DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are that include “unit” in claim 1.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
4. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without being integrated into a practical application and do not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Utilizing the two-step process adopted by the Supreme Court (Alice Corp vs CLS Bank Int'l, US Supreme Court, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014) and the recent 101 guideline, Federal Register Vol. 84, No., Jan 2019)), determination of the subject matter eligibility under the 35 USC 101 is as follows: Specifically, the Step 1 requires claim belongs to one of the four statutory categories (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). If Step 1 is satisfied, then in the first part of Step 2A (Prong one), identification of any judicial recognized exceptions in the claim is made. If any limitation in the claim is identified as judicial recognized exception, then proceeding to the second part of Step 2A (Prong two), determination is made whether the identified judicial exception is being integrated into practical application. If the identified judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, then in Step 2B, the claim is further evaluated to see if the additional elements, individually and in combination, provide “inventive concept” that would amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. If the element and combination of elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial recognized exception itself, then the claim is ineligible under the 35 USC 101.
Looking at the claims, the claims satisfy the first part of the test 1A, namely the claims are directed to one of the four statutory class, apparatus. In Step 2A Prong one, we next identify any judicial exceptions in the claims. In Claim 1 (as a representative example), we recognize that the limitations “estimates a capacity ratio of the battery
based on the physical quantity,” “and calculates the at least one of the lithium precipitation amount or the thickness of the film based on a change in at least one of the current or the voltage when both the ends of the lithium ion battery are shorted by the short circuit.” are abstract ideas, as they recite limitations that can be performed by mental process. Similar rejections are made for other dependent claims. With the identification of abstract ideas, we proceed to Step 2A, Prong two, where with additional elements and taken as a whole, we evaluate whether the identified abstract idea is being integrated into a practical application.
In Step 2A, prong two, the claims additionally recite “a deterioration detection unit that detects a physical quantity having a higher correlation with a capacity deterioration of the battery than a voltage and a current of the battery, wherein the battery is a lithium-ion battery, the deterioration detection unit detects, as the physical quantity, at least one of a lithium precipitation amount inside the lithium-ion battery or a thickness of a film formed at an interface between a negative electrode and an electrolytic solution of the lithium-ion battery, and the deterioration detection unit includes a short circuit that temporarily shorts both ends of the lithium-ion battery to discharge the lithium-ion battery,” and “a temperature sensor that detects a battery temperature of the lithium ion
Battery” are directed to insignificant data collection activity, recited at high level of generality. In fact, the claims do not even recite any sensors in the data collection activity. The claims also recite “estimation unit” and “deterioration detection unit” but said limitations are merely directed to general-purpose processor for implementing the abstract idea. The claims do not improve the functioning of any units and do not improve other technology under the practical application. At most, the claims are an improvement in the estimating a capacity ratio of the lithium-ion battery. However, improved or new abstract idea is still an abstract idea, and not eligible under the 101. As such, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application. Consequently, with the identified abstract idea not being integrated into a practical application, we proceed to Step 2B and evaluate whether the additional elements provide “inventive concept” that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
In step 2B, the claims additionally recite “a deterioration detection unit that detects a physical quantity having a higher correlation with a capacity deterioration of the battery than a voltage and a current of the battery, wherein the battery is a lithium-ion battery, the deterioration detection unit detects, as the physical quantity, at least one
of a lithium precipitation amount inside the lithium-ion battery or a thickness of a film
formed at an interface between a negative electrode and an electrolytic solution of the
lithium-ion battery, and the deterioration detection unit includes a short circuit that temporarily shorts both ends of the lithium-ion battery to discharge the lithium-ion battery,” and “a temperature sensor that detects a battery temperature of the lithium ion
battery” are directed to data collection activity, recited at high level of generality, that is well-understood, routine and conventional. In fact, the claims do not even recite any sensors in the data collection activity. The claims also recite “estimation unit” and “deterioration detection unit” but said limitations are merely directed to general-purpose processor for implementing the abstract idea, that is also well-understood, routine and conventional. As such, the claims do not provide additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea
