layer after the at least one powder layer has been scanned by the laser beam. (see ¶ [0101]: process variable that is recorded by the detector is a measured value indicative of a geometric quantity of the melt zone e.g. the area of the melt zone. This information can be extracted from the images resulting from the camera detector.)
As to claim 8, Kruth et al. (US ‘065) disclose the periodic light pattern is a diffraction pattern. (see ¶ [0125]: the parts were always scanned in a zigzag-scanning pattern)
As to claim 9, Kruth et al. (US ‘065) disclose the optical system (scanner 2) is configured to form a corresponding periodic light pattern on each of the powder layers and the camera (detector 8) is configured to capture a plurality of images comprising a corresponding image of the corresponding periodic light pattern on each of the powder layers. (See page 10, left column, lines 4-8: scanning means for scanning said laser beam across said powder surface; e. a detector for capturing electromagnetic radiation emitted from or reflected by a moving observation zone on the powder surface)
As to claim 10, Kruth et al. (US ‘065) teach a processor configured to use the plurality of images to determine a 3D model. (see ¶ [0034]: the images are processed by an image processor for generating a geometric quantity of the melt zone)
As to claim 11, Kruth et al. (US ‘065) disclose the 3D model is of the object being built. (see the abstract: the present invention allows for the production of three-dimensional objects from powder material and improves the state of the art by compensating variations of the border conditions)
As to claim 12, Kruth et al. (US ‘065) teach a processor configured to use the image captured by the camera (detector 8) of the selective laser melting apparatus to determine a geometric property of the selective laser melting process. (see ¶ [0034]: the 2D images are processed by an image processor for generating a geometric quantity of the melt zone. This signal reflecting a geometric quantity of the melt zone is then fed to the control system which controls the processing parameters of the laser beam or the scanning means of the laser beam and ¶ [0133]: the detector identifies the geometric properties of these distinct areas or the number of distinct molten areas)
As to claim 13, Kruth et al. (US ‘065) disclose the geometric property is a geometric property of the object. (see ¶ [0133]: identifying the geometric properties of these distinct areas or the number of distinct molten areas illustrates the length and width of the melt zone.)
As to claim 14, Kruth et al. (US ‘065) teach the processor is configured to analyse the image and change the build based on the analysis. (See [0034]: the images are processed by an image processor for generating a geometric quantity of the melt zone.)
As to claim 28, Kruth et al. (US ‘065) disclose the optical system comprises a scanner (¶ [0020], ¶ [0022]) for scanning the laser beam across each powder layer. (¶ [0024])
As to claim 29, Kruth et al. (US ‘065) teach the optical system comprises a projector (¶ [0032]) for projecting the periodic light pattern on to the at least one of the powder layers. (¶ [0115] and ¶ [0117])
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,850,326. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims in the instant application and in the issued patent have similar claimed structural limitations to the extent that they are not patentably distinct.
As to claim 1 of the instant application, Patent No. ‘326 disclose a selective laser melting apparatus (a laser solidification apparatus, col. 15, claim 1: line 25) for building an object using a selective laser melting process in which the object is built in a layer-wise manner (col. 15, claim 1: line 26), the selective laser melting apparatus comprising a build chamber containing a build platform (col. 15, claim 1: line 27), a powder depositing device for depositing layers of powder material on the build platform (col. 15, claim 1: line 28), an optical unit for directing a laser beam to selectively melt areas of each powder layer (col. 15, claim 1: line 29), a projector (tiltable mirrors and movable focusing optics; col. 15, claim 1: lines 31-33) for projecting a light pattern onto at least one of the powder layers and a camera (a photodetector; col. 15, claim 1: lines 38-40) for capturing an image of the light pattern on the at least one powder layer.
As to claims 2-14 of the instant application, Patent No. ‘326 disclose similar claimed structure with the similar function in claims 2-13 to the extent that they are not patentably independent and distinct.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,044,618. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims in the instant application and in the issued patent have similar claimed structural limitations to the extent that they are not patentably distinct.
As to claim 1 of the instant application, Patent No. ‘212 disclose a selective laser melting apparatus (a selective laser solidification apparatus, col. 15, claim 1: line 1) for building an object using a selective laser melting process, the selective laser melting apparatus comprising a build chamber containing a build platform (col. 15, claim 1: lines 3-4), a powder depositing device for depositing layers of powder material on the build platform (col. 15, claim 1: lines 3-4), an optical unit layer (an optical train; col. 16, claim 1: line 5) for directing a laser beam to selectively melt areas of each powder, a projector (an optical scanner; col. 15, claim 1: line 4) for projecting a light pattern onto at least one of the powder layers and a camera (a detector; col. 16, claim 1: lines 2-5) for capturing an image of the light pattern on the at least one powder layer.
As to claims 2-14 of the instant application, Patent No. ‘212 disclose similar claimed structure with the similar function in claims 2-9 to the extent that they are not patentably independent and distinct.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed on 04/21/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “to the extent that the office action alleges that the light emitted from the melt pool is the “light pattern”, such emitted light is not “formed on” the powder layer, is not a pattern, and in particular is not a periodic pattern, i.e., having light elements occurring at periodic intervals.”
This is not found persuasive. First, the claim does not provide any specific definition or feature for the pattern or the periodic pattern, and therefore, in absence of such definition, it is fully legitimate for the emitted light in Kruth et al to be considered and defined as a pattern or a periodic pattern, as claimed in claim 1. Second, as it was discussed above in the body of the rejection, Kruth et al discloses a laser beam to selectively melt areas of each powder and to form a periodic light pattern by a projector (a scanner 2, ¶ [0020]) on at least one of the powder layers and a camera (a detector 8, ¶ [0036] and ¶ [0037])
Also, the arguments regarding claim 8 is not persuasive because, similarly, claim does not provide any specific definition or feature for the pattern or the periodic pattern.
Further, in respect to “Double Patenting Rejection”, it is believed that the rejection is still proper and appropriate at least for the reasons already provided above in the body of the rejection.
Finally, after a full review of the submitted remarks in view of prior art rejections, it has been concluded that there are differences in interpreting the claimed subject matter and the cited references by the Applicant and the Office. Therefore, Examiner would like to suggest that if Applicant’s Counsel believes an interview can benefit the prosecution of the instant application, Applicant’s Counsel is kindly invited to contact the undersigned examiner.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Renz et al. (US 7,847,212) disclose an apparatus for the manufacture of a molding by selective laser melting comprises a process chamber 11 and a displacement assembly 24 directing a laser beam 27 generated by a laser 26 onto the build platform 22 or base plate 28 is provided above the build chamber 18.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1754 06/26/2026