DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 10, 12-14 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ‘259 (DE 3907259 A1).
Regarding claim 1, ‘259 discloses an apparatus for reducing a humidity of a volume of gas (Fig. 2), the apparatus comprising:
a gas delivery conduit (gas lines with direction arrows in Fig. 2) comprising a first conducting portion (heat exchanger 10 in Fig. 1 in opening 40 of a first cooling stage 50) and a second conducting portion (heat exchanger 10 in Fig. 1 in opening 40 of a second cooling stage 48);
at least one heat-conductive media (supports 27 and 29. The supports connect inner tube 20 and outer tube 24 so they at least conduct heat, see Fig. 1) comprising a first heat-conductive media (the supports 27 and 29 in the heat exchanger 10 of first cooling stage 50) positioned in-line within the first conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit (the supports 27 and 29 of the first cooling stage 50 are in line with the annular passage between the inner tube 20 and outer tube 24) and a second heat-conductive media (the supports 27 and 29 in the heat exchanger 10 of second cooling stage 48) positioned in-line within the second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit (the supports 27 and 29 of the second cooling stage 48 are in line with the annular passage between the inner tube 20 and outer tube 24); and
a cooler (Peltier element 52) in contact with the first conducting portion and the second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, ‘259 further discloses wherein the first heat-conductive media and the second heat-conductive media are positioned within an interior portion of the first conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit and the second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit, respectively (the supports 27 and 29 of the first cooling stage 50 are positioned within an interior of the outer tube 24; and the supports 27 and 29 of the second cooling stage 48 are positioned within an interior of the outer tube 24).
Regarding claim 4, ‘259 further discloses wherein the first heat-conductive media and the second heat-conductive media are in contact with an interior surface of sidewalls of the first conducting portion and the second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit, respectively (the supports 27 and 29 of the first cooling stage 50 are positioned within an interior surface of vertical side walls of the outer tube 24; and the supports 27 and 29 of the second cooling stage 48 are positioned within an interior surface of vertical side walls of the outer tube 24).
Regarding claim 10, ‘259 further discloses wherein the first conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit is in contact with a first side of the cooler (the heat exchanger 10 of the first cooling stage 50 is in contact with warm side 56 of the Peltier element 52), wherein the second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit is in contact with a second side of the cooler (the heat exchanger 10 of the second cooling stage 48 is in contact with cold side 54 of the Peltier element 52).
Regarding claim 12, ‘259 in claim 10 further discloses wherein the first side of the cooler is configured to heat the first conducting portion and the first heat-conductive media (the warm side 56 heats the heat exchanger 10 and the supports 27 and 29 of the first cooling stage 50 with respected to the cold side 54), while the second side of the cooler is configured to cool the second conducting portion and the second heat-conductive media (the cold side 54 cools the heat exchanger 10 and the supports 27 and 29 of the second cooling stage 48 with respected to the warm side 56).
Regarding claim 13, ‘259 further discloses wherein a pump (64) configured to direct a flow of the volume of gas through the gas delivery conduit (the pump 64 directs a flow to gas line 44).
Regarding claim 14, ‘259 in claim 13 further discloses the pump (64) is configured to change a directional flow of the volume of gas (the pump 64 drives the gas forward to the gas line 44 that changes a flow direction, for example, from horizontal to vertical direction in the gas line 44) between a first flow direction (the horizontal direction) and a second flow direction (the vertical direction) within the gas delivery conduit (in the gas line 44).
Regarding claim 16, ‘259 discloses a method for reducing a humidity of a volume of gas (Fig. 2), the method comprising:
passing the volume of gas through a gas delivery conduit in a first flow direction (passing a gas in the gas lines with downward direction arrows in Fig. 2), wherein the gas delivery conduit comprises at least one conducting portion (heat exchanger 10 in Fig. 1 in opening 40 of a second cooling stage 48), and wherein at least one heat-conductive media (supports 27 and 29 in the heat exchanger 10 of the second cooling stage 48. The supports connect inner tube 20 and outer tube 24 so they at least conduct heat) is positioned in-line within the at least one conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit (the supports 27 and 29 of the second cooling stage 48 are in line with the annular passage between the inner tube 20 and outer tube 24); and
cooling the at least one heat-conductive media within the at least one conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit via a cooler in contact with an outer surface of the at least one conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit (the supports 27 and 29 within the heat exchanger 10 of the second cooling stage 48 is cooled by conduction of a cold side 54 of a Peltier element 52) to condense the humidity within the volume of gas on a surface of the at least one heat-conductive media (moisture is condensed on the walls of the heat exchanger 10 of the second cooling stage 48, see paragraph 0059 of the translation, the condensation inherently occurs on the supports 27 and 29 adjacent the outer tube 24 due to the conduction heat exchange).
