DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 6/21/24. Claims 1-7 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 6/21/24 and 3/07/25. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyazaki (US PGPub 2021/0098670, hereinafter referred to as “Miyazaki”).
Miyazaki discloses the semiconductor device as claimed. See figures 1-8 and corresponding text, where Miyazaki teaches, in claim 1, a semiconductor light-emitting apparatus comprising:
a package substrate (11);
a semiconductor light-emitting element flip-chip (30) bonded on the package substrate (11);
a frame body (60) provided around the semiconductor light-emitting element (30) on the package substrate (11); and
a sealing member (70) that covers an upper surface of the semiconductor light-emitting element (30) on the package substrate (11), covers an upper surface of the frame body (60), and has translucency at an emission wavelength of the semiconductor light-emitting element (30), wherein the upper surface of the semiconductor light-emitting element (30) has a plurality of corner portions, and a distance from each of the plurality of corner portions to the frame body (60) is smaller than a width of the upper surface of the frame body (figures 1-8; [0046-0058]).
Miyazaki teaches, in claim 2, wherein, in a plan view of the upper surface of the semiconductor light-emitting apparatus, an area occupying a space inward of the frame body is equal to or less than twice an area occupying the upper surface of the semiconductor light-emitting element (figure 1; [0046-0058]) .
Miyazaki teaches, in claim 3, further comprising:
a protective element (40A) bonded on the package substrate (11) and covered by the sealing member (70), wherein, in a plan view of the upper surface of the semiconductor light-emitting apparatus (A10), an area occupying a space inward of the frame body (60) is equal to or less than twice a total area of the upper surface of the semiconductor light-emitting element (30) and an upper surface of the protective element (40A) (figures 1-8; [0046-0058]) .
Miyazaki teaches, in claim 4, further comprising:
a protective element bonded on the package substrate and covered by the sealing member, wherein a distance from the protective element to the frame body is smaller than the width of the upper surface of the frame body, and wherein a distance from the semiconductor light-emitting element to the protective element is smaller than the width of the upper surface of the frame body (figures 1-8; [0046-0058]).
Miyazaki teaches, in claim 5, wherein a gap is provided between the package substrate and the sealing member (figures 1-8; [0046-0058]).
Miyazaki teaches, in claim 7, wherein the sealing member has a dome shape that is convex upward (figures 1-8; [0046-0058]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki (US PGPub 2021/0098670, hereinafter referred to as “Miyazaki”) as applied to claim 1 above.
Miyazaki discloses the semiconductor device substantially as claimed. See the rejection above.
However, Miyazaki fails to explicitly teaches, in claim 6, wherein a distance from each of the plurality of corner portions to the frame body is equal to or more than 10 μm and equal to or less than 300 μm.
Miyazaki teaches, forming a case having a plurality of corner portions where the inner side surfaces functions as a reflecting surface of light emitted from the light emitting element ([0090-0099]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate wherein a distance from each of the plurality of corner portions to the frame body is equal to or more than 10 μm and equal to or less than 300 μm, in the device of Miyazaki, with the motivation of forming a reflecting surface to reflect light emitted from the light emitting element, thus would result in routine experimentation. In addition, a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding. In KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Conclusion
/STANETTA D ISAAC/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 June 26, 2026