Status of Claims
As of the amendment filed 8/31/26, no claims have been added, claims 2, 9, and 15 have been canceled, and claims 2, 4, 6-8, 11-13, 17, 29, and 20 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1, 3-8, 10-14, and 16-20 remain pending, with claims 1, 8, and 13 being independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chanemougame (US 2018/0204927).
As to claims 1 and 13, Chanemougame teaches a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET, see annotated fig. 22 below) having an active layer (210, [0029]) and including:
(a) a source region (212) formed within the active layer of the MOSFET ([0029]);
(b) a drain region (212) formed within the active layer of the MOSFET ([0029]);
(c) a body region (211) within the active layer (210) of the MOSFET between the source region and the drain region (212, [0029]); and
(d) a T-shaped gate structure (260 and 295) overlying the body region (211), the gate structure having a source region side (left side) and a drain region side (right side) and positioned to influence current flow through the body region ([0029]), the T-shaped gate structure including:
(1) a gate oxide layer (261) in contact with an active layer of the FET MOSFET ([0035]);
(2) a first conductive layer (262) in contact with the gate oxide layer (261, [0035]);
(3) a second conductive layer (lower part of 295) in contact with the first conductive layer (262, [0052]);
(4) a conductive gate contact (upper part of 295) in contact with the second conductive layer (lower part of 295, [0052]);
(5) first and second insulating side-spacers (278) bracketing the sides of the first and second conductive layers ([0049]);
wherein at least the first conductive layer has a shorter length than the conductive gate contact and a higher etch rate than the second conductive layer ([0050] and [0056], the first conductive layer is polysilicon and the second conductive layer is a standard via metal); and
wherein the second conductive layer has a shorter length than the conductive gate contact (see fig. 22 below).
As to claims 6 and 19, Chanemougame further teaches the first and second insulating side-spacers conform to sides of the first and second conductive layers (see fig. 22 above, spacers 278 are below the gate contact and conform to the conductive layers).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chanemougame in view of Chan (US 2005/0073014).
As to claims 3 and 16, Chanemougame teaches the first conductive layer comprises poly-Si ([0056]) does not teach the first conductive layer comprises poly-SiGE alloy. However, Chan teaches a gate conductor similar to Chanemougame’s first conductive layer that does comprise a poly-SiGE alloy ([0017]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the poly-SiGe gate layer of Chan so as to adjust etching or doping profiles to assist with subsequent deposition and/or etching processes.
Claim(s) 5, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chanemougame.
As to claims 5, 14, and 18, Chanemougame does not teach at least one of a halo region or lightly- doped drain region located in the body region between the source region and the body region and/or between the drain region and the body region or the conductive gate contact includes a silicide.
However, forming a silicide on the gate contact would have been obvious so as to reduce interconnection resistance. Furthermore, forming halo/LDD regions are also known in the art and would have been obvious so as to adjust channel properties.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 10-12 are allowed and claims 4, 7, 17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art taken either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the claims listed above in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 would be proper.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all of the features in the claims. As to claims 4 and 17, Chanemougame fails to teach the second conductive layer comprises polysilicon. The second conductive layer is specifically a metal contact ([0050]).
As to claims 7 and 20, Chanemougame fails to teach air-gaps separating some or all of at least the first conductive layer from the first and second insulating side-spacers. Chanemougame teaches air gaps 271, however they are a part of the spacers and do not serve to separate the spacers from the conductive layer(s).
As to claim 8, Chanemougame fails to teach a polysilicon second conductive layer in contact with a poly-SiGe first conductive layer. As stated above, the second conductive layer is very clearly a metal contact.
The remaining claims are allowed at least because they depend from allowed claim 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-Delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22313
/KAREN KUSUMAKAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897
9/12/26