In Summary, the claims recite abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application, and do not provide additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As such, taken as a whole, the claims are ineligible under the 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murphy et al., US-PGPUB 2020/0106137 (hereinafter Murphy)
Regarding Claim 1. Murphy discloses a battery monitoring device that monitors a battery (Abstract), comprising:
a deterioration detection unit that detects a physical quantity having a higher
correlation with a capacity deterioration of the battery than a voltage and a current of
the battery (Paragraph [0094]), and a capacity ratio estimation unit that estimates a capacity ratio of the battery based on the physical quantity (Paragraph [0265], measuring change in thickness and determining SOH, the capacity ratio), wherein the battery is a lithium-ion battery (Paragraph [0003], lithium-ion battery), the deterioration detection unit detects, as the physical quantity, at least one of a lithium precipitation amount inside the lithium-ion battery or a thickness of a film formed at an interface between a negative electrode and an electrolytic solution of the lithium ion battery (Paragraph [0265], thickness), and the deterioration detection unit includes a short circuit that temporarily shorts both ends of the lithium ion battery to discharge the lithium ion battery (Fig. 16, controlled short circuit; Paragraphs [0019], [0134]-[0135], controlled short-circuit), and calculates the at least one of the lithium precipitation amount or the thickness of the film based on a change in at least one of the current or the voltage when both the ends of the lithium ion battery are shorted by the short circuit (Paragraph [0009]; Paragraph [0190], SOH from the thickness; Paragraph [0265], measuring change in thickness and determining SOH)
Regarding Claim 2. Murphy discloses a temperature sensor that detects a battery temperature of the lithium ion battery (Paragraphs [0094]-[0102], [0150]), wherein the deterioration detection unit calculates, as the physical quantity, a
correction value obtained by correcting the at least one of the lithium precipitation
amount or the thickness of the film with the battery temperature (Paragraph [0079], enhance the accuracy of the measurements, which also includes measurement of the thickness; Paragraphs [0094]-[0102])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy et al., US-PGPUB 2020/0106137 in view of Yamamoto et al., US-PGPUB 2020/0233037 (hereinafter Yamamoto).
Regarding Claim 3. Murphy does not disclose a battery management device that determines whether or not a secondary use of the battery is possible based on the capacity ratio estimated by the capacity ratio estimation unit.
Yamamoto discloses determining whether or not a secondary use of the battery is possible based on the capacity ratio estimated (Paragraphs [0089]-[0093])
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Yamamoto in Murphy and have a battery management device that determines whether or not a secondary use of the battery is possible based on the capacity ratio estimated by the capacity ratio estimation unit, so as to properly maintain and make the operation state of the battery comprehensive.
Regarding Claim 5. Murphy does not disclose ratio estimated by the capacity ratio detection unit is within an allowable range of the capacity ratio indicated in a battery specification data, and outputs a determination result an outside.
Yamamoto discloses ratio estimated by the capacity ratio detection unit is within an allowable range of the capacity ratio indicated in a battery specification data, and outputs a determination result an outside (Paragraphs [0089]-[0093])
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Yamamoto in Murphy and determine the ratio estimated by the capacity ratio detection unit is within an allowable range of the capacity ratio indicated in a battery specification data, and outputs a determination result an outside, so as to properly maintain and make the operation state of the battery comprehensive.
10. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy et al., US-PGPUB 2020/0106137 in view of White et al., US-PGPUB 2010/0250162 (hereinafter White)
Regarding Claim 4. Murphy does not disclose determining whether or not the battery has an abnormality based on the capacity ratio estimated by the capacity ratio estimation unit, and sets a residual value of the battery when the battery has the abnormality.
White discloses determining whether or not the battery has an abnormality based on the capacity ratio estimated by the capacity ratio estimation unit, and sets a residual value of the battery when the battery has the abnormality (Paragraphs [0072]-[0073]).
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of White in Murphy and determine whether or not the battery has an abnormality based on the capacity ratio estimated by the capacity ratio estimation unit, and sets a residual value of the battery when the battery has the abnormality, and thereby accurately determine the state of the battery.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu, US-PGPUB 2019/0219640
Lin et al., CN 112986837 discloses calculating the precipitation of impurities in lithium-ion battery using short-circuiting.
/HYUN D PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857