Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (Claims 9-16) in the reply filed on 8/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seong et al. (US 2019/0259951).
Regarding Claim 9, Seong et al. teaches a method of manufacturing a mask assembly (See Abstract, teaching a disposition mask assembly and deposition method), the method comprising:
preparing a mask frame [200] comprising an opening in a center and preparing a mask sheet, wherein the mask sheet [100] comprises a first zone in which a plurality of holes are arranged (See page 2, paragraphs [0047]-[0048], and note any region where the hole exist is a first zone; note anything bring the frame and mask sheet into their final form for use is preparing as claimed);
aligning the mask frame [200] and the mask sheet [100] with each other such that the opening comprised in the mask frame and the first zone comprised in the mask sheet overlap each other (See page 2, paragraph [0048], and note the mask sheet [100] is fixed in position as described over the opening in the frame [200] means it must have been aligned there);
tensioning the mask sheet [100] in one direction by applying tensile force to the mask sheet [100] (See page 2, paragraphs [0048]-[0049] and Fig. 2, wherein the mask [100] is tensioned in the length direction, i.e. one direction as claimed);
fixing the mask sheet [110] to the mask frame [100]; and
removing a second zone of the mask sheet protruding beyond an edge of the mask frame (See page 2, paragraph [0050], note any area removed is a second area, here this portion is explicitly said to extend beyond the mask frame), wherein the mask sheet comprises a plurality of grooves arranged in the second zone (See Figs. 4-7 and paragraph [0070] and [0073], wherein grooves [HF1] and [HF2] are in a non-deposition region NDA separate from a deposition pattern region DA where the plurality of holes exist; Examiner submits the NDA on each side end where removal occurs is a second zone and the DA is a first zone wherein nothing in the claim requires the entire second zone be removed, but only the protruding portion, and nothing requires all grooves be removed, but it is noted grooves[ HF1], [HF2] present on each side beyond the weld, thus being a plurality, are implicitly removed since the weld presumably represents the terminal portion of the mask following cutting).
Regarding Claims 10-11, Seong et al. teaches grooves [HF1],[HF2] certainly extend in the short side direction, and maybe be 120% of the effective region having the through holes, meaning the length of the groove may be greater than the length of the first subzone (See Figs. 4-7, page 4, paragraph [0079], page 6, paragraphs [0112] and [0115]-[0116], wherein the grooves [HF1],[HF2] may be 120%, i.e. greater in length, in the vertical Y direction, shown in Fig. 4 as being short-side length, than the first subzone contain the holes in the mask that define the effective region AA).
Regarding Claims 12-13, Seong et al. teaches the half etching such as [HF1],[HF2] may be formed in both opposing surfaces such as to a half depth of the thickness (See page 3, paragraph [0073] and page 4, paragraphs [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding Claim 14, Seong et al. teaches the opposing grooves are displaced from one another, i.e. alternately arranged, and may vary in number and distribution in the NDA, i.e. the second zone (See page 4, paragraph [0083] and page 5, paragraphs [0090]-[0096], teaching varying numbers and shapes of groove including six of more in the NDA; note although a plurality aren’t explicitly taught as being removed, this is surely obvious since all may be in the NDA and surely multiple could have been disposed beyond the weld in the removal zone since this is a major portion of the NDA and the grooves so no purpose after tensioning, or at least for the reasons below in the rejection of Claims 15 and 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seong et al. as applied to Claims 9 and 12, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0378983).
Regarding Claims 15 and 16, Seong et al. teaches the method of Claims 9 and 12 as described above. Seong et al. further teaches the grove appear in “various shapes and in various numbers with a range in the ineffective region,” and as described above, primarily teaches them in the NDA, i.e. second zone, such six or more etching portions on the mask surface and teach symmetrical forming the grooves to uniformly distribute stress during forming (See page 5, paragraphs [0092] and [0096], and page 6, paragraph [0109]). Thus, although Seong et al. does not explicitly teach a spacing or a width relative to spacing, it is clear many variations of grooves, including numerous in the NDA would have been suitable with even spacing and width predictably leading to the uniform dispersing of force, such even space known for such pattern in mask (See, for, example, Lee, Fig. 7 and page 6, paragraphs [0102]-[0104], illustrating grooves [PP1],[PP2] evenly spaced at about their width to distribute stress in a mask and teaching variations in groove thickness, shape etc. may be variously determined according to the tensile force to be received in the mask).
Further, in similar tensile force absorbing pattern in areas meant to explicitly be cut off from the mask after attaching (See, for example, Kim et al., Fig. 3, and page 4, paragraphs [0079]-[0080], wherein cutting part [22] with tensile force absorbing pattern is removed), the shape, number, and arrangement are again taught as being variable to absorb tensile force (See Kim et al., page 6, paragraphs [0109]-[0110]), and a matrix pattern, i.e. grid, with equal size relative to spacing width is taught as being suitable for such a purpose (See Kim et al., page 6, paragraphs [0113]-[0115] and Fig. 7, teaching a matrix pattern with a diameter of 17-22 microns and a spacing of 15-18 microns, an overlap allow even width and spacing). Thus, it is clear variations of shape, spacing, width, and number of tensile absorbing features such as grooves on mask surface are known, including even spacing and grid patterns. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize even spacing and width of groove and/or organization into grid form. Doing is within known variations and would have predictably been suitable to ensure uniform tensile force distribution during mask stretching according to desired absorption requirements.
Conclusion
/SCOTT W DODDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746