Regarding claim 17, ‘259 further discloses wherein the cooler is a solid-state thermoelectric cooler (the Peltier element 52), wherein cooling the at least one heat-conductive media comprises applying a voltage in a first direction to the cooler to cool a first side of the cooler (the Peltier element 52 is inherently being driven by a voltage to enable a cold side 54), wherein the first side of the cooler is in contact with the at least one conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit (the cold side 54 contacts the second cooling stage 48).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘259 (DE 3907259 A1) in view of Clavaguera (WO 2012/110964 A1).
Regarding claim 2, ‘259 fails to disclose a housing comprising an exterior housing portion and an interior housing portion, wherein at least a portion of the gas delivery conduit, the at least one heat-conductive media, and the cooler are enclosed within the interior housing portion.
Clavaguera discloses a housing (9, Fig. 1) comprising an exterior housing portion (exterior side) and an interior housing portion (inner side), wherein at least a portion of the gas delivery conduit (the gas line) and a module 3 that controls the gas temperature is enclosed within the interior housing portion.
Since the device in Fig. 2 of ‘259 control gas temperature flowing in the heat exchangers 10, the device in Fig. 2 of ‘259 may be provided within the housing 9 of Clavaguera. Therefore,
at least a portion of the gas delivery conduit (the gas lines), the at least one heat-conductive media (the supports 27 and 29), and the cooler (the Peltier element 52) are enclosed within the interior housing portion (inside the housing 9 of Clavaguera).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a housing comprising an exterior housing portion and an interior housing portion, wherein at least a portion of the gas delivery conduit, the at least one heat-conductive media, and the cooler are enclosed within the interior housing portion in ‘259 as taught by Clavaguera in order to protect the gas lines and the heat exchangers 10 and the Peltier element 52 from external impact.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘259 (DE 3907259 A1) in view of Kawamura (EP 0930480 A2).
Regarding claim 5, ‘259 fails to disclose wherein the first heat-conductive media fills an interior of the first conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit such that a cross-sectional area of the first heat-conductive media is at least substantially equal to a cross-sectional area of the interior of the first conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit.
Regarding claim 6, ‘259 fails to disclose wherein the second heat-conductive media fills an interior of the second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit such that a cross-sectional area of the second heat-conductive media is at least substantially equal to a cross-sectional area of the interior of the second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit.
Kawamura discloses a heat-conductive media (porous metal body 1, Fig. 1) fills an interior of the conducting portion of the delivery conduit (the porous metal body 1 fills an annular interior between the outer tube 3 and inner tube 2) such that a cross-sectional area (the annular cross section of the porous metal body 1 across the outer tube 3 and inner tube 2) of the heat-conductive media is at least substantially equal to a cross-sectional area of the interior of the second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit (is the same as the annular space between the outer tube 3 and inner tube 2).
Kawamura further discloses that the porous metal body 1 increases contacting surface area (paragraph 0042). Therefore, the porous metal body 1 may be provided between the inner tube 20 and outer tube 24 in both the first cooling stage 50 and the second cooling stage 48 in order to increase heat exchange efficiency by increasing contacting surface area in the gas line. Note that the porous metal body 1 of Kawamura and the supports 27 and 29 of ‘259 together define “first heat-conductive media” and “second heat-conductive media” as claimed.
As a result, regarding claims 5 and 6, ‘259 in view of Kawamura discloses wherein the first/second heat-conductive media (porous metal body 1 of Kawamura with the supports 27 and 29) fills an interior of the first/second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit (fills the annular interior between the inner tube 20 and outer tube 24) such that a cross-sectional area of the first/second heat-conductive media is at least substantially equal to a cross-sectional area of the interior of the first/second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit (the annular cross section of the porous metal body 1 across the inner tube 20 and outer tube 24 is the same as the annular space between the inner tube 20 and outer tube 24, in both the first cooling stage 50 and the second cooling stage 48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the first/second heat-conductive media fills an interior of the first/second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit such that a cross-sectional area of the first/second heat-conductive media is at least substantially equal to a cross-sectional area of the interior of the first/second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit in ‘259 as taught by Kawamura in order to increase heat exchange efficiency by increasing contacting surface area in the gas line.
