Priority
Applicant claims the benefit of US Provisional Application No. 63/522,405, filed June 21, 2023. Claims 1-20 have been afforded the benefit of this filing date.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 24, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2 of the claim, “the new variable” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 14-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swope et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20200301674 A1, hereinafter “Swope”) in view of Silverstein et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 12524419 B2, hereinafter “Silverstein”).
With regard to claim 1, Swope discloses:
A computer system comprising:
a memory resource storing instructions; and one or more processors using the instructions stored in the memory resource to perform operations (“In a fourth example embodiment, a computing system may include at least one processor, as well as memory and program instructions. The program instructions may be stored in the memory, and upon execution by the at least one processor, cause the computing system to perform operations in accordance with the second example embodiment.”, para [0015]) including:
implementing a single unified application programming interface (API) to remotely add and update variables associated with a graphic design file (“Based on or in response to reception of the request at arrow 928, API server device 906 may be configured to execute the function of the API specified by this request, as indicated by block 930.”, para [0209], “Definition of the action may include the operations discussed with respect to FIGS. 8A, 8B, and 11, including defining input and output variables, mapping the input variables to parameters of the API function, and mapping of parts of the API response to the output variables, among other operations.”, para [0205]);
receiving an API request from a programmatic process executed on a remote device (“Action design software application 902 may be configured to transmit to API server device 906 a request for a specification of the API, as indicated by arrow 910.”, para [0204]), the API request including one or more lists of key/value pairs (“Accordingly, API request details 802 may include query parameters section 822 that defines key-value pairs 824 and 826 for the “status” and “limit” query parameters, respectively.”, para [0191]);
Swope does not disclose however, Silverstein discloses:
accessing the graphic design file (“The resulting infographic view is rendered by the browser from the final-form HTML/CSS data and other data generated by the system.”, col 14, lines 32-34); and
editing the variables (i.e. “element IDs”) in the graphic design file (“infographic”) based on the one or more lists of key/value pairs included in the API request (“For example, in one embodiment, the job system has a job to periodically poll the Twitter API using an HTTP request for “tweets” (i.e., Twitter messages) to determine whether a given user was mentioned in a tweet, by comparing the element ID of the most-recent-mention tweet to the least-recent-mention tweet element ID stored in the Data Store. The element ID of each tweet mentioning the user is stored in a database within the system in a form, as described in further detail above. Upon discovering one or more new tweets mentioning the user (with the non-matching tweet IDs pulled from the Twitter API), the system saves the one or more element IDs corresponding to these new one or more tweets. If an infographic visualization depicts the contents of the three most recent times a user was mentioned on Twitter, then the change in the Data Store will be detected by a module in the system that periodically cycles through Data Stores looking for changes. Because the Persona references data in the Data Store by element ID, data is propagated automatically when it is updated in the Data Store. When the visualization is subsequently rendered, it will include the new tweets, thereby updating the visualization without human intervention.”, col 21, lines 36-58, “The rendering process produces HTML adorned with CSS classes and element ID-linked elements, which is then delivered to the viewer's browser along with a CSS stylesheet that combines color, font, and other style information, as described above. The resulting infographic view is rendered by the browser from the final-form HTML/CSS data and other data generated by the system”, col 14, lines 28-34).
Both the systems of Swope and Silverstein deal with APIs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Swope in view of Silverstein to improve automation.
With regard to claim 2, Swope as modified discloses the computer system claim 1.
Swope does not disclose however, Silverstein discloses:
wherein the API request is used to synchronize at least some of the variables in the graphic design file with a network service on the remote device (“For example, in one embodiment, the job system has a job to periodically poll the Twitter API using an HTTP request for “tweets” (i.e., Twitter messages) to determine whether a given user was mentioned in a tweet, by comparing the element ID of the most-recent-mention tweet to the least-recent-mention tweet element ID stored in the Data Store. The element ID of each tweet mentioning the user is stored in a database within the system in a form, as described in further detail above. Upon discovering one or more new tweets mentioning the user (with the non-matching tweet IDs pulled from the Twitter API), the system saves the one or more element IDs corresponding to these new one or more tweets. If an infographic visualization depicts the contents of the three most recent times a user was mentioned on Twitter, then the change in the Data Store will be detected by a module in the system that periodically cycles through Data Stores looking for changes. Because the Persona references data in the Data Store by element ID, data is propagated automatically when it is updated in the Data Store. When the visualization is subsequently rendered, it will include the new tweets, thereby updating the visualization without human intervention.”, col 21, lines 36-58).
Both the systems of Swope and Silverstein deal with APIs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Swope in view of Silverstein to improve automation.
With regard to claim 7, Swope as modified discloses the computer system of claim 1.
Swope discloses:
wherein keys in the key/value pairs include one or more of an (“Accordingly, API request details 802 may include query parameters section 822 that defines key-value pairs 824 and 826 for the “status” and “limit” query parameters, respectively. Namely, query parameter pair 824 may include the key “status” to which the value of the input variable “status” is mapped, as indicated by the “Action->status” pill. Similarly, query parameter key-value pair 826 may include the key “limit” to which the value of the input variable “limit” is mapped, as indicated by the “Action->limit” pill.”, para [0191]).
With regard to claim 8, the limitations except those addressed below are rejected using the mapping from analogous claim 1.
Swope discloses:
A method being implemented by one or more processors and comprising (“the instructions are executable by processor 102 to carry out any of the methods”, para [0055]):
With regard to claim 9, Swope as modified discloses the method of claim 8.
The remaining limitations are rejected using the mapping from analogous claim 2.
With regard to claim 14, Swope as modified discloses the method of claim 8.
The remaining limitations are rejected using the mapping from analogous claim 7.
With regard to claim 15, the limitations except those addressed below are rejected using the mapping from analogous claim 1.
Swope discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores instructions, executable by one or more processors, to cause the one or more processors to perform operations (“an article of manufacture may include a non-transitory computer-readable medium, having stored thereon program instructions that, upon execution by a computing system, cause the computing system to perform operations in accordance with the second example embodiment.”, para [0014]) including:
With regard to claim 16, Swope as modified discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15.
The remaining limitations are rejected using the mapping from analogous claim 2.
With regard to claim 18, Swope as modified discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16.
Swope discloses:
wherein adding the new variable includes applying default variable values consistent with a variables table interface (“In some embodiments, a default value of a particular input variable corresponding to a particular optional input may be determined based on the specification. The function may be executed with the default value as the particular optional input when an alternative value is not assigned to the particular input variable. The default value of the particular input variable may be stored in the persistent storage to further define the action.”, para [0233]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 10-13, 17, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Celenza (Automation principles - atomicity 2020) discloses "Atomicity is a guarantee of isolation from concurrent processes. Additionally, atomic operations commonly have a succeed-or-fail definition — they either successfully change the state of the system, or have no apparent effect." (middle of page 2).
Kprotty (Understanding atomics and memory ordering 2021) discloses “To do something "atomically" means that it must happen (or be observed to happen) in its entirety or not at all. This implies that it cannot be interrupted. When something is "atomic", tearing (i.e. partial completion) of the operation cannot be observed. Atomic operations allow us to write code that can work with shared memory in a way that's safe against concurrent interruption.” (page 2, third paragraph).
/S.S.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2192 /S. Sough/SPE, Art Unit 2192