Detailed Action
Drawings Objection
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “the heat sink extends laterally above a portion of the opening adaptor” in Claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1-8, 11-13, 22 and 28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2014/0126150).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 1 of Song discloses an integrated cooling assembly comprising: a semiconductor device (112); an opening adaptor (134) comprising an inlet opening (154), an outlet opening (168), sidewalls, and a divider between the sidewalls; and a cold plate [0021] attached between the semiconductor device and the opening adaptor, the cold plate comprising a first opening (158) and a second opening (164) spaced apart by a first distance and in fluid communication with a coolant channel (166), wherein: at least a portion of a first side of the cold plate is spaced apart from the semiconductor device to define the coolant channel therebetween; the sidewalls and the divider of the opening adaptor extend downwardly to a second side of the cold plate to define an inlet chamber volume and an outlet chamber volume therebetween [0022]; the inlet and outlet openings of the opening adaptor are spaced apart by a second distance different from the first distance; and the coolant channel is in fluid communication with the inlet chamber volume and the outlet chamber volume via the first and second openings of the cold plate [0023].
Regarding Claim 2
FIG. 1 of Song discloses the inlet chamber volume at least partially overlaps and is in fluid communication with the first opening of the cold plate; and the outlet chamber volume at least partially overlaps and is in fluid communication with the second opening of the cold plate.
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 1 of Song discloses the inlet chamber volume and the outlet chamber volume are separated from the coolant channel by portions of an upper surface of the cold plate.
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 1 of Song discloses an integrated cooling assembly comprising: a semiconductor device (112); a cold plate [0021] attached to the semiconductor device, and an opening adaptor (134) comprising a first side, a second side opposite the first side, an inlet fluid chamber volume, and an outlet fluid chamber volume, wherein: the first side of the opening adaptor comprises a first inlet opening (154) and a first outlet opening (168) spaced apart by a second distance; the second side of the opening adaptor comprises a second inlet opening and a second outlet opening spaced apart by a first distance different from the second distance; the cold plate comprises a coolant channel (166), a third inlet opening (158) and a third outlet opening (164) spaced apart by the first distance; the second side of the opening adaptor is attached to a side of the cold plate comprising the third inlet opening and the third outlet opening; and the coolant channel is in fluid communication with the inlet fluid chamber volume and the outlet fluid chamber volume [0022].
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 1 of Song discloses the second inlet opening at least partially overlaps and is in fluid communication with the third outlet opening and the second outlet opening at least partially overlaps and is in fluid communication with the third inlet opening.
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 1 of Song discloses the inlet and outlet fluid chamber volumes are separated by a divider.
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 1 of Song discloses the first distance is greater than the second distance.
Regarding Claim 8
With respect to “the first distance is between 1 to 10 cm”, said distance is related to the physical properties of the heat dissipation fluid ([0025] of Song) and the device size. Therefore, said distance is considered to be a result effective variable. The claim to a specific distance therefore constitutes an optimization of ranges. In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the parameters as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 11
With respect to “a gap between the first semiconductor device and the second semiconductor device is between 50 to 300 μm”, said gap is related to the device size and heat dissipation. Therefore, said gap is considered to be a result effective variable. The claim to a specific distance therefore constitutes an optimization of ranges. In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the parameters as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 7 of Song discloses the semiconductor device comprises a plurality of integrated circuit dies.
Regarding Claim 13
FIG. 7 of Song discloses the opening adaptor comprises silicon, a metal, or a plastic material [0028].
Regarding Claim 22
FIG. 7 of Song discloses a backside of the semiconductor device is exposed to the coolant channel.
Regarding Claim 28
FIG. 7 of Song discloses the cold plate comprises a cavity divider to define a plurality of coolant channels (158).
Claims 1 and 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Campbell (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2010/0142150).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 1 of Campbell discloses an integrated cooling assembly comprising: a semiconductor device (120); an opening adaptor (170) comprising an inlet opening (162), an outlet opening (172), sidewalls, and a divider between the sidewalls; and a cold plate (160) attached between the semiconductor device and the opening adaptor, the cold plate comprising a first opening [0029] and a second opening (164) spaced apart by a first distance and in fluid communication with a coolant channel [0040], wherein: at least a portion of a first side of the cold plate is spaced apart from the semiconductor device to define the coolant channel therebetween; the sidewalls and the divider of the opening adaptor extend downwardly to a second side of the cold plate to define an inlet chamber volume and an outlet chamber volume therebetween [0034]; the inlet and outlet openings of the opening adaptor are spaced apart by a second distance different from the first distance; and the coolant channel is in fluid communication with the inlet chamber volume and the outlet chamber volume via the first and second openings of the cold plate [0029].
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 1 of Campbell discloses an integrated cooling assembly comprising: a semiconductor device (120); a cold plate (160) attached to the semiconductor device, and an opening adaptor (170) comprising a first side, a second side opposite the first side, an inlet fluid chamber volume, and an outlet fluid chamber volume, wherein: the first side of the opening adaptor comprises a first inlet opening (162) and a first outlet opening (172) spaced apart by a second distance; the second side of the opening adaptor comprises a second inlet opening and a second outlet opening spaced apart by a first distance different from the second distance; the cold plate comprises a coolant channel [0040], a third inlet opening [0029] and a third outlet opening (164) spaced apart by the first distance; the second side of the opening adaptor is attached to a side of the cold plate comprising the third inlet opening and the third outlet opening; and the coolant channel is in fluid communication with the inlet fluid chamber volume and the outlet fluid chamber volume [0029].