Regarding claim 7, ‘259 fails to disclose wherein respective cross-sectional shapes of the first heat-conductive media and the second heat-conductive media match cross-sectional shapes of the first conducting portion and the second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit, respectively.
Kawamura further discloses wherein respective cross-sectional shapes of the heat-conductive media (annular cross section of the porous metal bodies 1, Fig. 1) match cross-sectional shapes of the conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit (the annular cross section of the porous metal bodies 1 matches the annular space between the outer tube 3 and inner tube 2).
Similarly, Kawamura discloses that the porous metal body 1 increases contacting surface area (paragraph 0042). Therefore, the porous metal body 1 may be provided within the annular space between the inner tube 20 and outer tube 24 in both the first cooling stage 50 and the second cooling stage 48 in order to increase heat exchange efficiency by increasing contacting surface area in the gas line. The porous metal body 1 in both the first cooling stage 50 and the second cooling stage 48 matches the annular space between the inner tube 20 and outer tube 24. Note that the porous metal body 1 of Kawamura and the supports 27 and 29 of ‘259 together define “first heat-conductive media” and “second heat-conductive media” as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein respective cross-sectional shapes of the first heat-conductive media and the second heat-conductive media match cross-sectional shapes of the first conducting portion and the second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit, respectively in in ‘259 as taught by Kawamura in order to increase heat exchange efficiency by increasing contacting surface area in the gas line.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘259 (DE 3907259 A1) in view of Kawamura (EP 0930480 A2) and Schmidt (US Patent No. 7,871,578).
Regarding claim 8, ‘259 in claim 1 fails to disclose the first heat-conductive media and the second heat-conductive media are welded to an interior of the first conducting portion and an interior of the second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit, respectively.
Regarding claim 9, ‘259 in claim 1 fails to disclose the first heat-conductive media and the second heat-conductive media are adhered via heat-conductive adhesive within the first conducting portion and the second conducting portion, respectively.
Kawamura discloses that the heat-conductive media (porous metal body 1, Fig. 1) contacts an interior of the conducting portion the gas delivery conduit (porous metal body 1 contacts the annular space between the outer tube 3 and inner tube 2).
Schmidt discloses a thermal conductive porous network is metallurgical bonded by microwelding or adhesives (col. 3, lines 9-13).
Kawamura further discloses that the porous metal body 1 increases contacting surface area (paragraph 0042). Therefore, the porous metal body 1 may be provided between the inner tube 20 and outer tube 24 in both the first cooling stage 50 and the second cooling stage 48 in order to increase heat exchange efficiency by increasing contacting surface area in the gas line. Note that the porous metal body 1 of Kawamura and the supports 27 and 29 of ‘259 together define “first heat-conductive media” and “second heat-conductive media” as claimed. Further, the porous metal body 1 may be bonded to the inner tube 20 and outer tube 24 of ‘259 by microwelding (to meet claim 8) or by adhesive (to meet claim 9) in view of the teaching of Schmidt. Moreover, the material of the heat exchanger 10 of ‘259 may be modified in order to be compatible with the microwelding and adhesive disclosed in Schmidt.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the first heat-conductive media and the second heat-conductive media are welded to an interior of the first conducting portion and an interior of the second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit, respectively (claim 8); and the first heat-conductive media and the second heat-conductive media are adhered via heat-conductive adhesive within the first conducting portion and the second conducting portion, respectively (claim 9) in ‘259 as taught by Kawamura and Schmidt in order to increase heat exchange efficiency by increasing contacting surface area in the gas line and to prevent dislocation of the porous metal body within the annular space between the inner tube 20 and outer tube 24.
Claim(s) 11, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘259 (DE 3907259 A1) in view of Moorehead (US Patent No. 4,400,948).
Regarding claim 11, ‘259 fails to disclose wherein the first side of the cooler is configured to cool the first conducting portion and the first heat-conductive media, while the second side of the cooler is configured to heat the second conducting portion and the second heat-conductive media.
Moorehead, also directed to an air drying apparatus by condensation, discloses that the moisture from the air stream freezes onto the fins. The current to the thermoelectric module is reversed so that the former cold side of the thermoelectric module becomes a hot side and causes the ice formed on the fins to melt (abstract).
‘259 further discloses that the Peltier element 52 is switched off to thaw frozen condensate in the second cooling stage 48 (paragraph 0059 of the translation).
Compared to the approach disclosed in ‘259, Moorehead may be superior to accelerate melting of the frozen condensation. Therefore, in order to accelerate thawing of the frozen condensate, the Peltier element 52 may reverse its current to turn the side 54 into a hot side. As a result, wherein the first side (56) of the cooler is configured to cool the first conducting portion (50) and the first heat-conductive media (the supports 27 and 29 in the first cooling stage 50), while the second side (54) of the cooler is configured to heat the second conducting portion (48) and the second heat-conductive media (the side 54 contacting the supports 27 and 29 in the second cooling stage 48 become a hot side to melt the frozen condensation as taught by Moorehead).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the first side of the cooler is configured to cool the first conducting portion and the first heat-conductive media, while the second side of the cooler is configured to heat the second conducting portion and the second heat-conductive media in ‘259 as taught by Moorehead in order to accelerate thawing of the frozen condensate.
Regarding claim 18, ‘259 in claim 17 fails to disclose reversing the voltage applied to the cooler to heat the first side of the cooler to heat the at least one heat-conductive media to remove condensed water from the gas delivery conduit.
Moorehead, also directed to an air drying apparatus by condensation, discloses that the moisture from the air stream freezes onto the fins. The current to the thermoelectric module is reversed so that the former cold side of the thermoelectric module becomes a hot side and causes the ice formed on the fins to melt (abstract).
‘259 further discloses that the Peltier element 52 is switched off to thaw frozen condensate in the second cooling stage 48 (paragraph 0059 of the translation).
Similar to claim 11 above, in order to accelerate thawing of the frozen condensate, the Peltier element 52 may reverse its current to turn the side 54 into a hot side. As a result, ‘259 in view of Moorehead discloses reversing the voltage applied to the cooler to heat the first side (54) of the cooler to heat the at least one heat-conductive media to remove condensed water from the gas delivery conduit (the side 54 contacting the supports 27 and 29 in the second cooling stage 48 become a hot side to melt the frozen condensation as taught by Moorehead).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided reversing the voltage applied to the cooler to heat the first side of the cooler to heat the at least one heat-conductive media to remove condensed water from the gas delivery conduit in ‘259 as taught by Moorehead in order to accelerate thawing of the frozen condensate.
Regarding claim 19, ‘259 as modified in claim 18 further discloses changing a directional flow of the volume of gas through the gas delivery conduit via a pump to a second flow direction opposite from the first flow direction (the pump 64 pumps the gas from the downward first flow entering the heat exchanger 10 to an upward second flow exiting the heat exchanger 10).
Claim(s) 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘259 (DE 3907259 A1) in view of Kessel (US Patent No. 5,654,498).
Regarding claim 15, ‘259 in claim 1 further discloses wherein the apparatus is configured to be fluidly connected to a detector (gas analysis measuring device 60) and positioned upstream from the photoionization detector (the apparatus in Fig. 2 removes moisture of the gas before entering the device 60).
‘259 fails to disclose a photoionization detector.
Kessel discloses a photoionization detector.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a photoionization detector in ‘259 as taught by Kessel in order to be used for a selective, component-specific detection (col. 1, lines 50-55 of Kessel).
Regarding claim 20, ‘259 in claim 16 further discloses wherein the at least one conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit (the second cooling stage 48) is fluidly connected to a detector (gas analysis measuring device 60) and positioned upstream from the detector (the apparatus in Fig. 2 removes moisture of the gas before entering the device 60).
‘259 fails to disclose a photoionization detector.
Kessel discloses a photoionization detector.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a photoionization detector in ‘259 as taught by Kessel in order to be used for a selective, component-specific detection (col. 1, lines 50-55 of Kessel).
Conclusion
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/F.K.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3763