Claims 1 and 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0298969).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 3 of Park discloses an integrated cooling assembly comprising: a semiconductor device (320); an opening adaptor (360) comprising an inlet opening (332), an outlet opening (334), sidewalls, and a divider between the sidewalls; and a cold plate (306) attached between the semiconductor device and the opening adaptor, the cold plate comprising a first opening (330) and a second opening (330) spaced apart by a first distance and in fluid communication with a coolant channel (FIG. 5), wherein: at least a portion of a first side of the cold plate is spaced apart from the semiconductor device to define the coolant channel therebetween; the sidewalls and the divider of the opening adaptor extend downwardly to a second side of the cold plate to define an inlet chamber volume and an outlet chamber volume therebetween [0032]; the inlet and outlet openings of the opening adaptor are spaced apart by a second distance different from the first distance; and the coolant channel is in fluid communication with the inlet chamber volume and the outlet chamber volume via the first and second openings of the cold plate [0038].
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 3 of Park discloses an integrated cooling assembly comprising: a semiconductor device (320); a cold plate (306) attached to the semiconductor device, and an opening adaptor (360) comprising a first side, a second side opposite the first side, an inlet fluid chamber volume, and an outlet fluid chamber volume, wherein: the first side of the opening adaptor comprises a first inlet opening (332) and a first outlet opening (334) spaced apart by a second distance; the second side of the opening adaptor comprises a second inlet opening and a second outlet opening spaced apart by a first distance different from the second distance; the cold plate comprises a coolant channel (FIG. 5), a third inlet opening (330) and a third outlet opening (330) spaced apart by the first distance; the second side of the opening adaptor is attached to a side of the cold plate comprising the third inlet opening and the third outlet opening; and the coolant channel is in fluid communication with the inlet fluid chamber volume and the outlet fluid chamber volume [0032].
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, in view of Lu (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2006/0042825).
Regarding Claim 9
Song discloses Claim 1, further comprises: a second semiconductor device disposed horizontally adjacent to the first semiconductor (FIG. 7).
Song is silent with respect to “a heat sink disposed above the second semiconductor device, wherein the heat sink extends laterally above a portion of the opening adaptor”.
FIG. 1 of Lu discloses a similar integrated cooling assembly, comprising a heat sink (24) disposed above the second semiconductor device, wherein the heat sink extends laterally above a portion of the opening adaptor (31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Song, as taught by Lu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song in the above manner for purpose of more efficient cooling of a semiconductor chip ([0006] of Lu).
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song and Lu, in view of Hsiso (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0037231).
Regarding Claim 10
Song as modified by Lu discloses Claim 9.
Song as modified by Lu is silent with respect to “the integrated cooling assembly further comprises a third semiconductor device disposed horizontally adjacent to the first semiconductor device, wherein: the first semiconductor device is disposed between the second and third semiconductor devices; a first portion of the heat sink is disposed above the second semiconductor device and a second portion of the heat sink is disposed above the third semiconductor device; and the first distance is less than a distance between the first and second portions of the heat sink”.
FIG. 21 of Hsiso discloses a similar integrated cooling assembly, comprising a third semiconductor device disposed horizontally adjacent to the first semiconductor device (118), wherein: the first semiconductor device is disposed between the second and third semiconductor devices; a first portion of the heat sink (140) is disposed above the second semiconductor device and a second portion of the heat sink is disposed above the third semiconductor device; and the first distance (between 142) is less than a distance between the first and second portions of the heat sink.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Song, as taught by Hsiso. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song in the above manner for purpose of improving cooling capacity ([0009] of Hsiso).
Claim 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, in view of Teng (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0105644).
Regarding Claim 16
Song discloses Claim 1.
Song is silent with respect to “the opening adaptor is attached the cold plate by an adhesive and the adhesive forms a fluid seal between the opening adaptor and the cold plate”.
FIG. 11 of Hsiso discloses a similar integrated cooling assembly, wherein: the opening adaptor (121) is attached the cold plate (117) by an adhesive (122) and the adhesive forms a fluid seal between the opening adaptor and the cold plate [0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Song, as taught by Hsiso. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song in the above manner for purpose of improving cooling capacity ([0009] of Hsiso).
Claims 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, in view of Colgan (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2009/0284921).
Regarding Claim 17
Song discloses Claim 1.
Song is silent with respect to “the cold plate comprises silicon and the opening adaptor is attached to the cold plate by direct dielectric bonds”.
FIG. 1 of Colgan discloses a similar integrated cooling assembly, wherein: the cold plate (30) comprises silicon and the opening adaptor (50) is attached to the cold plate by direct dielectric bonds [0043].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Song, as taught by Colgan. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Song in the above manner for purpose of CTE matching and providing a rigid thermal bond ([0043] of Colgan).
Regarding Claim 18
FIG. 1 of Colgan discloses the cold plate comprises silicon and the opening adaptor (50) is attached to the cold plate (40) by direct hybrid bonds [0045].
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 1 of Colgan discloses the cold plate and the semiconductor device are attached by direct dielectric bonds [0043].
Regarding Claim 20
FIG. 1 of Colgan discloses the cold plate and the semiconductor device (13) are attached by direct hybrid bonds [0045].
Pertinent Art
Malouin (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0230937), 20180166359, 20210074608, 20220210949 and 20240038633.
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897